Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Berrys Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Lancaster > Berrys Farm Certificated Site Reviews

Berrys Farm Certificated Site
Conder Green
Lancaster
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA2 0BG
Tel: 01524 751620  or  07990 553342
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 CCC Only
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
                8/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Branty 7 reviews from this member

 We managed to choose the coldest April days for a long time to spend a few nights in the tent here! Fortunately for us the site's hook up power supply is excellent allowing us to avoid hypothermia by plugging in a heater! The site is lovely and flat for tents with hedging down one side if you want additional wind protection. Facilities are simple but more than adequate with two hot shower/toilet cubicles with cold water sinks and a wash-up area with washing machine and hot water geyser. Good dog walking opportunities. There is a lovely walk along the canal towards Galgate where there are cafes and pubs, a walk along a disused railway track which will take you into Lancaster (eventually!) and a shorter walk into Glasson itself where there are pubs and a little shop for basics (and ice cream). The Stork Inn and The Mill are very close by and are excellent pubs for food and the odd pint to finish off a good walk! Great little site for a few days exploring this interesting and varied area. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: G4WYZ 4 reviews from this member

 Good facilities and clean there even a fresh hand towel provided, the owner give us a lift to the Stork Inn, he stopped and offered us a lift whilst walking there.

We choose this campsite at it was the end of the Bay Cycleway which starts at Barrow-in-Furness, a few challenging hills on the first day especially carrying full camping gear.

The only complaint was the grass cuttings got everywhere. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 123diane 7 reviews from this member

 This was our first stay on this site which was brilliant. From when we turned up the owner was lovely. The site really nice flat pitches lovely views. Facilities brilliant 2 shower rooms. We went for a cycle ride along the canal through Lancaster to Morecambe and back which was brilliant. Lovely pubs along the way, The mill at Conder Green really nice & the Stork round the corner form the site. We will be coming back again. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smithsmh1 8 reviews from this member

 Found the lane approaching the site very narrow and was worried about meeting a vehicle coming the other way; however there are passing places you just need to be very careful. There are two toilets with showers within the same rooms so if two people are either showering you can have a long wait for the loo. Site owner very pleasant and helpful. Site was rather boggy after a very wet early spring but he was ready with his tractor for towing on and off. Can't comment re pubs, restaurants etc as did not go to any, but I understand there are some excellent pubs and eateries pretty close by. Did think the price was a little steep given the facilities. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gary newman 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site because we wanted to revisit Glasson Dock, where we used to have a static van. We were blessed with great weather, so the mile or so walk was just right. We had a choice of grass pitches, all with hook up & plenty of room. A nicely kept, flat field, with good views. On the whole, the facilities are fine. A toilet block & wash up area are available, which are adequate, but we think they may be a bit chilly during the winter. There is an area for toilet waste, but no drive over drain for waste water from the motorhome.

Glasson Dock is a nice, but tired looking village. There is a couple of pubs & a shop in the village, plus the famous smokehouse. It's a great area if you like walking or cycling along the canal, or the sea front. Nearer to the site is the Stork pub & a nice new cafe within 15 mins walk. From here you can get a bus into Lancaster one way or Knott End the other.

As we live about an hour away, this is an area that we would visit a few times a year. We would stay here again, but, we do feel that, at 16 a night, plus 1 shower charge, it is a bit pricey. This may deter us from visiting more regularly. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lurcher Mac 50 reviews from this member

 Spent a night at Berrys Farm as we needed to be in the area. The camping area is flat and well maintained and has Ehus. The toilet/shower/washing up areas are contained in a room in the barn. As others have said, access is very tight from the A6 and it is better to approach the farm from the B5272.

There are a couple of pubs near the site, The Stork and The Mill. We tried to eat at the Stork but it was fully booked so you may need to book in advance or get there early. There are other places to eat at Glasson Dock which isn't far away and has a good amount of parking available for campervans/motorhomes.

There is a good walk along the Lancaster Canal Towpath to Glasson Docks or towards Lancaster, which the dog loved. We enjoyed our short stay Berrys Farm and wish we'd have had longer to explore the area. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Trackerrob 4 reviews from this member

 Access from A6 at Galgate is poor, with many very narrow sections, and a steepish hill. That said most units seemed to arrive that way. Using the A588 is better, but arriving from the north means going through Lancaster itself, which can be a bit of a nightmare. If doing so try and avoid the rush hour. From the south you could arrive via the A6 and B5272. Take your pick!

We had a very friendly welcome, with facilities being shown to us on arrival. No rush to take our money, and paid on the day we left.

The site itself is very well kept, with short grass, and 5 EHUs. Good for tents, with level flat pitching, and reasonable facilities. A very slight slope at the top of the field where the hook ups are, but nothing to worry about, and no problem levelling our unit. Good views of the surrounding countryside.

There is one toilet/shower room. Plenty of space, and clean and tidy. But not very good when there are several tents on site, all wanting to use at the same time, and shower and toilet both in the one room. No problem at all with the EHUs.

As with most 5 van sites there is nothing provided for children, although a set of mini football posts were stored on site - and used - while we were there.

The Stork pub is within walking distance, and serves good food, but is priced accordingly. A little further, but still within walking distance is The Mill at Conder Green. This stands at the side of the canal, and also has a children's play area. Nice surroundings and decent food at a reasonable price. Ashton Hall garden centre is 1. 5 miles, along the A588, towards Lancaster, and serves a good variety of lunches. This was very busy when we went, but still managed to serve food fairly promptly. Also child friendly.

This is a good area both for walking and cycling with fairly quiet roads, and the canal towpath. Also there is the Lune cycle and footpath close by.

Glasson Dock is well worth a visit, with enough for an interesting half day, pubs, cafes, and a smokery. This is an easy walk or cycle road. Take care and watch out for traffic though, as this is the only road in and out of the village of Glasson.

We enjoyed our stay, and may well return. However we thought it was expensive for our needs, not needing or using the site's facilities. For this kind of site we often pay around 10 to 12 per night, as against the 16 we were charged. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paul@julie 58 reviews from this member

 A big flat field with hook up points, all units parked around the perimeter. Friendly welcome from very chatty owner. 1 shower room - cost 1, kept clean.

Pitch with EHU 16

This site is in a fab location if you like off road cycling which we do, a short ride (about 1/2 mile down quiet road brings you to the path which takes you down into Lancaster and from there up the canal path to Carnforth or out to Morecambe or carnforth and down the promenade to Morecambe. Would definitely return here, its for the location as the price is a bit on the high side for the facilities on offer. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jeni_c 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed here on an overnighter. There is one field for all which was flat and well maintained. The owners were helpful. There was one toilet/shower which was clean and had soap/towel/toilet paper. This is located near the field. There is EHU if this is required, although we didn't use it. There are no other facilities, but a lovely quiet site in the heart of the country. Galgate is nearby with a chippy/Spar/cash machine/pub, although again we didn't use them. We took the kids (5 and 3) and played frisbee on the field (not near the other units) without any complaints. We would stay here again. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Betsy_Boop 1 review from this member

 Small C&CC CS taking 5 caravans & about 6 or so tents, depending on their size. Site is pretty level & grass was in good condition when we were there. Both owners very friendly & helpful.

EHU is available if you use it.

Toilet block consists of washing up sink & then one loo / basin / shower all in one room. Facilities were kept nice & clean & even loo roll & soap / towel for handwashing provided. The only downside was that when someone is in the shower then you can't use the loo, not ideal when you are camping with a toddler who has to go now! (Luckily we had taken a potty for nightime use anyway) If there was a second separate loo then this would be ideal.

Within reasonable walking distance there is a pub, cafe & farm shop. We tried the pub (good beer & food) and the farm shop (Conder Green farm - lovely garlic sausages) but didn't try the cafe, so can't comment on that.

There is a pleasant walk (also suitable for cycling) into Glasson Dock along a quite-ish country road (watch out for tractors!) leading on to a disused railway line. In Glasson Dock there are a couple of cafes & pubs, a general store & a shop for the Port of Lancaster Smokehouse. There is also a small children's playground.

On talking to other campers it seems they have quite a few regulars, which says it all. Yes it's a fairly basic site, but it has all the essentials (for us anyway) and it's less than an hour from home so I'm sure we'll be visiting again soon. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Berrys Farm Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Berrys Farm Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Berrys Farm Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lancaster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5304 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement