Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Conca D Oro

Campsite Search > Europe > Italy > Feriolo Di Baveno > Camping Conca D Oro Reviews

Camping Conca D Oro
Via 42 Martiri
26 28835
Feriolo Di Baveno
Italy   (Browse area)

Tel: 0039032328538
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 230
Open: March To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 7 Reviews
                9/10 from 7 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DDJC 5 reviews from this member

Lovely site, happy to recommend. Stayed here for four nights in August 2016. I advise reserving in high season. It was chocker every day we were there.

This site has a relatively easy access from the main E62 trunk road. Ideally, leave the main drag on the Baveno & Stresa exit (not the Gravellona exit). Down the winding hill then take the rather confusing left turn towards Ferilo. Follow the signs. The entrance to the campsite is a hairpin and infinitely easier from this direction with a bigger outfit.

Nice big waiting area for the barrier controlled gates. Pull up and go in to reception. Very friendly staff and very smooth check in. Mix was about 50% German, 30% Dutch, 15% French & 15% British, and all very friendly.

We had reserved a lakeside pitch which was of a good size (>100m2) with partial shade. Access to the pitch is tight in places, mainly due to inconsiderate car parking and long guy ropes. EHU was some distance away and we trailed the cable past two pitches. Polarity on our pole was correct. Pegging was in hard sandy soil. The shop is big, but we were getting to the end of the season and there were bare shelves. Nevertheless, there was bread, olives, cold beer and warm reds! What more does one need?! There is a bar/ restaurant/ gelateria, but you can only eat so much pizza, so we barbecued on our pitch every night. The kids however, loved the ice cream. The three toilets & shower blocks are excellent, seemingly continually being cleaned. Only the central and south blocks have chemical disposal points. The walk to chemical disposal, rubbish bins, water and grey water drain is quite long.

The view was sensational with calm clear mornings over the lake vying with idyllic balmy evenings. Night time is nice and quiet, but take note, you do need mossie rep here (where don’t you?). During our time, it was hot, humid and no wind, which made for slightly uncomfortable nights and irritable children.

This is not a high energy campsite, which we liked. During the day, many people just sunbathed on the sandy lake shore. There is a small kids playground. If you have a boat, bring it. This place is designed to facilitate mucking about in a boat, preferably with an engine. Swimming is possible in the lake and the water was astonishingly warm. The swimming experience is reduced a bit by there being lots of weed in the water. You can find clear patches, but it is more on the beach round the corner. Every morning, a guy comes out with a rake and drags out a trailer-full of weed. I believe you can hire a boat nearby and there are boat trips up and down the lake, but we did neither.

Get out and about. Go to Milano. It is surprisingly near. Purely for the fun, drive right into the centre and park near il Duomo. Costs about 12 euro, but driving round Milan with its mad trams is a terrific experience! And of course you must go shopping & do lunch in the Galleria.

Take a trip up the coast road through Verbania and Cannobio to the top of the lake which is in Switzerland. The views are amazing but the road is not for the fainthearted because it is the only road and is used by lorries and coaches. In Gravellona, there is a large shopping centre with a massive hypermarket.

The site itself is fantastic and it wins an easy nine stars. My kids love swimming and the lake didn’t quite crack it. If this place had a swimming pool, it would be a perfect 10.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Barsar 44 reviews from this member

Located on the West Bank of Lake Maggiorre. Access is easy from the motorway but the road into the site from the main road is narrow with only one passing place.

Warm reception from staff and we were invited to select our own pitch. However there were only three vacant, which came as a bit of a shock. It was Easter but we have never found sites particularly full at this time of year. However, this area is very accessible from Germany and they had arrived in force. We arrived at 2pm. If we’d have been half an hour later we would not have secured a pitch.

The pitches are on sandy soil so well drained. We could easily get our caravan, car and awning onto the pitch with room to spare. A lot of people left on Easter Monday which resulted in better views of the nearby mountains. If you want a pitch on the first row adjacent to the lake it’ll cost you 28 euros in the low season. We were happy to use our ACSI card and pay 18 euros a night.

The site is very well maintained. The three toilet blocks look as though they have just been repainted and are very clean.

There is a well stocked shop selling goods at reasonable prices. The bar and restaurant are very popular so book a table. There is a varied menu which includes about 20 different varieties of pizza. Two pizza’s a small beer and a jug of house wine cost us 32 euro.

It is a short drive into Baveno where you can catch the ferry to the three islands or the ferry which sails the whole length of the lake.

Very nice site, well located, helpful staff happy to recommend.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BlackpoolBelle 14 reviews from this member

This is a really nice site on the shores of Lake Maggiore in a very quiet area and set well back from the main road. Approach from the south or west is easier than from the north: with overhanging rock faces and speeding drivers it was quite hair-raising – the only thing that made it OK was that it was a Sunday & therefore no lorries, as very large ones use that route. Going in the other direction is fine as you don’t have the rock problem.

On arrival, you need to park outside and get a map of the site from Reception (closed from 12-2pm), then walk round and choose your spot. Access is gained with a credit card type key for the barrier and security is good, with a pedestrian gate and night watchman for late entrance on foot.

The pitches are mostly level and are all large, which is unusual for Italy – our caravan is 7+m long and fitted easily across our pitch; there was also room for the car at the side and room to walk round the other end. Pitches are with or without shade and staggered, which meant we had a great view of the lake even though we were 4 rows back. The ones right on the lakeside have an extra charge and are not available to ACSI card users.

The ladies in Reception are multi-lingual and are very helpful. There is a limited amount of tourist information available, but they will try to help with anything you want to know. The restaurant is excellent (we were not the only ones to think so, judging by the full tables) and reasonably priced. You can order any dish plus pizzas and chips from the snack bar to take away.

The facilities were plentiful and spotless (no toilet seats but extremely clean, paper provided) with rows of dishwashing sinks at each end of 2 of the 3 blocks. The block is the only place to get/dispose of water, which can be inconvenient if you are pitched a long way away so choose your pitch carefully. Wifi (charge) is available everywhere but is not particularly fast.

Lake Maggiore is beautiful, especially when seen from your awning whilst sipping wine. We had a good view across the small bay to Baveno and over Isolas Bella and Pescatore, which looked stunning when lit up in the evenings. The lake is fine for swimming in (grit/sand access) but far too cold for me!

The surrounding area is very pleasant but the roads are quite busy; a must-do is to get the ferry to the islands and if you book all 3 runs you can hop from one to the other. Isola Bella has a magnificent and very ostentatious palace and gardens, Pescatore is full of bars & restaurants & is the only one where people live, and Madre has extensive grounds/gardens and a palace, but is more laid back than Bella.

Other recommendations are Orta San Guilia (small historic town with island church in Lake Orta) and Villa Taranto, magnificent terraced gardens 10 mins drive away. Apart from that, just enjoy the peace of the lake view and the wine, especially in low season.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Del74 2 reviews from this member

Did some research beforehand but didn't really expect this site to be as good as described. Great location next to lake, good sized pitches, quiet (in September), good shop, good for cycling, easy flat walk into Feriolo.

Breaking a golden rule of never trying to repeat a good holiday by going back in 2014!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dannimac1204 9 reviews from this member

Well situated campsite on the shores of Lake Maggiore and reasonably priced using our ACSI card. Our pitch was lovely and flat with some shade. Pitches are numbered but not separated by any foliage.

Showers and toilets were plentiful and clean. The washing up area was well laid out and the laundry facilities were good.

The shop was very well stocked with a good variety of goods though mostly targeted at their prime German and Dutch customers.

I can't recall whether wifi was paid for or free but it was usable on our pitch.

There was no swimming pool on site but not really needed when you have direct access to Lake Maggiore. There is a beach but it is a bit gritty/shingly but worth braving for a dip in the lake - just beware the swans who are not afraid of approaching you for a bit of your snack if you have one!

Staff were very helpful and friendly. Particularly of note was the on site restaurant - not at all plasticky campsite-y. It was a very well run affair with a good quality offering ie not just junk food.

Can't tell you anything about the surrounding area as it was so brain boilingly warm when we were there that we couldn't muster the energy to move far at all and we were only stopping over on our way to Garda.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Zacksmum 4 reviews from this member

We spent a glorious week here. After spending a week in Tuscany on a tiny pitch it was such a relief to arrive here, get a very nice welcome and find our pitch was plenty big enough for our 8m twin axle, awning and gazebo!

We were on the second row from the lake, but were a little envious of the front row! The lake itself has a beautiful beach, and a gentle slope into the lovely warm water. Our 4 and 6 year old were in heaven!

All the facilities were brilliant, the only down side being a short walk to the water/waste disposal. It did get a bit noisy from the bar area in the evenings with various entertainment, but all was quiet by 10pm. Mostly Dutch people there, but everyone was very friendly. We'll be back next year for sure.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 220 reviews from this member

To Find Site:-Leave A26 at Baveno and follow signs for Baveno/Verbania. At lake turn left towards Verbania, cross roundabout in Feriolo and the campsite is a few hundred metres further ahead on the right. It is well signed from the roundabout.

Camping Conca D'Oro has in the region on 230 pitches and has a superb location right on the shores of Lake Maggiore. All pitches are on grass and all are of a good size, a little unusual for an Italian campsite. They are marked out by trees and azalea bushes. The site slopes very gently towards the lake so there may be a need for some side to side levelling. There are a few static caravans at the back of the site and also a few seasonal pitches but the majority of space is given over to touring. This is a well equipped campsite with a nice looking restaurant, bar, takeaway and small food shop selling most essentials for your stay. The staff on reception are very pleasant and helpful and most seem to speak excellent English. There is a limited amount of tourist information available from reception. Also available is a WiFi connection. The site has three toilets blocks, two in the middle of the site and a third tucked away in the far corner. All are of and excellent quality but have seatless toilets. Electrical connections are 6 amps. Water and waste facilities are only available from the toilet blocks( unless you have one of the few serviced pitches which have water but no waste) so you may wish to consider this when deciding on where to pitch. A motorhome service point is situated in the car park immediately outside the main gates. In the low season this campsites offers a useful reduction for holders of the ACSI Card and also the CC&C Freedom vouchers.

There are many opportunities for excursions from the site, only really restricted by the time available. If you like gardens then Giardini Botanici Di Ville Taranto at Verbania is worth a visit. Likewise there are many shopping choices including a new Shopping Centre near the motorway. Feriolo, a small village within walking distance of the site has a small supermarket as well as a couple of restaurants and other shops.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Italy

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3405 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019