Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Grazing Lands

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Kent > Maidstone > Grazing Lands > Reviews

CLOSED: Grazing Lands
St Helens Lane
Maidstone
Kent   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
                8/10 from 11 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 The owners have advised the site is currently closed undergoing renovations. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marcusopp 38 reviews from this member

 As the others reviews say, a bit tricky to find. There's a notice on one of the cottages regarding fishing, which has the phone number of the site. The location is fantastic, right by the medway, with a trains rolling past occasionally.

The owners are also great, very friendly and helpful.

We took our own wood for the campfire, but you can buy it from them. The fire pits are great, keep the place tidy and concentrate the heat.

Locally there are loads of pubs, with everything you could want/ need. There's a tesco and lidl past east farleigh.

Didn't use the facilities, but they're in the process of updating them anyway, so assume they'll be nice when done. They are a good distance from the pitches though.

We'll definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 25Montagu 1 review from this member

 My husband and I have just returned from grazing lands following the freak hot weather this October.

Very difficult to find as no signposts to campsite and an unusual entrance. Owner took our money and showed us the 1 toilet and the separate shower which was situated at the top of hill. Both clean.

We were then told we could pitch our tent anywhere we liked along the river. There were only 3 other tent there already so we chose a spot away from others.

The pitches run along the side of the river bank and it feels like you are there on your own. You can have a fire in one of the firepits and unsure of wood supplies as we brought our own.

Spent the evening waving and watching the boats/canoes who came down the river. You can fish for a fee but again unsure of price.

There is a railway line nearby and had an initial sinking feeling when a train went past but again they were only about 1 an hour and we seemed to only see about 3 and none on the Sunday we were leaving.

The toilet/shower is a long way from the pitches but because you are so isolated we only frequented it once!

Overall a lovely simple basic campsite which is great for a weekends stay-Would definitely go back 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrsnapalm 2 reviews from this member

 I spent one night on this site in July with 2 friends who just wanted to try camping.

The site is right on the Medway, and I believe you can launch a canoe direct from the site. The whole site is a long thin strip next to the river, so every pitch gets a view of passing boats. If you have small children this might be a worry as in places the banks to the river are steep. The banks were a bit overgrown in places when we visited, but a swishy stick sorted that in a few minutes.

You can have a campfire if you want, although they must be in the 1/2 oil drums provided, so pitch where there is one! Firewood was delivered to our tent in the evening (they collected payment for the pitch at the same time). It was 10 a load which included newspaper and kindling, but I thought this was a bit expensive! 15 for a our bell tent and 3 ladies seemed an OK price though.

Behind the pitches are fields of horses which may be of interest to the children. The owner seemed quite happy to arrange a short ride for my friend for a donation, so I assume this would be OK for kids too.

There is a swimming pool on site, although when we visited it was decidedly green, and I didn't risk it. I'm not sure if this is usually maintained, but it didn't look too clean to me.

The toilets and shower were a bit disappointing too. 1 cubicle with loo and handbasin, no hot water and intermittent flush on the loo. The second cubicle had sink, loo and shower. I didn't attempt the shower as it looked a bit grubby, Again no hot water to the basin.

The loos were clean, but the floors were quite dirty and the roof seemed to have been overtaken with the greenery growing outside. The loo block is at the top of a very steep hill. I'm not super fit, and I struggled a bit with the walk up, but the plus side is a lovely view of the river from the top.

Owners were reasonably helpful if a little eccentric.

I would visit this site again, but take a porta potti and stay down by the river.  


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Romogape 15 reviews from this member

 Have stayed here a couple of times in the last year, as have quite a few fellow canoeists! We arrived by canoe, having phoned to let them know we would be arriving, no pre payment, the owner just ambled down and collected payment in the evening for the pitch (and logs, bit pricey but hey got to have a fire when you can!).

Nice small basic site, great setting and ideal for over night canoe trips and arriving by boat(this may be an issue in the future as they are having vehicle access issues?).

A good site for families, but be aware it is quite long and there is direct access to the river along its whole length, so possible hazards for younger (non swimming) kids. They do have a pool that you can use for a payment, but we never have, horses to stroke, a few play bits and that's about it. Basic loos and showers, a walk up the hill to, but clean and ample for the size of the place.

We will definitely be using the site again and would highly recommend it, just don't all come at once as we like are peace and quiet! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wosie-Beegs 2 reviews from this member

 The location of this site is fantastic. The pitches are right along the riverside which is very, very lovely - particularly if you like fishing, we don't, but still loved the view.

The owners are happy to let you pitch where you like and they don't like to squeeze too many in. Unfortunately on the weekend we visited there were some campers that just turned up and pitched their tent even though they had apparently been told there was no space when they phoned to book.

It still wasn't overly squashed though and we had plenty of space in our chosen spot.

The oil bins which are used for fires are excellent and having an open fire is a must for us, especially on a short break. You can buy logs on site as well.

The facilities are up a hill from the pitches and is quite a way to walk, although that wasn't a problem for us.

The facilities are what let this site down in my opinion. There are two toilets and a shower room with a toilet in. There's not much headroom in the shower and the shower itself was quite temperamental, either too hot or cold and not much in between.

Although I'm quite happy to go without a shower for a day or two, if I've been cycling or walking all day I do like to freshen up. And I came out of the shower just as sweaty as when I went in. I think that was mostly due to the head height - I couldn't wrap a towel around my head as there just wasn't enough room!

It's a shame, because this would definitely be in my top three, but as it is there are quite a few other sites I would chose to visit again over this one. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Navyreg1970 1 review from this member

 A little hard to find - but once you know where it is its great - A great site if you want to sit round a real fire watching the river go by, very popular with fisherman as you can pitch right on the waters edge. I would order your logs in the morning so the guy has a chance to get them cut for you - he will then deliver them on his sit on mower & trailer (he was kind enough to deliver mine to my tent while I was visiting a local hostelry!)

The site slopes down to a flat strip which runs along the waters edge, the sloping area is taken up with paddocks and I found the horse owners to be a friendly bunch. The loo and shower are at the top of the slope near the owners static caravan & the swimming pool, its basic but hey your camping! its about 100 metres from the nearest tent pitch but there are fresh water taps down by the camping area so that's ok

The nearest pub is across the little footbridge across the river and straight up (5mins) there is also a corner shop / off licence opposite the pub but it doesn't have a cash machine - if you want one of those you have to turn right on the main road instead of crossing to the corner shop and continue up about a mile.

I went with an old Navy colleague, we (and the dog) had a great relaxing time, cooking sausages over a log fire, we drank many tots of rum and had a brilliant time - will definitely be back! 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mpws 2 reviews from this member

 I'm a bit late leaving this review, but I've only just joined this forum. I've stayed at this site many times - it's right on the River Medway, and the owners are very friendly.

The facilities are basic, but clean and neat.

The site's close to Maidstone downstream, which has many places to eat/drink. The Malta Inn is right on the river, through the town. If you go upstream from the site through Teston there's a pub on the bridge at Yalding. Not been to that one though.

The fishing is good here, and I think I was charged 6 for 24hrs, which is pretty good value. Kids fish for free. You can fish at night, and that's when I caught most: eels and flat bream mainly. You can have a fire here, and the owners will provide wood for a small charge.

Will definitely go back again. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: EnglishApple 7 reviews from this member

 We went to this camp site intending to stay for the weekend, however, we left after an hour due to the distance from the camping pitches being too far from the toilet facilities (which is really not practical as I am pregnant).

We wanted to leave a review so that other campers had an idea of what this site has to offer. The pitches are set alongside a river which is prefect for boating or fishing.

The site also has paddocks with horses in, be aware that the fences are electrified. There is also a small swimming pool which is for the use of the campers.

The owners are very friendly and welcoming, however we did have a few problems in finding the location due to one of the roads leading to the site is closed due to a weak bridge.

If you love to fish or enjoy boating then this site could be just what you are looking for. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jacquii 1 review from this member

 Wow what a lovely campsite! The owners were very welcoming, the views are amazing! you can pitch your tent were you fancy, there is a river going all the way along the bottom of the field, with boats and swans passing, lovely area to have a walk around and see the horses. Swimming pool with slide look nice however we didn't fancy a dip as weather wasn't great. Toilet and shower facilities are of camping standard. In the morning lady bought us down a table and chairs to sit out by the river! although we didn't take them as we were packing up to go, we thought the gesture was really kind. Only thing is we found it was bit tricky to find as satnav took us wrong side of river, but when your the correct side you go down a very narrow road you have to turn into a drive like road just before the collection of 5 cottages! bottom of the road is a very small dead end! all in all we loved the campsite and the lovely feel to it! we will def be returning! 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2987 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement