Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Findhorn Bay Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Moray > Forres > Findhorn Bay Holiday Park Reviews

Findhorn Bay Holiday Park
The Park
Findhorn
Forres
Moray   (Browse area)
IV36 3TY
Tel: 01309 690203
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 63
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 17 Reviews
                7/10 from 17 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gilburn 1 review from this member

 Situated in a beautiful area, Findhorn bay, beaches, village are lovely. However, although we have visited the campsite before, we had forgotten how cramped the pitches are and how "out-of-date" the toilet and shower block is.

It should really be upgraded by now. The refuse collection point was full and overflowing and very unpleasant. As previous reviews have mentioned the chemical toilet disposal area was also unpleasant as there was no hose provided, you were therefore unable to dispose of everything.

Other vehicles were allowed to park in front of our caravan, meaning we had to find the owners and ask them to move before we could leave.

As much as we love the area, I don't think we will go back, at least not at peak times. 


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lhors3 1 review from this member

 Lovely friendly campsite with good clean amenities.

Store and take away on site very good.

Within easy walking distance of the lovely fishing town and harbour area

We will be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Gingham girl 1 review from this member

 Beautiful little harbour and campsite next to beach lovely views with very large rock formations on stoney beach though sandy beach at other side of town in a rocky bay

We paid 25 per night with ehu toilets and showers very basic clean but very old hook ups to all pitches grass & hard standing

Pub & shop in town pub at end of campsite facing harbour serves food but frozen vegetables & chips

We ate here food ok but bit of let down and as we ate we watched for dolphins which we saw swim past harbour Beautiful sunsets too but we were lucky to have sunshine

Be sure to visit Cullen Portsoy and Burghead all lovely harbour & beaches and Portsoy marble shop at harbour and ice cream parlour in Main Street of town delicious ice creams

Would return to this campsite 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mmad 15 reviews from this member

 Pitch resembled a piece of waste ground next to a mud/sand bank, next to a ditch where water from the waste treatment site ran.

Overhanging trees meant constant dripping on top of caravan. Needs pruning and the world's noisiest wood pigeons meant no sleep from dawn even with ear plugs.

Shower blocks OK but as doors wedged open a lot of the wild life took shelter in the women's. On site shop sold lots of interesting stuff.

Very busy when we arrived and quite packed. Left a day early(by 11am) as so disappointed as the site looked great on the website and went to a better site.

My wife complained to the owner who said we had not left early.

Could not recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Xander Boers 4 reviews from this member

 Nice little campsite. Had a lot of rain and the site was very wet en muddy. It's nerby the Findhorn Foundation, with a shop and a pizzeria (only open th-fr-sa-su).

Shop opens at 10am and has a lot of nice (but expensive) organic groceries. Toilets en showers are okay, but a bit old and not much water in the shower.

It's a long walk to the village (20-25 minutes). In the village is a little Premiere-shop.

Very nice was the boat trip in the fast boat, which you can book in the Marine. We saw a lot of Seals and a few Dolphins. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Highlander1967 4 reviews from this member

 We decided to have a couple of nights away and booked this site, I believe it's run by the Findhorn Foundation. Upon arrival the young girl in the reception was friendly, helpful and gave us a choice of pitches due to the heavy rain.

The main part for tourers was very very muddy. I think had I tried to pull our caravan through it I would have been stuck in it.

The toilets were ok but the women had only 3 toilets which is not enough and the showers were in my opinion lacking pressure. The on site pizza shop is reasonable priced and the pizzas were good.

The site is very basic and requires money spent on a decent road and hard standing pitches and also a few more power points ( too many connection on one point ).

I believe that the minimum distance between vans is 6 meters for health & safety reasons, this was not the case and the site should be insisting that vans are parked a certain way so that this is achievable.

I see in the terms that dogs are to be kept on leads at all times, this was not the case and we saw several dogs running around of leads.

Lastly the site is in desperate need of night time lighting as in the night you cannot see anything when going to the toilet, had to use phone for lighting which was sad as this could be a really nice site if they put money and thought into it. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Julietyran 11 reviews from this member

 We stayed here 1 night on our travels. On arriving, we were allocated our pitch and when we drove into the actual park, it felt like the Caravan/Motorhome area was a passing thought to make use of a spare piece of ground.

The park had static caravans and also catered for Tents. The pitches were all on grass and as it had rained quite heavily the previous day, it would appear that folks departing the site had struggled to drive out of the grass leaving deep ruts in the ground that we had to drive into to get to our pitch.

A bit unsightly looking but not the fault of the park itself. The pitches were large which was good as we had our motorbike trailer with us. There was no view at all of Findhorn Bay.

Our view was of the toilet block and although we were given a code for the toilets, the doors were constantly open all day and night with kids running in and out having water fights. Toilet/Shower block was OK but with all the traffic these toilets should be getting cleaned more than once a day.

We were also told to keep our dogs on a lead at all times, again, no fault of the park, but people were just letting their dogs run free on the park.

You could not exercise your dog on the campsite, but there was nowhere else to do this unless you walked them on the busy road next door.

Upside, park was next to a lovely Eco village with a couple of pottery shops to browse through and a lovely Crepe stall that we tried on our stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stealthrider 3 reviews from this member

 Not what we expected. The site was like a battlefield, churned up and muddy ok for a 4x4 but some cars and campers struggled on and off the access road to the pitches. Limited number of hook up points so extensions had to be provided.

The chemical toilet waste room has no tap and hose to wash out tanks. Site rules state 6m between units their pitches are less than 8m wide so units considerably closer a potential fire hazard especially in the corners one unit just couldn't get in.

Also rules re dogs to be kept on leads many where allowed to wander around we could only watch in horror as one just went to the toilet on the adjacent pitch!

Not good if you have kids playing, dogs also barking a lot with no attempt to shut them up. Most is the fault of the owners who don't have any respect for anyone else, but the site wardens where not seen for the 5 days we stayed there.

On the plus side nothing to do with the site the area is lovely with many nice beaches and woodland areas to visit and a number of nice villages and castles.

Wouldn't go back as there are nicer sites nearby. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lesley Millar 7 reviews from this member

 Relaxed site, with an older but clean toilet block, with code entry.

The site is within the Findhorn Community, where there is a lovely cafe and you can sit outside with dogs.

Cross the main road at the entrance to the Community and you are on Findhorn beach. It's a lovely walk along the beach to Findhorn itself. Can recommend the Kimberley for lunch, also dog friendly. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amblingswan 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 6 nights. Very quiet campsite (aside from road next to the tent area), basic play park for the kids and a toilet block with power point for hairdryer. Pitches have numbers and easy to find

Tents are confined to a strip of grass which is next to the road into Findhorn, the noise did bother me at times but did not carry on through the night. The larger pitches at the front are relatively flat, no rock pegs required but felt very cramped. Some of the smaller pitches at the rear are mostly trees, I met one family trying to work out how to bend their tent around the trees on their pitch (despite the tent being within the stated size limit). In the end they requested to change pitch and had more space than I did on the larger pitch.

The dishwashing area was fine, covered and plenty hot water. Wasn't keen on the showers though. Three showers in the ladies and it was an art getting the water temp to anything other than freezing or scalding, also not too comfortable having other campers shower water washing over my feet. No family bathroom so a bit of a squeeze getting 3 of us washed and toddler attempted to exit under the cubical door mid wash. Nice and clean though with no mould on the shower curtains.

Toilets have a key pad lock which is high enough to stop young kids getting in without assistance, a great idea until someone hooks the door open. Toilets weren't cleaned on the Sunday which was probably the day they most needed to be (after a busy Saturday evening).

Didn't have cause to use the waste water area which was fortunate as those who did found the stench unbearable. Having it in a locked room within the toilet block may have been a mistake.

Couldn't find anywhere to freeze my coolbox packs, suspect you have to ask reception but they were closed on Sunday so I just went to Elgin and got bags of ice which sufficed.

Really lovely beach in Findhorn and everyone is super friendly so we enjoyed our stay. Kids loved it and are clamouring to return. 


Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Findhorn Bay Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Findhorn Bay Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Findhorn Bay Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Forres      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Moray

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2352 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement