Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Froghall Fisheries

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Llouth > Froghall Fisheries Reviews

Froghall Fisheries
Furze Lane
Legbourne
Llouth
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
LN11 8LR
Tel: 01507 354984
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 17 Reviews
                8/10 from 17 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: November 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 31+ Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Vans4eva 2 reviews from this member

 This site needs a lot of work to bring it up to standard. Firstly the access road, which is in an appalling state, it's full of deep potholes and becomes a mudbath after a couple of rainy days. One pothole is as wide as the road itself so the only way to get on or off site on foot in wet weather, is if you're wearing wellies.

New electronic security gates have recently been added, but the road absolutely must be sorted, as a matter of priority.

There are 11 pitches, currently all seasonal, which are split into 2 areas, plus several self-catering lodges with more being built.

The top pitching area is closest to the toilet/shower block, the bottom area is about a 250-yard walk away from the block, along the access road. There is a cafe and fishing tackle shop closer than that, with toilets (cafe open in summer and serves good breakfasts, sandwiches and snacks) but they're only accessible when the cafe is open - basically summer months, from breakfast time to early afternoon.

The toilet block really needs a re-think, although not old, there is no heating and no hot water to the washbasins, it doesn't get cleaned often enough and there is nowhere dry and private to towel off and dress after a shower, you have to step out into the washbasin area to do it! Entry to the toilets is by key which is a £5 deposit, this stops the day fishermen using the toilets.

Pitching surface is composed of some kind of tarmac/hardcore mixture which in some places is quite uneven and overgrown with weeds. Together with the collapsing piles of unused bricks in the main car park, and the road, this gives the site an unkempt appearance.

Pitches have their own metered electric and fresh water but no grey waste drainage. For that, either use the 2 Elsan points or if you're seasonal, pipe the waste into a ditch which isn't very environmentally friendly.

There are 3 fishing lakes and the fishing can be anything from poor to excellent, but that's the nature of fishing really and no reflection on this site.

If you're seasonal, the pitch fee includes unlimited fishing which is a definite plus point for keen anglers.

In nice weather it really is a pleasant, peaceful place to fish, surrounded by farmland with the village a short walk away and some good walks to be had.

In general, the location is good, Legbourne is a tidy village with one small shop for essentials although little else. Louth is 3 miles away, it's an attractive market town with plenty of supermarkets, pubs, restaurants and independent shops. Mablethorpe is 12 miles away and has a stunning sandy beach plus the usual seaside attractions.

Good eating places nearby include the Queens Head right outside the site, the Royal Oak in Little Cawthorpe, and the Waggon and Horses in South Reston.

The site is not officially adults only, but is unsuitable for children unless they are into fishing, as there are no facilities for them.

If you like your fishing, aren't too bothered about a neat site, and prefer to use your own facilities, you may like a seasonal pitch here. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tango123 4 reviews from this member

 Well where do I start my wife and I have had a great 7 day stay at this amazing place. Thank you Sara and Shawn nothing was to much trouble. The café did a great breakfast and the tackle shop stocked everything you could ask for and the fishing in both lakes was superb. We will be back for more.

Thanks from Ian and Vicky 


Date of Visit: December 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ROB336 4 reviews from this member

 Sean as been busy yet again improving the site.

All pitches are now serviced with water and hook ups (will now be metered )

Each pitch is now hard stand for car and caravan in addition to a block paved area to be used as a patio or your awning. Parking your car next to van a bit tight but it's ok.

The drive way now completely finished right up to the cabins.

For those of you who have been here before will remember a mound behind the house next to the small pond. It's now cleared away which as greatly improved the view from the pitches near the toilet block. The pond has been extended a little as well.

The next job Sean is to tackle is the house and the old wooden garage which is going to be of brick and a proper storage area for the bins and gas bottles.

Fishing still good on all three ponds. Main pond to be restocked yet again in the new year. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sos2301 20 reviews from this member

 We stayed here and we really enjoyed ourselves, was the first trip of the season. The toilet block is immaculate, my husband fished both days caught on the small lake, but no bites on the big lake on the Sunday. The site is near Louth, a lovely town with good shops.

We arrived late on the Friday night, but were welcomed and the owners were happy to see us for payment the following day. This a nice quiet site with some work in progress, we look forward to going back later in the year and seeing the progress. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Billo 1 review from this member

 My 3rd visit this year, and cant count how many since Sean and Sarah took it over (and the boys). I'm a lover of the site and cant rate it high enough. The fishing was 'rubbish' I caught nothing in my match with my son. So Sean came out after his tea fished next to us for 3 hours and caught 14 fish largest a nice tench (shows that its how you fish) For me catching fish is a bonus to the site.

It's friendly, peaceful off the track and a place to charge my batteries up (not the ones in caravan)The site has progressed greatly over the past 4 yrs and at this rate you will need a letter from 'God' to get on it in 4 yrs time. This will be a fantastic site in the future and its my retreat now. I can recommend this to all. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Reuben 14 reviews from this member

 Stayed for a week in very mixed weather - very warm & sunny some days & absolutely pouring on others. Mine was the only tent on the site. Sean was very friendly & gave me a few options on where to pitch. I chose a pitch in the area used by caravans or motorhomes due to the weather. A very nice part of the world & the site was very quiet. I met some very nice fellow anglers.

It's a level site with good modern facilities including disabled access, shower tokens available from the owners house & a key for a £5 refundable deposit. Excellent mixed fishing on the 2 lakes. There's a village shop about a 15 minute walk away & a pub at the bottom of the 400mtr drive. The pub was closed for refurbishment whilst I was there but there was another - the 'Splash' a pleasant 30mins walk away.

As I've said some of the days were very wet but the ground drained very well where I was so no complaints at all. One small improvement wouls be a washing up area for campers - behind the new toilet block would be great. See to it Sean!

I'd thoroughly recommend Froghall & I'd be very happy to return - which I will next year.

Very good value for money considering the fishing was included. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Danny 880 1 review from this member

 Met up with our friends from Swindon for a full weeks fishing. This was our fourth visit to the site having used it three times last year. Shaun the owner has made lots of improvements to the site and continues to do so. Biggest improvement is the brand new Toilet and Washing Block which now has separate Gents, Ladies, and Disabled facilities all complete with washbasins and power showers. Ramps for wheelchairs are provided. Building will commence shortly to construct a purpose built shed to house the sites wheelie bins. A freshly gravelled track has been laid from the main road, another big improvement. Sadly the Pub was closed down on this visit but there was work being done to it so hopefully will reopen soon. The fishing was excellent throughout the week, Carp up to 15lbs, Tench up to 4lbs and lots of silver fish. Had a netfull midweek, took two of us to drag keepnet out. A cafe has been constructed and a cooked breakfast can be had on match days. Plan is to sell fishing tackle and bait as well. To sum up site is peaceful, much improved facilities, and the fishing is superb. Will definitely be a regular visitor to Froghall Fisheries. 


Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ballysue 1 review from this member

 Went to this site as it was the only one open in this area. The fishing was very very good and my husband had a great time. The owner was very helpful. He will be opening a cafe and tackle shop this year and has plans for new lakes. The toilet block was closed and if in a camper don't forget anything as the local shop is a long walk away and the pub at the bottom of the lane is closed. That said a lovely quiet site, ideal for fishermen. Will be back to see next stage of the work and catch loads of fish again 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nemo 3 reviews from this member

 A lovely quiet site, about 15 mins drive from Louth which has three market days and a great sweet shop, a fishing tackle and bait shop called Casterways!

The owners are working hard to open the new toilet block, but this has been the case since our first visit in 2010, so would strongly advice to ask if it is open if you are not keen on using own sanitiation. The toilet and shower that are available are very basic.

Both lakes provide good fishing.

Cafe is being developed next to large lake.

We will visit again. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Susia 5 reviews from this member

 We spent 4 very quiet and peaceful nights at this site, but first impressions count. On arrival we saw a very new toilet block and only 1 other caravan. We booked this site in February because of the fishing lake.

The owner said the toilet block wasn't open yet due to the electricity not being connected yet, but they had a toilet and shower we could use next to the lodge, well what a let down no toilet roll, soap or hand towels!

The shower curtain was in need of attention although the shower was very good. These are very basic facilities of which should be kept at their very best clean and tidy, but in my opinion were very poor.

If you are after a very peaceful and quiet site then this is it, not a sound at night, the fishing being the reason for booking the site and it was very good in both lakes.

The village pub at the end of the drive is ok, meals reasonable and beer not bad. Local shop sells most essentials. Overall the owners are trying to sort out the place.

Would we go back? Lots of other sites to try first. 


Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Froghall Fisheries child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Froghall Fisheries?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Froghall Fisheries dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Llouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3329 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement