Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Clare Glen Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Tandragee > Clare Glen Caravan Park Reviews

Clare Glen Caravan Park
Markethill Road
Moodage Road
Tandragee
County Armagh   (Browse area)
BT62 2DF
Tel: 028 3884 1110
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 25
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 10 Reviews
                8/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Melaniextwo 8 reviews from this member

 Nice small site. Well kept facilities. Beautiful walks through the glen and along the river. Communal picnic and bbq area. Nothing on site for children but our daughter makes her own fun and we always enjoy our stays here. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Flowerpowerbev1 3 reviews from this member

 After reading reviews we decided to spend a week here. We knew it had no playpark and with 4 children we did ave to go to the playpark in tandragee almost every day to amuse them but it wasn't so bad. If you want to take a tayto factory tour, book way ahead in advance as it is busy. Great wee park, everyone friendly, esp the two mobiles that seem to be permanently there. Great to have free washing machine, tumle dryer and showers, really saves when you have a family, so cheap to stay also. Lovely walks/cycle routes just below you in forest watch out for children as there is no gate on path down th riverside. We went on a sunday and the leisure centre gave us the code for the gate on the phone. Staff were v nice. Had a really enjoyable time, will be back 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cu Cullainn 1 review from this member

 Arrived on St. Patricks weekend, firstly and we weren't told this but you have to go to the local leisure complex first. Minor problem. Once we got settled into the site which I must say is well laid out. The amenities are basic but very clean. The area is lovely with a fantastic wooded area for walking/running. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MONTFORD 7 reviews from this member

 Just a great site! Whilst it was very early in the year, it is a delightful site, with the facilities kept in first class order!

Will return!

Only point to note is check in is at tandragee leisure centre, which is nowhere near the site. But staff are just so friendly and helpful.

Tandragee has plenty of fast food shops and also a co-op spar and centra for the shopping.

The walk along the glen is so picturesque and quiet, you gotta do it! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nee-Naw Nee-Naw 19 reviews from this member

 This is our second visit to this site this year and we love it. At 15. 50 per night, it has to be the best value for money campsite in N. Ireland with regard to what you get for this price.

There are hanging baskets and flower pots around the toilet block, which are nice.

Great location, close to walks along the river.

Toilet block is good, never found it to be really dirty, but would benefit from a clean again in the evening and not just in the morning. Showers are free and there is plenty of hot water. There is also a disabled shower with an alarm.

There are good dishwashing facilities.

The washing machine and tumble drier is included in the site fees, so you do not pay extra to use them.

As mentioned before, you have to go to the leisure centre in Tandragee to book in. During our last visit I mentioned to the staff, that it was not really convenient to go there when towing a caravan. I asked if I could pay beforehand by phone and was told that I could, provided I came to the leisure centre to sign a form that is required for booking.

You need a code to open the entrance gates, this is given to you when you book in and is changed regularly. One thing to note is that someone has to get out of the car to open and close the gates at the entrance. There is a keypad on both side of the gates, one to open them and the other to key the code into again once you have closed the gates, to lock them.

We went to the Tayto crisp factory and joined one of the tours, better to prebook online as they are popular. Thought is was very good value for money 5 for adults and 3 for children. If you go, do not wear any jewellery, apart from your wedding ring and no nail polish or open toe shoes or sandals, this is for hygiene reasons, as you are close to where they make the crisps, during the tour.

Tandragee is the closest town, it is small but has everything you would need. There is a very good butcher/deli, fruit and veg shop and two small, but good supermarkets. Also has a shoe shop, with a fantastic selection of shoes and sandals.

Armagh City is not very far away from here, also Rushmere shopping centre in Craigavon, which has most of the chain stores you would need for a full days shopping.

The old towpath of the Portadown to Newry canal, has been made into a cycle and walking path, but you do not have direct access from the site to it. The closest place where you can get access to it, is from the village of Scarva which is approximately 4 miles from the site. There is parking at the visitor centre in Scarva, which has a nice tearoom. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wenz 1 review from this member

 Just back from a weekend away here! we loved it and def will go back for sure,

The site facilities were always very clean and fresh,

Very safe for kids as well with gate being closed at all times, met some really nice people who go there regularly!

Pitches are nice and big plenty room between vans and site very clean and tidy.

Lovely walks around the park and dog friendly too, perfect for keen fishermen as well,

You have to go to leisure centre to pick your key up first although that's no problem at all, easily found in Tandragee town.

Great site all round. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: L Gilligan 5 reviews from this member

 Found this a lovely quiet retreat.

Showers and toilets generally clean and well kept. Site was well laid out and you have your choice of pitch on arrival.

Lovely walk along the glen just beside the park. Tandragee very convenient with shops providing all you need.

No park for the children but I found it very safe with closed gates and children had freedom to play around and be children. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sunshine21 5 reviews from this member

 We had an enjoyable stay here. We were not told that you had to collect the key at the leisure centre so landed at the park. Luckily someone let us in with the caravan ant then we went in the car to pay and get the key. The toilets and showers were ok, wet and not the cleanest or tidiest. The problem may have been they were open to the public or were used by the public who were walking in the glen nearby. There was no supervision in the site but it was quiet when we were there. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Arlene m 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for three nights and found it to be ideal for us, as we had our husky with us and the adjacent walk along the river was perfect for him. The sites were hardstanding and surrounded by trees.The gate to the site is opened and closed at all times and each caravan is given a key to use.The key is first collected at Tandragee leisure centre, which is situated in the centre of town and is a few minutes from the site. In winter, however the site may be quite isolated and too quiet for some. The town is nearby and has all the usual facilities. The downside to this small site would be the toilet block.It could be a lot cleaner.The showers are ok but did flood every time we used them. Overall-a decent site, which is not overly packed and would be recommended for a quiet break. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dixie35 3 reviews from this member

 We have been here for the last 3 weekends. We originally went to clare glen cos we are new to camping and it was not too far from home.

Anyone going here needs to book in at the leisure centre which is on the way into tandragee from lurgan/gilford. Here you are given a key which is for the front gate and must be locked when entering and leaving the site ( I liked this as it means no strange cars can drive in when the kids are running about)

The toilets and showers are cleaned usually twice dailey and are well heated. There is no play park for kids but this is a family site and there is always loads of kids running about playing games.

Clare glen is 1 mile outside tandragee were there is a range of shops bars and takeaways, and the tayto factory which does tours.

Just beside the entrance to the site there is a river ( think its called clare glen river? ) and its good for a walk round. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Clare Glen Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Clare Glen Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Clare Glen Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tandragee      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in County Armagh

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1272 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement