Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lochside Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Isle Of Skye > Broadford > Lochside Caravan Site Reviews

Lochside Caravan Site
6, Strollamus
Broadford
Isle Of Skye   (Browse area)
IV49 9AL
Tel: 01471 822070
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5
Open: Please Check For Availability

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 36 Reviews
                9/10 from 36 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 14+ Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Brian King 1 review from this member

Wonderful little site, perfect views from all pitches. We were made very welcome by Cathy. We only booked for one week and were lucky to be able to stay for two

Weather was great so were able to explore many parts of the island. We would highly recommend this site to anyone visiting this part of Scotland.

We will definitely be staying again in the future.

Nita and Brian King

Management response: Many thanks for your review.

Please note we will be closed from June 2019 for health reasons, hopefully opening up later in the year. Watch this space!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lil64 1 review from this member

We booked Lochside based on a photograph and we weren't disappointed. This site is a little gem. We had a lovely welcome from Cathy who is obviously very adept at seeing people on to the pitches. She was full of information, showing us around the site and lending us books on Skye.

The site itself is small but oh so perfect. The pitches are perfectly placed so everyone has a fantastic view of the loch, no regimented rows of vans here! Our pitch was the closest to the house and overlooked the edge of the loch, from our van we watched seals playing in the little bay, what a treat!

The shower is perfectly adequate, a largish room with a loo, sink, shower and a handy bench to put your towel etc on. Plenty of room to get dressed. There are lots of books, brochures etc with all the information you could possibly need on Skye. Another nice touch was the very long hose attached to the tap so we could top up with water whilst on our pitch. The site is well placed for travelling round the island if you can tear yourself away from that view!

Skye is an amazingly beautiful island, a view around every corner. Driving is fine as long as you are sensible and courteous, especially on the numerous single track roads. Every time we saw a vehicle behind us we pulled into one of the many passing places to let them pass so we could drive at a leisurely pace taking in the sights.

We barely touched the island and certainly could not do it the justice it deserves in the time we were there. We were both stunned at the beauty of the island and loved hearing the folklore stories of the places we visited. There are plenty of places to eat although you would need transport from the site.

To say we are absolutely in love with Skye is an understatement and we hope Cathy will have us back next year for a longer visit. We wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

We are delighted to confirm that following a closed period during 2017, this site will reopen in 2018 for camping, motorhome and caravanning pitches.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: M Potter 3 reviews from this member

We were warmly welcomed by Cathy and properly shown all amenities. Great to place our Motorhome on clean, hard standing pitch. The Loch and outstanding natural beauty of this site will be remembered for always. Peace and perfect tranquillity for those, like us, who search for quiet and very amazing locations. So practically equipped with two toilets and a spacious, well-thought out shower room. Everything so clean and comfortable. There is a slight bend and incline from the road but, after many CL sites that we have encountered, all over Great Britain, this was not a problem. Distance from the Skye Bridge and Portree was negligible when one realises the sheer wonder of this gem of a site. Our only difficulty is. Trying to arrange another visit as soon as possible. Thank you so much for this experience.

Jean and Michael.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 2Adventurers 7 reviews from this member

This is a small certified site situated at strollamus, about three miles out of broadford. The site has stunning views up and down the loch and beautiful sunsets on a clear night. A couple of resident herons park themselves every evening a few yards along the water's edge and, although we didnt see them, whales were seen swimming in the loch around the corner.

You will be greeted on arrival by either ian or cathy. They will show you round the facilities and offer any help necessary to get you safely sited.

They are both very friendly and helpful and will do their best to make your stay enjoyable.

If you don't mind a rustic site, look no further! The views and friendly service far outweigh what may be lacking in terms of the normal commercial site. Remember you are camping, you are not at home!

There are two toilets and one roomy shower with plenty hot water any time of the day. Sinks and toilets are kept nice and clean. Shower could do with a re-grout and steam clean but serviceable enough if you dont have your own facilities. Fresh water is available as are grey and chemical waste water disposal points.

We checked in to this site for two nights and ended up staying eleven! That says it all.

It is very well located for simply pitching up and using it as a base for exploring the whole island, as it is within easy striking distance of most of the places you will want to visit. And there are many, too numerous to mention. There are of course numerous nice sites on skye but you would be hard pressed to be better located. This is one of the first sites you will come across after crossing the skye bridge so it is well worth stopping here first before you explore any further.

Strollamus is only three miles from broadford, where there is a co-op supermarket, spar shop and a variety of eating places and plenty places to browse round at leisure. We only ate out once at cafe sia which had a varied and interesting menu. We can highly recommend its fresh seafood pizza which was baked in a wood-fired oven. Accompanied with a delicious salad with chunks of fresh mozarella, it was sufficient for two to share. Coffee is amongst the best on the island.

You must visit dunvegan. You will no doubt visit the castle there, but don't miss a visit to the old bakers shop which has a very reasonably priced take-away menu and the most amazing apple turnovers!

For absolutely stunning close-up views of the cuillins take time to drive to glen brittle. Drive as far as the glen brittle camp site and you can have a coffee in the tiny shop there. But it is quite expensive.

Also worth a visit is the oyster shed take-away just a mile or so past talisker distillery. Again a remote and rustic establishment but with stunning views from the covered eating area and a great array of fresh seafood to be had at a very reasonable price. Never tried an oyster? This is the very place to have a go! A new experience for £1.

No visit to skye is complete of course without a visit to portree where there seems to be more foreign visitors than scots! Plenty places to browse and fish and chips eaten on a sunny day at the sea front completes your day out there.

A short trip from strollamus is armadale pier. An afternoon there was very productive for us with six large mackerel caught and ultimately eaten. Delicious! A small cafe and take-away at the pier makes this a nice easy outing from strollamus and the road to get there is very good. Jump on the ferry to mallaig from armadale. Even although mallaig is just a small fishing village it is worth a visit. Again nice seafood and fish and chips here and no need to take the car unless you want to visit further afield.

Unfortunately we did not have the best of weather on skye apart from a couple of days but even so, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Just means we'll have to go back again to catch the sun.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kia1 1 review from this member

Kathryn and I had a fantastic holiday on this beautiful campsite. The owners are such lovely friendly and exceedingly helpful owners and we will definitely be visiting here again. The owners hens lay the best eggs ever and Ian is so very helpful with practical things that can make life so hard on holiday like unhooking the caravan water pump! I am so unpractical. The weather as usual was disappointing but it was atmospheric and beautiful anyway and we treated ourselves to a few lovely meals seafood of course. We were enraptured by two friendly seals which we watched from just outside the caravan window and watched the fish jumping out of the loch so relaxing.

Thank you both once again for a lovely stay Beryl and Kathrynxx

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Aysteph 5 reviews from this member

A fantastic location with every pitch overlooking the Loch and it would be hard to get closer to the water. Very friendly and welcoming and we stayed 2 nights rather than just one as we had intended. On the negative side the road was very close and noisy in the daytime and a real pity the showers were a bit grubby and not really up to scratch but this could easily be rectified.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Xxxmariexxx 7 reviews from this member

The owner is a pleasant kind knowledgeable person who will help you with any campsite queries. Small campsite, care should be taken when entering or leaving the site due to the angle of the driveway. Facilities, EHU 16amp, 2 WC & Shower, Waste disposal, Fresh water, Washing machine/drier, washing up area, Recycling and Midges in the early evening to irratate you. Motorhomes/caravans no bigger than 7. 3m and a few tents.

Not suitable for small children or those few children that are unable to swim due to the adjacent unfenced sea water ( Deep in places ). You can swim/paddle in the sea or just search through the rocks/seaweed for maybe shells or tiddlers. No sand. There are many many places to visit on the Isle of Skye including one at Ord. A lovely tale about an Acarsaid house. You will find a skeleton of a Each Uisge Earballach (Long-tailed Water Horse)and Less obscure is the two acre garden with its excellent collection of alpine and other plants, all blessed with a dramatic view across Loch Aishort to the Cuillin

Portree is the Capital and the Main supermarket for the isle is the Co Op. Weather was superb during our stay infact very very hot and sunny.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Koffeegal 7 reviews from this member

The views from the site are stunning but I have little else positive to say about the site.

Access to the site with a caravan is difficult, the pitches are very small, we had to choose between an awning or parking space ! Although the site is close to the shore it is very difficult to access the shoreline so nowhere to walk a dog.

The site is generally fairly tidy but there is a lot of apparent junk lying about.

There are 2 WC & a shower with hot water but the shower was in need of a thorough clean.

The chemical disposal has no water supply & no means of flushing the waste. A disappointing stay, I would not recommend for caravanners & would not visit again

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dragonflydi 6 reviews from this member

This is a small site, situated to the side of the Boat yard. Lovely views across the loch, but unfortunately not much else to recommend it. The shore was difficult to access and was too slippery and rocky to walk along. The road was very busy so road walking or cycling was also not an option. The noise from the road was intrusive at night. The facilities were limited to 2 toilets and a shower. The shower was in a windowless room in the outbuilding, the cubicle was mouldy and had not been left in a clean state. We chose not to use it. Because of the limited space per pitch we felt quite cramped. It was a disappointing site.

Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Skye

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3573 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019