Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hallsdown Farm Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Barnstaple > Hallsdown Farm Touring Park Reviews

Hallsdown Farm Touring Park
Arlington
Barnstaple
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX31 4SW
Tel: 01271 850847  or  07732 926338
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 15/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 13 Reviews
                10/10 from 13 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jackie18 18 reviews from this member

 Andrew and Claire are friendly hosts.

The campsite is well maintained but not manicured.

All the facilities are immaculately kept.

All pictures are the biggest we have seen and I think they are all fully serviced.

You can buy a few bits from the laundry room but no fresh goods are available.

The downside for us was the area, there is a farm shop within a short walk but it is very small and its not a easy drive to the nearest village shop and you have only one pub a short drive away.

The surrounding area is very hilly, which is not a problem for us but worth mentioning for those who would find it challenging. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Maddy Old 18 reviews from this member

 Fabulous site, really large pitches & so nice to have no dogs on site waking you up with barking & great to be an adults only site.

Showers & toilets were immaculate with lovely walk in showers. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ian de Courcy 4 reviews from this member

 We loved this site and the surrounding area. The site consists of a well laid out and spacious 20 pitch area which is separate to a 5 pitch CL (all fully serviced). We were staying on the CL and loved the atmosphere.

The goats & alpaca visible from our caravan were lovely to watch as was the sunset. The site is a working farm and the sites are not 'manicured' but the grass is kept mown and the site is tidy and clean. We did not use the facilities. We loved Adults only AND no dogs!

The position of the site is excellent with easy access to all the coastal areas between Barnstaple and Lynton & Lynmouth. Brilliant for coastal walking. The Heddon Valley is very close, leading to Heddon Mouth. All NT and exceptionally beautiful.

A previous reviewer mentioned the short access road. In my view this was not a problem, there are plenty of passing places where narrow but a considerable part of it is wide enough for passing.

We have stayed on many sites and CLs. This ranks as one of all time favourites and being in such a spectacular area makes it a gem. We will be back (rare for us). 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Family 1 review from this member

 We ended up here after making a last minute change as the site we had booked was not going to open it's shower facilities. We are glad we changed as this is a lovely quiet site (no children or dogs!)on a working farm. Well spaced out fully serviced pitches, either hardstanding or grass (we were on hardstanding pitch no 5 in the corner)

The site is COVID 19 secure with plenty of hand sanitizer at entry, dustbins and showers.

There is a coded gate on arrival which works well. There are four separate wash cubicles with toilet/sink/shower in each. The facilities are a little basic but were kept very clean.

This site represents excellent value for money and although not as manicured as some sites, this is reflected in the cost.

All in all we had a great week exploring the beautiful countryside and coast of North Devon. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: John+judy 109 reviews from this member

 Andrew and Claire have done a brilliant job in creating this exceptional quality site. These days we really appreciate fully serviced pitches, eliminating the trudge to the water and grey waste points. Must be getting lazy in old age!

The individual combined toilet and shower rooms are especially spacious compared with the standard facility blocks often found, and though there are only four of them we never had to queue.

The metered electricity system is maybe the way all sites will go in the future in these environmentally conscious days, and were very reasonably priced. We used 11 in 8 days without being particularly parsimonious with our Alde system.

We chose this location a few miles inland from Ilfracombe because we wanted to be away from the large commercial sites nearer the coast. Nonetheless we had fairly easy access to the coastal path east and west from Ilfracombe.

Our favourite walk was the on the cliffs from Woolacombe to Ilfracombe, using the #30 bus to make a one-way hike. Parking in Ilfracombe was hugely expensive though. We did a day trip to Lundy which was fun, but a bit bumpy.

On a wet day we spent many hours at Arlington Court NT property, which is virtually next door to the site. The carriage museum is huge and fascinating.

If visiting Clovelly, which is a must, this can be combined with a cliff walk from the NT car park off the b3248, but not easy to find.

Cycling the Tarka trail from Barnstaple station as far as you like north or south s blissfully easy for those of us allergic to hills! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Glosbill 28 reviews from this member

 Great site, easy access, level site, we had hardstanding with hookup on gravel, spotless facilities, leave shower half a minute before getting under but good temperature.

Site great value, metered electric so reasonable pay for what you use.

Will return. Lovely people who look after site and campers. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Westcountrymaid 10 reviews from this member

 We have wanted to stay at Hallsdown Farm's Certified Location site because of its great reviews but the lack of a shower had put us off. So we were very pleased when they opened this new 20 pitch site opened and had full facilities.

We stayed here for a long weekend and loved it.

The approach is good and we could chose our pitch from those not being used. The pitches are huge and all have electricity (metered) and water and the hard standing pitches have grey waste drains.

The 4 shower rooms are immaculate and lovely and warm, something we appreciated on cool September evenings/mornings.

There is a good utility room with sink, washing machine, dryer, ironboard etc. And good recycling.

The site is adults only and does not allow dogs and is some distance from its the nearest lane, so it is beautifully quiet. It is also very dark and a great place to look at the stars.

Andrew and Claire are friendly and helpful but leave you do your own devices, which is great. We could pitch our small Eriba in any direction on the pitch which is really useful as with only a sun awning we like to face away from the weather.

Hallsdown Farm is very close to beautiful Exmoor and about a 15 minute drive to the coast.

We loved it here and will be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Izzy602 3 reviews from this member

 An excellent site in a wonderfully peaceful location. Adult only, and fantastic free hot showers in separate heated bathrooms with toilet and sink. Plenty of room between pitches even when full.

The owners Andrew and Claire are incredibly helpful. The hardstanding pitches are fully serviced and you only pay for the electric you have used via a pre-paid card system meaning any over payment gets refunded on departure.

Being a working sheep farm they don't allow dogs but they have some wonderful animals around too including a donkey, mini Shetlands, goats, pigs, ducks and more.

There is a farm shop half a mile away which sells locally produced produce and the sausages are excellent.

If you want a nice peaceful break away from it all this is the place to go. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kennedy123 11 reviews from this member

 A beautiful well kept site clean modern facilities very peaceful loved to see the animals close by

Lovely people would highly recommend

Only niggle we had was the lane leading up to the site it's very narrow but then again so is most of Devon 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Carabee 5 reviews from this member

 The site is on a working farm, reached about a mile down an unclassified road. The site is clean and well maintained ( almost new). The toilet/shower rooms are very clean and modern, and cleaned daily. It's an adults only site which suited us fine, but with no dogs allowed would have been a no-no for some people.

Electricity is by metered smart card, very reasonable, you only pay for what you use.

Altogether a 10/10 package. 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hallsdown Farm Touring Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hallsdown Farm Touring Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Hallsdown Farm Touring Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barnstaple      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6298 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement