Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Du Domaine Des Forges

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Avrille Vendee > Camping Du Domaine Des Forges Reviews

Camping Du Domaine Des Forges
Rue Des Forges
Avrille Vendee
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
85440
Tel: + 330 2 51 22 38 85
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 295
Open: 11/02 - 15/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 24 Reviews
                8/10 from 24 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Karenharvey4710 9 reviews from this member

Stayed here with my husband and our two daughters ages 13 &11. Great location only 20 minutes from a number of fantastic beaches, short drive to super markets & situated in a nice little town.

Pitch was huge - great size we comfortable got the caravan awning plus the tent for the girls And our car on with plenty of room to dine outside with room to spare.

Showers & toilets were cleaned at least three times ever day do they remained clean. Some queuing for the showers at peak times though as there were only about 5 showers to service aargh area of pitches.

Shop on site is very limited but does sell fresh bread in the morning & late afternoon.

Swimming pool was good but very busy. Almost impossible to get a sun bed. At about 3pm there would be organised Games in the largest pool which was fine but it usually came with very loud euro-pop music which wasn't as enjoyable - killing the relaxing atmosphere a tad.

Take away was good but a little slow as the kitchen concentrated first on the diners eating in the restaurant first but the chips & pizza were good.

Our real issue was the nightly entertainment went on to midnight every night. The speakers faced out on to the main campsite meaning it could be heard all over the site. We were practically in the furthest point from the entertainment and it would have been impossible to get to sleep with the music - other families with younger children may struggle if they want to settle down before midnight every night. Because of the age our our children it didn't impact on our enjoyment too much.

All in all it was a good site in a great location. Well maintained but the new ownership are reducing the touring pitches in favour of cabins (as they get two on each touring pitch) so in the future the touring community will become less & less.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TheMoores 3 reviews from this member

We have recently returned from nearly 3 weeks at this site. We stayed here last August and there have been a few changes.

The site was owned by Castells and has been taken over by Franceloc.

We had requested a specific pitch on the old part of the site- many of the pitches on this part are shady but ours was very sunny and was huge. We did not want to be on the old new part of the site as we did not like it - it is very open and there are no trees or hedges seperating the pitches so there is no privacy. We also had a fully services pitch with a shed containing a fridge, table, chairs, parasol, sunbeds and a small gas barbecue. The barbecue was a disappointment as last year they were big proper ones whereas this year it was a small one with just a hot plate and griddle.

There was a lot more entertainment this year - aqua aerobics, zumba, karoake, disco etc. Some people found the evening entertainment too noisy however it did not bother us. We did not get involved and as it was over by midnight we didn't let it bother us. Site rules stated quiet after 10 and the site manager drive around on a golf buggy checking on the noise which we found ridiculous when the music was blasting from the bar!

The pool was very busy but although there was rarely a sunbed free when we arrived at the pool people were coming and going all the rime so we didn't have to wait long before one came free. Last year the lifeguards were very strict and adhered closely to the pool rules whereas this year noone seemed to care. The pool complex is not huge so the kids are never far away.

The toilet block was very new and clean but was only cleaned at lunchtime. There was plenty of hot water and we never waited long for a shower.

The lovely sandy beaches at Les Conches and Le Terriere are about 20 mins drive away and there are lifeguards on duty and a place to get a snack or an ice cream. The sea was very varied - some days we were body boarding and other days it was very calm.

Jard sur mer and La Tranche sur mer are a short drive away and there are some nice restaurants.

If you fancy a drive there are plenty of picturesque French villages to explore within a hour. The nearby village has a boulangerie and a couple of restaurants - we tried one and it wasn't very good!

Overall the site is nice, pretty and clean with huge pitches and a good sized pool for the kids but it has definitely got busier and livelier under the new ownership. If you want peace and quiet it's definitely not the site for you but it's also not too loud and we found the noise ok. After all it was the height of the season, school holidays so we didn't expect silence!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Skiers 18 reviews from this member

We came here in 2012, and due to booking late we decided to book again.

A few changes this year, Franceloc has totally taken over the site, lots of staff about getting ready for the season, new bushes for the new side but also another at least 50 new Franceloc cabins taken over a lot of caravan pitches. The full site looks as if a lot of money has been spent, it's a lot cleaner and tidier with lots of flowers in planters across site. It seems more 'Corporate' with nobody in charge with lots of young people looking after the site. We had a gang of youths roaming across the site at weekend kicking a ball about making a lot of noise late at night, no security or manager about to take charge!

Although we wanted the new part of the site with the large pitches due to it being early in the season it was closed and everybody was using the old part.

The old part has a lot more small pitches and lots and lots of large trees and bushes. 80% of the pitches are in the shade, we could choose so walked around and was lucky to find a large sunny pitch with no large trees to over hang the caravan. The grass was cut short

The toilet blocks were cleaned 3 times a day, the toilets had seats and with loo paper, the showers were the press button sort with lovely hot water but tight for hanging your clothes up. Lovely clean, airy and new.

Lots for children, free bouncy castle, table tennis bring your own bats, football pitch with nets bring your own football. Playground.

The swimming pool very nice plenty of sun loungers and sun shades. Sexy tight swim shorts for the men.

The restaurtant/cafe/bar is now open all day from 8. 30 in the morning. Also they are baking there own baguettes/croissants on site if collecting at 8. 30 in the morning they are hot!

The fishing lake has had its fence taken down from last year, so care must be taken with children, some of the cabins are only 10 feet away from the water. (While we were on holiday this year at another site 4 children drown on a caravan site with a fishing lake)

The best sandy beach about 10 mins drive away, Les Conches, life guard, free car park 20 yards from beach, toilets and about 4 food/drinks cabins.

Make a note ASCI card is now not used at this site, a few people was upset about this.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nee-Naw Nee-Naw 19 reviews from this member

This was our second year in a row at this site.

Still really like it, but it was noticeable that it was not the same as last year, but we could not quite figure out why at first. It was only after talking to other people, who had been there before that we realised what was wrong. It lacked the 'personal touch' that the previous owner had. The previous owner was always around the site, always spoke to you and kept a close eye on everything that was going on. When we left after two weeks, we couldn't have told you who, or if anyone, was in charge.

New arrivals were not shown to their pitches, which in our case was OK as we knew where we were going, but we noticed others getting lost frequently. One afternoon two large mother homes got stuck in an area where it was really difficult to get turned, because they didn't know where they were going. It took quite about of manoeuvring to get them turned round.

As said in other reviews, there were not enough staff in the bar/restaurant area, so sometimes you had quite a wait.

On the nights when there was entertainment eg disco, karaoke, there was not enough seating in the courtyard. Eventually the staff started to put out more seating, but why could they not have done this in advance? They didn't always look like they knew what they were doing, in fact my OH remarked that they looked like they were 'feeling their way' with a lot of things. It looked like they were all very inexperienced and lacked leadership.

The disco and karaoke went on too long, I would have thought 11. 00 would have been acceptable, not midnight.

Only saw the grass being cut on pitches once, after people left.

Even thought it seems like I have a lot of complaints, the good points far outweigh the negative ones.

The new slides are great. The pool was kept open until 10pm on Saturday, which we all enjoyed.

Despite the late finish of the entertainment, it wasn't on every night and we all enjoyed it. Hope it stays like this.

The staff are all very helpful and friendly, once you got to know them.

Toilets kept really clean, only had to queue once for a shower in two weeks and that was only for a couple of minutes. Water always warm for both showers and dish washing.

We had given them a choice of six different pitches when we booked and were given one of our choices, so were happy with that. It was a terrific size, not too shaded, had sun in a different part of it, as the day progressed.

Love the location of this site, far enough from the coast to miss out on the traffic, but still within a short drive of several good beaches and towns.

Food was good, we only used the takeaway, but had no complaints, either about price or quality.

If you needed something from the shop you just had to ask at the bar and they opened it for you. It doesn't carry a lot of stock though, so there is probably no point in having it open all day. It was simple enough to go to the bar to get the bread each morning, we did not find this to be a problem.

In general the site was clean and tidy, apart from the grass not being cut, there was little difference with that side of things.

Would have no hesitation in returning to Domaine Des Forges, but would go with different expectations that this year.

Will be interesting to see if it remains part of the Castels chain, or if it changes to Franceloc. One downside of this would be having to stick to certain arrival days, as that is how Franceloc work with tourer/camping bookings.

One of the reception staff told us that they may be extending the bar, restaurant area, so that would be good, as it is not big enough for the size of the site.

I hope they do not put anymore statics on this site, as it would lose its appeal for us, but will have to wait and see.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Skiers 18 reviews from this member

We arrived at this Castels site to friendly reception staff and was given a map to find our pitch, this was on the new side of the site. We had booked a 200 square metre pitch as advertised but was given one under a huge tree about 80 square metre, not happy but with a busy full camp site, we got sorted and awning up, about a hour later the wind started blowing and branches started falling, on top of the caravan and car! We looked around the camp site and found a few empty spots and headed back to reception, after a firm chat and told them we would be moving, she gave way and moved us to one of the empty 200 metre pitches. Much better and near the facilities.

This new side seems to be slowly filling up at the perimeter with wooden lodges which are on the smaller side, until they are sold they are using them for general pitches. They really shouldn't advertise 200 square metres and give you a small 80 square metres pitch.

We had two unisex toilet blocks on the new side, with 4 toilets/ 4 push button showers and 5 wash rooms, pot wash and laundry area. They were cleaned 3 times a day. The showers were small, it was easier to go with swim wear on and flip flops, with toilet bag and towel. There was one peg to hang things, everything got wet through. We did this, everybody copied! Busy for toilets first thing in the morning and last thing at night, we only queued for showers once in 11 days, pick your time. Plenty of hot water.

Two lovely swimming pools one outside and one inside, life guard on duty, plenty of beds, sunshades and chairs. The three swim slides/chutes all contained in their own splash area. Free bouncy castle for children.

Outside and inside bar area with TV, very slow had to queue in a line for a drink, food needs to be reorganised as they sell take away's and restaurant food at same time, we ordered pizza and chips, we ate the pizza very good but chips didn't arrive, one person serving, just too much for her.

This was a quiet site considering the size and holidaying in school holidays, having got the larger pitch which we booked, the weather reaching 36 degrees, and meeting different holiday makers on site, we had a lovely holiday. We would come back again if in the area.

Lovely beach 10 mins away, all sand, plenty of surfing and body surfing, life guards on duty, small cafe and sandwiches to buy, big free car park 20 metres from sand.

Supermarkets near by. Food 30% more than UK, diesel £1. 10 a litre from supermarkets.

Note to the first timers to France- all towns, villages, supermarkets (as big as Tesco) closed 12. 30 till 2. 30 and some half days in the week and all shops closed Sunday. Maybe cities may be different.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sussex_Camper 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned from an great stay at this site. Whilst not at good as our visit to another Castel's site (Lanniron in Quimper) last year, it was still an excellent site.

At the back end of August it was starting to get quieter and on 1 September its as if someone threw a switch, all but a handful of Brits were left. The entertainment finished and they started removing all the pool furniture.

The pitches were huge. We had a premium pitch and our son and girlfriend had a nearby standard pitch, both were flat, partially shaded and one very private, the other not so. The ground was exceptionally hard, thankfully we had a supply of rock pegs.

The facilities were all very new, and kept spotless, although the early morning closure for cleaning at 7:30 did not suit us, but we seemed to be alone on that one!

As per other reports don't rely on the shop, use the one in the village or Super you in Jard. The early morning bread/croissants bought in the bar were on the expensive side. Get on your bike and go to the village.

On the subject of bikes, the area is cycling heaven, get a map from reception.

The pool complex, with water slides is fantastic for families.

There are various events, food and live music at the bar area. Perhaps the Karaoke did not need to last until after midnight. The live band on Friday evening was a good finale to the season. Food events included Paella & Moules/Frites.

One other pleasant surprise for such a small village was the local Restaurant, Menhir. This top notch eatery was in addition to the villages Tabac and small cafe/pizza place. Rather than a local Auberge that one would normally expect in a small village such as Avrille, The Menhir offered an excellent range of Seafood and Meats, prepared in front of you by the chef and cooked on the open griddle in the restaurant.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bungle 8 reviews from this member

Stayed here from 25/07 to 10/08 2012, pitch 232 on the new part. Weather was very good and we had a great holiday. Probably 50% French 25% Dutch and Brits whilst we were there.

Comparing it to La Garangeoire another 5 star camp site we used last year, I'd have to say its not quite up there.

Pitch was 14 x 19 so huge, more than enough space, water and drainage was fine, but I did have to go out and buy a 3/4 BSP connector from Super you as the standard one in the mains kit was too small. Some pitches have the drain and tap at the top of the slope making it nigh on impossible to hook up directly.

As We were on the new side there wasn't a lot of privacy between pitches and vans and tents did look on top of one another in some areas. We did get the odd cyclist and scooter kid come flying through our pitch.

Toilet and shower blocks were unisex, seat and loo roll provided, clean and good, just not big enough when the site is full.

Swimming pool is fine if a little cold, budgie smugglers only. Kids seemed to enjoy the water slides.

Site shop was a total waste of time hardly ever open and when its was there was nothing in there. Small Proxi in the Village with a cheerful owner or Lidl and Super you up the road in Talmont.

30 Euro deposit for barrier card, which is OK until you come to leave, You have to park in the car park with the van attached then go back to reception to give the card back. There were 6 of us in there when we came away, waiting for one chap who had gone for a last minute walk about.

Some night time entertainment, very noisy disco went on till after 11 30 pm.

They have a new access road between rue D'etang and the village makes access easier. Though 2 vans would never pass on the road to reception.

Facilities wise its not up there with La Garangeoire, bar, restaurant take away etc, but location wise it's closer to a lot of nice places.

There are some nice beaches within a 10 minute drive, as is Jard Sur Mer, La Tranche is 20 minutes away well worth a visit, L'Sables is 25 minutes La Rochele is about an hour the same as Puy du Fou.

Some parts of the new site have taken on the look of stalag luft 111 due to the amount of sheds growing around the edge

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Catjon24 1 review from this member

Very nice but facilities inadequate for the size of site.

Pitches we had on new part of site were massive but you will need a lot of waste hose to maximise the pitch while still taking advantage of the waste drain. Older part of site is very shaded, too much so in my opinion. Falling branches caused one couple to have to move while we were there.

Pool area is nice but surface around the pool is savage on the feet especially on the really hot days. Pool rules are speedo type swimwear for men, no footwear around pool area( both for hygiene reasons??) no jumping/diving in etc. These rules were enforced vigorously. No rules seemed to be applied on the slides however, it was pretty much 'do as you like'.

New for 2012, the aforementioned slides, what they don't say is that there is no longer a children's play area and part of the 'crazy golf' has been lost due to their construction. Please do not waste €1. 50 on the golf, the 15 holes that remain are falling to bits. There is a free bouncy castle on site maybe to Make up for the loss of the play area. The is again unattended and was usually fully of lounging teenagers.

Sanitary blocks are always clean and tidy as reported in other reviews. On the new part of site, they are small 'mixed' blocks which soon became full causing frequent but thankfully, not lengthy queues.

Bar area is again too small to cater for the size of site. The staff are always polite and friendly but seemed out of their depth when faced with a queue of thirsty punters. €4. 10 for a grande 'non branded' bier. I leave that to you to decide if that's reasonably priced or not.

The shop, on the 2 occasions we looked inside appeared to have been 'looted' judging by the bare shelves. Small shop in Avrille village is within walking distance, Super you is a good drive away in Talmont st Hillaire.

For the anglers amongst us, the fishing lake is reasonable. Take boilies though in order to catch some of the carp that are in there ( I caught up to about 12lb ) any smaller baits will be devoured by the plague of small catfish in the lake. Be careful if you catch one, they have spiny fins!

Despite my review, we had a great holiday, I'm sure you will enjoy your stay here but it does seem they have sacrificed quality in favour of quantity of visitors.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sly1 1 review from this member

Have visited here for last 2 years, us and our 2 children 12 and 7 love the area so much decided we would use this campsite again. Big changes this year. Main one being change of ownership. We requested a pitch that we had last year, 117 which was HUGE. Upon arrival were very happy to have it allocated to us. Went to said pitch to find that it had been cut in half to accommodate a massive permanent tent! Not happy, back to reception where upon we embarked on a 2 hour search for a pitch. Were given another that was already taken too. It wasn't until Daniel (owner/manager?) came along that a decision was made to give us pitch 88. Total wasteland! In the end we had to pitch our van BEHIND the pitch as it was totally unsuitable, grass over a foot high, big pot holes etc. We were told that we could also have use of field behind pitch for our stay, They would mow grass. Etc. To be fair they did, and filled in potholes. In all we had about 1/4 acre pitch! They eventually helped get us sorted very well, but it was hassle we could have done without.

Can't decide if its a Castells or Franceloc site now, some changes have been made for the better ie more for older kids, water slides etc. Others not so good, shop is useless and also the old owner would escort you to the pitch, so no hassle then! Think they are getting a bit greedy and cramming too much in, overnight pitches at front of site now being used as actual long stay pitches. Worth getting a pitch on the older/shadier part of the site. Temp reached 35c when we were there so shade was VERY welcome!

Having said all that, struggling to find site of similar ilk in area at comparative price, water hook up etc.

Ended up quite happy, they even gave us 2 weeks wifi for our stay (50 euros saved) helped pay for a good meal out!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Glyndelahay 2 reviews from this member

Visited early June. Very pleasant and friendly reception and the pitch we were allocated was huge and in a quiet cul-de-sac (at the rear of the château).

Only one side of the sanitaires was open meaning at times you could be waiting for the showers. After a request by another camper the other side was opened.

Statics were dotted amongst the pitches, we were lucky as we had no problem with late noise but one poor chap in a tent was kept awake till 3 in the morning by late night revellers.

Although site rules state 'ABSOLUTE Silence after 10 pm there was no one to enforce this rule. The only complaint we had was the grass needed cutting on a more regular basis.

Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Avrille Vendee      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6708 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019