Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wye Dean Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Lydney > Wye Dean Camping Reviews

Wye Dean Camping
Beanhill Farm Camp Site
Alvington
Lydney
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL15 6AE
Tel: 01594 529113
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Group Bookings Only
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 27 Reviews
                9/10 from 27 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 For 2022 this site will only be taking group bookings - as in large family or friend groups, D of E groups, clubs and schools. Weekends will be a minimum 2 night stay. Please call for info or to book on 01594 529113 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Jaluml 1 review from this member

 Lovely site. Lots to explore in the local area including some beautiful walks. Slightly smaller site but large enough pitches. We had electric hook up. Water was close by.

Well maintained and clean bathroom facilities. Recycling and bbq disposal on site. Only 2+2 showers but never had to queue and always got hot water.

Small shop on site with all the necessary basic supplies plus ice cream and some gift items. Great adventure play ground in the woods at the site.

WiFi is limited to the few meters around the shop but sometimes thatís a good thing with teenagers! You can walk to the hill fort, local caves and view point or down and along the river to Simmonds Yat.

Bikes are well worth it for a cycle route along the river. Camp site is on the hill but only about 1km down a dirt track or paths to the river. Lidl is only 10 minutes in the car to Monmouth (lovely town to visit).

Camp site close enough to a40 to make excursions very easy in the car. We went as far as tintern Abbey.

You can also book kayaking, rock climbing etc in the area. Recommended. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Loubybelle 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely dog friendly site, well kept with beautifully clean facilities. Lovely walks nearby too.

Owners were friendly and very welcoming and a bonus visit from the ice cream van on Saturday afternoon made the kids day!

A bit pricey for a non hook up pitch (£38 per night for four of us + dog) and you have to pay extra for showers - 50p per token but they were nice and hot - donít know if itís because of the current times or always that way.

Would definitely recommend though. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MandaSwin 2 reviews from this member

 A wonderful clean campsite with great facilities. The facilities are all in one place and are spotlessly clean. The showers are 50p for a token but they are spacious, warm and powerful. I found the owners to be friendly and very accommodating. There are also breakfast baps which can be ordered the day before. The village of Alvington is just a short walk or drive away and there are two pubs nearby (The Globe Inn, has a lovely beer garden). 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cguenier 2 reviews from this member

 Sadly, Very disappointing! We often had to queue for the communal toilet, as only 2 for the whole site. Despite quite high cost per pitch you had pay for the small showers and the site was quite sloped - meaning that all campers clung to the flat bits!

Owners were also really rude and swearing in front of young children.

On the plus side - the site is in a pretty area, with a pleasant walk around the lake. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ki_user 6 reviews from this member

 I could plainly see why this camp site has such high reviews. Has to be one of my favourite sites I have stayed at.

Site was very well kept, there weren't that many people using the site while we were there so it was nice and quiet. No separate toilet/shower block for men and women but was always nice and clean.

We had a pitch with hook up so it was nice and flat, the field does slope down towards the bottom where others were camped.

Just beyond the camping area was a lovely lake which was well worth a wander around. The rural surroundings were very pretty.

Shops and garage are nearby and a pub within walking distance. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lakesite 1 review from this member

 This is a great site it is set by a lovely lake with spectacular views of the local landscape. The Forest of Dean offers plenty of activities and places to visit. The campsite itself has a large field area for camping and caravanning. The shower block is kept to a very high standard there are washing up facilities too. Excellent campsite for children as there is plenty of room for ball games etc. The campsite owners are very friendly and helpful. We have been visiting the site for over seven years now and come back time after time! 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: An optional extra 2 reviews from this member

 What a Fab site, how we havenít stayed here before is a mystery to us. We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Bean farm and we all had a ball. The site is very functional very well maintained and is blessed with great views of the country side and fishing lake. The owners were eager to please and extremely friendly. We love the fire pits / braziers and the fact that camp fires are encouraged is a great attribute, the kids loved the marshmallows! We stayed over Easter and Easter morning we awoke to a very pleasant surprise the Easter bunny had been leaving a well presented bundle of Easter treats ! a lovely touch and my two boys were thrilled to bits great effort. Bravo

We had a touring van and our pitch (2) was very generous and spacious, plenty of room for van awning, truck and garden with meters to spare either side before next pitch started. Facilities were ample and cleaned regularly never had to wait for a shower, or wc. They are unisex though. Stuart and Teresa were great hosts and we the Webbers will return. You come highly recommended 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Anyoldname 4 reviews from this member

 This site is in a beautiful setting with only 2 rural lanes passing it so it is very quiet.

There are a few electric hook ups at the top of the site, the middle is left clear to allow space for children to play. Apart from the top few pitches the rest of the site is sloping - think carefully before you pitch! The grass is in good condition and soil is pretty stone free.

We really enjoyed being able to rent a brazier and relax around an open fire in the evenings. The charge of £5 a night which included a bag of wood was very reasonable.

The site was quite full on the Bank Holiday weekend that we visited which resulted in a few queues for the 2 toilets, 3 showers and 2 wash hand basins. Tokens costing 50p need to be bought from reception for the showers and hair dryer. This gives 3 minutes of warm, powerful shower water. The washing up area has 2 sinks, but the water pressure is extremely poor and we ended up boiling water at the tent instead. While the toilet block is adequate, it was spoilt by a strong smell of drains which was present for the duration of our stay. I have tried to find out if this is unusual but have not received a reply from the owners. It was extremely unpleasant and would stop us from visiting again if we knew that this was not unusual. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HarryBear 15 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a week at Beanhill Farm. We're a family of five - two adults, three children aged 12, 10 and 9 and were with another family. This is our 6th year of camping.

I can honestly say that Beanhill ticks all the boxes for my ideal campsite. It's a large field with ample space for children to play cricket or fly kites in the centre where we can keep an eye on them. The facilities were always clean and although I was a bit concerned about them being unisex it was never an issue. One thing that isn't clear on their website is that the showers cost 50p but it is token rather than coin operated - so remember to buy tokens before reception closes! It's also rare to find a campsite that allows braziers (rented from the campsite) and EHU.

We had EHU so were at the top of the field in a marked pitch. The pitches are generous - we have a Royal Pescara which is a huge tent and it fitted on perfectly. With the EHU we had our own tap, I'm not sure where the non-EHU campers got their water from.

There is plenty to do in the area, we spent a day at Puzzlewood, took a steam train on the Forest of Dean heritage line and walked for miles in the forest. We also spent a day at Cinderford hospital as my son broke his collarbone on the first day - not part of the usual tourist trail but the staff there were lovely. The campsite is close to Lydney with both a large Co-op and a Tesco for shopping.

My only really, really tiny niggle is that the washing up sink isn't well lit - there is a light near to it but not close enough, and there isn't anywhere to hang a lantern. Otherwise, I can't fault it. We will return next summer to do everything we missed this year. 


Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wye Dean Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wye Dean Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Wye Dean Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lydney      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4273 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement