Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Alde Garden Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Saxmundham > Alde Garden Campsite Reviews

Alde Garden Campsite
Sweffling White Horse, Low Road
Sweffling
Saxmundham
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP17 2BB
Tel: 01728 664178
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 11
Open: 1 May - 30 September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 10 Reviews
                9/10 from 10 Reviews

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 10/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas and this *may* include shower or toilet facilities being closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kaffy 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for a week. The best campsite we have ever stayed in. The owners have done a wonderful job in making this a great place to stay. They were really helpful and keen to make sure we enjoyed our stay.

The communal campfire allowed us to sit up and socialise with other adults which we normally would not have met in standard campsites. As the sun sets and the solar fairy lights illuminate the site and the campfire roars, the true magic of living outdoors comes alive.

There was plenty for us to do on days out visiting Aldeburgh, Southwold, Dunwich, Rendelsham Forest and Framlingham.

We will definitely go back. But we know this is going to be a very popular site so we need to plan ahead. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: CampingSwede 4 reviews from this member

 We really enjoyed this individual camp site. A range of different units to hire and pitches for your own small tent. We were in a yurt. They are quite close to the campfire, which was a slight issue for us as we wanted to sleep early but disturbed a bit - no one was unruly it was just too close for us. Facilities are adequate - a couple of flush toilets, a treebog and one shower for men and one for women, plus jungle showers (saw a few users of that). But we never met anyone else in them. Fridge smelt. But lots of space in fridge and freezer. Great little honesty scheme for food - tins, pasta, sausages, etc.

Dragonfly yurt was less fancy than the Barnowl one but it was fine for family of 4 - lots of space. It was a cold couple of nights so enjoyed the wood stove and lots of wool blankets, etc.

The communal camp fire was OK. The kitchen facilities were a bit tight and some washing up a bit haphazard but it was all OK to use.

Loved the site, with chickens and ducks wandering around and a slight unkempt feel to it. Loved that it was small. Nothing for the kids so they spent a lot of time faffing around with the birds and in the maze of paths. No place for balls or whatever.

The pub seemed popular with locals. Lots to do locally with lots of places to eat. We enjoyed fish and chips on the beach at Dunwich, for example. Mark and Marie were friendly and present but not overly pushy at all. Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grumpssuffolk 2 reviews from this member

 We have stayed here twice now and will surely be back for more. As a couple who work hard we like to visit sites with a laid-back vibe and friendly hosts - this has both!

Alde Gardens is ideally placed for visiting Framlingham, Saxmundham, Rendlesham and more. There are several areas for nice walks and bike rides.

The pubs are good, particularly The White Horse at Sweffling with its oldie worldie feel.

Eating breakfast al fresco surrounded by the chickens that laid the breakfast eggs can't be bettered.

The toilets and showers are always clean and tidy.

We use our own crockery and cutlery but there are plenty available if needed.

This campsite is intimate and comfortable and sets the benchmark for other small campsites. Thanks Marie and Mark for your hospitality - we look forward to seeing you again soon. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sasara0 15 reviews from this member

 Simply lovely. What a wonderful site. We stayed here in July, we didn't have a booking but just turned up after making a last minute phone call.

The site is small but very well set out you don't feel like you are imposing on other peoples camp. Their kitchen area is fantastic.

This is a very Eco site and you need to embrace this. There's a compost loo and a jungle shower. If you don't fancy this there re regular loos and showers.

We felt that the owners had thought of everything. On arrival we were given a tour of the site and were shown where everything was and how it worked.

The eggs left in the kitchen were gorgeous. The pub was a dream with fantastic real ale and ciders.

This is a site of my dreams, loved it and would definitely return. Great value for money, next time I will book the gypsy caravan. Thank you Alde garden x 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Boffey 2 reviews from this member

 Absolutely stunning little site. We stayed in the yurt and enjoyed one night all on our own (go in September once the kids are back in school).

Fantastic hosts who keep the environment at the heart of everything they do. THE best long drop compostable toilets, a superb selection of ales and ciders, bikes you can take out, chickens you can feed (seed provided) decent solar powered showers and a communal campfire with all the gear and wood you need to cook a fine evening meal.

I have since heard the pub they were converting (on the site) is now open - I would be guessing this should be a treat too! We're going back this year. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JFMcNulty 1 review from this member

 WE spent a couple of nights here. The site is certainly petite, we welcomed the fact that it is not large and is not laid out in a regular pattern. The pitches are small and larger tents might be more awkward to accommodate on some pitches.

We had been advised (and had brought a smaller tent for that reason). The cooking area is generous and seems well equipped though we did not use it.

The shower worked well (I think they can supplement the heating with an immersion heater if the day is not too sunny), and though the toilet blocks are small they were nonetheless easily the cleanest we saw of the three sites we visited in Suffolk.

The solar powered night lights add a magical atmosphere in the twilight. The informal arrangements (not casual, just informal) seem to encourage communication among the site users, and the chickens and ducks add to that as well.

We would certainly come here again if we were ever in the area camping. The Tipi looks majestic and we might hire that next time, or else the caravan. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Ellak 1 review from this member

 We stayed in the gypsy caravan. I've always wanted to stay in one. We loved the campsite so much I cannot praise it enough. My daughter had children to play with all morning before going out and in the evening when we were back.

We are already thinking of our next time there hopefully. Seeing my child happily playing while I chat round the fire is the best way to relax.

We loved it through and through. I was looking at another place with a gypsy caravan in the S.West before I booked Alde garden however when Marie said she'll pick us from the station, she won us over and she wouldn't accept payment for the lift!

All in all its a great camping place. No luxury but I didn't want luxury. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ken Ellis 3 reviews from this member

 A very unusual and individual camp site. In addition to tent pitches they also have a cottage, gypsy caravan, yurt and teepee for hire. The tent pitches are rather small, and some are on a bit of a slope, but nothing too problematic. We went there with 3 other couples, so having the tents rather close together was not a problem for us, but might be issue when pitched next to people you don't know so well.

Facilities are adequate - toilets and one shower for men and one for women, plus a jungle shower, for which there were not too many takers on the weekend we visited, as the weather was a bit cool.

Great camp fire in the evening and a pizza oven which was available to cook your own pizza in. We spent most of Sunday afternoon making and cooking pizzas.

Site certainly has a very unique feel to it with chickens and ducks also wandering around. Might not be everyone's cup of tea, but we certainly enjoyed our stay there and will go again. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shires_vl 6 reviews from this member

 We have just had a weekend at this fab little site set in the Suffolk countryside just 20 minutes drive from the coast.

The owners have put an enormous amount of work into making this site a delightful place to stay whether it be in your own tent or one of the more permanent dwellings that include a yurt and a gypsy caravan. The setting is idyllic with chickens and ducks that wander around during the day. The kitchen facilities are fab with gas stoves, cutlery and crockery all provided should you need it plus a fridge/freezer, microwave and a washing machine. There is also an assortment of reconditioned bicycles available so you can explore the beautiful surrounding countryside.

Not wanting to put a a downer on things, but you should be aware that the tent pitches are limited and fairly small - the 'marquee' sized family tents that many people have now would not be suitable for this site. Also, you do have to wheelbarrow your belongings up to your pitch from your car - but on the flip side it was great having no cars on the site!

All in all a great find and very well run - safe for the children but with lots of nice touches such as the 'jungle shower' and the communal campfire to sit round. We will be back! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Moplet 7 reviews from this member

 This is a boutique campsite, with just a handful of tent pitches to accompany the yurt, tipi, gypsy caravan, cottage and bell tent for hire.

The site is wonderfully laid out, giving a real sense of privacy in the middle of nature with cute chickens and ducks wandering around. There's a communal campfire large enough for everyone to sit around and even a cob / pizza oven you can fire up.

The owners have clearly worked very hard to make it a very special, and low environmental impact site, with solar fairy lights around the site to guide you and plenty of recycling facilities. There's also a fridge, microwave and washing machine on site.

This site may not be for everyone however. You park your car outside the site and walk up a bit of a slope to your pitch with your stuff. This wasn't a problem for us although may not be fun if it's raining or if you have several kids in tow.

Secondly there's no hot water in the washing up area - although kettles and gas stoves are provided to heat up water. Finally, the ladies only has one shower (plus there's an outside 'jungle shower'!) which can cause queues.

Despite these minor downsides, we will definitely be returning to this site. One of the best we've been to. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Alde Garden Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Alde Garden Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Alde Garden Campsite dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Saxmundham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1851 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements