Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Pleasant Streams Farm Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > St Austell > Pleasant Streams Farm Camping Reviews

Pleasant Streams Farm Camping
Lower Sticker
St Austell
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL26 7JL
Tel: 01726 74837
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: Eaer A May To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 16 Reviews
                8/10 from 16 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Niall75 8 reviews from this member

 We seek out sites that offer back to nature style camping with basic facilities and this is an accurate description of this site. It could be such a lovely site if it was better managed.

The owners allow far too many tents onto site particularly in high season resulting in far too much demand on basic facilities with dirty and untidy conditions often seen at large music festivals.

And by accepting large groups and too many campers for the size of the site the noise at night is not acceptable.

The only time you will see the owners unfortunately is when they want their money.

It might be lovely and peaceful at other times of year but we will not be going back to see. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Tekoa80 6 reviews from this member

 Lovely, peaceful site - great for kids to explore, with woodland, streams, rope swings and ponds.

Very cheap tariff!

Basic but adequate facilities. 10 minute walk to village shop/pub and a short drive to several beaches. About 15 minutes drive to St. Austell. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smudger16 2 reviews from this member

 The location of this site is wonderful. It has two camping fields, one with electric hook ups, the other with a lake. There is a third field with lake, but this was not in use for camping when we were there. Both lakes have a rowing boat which you can use.

The facilities are very basic. The Ladies and Gents side each have Two toilets and a shower, plus two wash basins, although there are no means to be able to dry your hands. There are no pot washing facilities at all. This could really benefit the site. There is another toilet block being constructed, but as I understand this is not in use.

The site would really benefit from some decent signage and instructions, as people were turning up and not knowing where to go or where they could pitch there tents. The pitch where you want worked fine, until it got busy, then people were driving around struggling to find somewhere to pith their tent, and with no one to help them, it was a real problem.

Having said all that we had a great time with our grandchildren, who loved being able to have campfires. Would we go again ?. I don't think so. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Seanfdh 17 reviews from this member

 I wanted to love this site and it's nearly excellent.

There are three fields, a large main one with pond and shower/wcs, a second field reserved with more ponds reserved for the on-site vans and a third with ehus at one end and another water point.

No fixed pitches but plenty of room in both fields when we stayed even though the site was quite busy.

Showers/loos are basic but clean. There are only two loos/two basins and one shower for each sex though so if it was properly busy or hot weather things might start to get a bit ripe or involve a fair bit of queueing. There are signs of work on a second sanitary block which would be very welcome.

I feel that the owners should give serious thought to adding a pot-wash area.

Moving on from the niggles, the site is lovely in lots of ways. We were able to watch swallows and bats as the evenings wore on. There are dragon-flies hunting over and around the ponds. We found a baby Common Lizard climbing up our tent one evening, we were impressed but escorted him or her gently from the premises before retiring.

The site is well placed for a visit to The Lost Gardens of Heligan and sells discounted tickets which save you a pound each and a lot of waiting in line. It's also handy for the Eden Project.

The pub in the village is a ten minute walk. We ate there one evening and it was rammed, so booking is advised. Food/beers were fine.

Highly recommended for a short break provided you're OK with a basic camping experience. As this is a topic which seems to come up a lot on the forums I'll add that there were lots of children but not an excessive amount of noise at any point and all was quiet by 9. 30pm. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Chriscampingman 2 reviews from this member

 This is the most beautiful site we have stayed at for a long time. It's very basic but that's the beauty. This is about spending time with like minded easy going people. Its about enjoying being in the open air, watching the wildlife pass you by, jumping in a row boat and floating on one of two lakes. The toilet facilities are basic 2 toilets, 2 basins and 1 shower each for male and female. There clean and the waters hot. The owners are so friendly they will do allmost anything for you, there waiting for new toilet blocks to be built and were let down for this season. The morning alarm call from the wildlife will stir you at around 06:30.

Theres only one thing you need to remember if you want an electric hook up. Bring a long cable if you want a good space between you and the neigbours. Its 20 metres from the furthest hook up to the other side of the field so allow around 30 to 40 metres to get away 😉. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Artymandy 24 reviews from this member

 My daughter and I spent two nights here on our tour around Devon and Cornwall, once we had found the entrance to the site - there was no sign when we were there.

Lovely quiet, well laid out site with lake/pond in the centre of the tent field, that we pitched by. Not too crowded, everyone had space around them even though the site was 'full'. There was a second field for caravans and EHU. Loved the availabilty of a small boat to row around the lake - all very safely done. The morning and evening procession of Ducks and ducklings, to and from the pond, was sweet

We were not impressed with the available facilities - two toilets and one shower for the ladies of two fields. They were clean, but too small and too few. Having a shower at 7. 30am was fine, just a wait for the one person in front - but those who left it any later were in a long queue. Mens looked similar. No washing up facilities at all - though you were allowed to take hot water back to your pitch for this. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mike Garrod-Smith 1 review from this member

 The owners are uber friendly, the site is huge, and has a feel of total serenity. We stayed for a couple of nights and I spoke to the owner and asked if we could be away from other campers - no problem at all, the site is so big, with a few different fields so easy to hide away. There are a few ponds (mini lakes) with boats so you can row around in the sun. Shower and wash facilities are adequate, and clean.

It very very picturesque, and you feel completely relaxed with no noise except birds and the occasional cow. Lots of farms chickens, goats and pigs to make a fuss of, and beautifully maintained flowered 'hidden' gardens surround the area. Logs are available for purchase and if you need anything else, St. Austell is about 2 miles away. Mevagissy is about 5 miles away too, and is a lovely town. Please don't bank on any WiFi - there is none, and no Wifi in Mevagissy either (3G).

I would like to say thank you to the owners and we will be back very soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lowes 2 reviews from this member

 We spent a week in August (high season) here and yet there were only 3 units in our field using electricity (as limited electric points clumped together in a corner of 1 field) and approx. 9 tents in the camping field.

The site has much more space and potential. It was a very traditional, no frills farm site where the owners looked after numerous chickens and cockerels, 2 pigs and 2 goats as well as growing plants to sell.

The site was off the beaten track and needs a sign at the entrance to avoid towing vehicles overshooting and struggling to reverse down country lanes.

The toilet facilities were very basic - only 1 operational toilet and 1 shower each for gents and ladies in a shed-like building which was not very level making it difficult to open doors etc. During our stay the remaining gents toilet was taken out of service as the sewerage tank was full and men were asked to share with the ladies. This was emptied into a drain next to our tent!

There were no pot washing facilities.

On the plus side, the site was spacious and had a certain relaxed charm with a small lake and boat to use. There was a little summer house containing games and local information. It was only a 10 min walk to the nearest pub and shop in Sticker'

The owners lived in 1 of 2 static caravans at the entrance to 1 of the fields and were very pleasant and helpful - The gentleman let us use his land-line phone as no mobile signal.

All in all, despite feeling that the site was expensive for the very poor facilities, we had a good time and enjoyed our stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Adamh66 2 reviews from this member

 This site is perfect if your are looking for a more traditional campsite. No club house no shop just toilets and showers what more do you need, the local shop is 10 mins walk away, as is the pub. You can have a real camp fire and then invite your fellow campers to join you and make your own entertainment, kids can toast marshmallows on a open fire. Perfect.

The site has a series of new ponds, 2 with boats on so you can row round, wildlife is just starting to take hold, plenty of dragon flies when we went in July. Bats of a evening, and as no light pollution the stars show up really well (even saw a shooting star). My two kids made friends within minutes of arriving and went off exploring and seeing the chickens, goats and the pigs around the site, a simple rope swing tied to a branch was hours of fun (who needs a dsi or iphone for fun).

As we live only 25 miles away I can see us going back for lots of weekend stays.

This site is how I remember camping when I was a child no frills just the basics, this may not be for everyone but for those looking for the laid back style then give this site a try 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ac176 1 review from this member

 As other reviewers have said this is lovely, peaceful campsite in the countryside with no fancy facilities but that was just what we were looking for. We stayed a few nights and used the site as a base to visit Eden and the Lost Gardens of Heligan.

As others have said, the toilet block could do with updating but it is perfectly functional and clean. The campsite was pretty empty when we were there so we never had to wait for the toilet or showers, despite there being so few.

We didn't use the boat which was available to go on the (very small) lake but it was nice to know it was there and had we been there longer we probably would have had a play. The lake does mean there are quite a lot of midges though!

They also had some games and toys available to borrow.

The weather wasn't great when we were there so we didn't have a fire but wood was available.

It's a nice little walk along a footpath to Sticker where the local pub was lovely for a drink. We didn't eat there but the menu looked nice. There' also a local shop in Sticker where you can get all the essentials and seemed to be open quite late. Take a torch if you're going to the pub in the evening as the footpath gets pretty dark.

The other good thing for us is that the site is accessible by public transport - the bus goes from Sticker into St Austell regularly, and to Truro in the other direction. We took the bus to St Austell and from there to the Eden Project, where you get significantly discounted entry if you arrive by public transport. The First bus takes you right down to the entrance.

We didn't see much of the owners but when we did, and when booking, they were very friendly and helpful.

Lovely, relaxed, basic campsite - great location for Eden and Heligan. 


Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pleasant Streams Farm Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pleasant Streams Farm Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Pleasant Streams Farm Camping dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Austell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2937 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Open Today's Window