Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Westacott Farm Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Bideford > Westacott Farm Camping Reviews

Westacott Farm Camping
Abbotsham
Bideford
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX39 5BN
Tel: 01237 472351
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: Lundy View 18 ehu / Middle Meadow 22 non eh
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 61 Reviews
                9/10 from 61 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  61 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sorrel L 1 review from this member

We pitched in middle field for one night. There was loads of space for children to play with a trampoline and football goals provided. Everyone pitched around the edges of the field and there was easily a mixture of 20 pitched tents/caravans but really wasn't cramped at all. Helpful to be able to park next to pitch also. The facilities were lovely. Toilet block was clean with soap and toilet roll provided. Music was playing in toilets and wash up area where washing up liquid was also provided which was a lovely touch. The setting was peaceful and the view would probably more stunning on a clear non drizzly day but even so was it lovely. Loved that names are put on a board when you arrive pointing out the way to your field and again on another once you reach your field. The welcome pack available is very informative especially if you do not know the area. Loved it. Will definitely book there again when we return to that part of the world.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Junju 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here in the bay view field for camping and caravanning club members. Nice quiet site with 2 toilets and one shower. The arrival time is 2-30 which seems a little late but the lane to the site is very narrow with no passing places, so if arriving early ring the site first. It's a good location for westward ho and Bideford and other attractions. Nice site well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nickliga 3 reviews from this member

We returned to Westacott farm for a second visit and as the last time we were here, they made us feel right armt home. Facilities is good and clean. Lovely views over the sea and well maintained. It was a oity that the new shower block wasnít completed yet but I'm sure when itís all done it will be so much better. This is a working farm and the owners are very friendly and helpful. Price is very reasonable and we will return here when we next going down to Devon.

Westacott has been added to my short list of favourite campsites.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cabrera 2 reviews from this member

Neil & Bridget are excellent hosts. Our family have used this site as well as us. We are also storing the caravan there. Rates are very reasonable. A new toilet block is in the pipeline for next year. We love the site.

Only bad comment is we wish the council would sort out the approach road, but then it is wonderful North Devon.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Apebrute 1 review from this member

Really friendly and welcoming place it has everything you need. The couple that own the place are really nice and never seem to stop. Being able to relax by a fire pit in the evening is really nice and Neil will deliver everything you need to your tent with his cuddly companion in the car.

The showers are adequate but as with nearly all campsites choose your time wisely.

We found it to be clean and well maintained with lots of space for the kids to run around. There wasn't lots of play equipment for kids but then as we are more used to wild camping we took plenty of toys and games to keep them occupied. They did put a 2nd trampoline in the field and not a cheap one but a very expensive and very safe one only injury we saw was due to far to many on.

Being of the beaten track but not to far there is no road noise so it us very peaceful.

All in We are planning on a return as soon as possible.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrs E 37 reviews from this member

Great small site, very relaxed feel and a real feeling of space as the pitches are arranged around the perimeter of the field. We were in Lundy field which I think had a total of 18 pitches. We had hook up and quite a few of the pitches had their own wooden picnic bench/table too.

The last mile (approx) to the site is single track but as long as you arrive/depart at the 'correct' times you shouldn't have any issues! As others have said, names are on a board and you then go into the relevant field to find your individual board and pitch.

The small 'tardis' of an office/reception also doubles as a small shop selling local produce e. G. Free range eggs, bacon, sausages, burgers. They also have a freezer with ice creams and lollies. I was really impressed with the information pack we were given (lots of leaflets for various tourist attractions), a list of useful telephone numbers e. G vet, hospital etc - it could easily rival large commercial sites who sometimes only provide and issue the essentials!

The lane is very quiet so ok to walk dogs to do what they need to do but you do of course need to pick up, and especially if they go on site. We were also able to let our two off lead in the field behind Lundy View as there were only one or two units in there most of the time. As they have livestock, you do need to be sensible and check first.

My only downside was the shower block - tiny shower cubicles which made trying to dry and get changed difficult. I have no issues with push button showers, fixed shower heads and temperature as it was warm without being too hot. I'm wondering if there are any plans to upgrade? There are two showers and 4 toilets in the Ladies. If the showers were bigger then this site would be one of my 10 out of 10 perfect sites. I've had to give it a 9 out of 10 for this reason. But, it wouldn't stop us returning.

You can also hire fire pits complete with wood logs and kindling which we did on several evenings which was fantastic. There's recycling bins for glass and tins as well as plastic. Customer service is excellent and Bridget was extremely helpful.

There's lots to do in the area - we went to Westward Ho!, Appledore (Susie's Tea Room is a must as is their high tea for two at £9. 95), Clovelly - but beware it's steep and cobbled. There is a land rover service for an extra charge which will take you down to the harbour and quay and return you to the visitor car park. We don't have children but if you do there's The Milky Way and The Big Sheep nearby.

This site is a basic farm site so there's no entertainment and you need to drive to the nearest pub/restaurant so perfect for a chilled out and quiet break away from it all.

We enjoyed ourselves so much we stayed an extra night and I'm sure we'll return in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Georgee 1 review from this member

Fantastic Site! Wonderfully scenic, went with my family including my two grandchildren with a campervan and a tent. Incredibly welcoming and hospitable, even had trampolines for the kids! The site was very well kept with clean washroom facilities. Can't wait to go again thanks to the friendly and helpful owners and would recommend!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Marksoph 2 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site and the owners are very friendly and helpful. It is well maintained and the toilet / showers are clean. I love the fact you can have an open fire and if you wish the owners drop off the fire pit and wood to your tent and collect it the following morning which is a very nice touch.

You feel like you are miles from nowhere but in reality only ten minutes drive to Atlantic village and Bideford town, with its supermarkets and chain stores, as well as independent small shops. Apparently the site has its own small shop which I didn't use so can't make any comment on.

Thoroughly recommend this site. You won't be disappointed.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paul + stella 21 reviews from this member

Stunning views and walking have to be the main attraction to this site. We were directed to the top of a very wet field which although gave us great views, didn't help when trying to get off site - no bother though because the owner towed us out very efficiently - think he might be used to it! The shower/toilet block in the field was disappointing being very tiny and basic, though it did have radio piped through which was nice. Overall we've paid a lot less for better facilities but that has to be balanced with the views and walking. For motorhome owners note; its miles from any shop we could find.

Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dubdogs 138 reviews from this member

Had a nice two night weekend stay over a wet and very windy weekend.

The site was well signposted and easy to find. It was nice having booked to have our name written up on the chalk board at the entrance so we knew which field to head for, and also having our name at the pitch was a nice touch. It was good to have a friendly welcome when paying.

Being November, I'd booked a hardstanding pitch and given the rain I was glad about that. The facilities were well kept and modern. The shower lacked a little water pressure but was just about warm enough. There was a good little camp kitchen for washing up with a microwave, washing machine and tumble dryer.

The weather did put pay to the walking we had planned, but there was plenty around in very short driving distance to entertain us.

Will definitely return to this site as in the bad weather we enjoyed it, so can imagine in the sunshine how lovely the area would be.

Previous     61 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4041 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019