Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Kitts Camp ( Kitts Cottage )

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > West Sussex > Scaynes Hill > Kitts Camp ( Kitts Cottage ) Reviews

Kitts Camp ( Kitts Cottage )
Freshfield Place Farm
Sloop Lane
Scaynes Hill
West Sussex   (Browse area)
RH17 7NP
Tel: 07733 103309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 25
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 31 Reviews
                8/10 from 31 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andykinggcs 2 reviews from this member

 This is the 3rd campsite I've stayed at this year and for ease of pitching, probably the best. The campsite is quite easy to find and surrounded by woods and quite lovely views. However, when you go to walk through the woods, most of them are all private and blocked off, so you only have the main public right of way footpath to walk on. The 'Sloop Inn' was a good 15 minute walk away and mainly downhill through the woods and the Bluebell railway was far further and not even that easy to drive to without going right round the houses to get there.

We visited just after the kids had gone back to school and arrived on a Thursday and were the only people there. No one was around to show us to our 'allocated' pitch, so we just picked a level spot where the grass was shorter and made camp. Eventually on the Friday, another small group turned up and eventually around 3pm someone came by to show them where to pitch and luckily I wasn't asked to move as the campsite was so quiet.

The facilities are very basic indeed, with just 1 combined toilet and shower block and 3 washing up sinks, none of which had any kind of plugs and hadn't been cleaned for a while as there were debris and leaves in all of them. The toilets have no hand drying facilities at all and 2 shower cubicles which are just drilled copper pipes hung on the ceilings where the water comes out, but they do work very well. We had toilet paper in all the cubicles, but no soap in any of the dispensers and the gents single urinal unit has a hand value for flushing after use. The water system is solar, so you don't get very hot water, but hot enough to shower in and do the washing up if you time it okay.

We actually had a nice time there, but they do have very poor facilities for the money you pay and not as good as any other sites I've been to over the past few years and the bags of logs you get are on the very small size compared to other sites and even the local garages.

Overall, if you want some very basic camping, intermittent hot water, no shop and owners who turn up during the day to do a quick clean, see people in, deliver over-priced small bags of logs and then disappear, then this is the place for you. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Feordies 2 reviews from this member

 This site is really very lovely, especially for children - plenty of wide open space and tree areas with swings that our children loved. The pitches were well spaced out and at not time did we feel encroached at all.

However, it is a massive shame that the site has been over sold, over priced and under invested. For 60 a night for a family of four to pitch, I expect luxury camping. What we got instead was no hot water, either for showers or washing up, dirty toilet blocks that weren't cleaned until at least lunchtime, and no toilet paper. When you add that to the lack of rubbish disposal / recycling, which is just cheap when it comes to a campsite, and the lack of even a hand dryer in the loos, we sadly would not return or recommend it.

If a proper toilet and shower block was installed, with guaranteed hot water all day, as per the selling point on the website, along with some proper attention to the needs of paying customers, then perhaps we would.  


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Markdev 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 6 nights.

SITUATION:

The site is set over three adjoining fields surrounded by trees near to 'The Sloop Inn' and a good walk from the Bluebell Railway (which incidentally charges admission just to go on the platform to have a look!). The fields are large and mainy flat and surrounded by trees enough to be somewhat sheltered depending on where you pitch.

FACILITIES:

Whilst we had a nice time camping, mainly due to the company that we were with, the facilities which are situated centrally on on the site were an utter disgrace; there are 3 toilets and 2 showers for each sex in what is a very a basic knocked-up and badly-built wooden shed.

Outside the shed at one end are 3 deep sinks for washing up. There were water pipe stations on each field. And fire-points. (Not enough fire-points in my opinion considering you can build fires!)

We found that unless you got to the showers at the right time the solar heated water was completely cold - and forget it in the mornings!

We had no hot water for washing up and the sinks were not cleaned or wiped down and there was no plugs - so people used toilet paper which is unpleasant and blocks the drain eventually - which while we there happened. There were also problems with blocked toilets.

The toilets were dark dingy and very dirty; not 'just a bit grubby' due to daily use. There was a deep grime layer of dirt all over the back of the toilets, loads of cobwebs hanging from the ceiling and thick dirt on the back of the toilet doors. Toilet paper ran out and wasn't replaced.

Although I saw the toilets were 'cleaned' whilst we were there, this seemed to be a rudimentary mop of the floor with some foul-smelling disinfectant. I did not once see the sinks cleaned, and once the soap had ran out it was not replaced. There are no hand drying facilities, and the lighting after dark is very poor. The floor in the toilets was filthy as were the shower floors, in spite of the mop over with the foul-smelling disinfectant.

Do not expect any waste or rubbish collection facilities - this is unbelievably left to the campers to take all their rubbish with them - that's you!

GOOD POINTS:

Easy to get to.

Nice fields.

Nice area.

It is very good that you can light fires at this camp but expect to pay far too much for a tiny bag of wood from the owner.

We cycled to the nearest garage to buy wood which was a lot cheaper.

THE BAD POINTS:

The owner of the site is friendly enough but doesn't take any action on suggestions [ie. Clean the loos!].

He seemed totally disorganised and kept calling me Steve. My name is not Steve even though I reminded him of this several times!

The owner was off-site when we arrived, so over the phone he directed us to the wrong pitch and once we had set up asked us to move, which we did not. Not after the long journey we had just done!

When we arrived we noticed the tents were nicely spaced out from each other, and at first we thought that this was a sensible owner that liked to keep it that way rather than be greedy and cram everyone in, however although this was the school summer holidays, and it was certainly not busy when we first turned up, I do not recommend being here on the August bank-holiday or any other bank holiday for that matter; an extremely large group of very loud rude and inconsiderate people were allowed to pitch in our field with twelve vehicles. They sat up all night drinking and didn't simmer down until past 3am. The women were the worst which was extraordinary! The camp-site was now rammed full with tents.

Many other camp sites I have been to do not allow large groups such as this! Twelve cars car/van-loads of people in just one group!

IN CONCLUSION:

For what you get in terms of facilities it is quite frankly a rip-off. I have stayed in immaculate sites before for half the price we paid to stay here.

This is a real pity because the camp-site itself could be really excellent with really very little effort.

This is one camp site that both myself and my friends will not be returning to for the following reasons:

Poor facilities

Excessively large groups allowed 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jane T 4 reviews from this member

 We had a very nice visit to this site with a group of friends and children. The owner was there when we arrived, he was friendly and helpful, allowed us to choose which pitches would suit us best, whether we wanted to be nearer to the toilet and washing up area, or more secluded in the next field over. We chose the nearer field as we have small children who need accompanying to the toilets and didn't want huge treks!

There isn't a shop so you need to have everything with you but the local shops are a short drive away.

There was a rope swing next to the toilet/washing up block.

The fields are quite large and open, but he likes to put the tents roughly round the edge and to keep the centre field areas clear, which was really nice as lots of families had games of cricket, football etc in the centre.

We all commented that it felt spacious and we didn't feel as crammed in as we have on other campsites. There was plenty of space between us and the other pitches. It also meant we could sit outside our tent or by the fire and watch the children play in the central field area, without worrying they were bothering other people or kicking balls into tents etc.

We had a water point right near to our pitches.

There is a washing-up area with 3 sinks, hot water was variable! The shower area was basic but fine. There are woods all around the site which the children enjoyed exploring. The site itself has been planted with hundreds of new trees which aren't that big yet but in a few years it should be a lot leafier.

The local pub the Sloop was closed for refurbishment when we were there, it's not run by the campsite owner any more, so no idea what it will be like. We did go to the Inn on the Green at Scaynes Hill (previously The Farmers) which was very nice, recently refurbished by the look of it, with a beer garden at the back. We were a large group and the staff were brilliant, very efficient and friendly and the food was nice with good sized portions. You can walk to it from the campsite but its a decent walk so not for those with tiny legs. (Especially if your group get lost as ours did!)

You are allowed fires which was lovely, each site is allocated it's own pit. James comes round with bags of logs and kindling each evening. There aren't any benches so you need to take your own chairs or stools.

One thing which would have been helpful is if the fire pits had had some large stones around, I've found in the past having stones around helps to stop children treading in the ashes and from going too near to the fire, and also gives something to rest cooking grills on. But it's just a small thing.

All in all we had a great weekend and I would recommend it, a small friendly basic site, not as many amenities as other sites, but if you want a simple relaxed natural site to make your own entertainment then this is it. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Warded 1 review from this member

 Just got back from a lovely short stay at Kitts. The campsite is split across 3 fields, two large and a small more wooded covered field in the middle which only has 3 or 4 fire pits.

Fortunately for us the owner was on site when we arrived and we could pitch our tent early.

The facilities are very basic, particularly for the money spent. Albeit we did always have hot water when required, you can see it can easily run out thou with the children running round and playing in the woods.

It has 2 fabulous rope swings positioned either side of the small middle field. Great easy walk to Sheffield park which is definitely worth a visit

The site during our stay also seemed to have more than 25 pitches.

The Sloop was shut during our stay so can't comment.

It is under the Gatwick flight path which you get used to very quickly.

Although not the owner's fault who we thought was a straight forward person, the quiet time late evening was not observed by fellow campers who permitted their children to roam the campsite with strong beamed torches and making plenty of noise.

May go back, but not a definite. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Campingcarter 2 reviews from this member

 We had a rather unique stay at Kitts this week - we had the entire site to our selves! It was quite idyllic!

We chose to camp (by owner recommendation) is a beautiful little glen full of Bluebells! It was just behind the toilet block so I would not camp there is it were busier but with it being just us we were very happy!

Its a beautiful site full of little hidden camping spots and I imagine you can be quite secluded if you want to even when its busy.

The facilities there were clean and just fine for our needs. They are basic, don't expect anything fancy!

It is however a very expensive site, 12. 50 per adult per night, when our son is over 4 we will have to pay for him so it will be too expensive for us then. The small bags of logs were 6 each - there wasn't enough for a proper roaring fire which on a chilly may night was a shame.

Wonderful site, great pub within walking distance too! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CanterFamily 3 reviews from this member

 2 Families camping over the weekend in August had lots of fun at Kitts. Good welcome, beautiful sight and great pub within walking distance. Only argument amongst 2 4 year olds all weekend was over a stick which shows what a good weekend exploring they had!

The only negative were the toilet blocks which didn't seem to get cleaned all weekend, and as it was a damp weekend it meant they got very muddy. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Csummers 2 reviews from this member

 We had a lovely weekend at the site. There are two large fields with woodland area between, very pretty. The children loved the rope swings and climbing the trees. James who runs the site is really nice and very helpful. Fire pits are great and we had plenty of space.

The facilities were basic - three toilets and two showers for the women which didn't seem a lot. Saying that I only had to wait about 5 mins for a shower on the first day. Hot water did seem to run out on the second day.

Pub is really close by and serves great food.

Would definitely recommend to others. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Spinni 1 review from this member

 We have stayed at Kitts a couple of times and loved it everytime. Beautiful site and great that you can have fires!

The owner who runs the site is lovely and we look forward to seeing him every year.

Showers and toilets are basic but fine and the site is very clean. Lovely walks around the area - so great if you have a dog - and there is even a great pub less than a 10 minute walk from the site.

The only bad bit is having to leave to go home! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SurreyCamp 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights. The site is basically 3 fields surrounded by trees near to The Sloop Inn and the Bluebell Railway. Whilst we had a lovely time camping, due to the company that we were with, the facilities on the site were dire. There were 3 toilets and 2 showers for each sex in a basic shed. There were 3 deep sinks at one end under cover for washing up. There were water pipe stations on each field.

We found that unless you got to the showers very early the solar heated water was cold. It was a bit hit and miss whether you got hot water for washing up and the sinks were not cleaned or wiped down. The toilets were dirty and not just a bit grubby due to daily use. There was a deep grime layer of dirt all over the back of the toilets, cascades of cobwebs from the ceiling and thick dirt on the back of the toilet doors. Toilet paper ran out and wasn't replaced. There was no sanitary disposal provision for the ladies. The toilets were not cleaned at all whilst we were there. The sinks were not cleaned and the soap ran out. There were no hand drying facilities. The floor in the toilets was filthy and ditto in the showers. The showers, incidentally, were just copper pipes curved into a 'c' shape with holes in.

It is lovely that you can light fires at this camp but there is an expectation that you will pay 5 for a tiny bag of wood and the owner was quite direct about that.

The owner of the site and The Sloop is very convivial but there he doesn't take any action on suggestions [ie. Clean the loos!].

We paid 80. 00 for 2 adults and 2 children to stay for 2 nights and quite frankly it was a rip off. We have stayed in immaculate sites before for half the price. There are no facilities here and we would not return. They must think that we are all mugs. 


Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Kitts Camp ( Kitts Cottage ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Kitts Camp ( Kitts Cottage )?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Kitts Camp ( Kitts Cottage ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scaynes Hill      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5190 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement