Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Blue Bell Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Belford > Blue Bell Farm Reviews

Blue Bell Farm
West Street
Belford
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE70 7QE
Tel: 01668 213362
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 22
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 19 Reviews
                8/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Doug laughton 3 reviews from this member

 My wife and I camped for 4 nights over the Aug bank holiday for the first time without our daughters who are now old enough to be left 18/20. We loved it. Toilets/showers were clean and worked properly. I think there must of been some heating in there as it was warm too. The site was very quite and mostly caravans static n tourers. The owners were very helpful and friendly. We bought a new camp table but we didn't need it as the owners told us we could move picnic tables around and take one to use which was nice of them. We were allowed to park our car next to the tent which seemed to be a concession as no other cars were around. The site is handily place to visit Bamburgh castle 5 miles and seahouses 10 miles away. We also visited Harry Potter castle Alnwick 15 miles. The village pub The Black Swan had a roaring log fire and was full of the locals who were very friendly. Also the staff at the Blue Bell hotel were friendly too were we ate (very average). In seahouses I had the best fish n chips in the UK and I've been to Whitby! Also in Seahouse we ate at the Indian restaurant which was great my wife recons it's the best chicken tikka rogan josh she's ever had. Indian Brasserie it's called. Holy Island and the castle of Lindisfarne was our highlight of the trip and this is approx 12 miles away using the tidal causeway (A unique experience worth the trip alone). Ducks rabbits guinea fowl if it was my site would be for the chop. Messy and guinea fowl noisy, but would not let this stop me from coming again. Small quite site. If you have a dog that chases rabbits, ducks, doves, swans guinea fowl then it may not be for you. We never used the chippy right at the entrance but the co-op is very large and extremely hand for a fresh pint of milk and its bread/pastry selection was great. Well stocked with different beers and wine! We had a couple of cold one's before walking to the Blue bell hotel for tea. I would not want to stay at the Hotel as its more shabby than chic. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hamish Motorhome 5 reviews from this member

 Possibly the worst pitch I have ever seen in 30 years of camping. We were put onto a pitch that was basically the parking space for a static. The access to the site was extremely narrow and height restricted - we hit the motorhome off at least two trees that had been allowed to grow over the access road. There were lots of birds roaming everywhere - ducks, geese, swans, chickens, doves, pigeons. But with them comes a lot of bird poo. No dog walking facilities on site and we found a large dog poo on our pitch. Would not use this site again and actually didn't stay for the three nights we'd booked. The toilet block was very outdated and motorhome service point was an afterthought. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Pkk123 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a 2 night break at Bluebell Farm staying in 'The Ark' which is like a huge wooden tent containing a fridge, microwave, kettle, toaster and some crockery. The bench seats convert into either two twin beds or by lifting the boards across and using an extra base cushion becomes a massive 8 foot bed.

The Ark is basic but the benefit over a tent is that you have the electrical appliances plus you don't have to erect and dismantle it!

It has a lovely large patio area to the front and side of it with two picnic benches plus another bench in front, plus a brick BBQ. It has a stable door on it which is handy if you have children as you can listen out for them when they are in bed and you are outside.

It is surrounded by trees and has a Dovecote next door and is home to plenty of birds including two lovely swans. There are also lots of bunnies hopping about.

We stayed with a toddler and dog, both of whom loved it. Dog's need to be kept on a lead but with all the beautiful walking opportunities in the area during the day this isn't a problem.

We didn't visit any of the pubs in the village but we did use the Co-op which is a just over the road to the entrance of the site and is a decent size and open until 10pm.

This site is mainly static caravans around the edge with a large grassed area in the middle for tourers and tents. It is so peaceful - apart from the birds and the sheep in a nearby field baa-ing but they are nice noises! You really feel away from it all here and it is a fantastic place to unwind. It is in a superb location for visiting Lindisfarne, Seahouses (lovely little town in it's own right but also the departure point for boat trips to the Farne Islands)and Bamburgh all of which are within about 15 minutes drive.

In response to a comment on an earlier review about all the rubbish going in one bin, it does do, but it is a private recycling bin so I guess the company collecting it will separate it out at their depot, a lot of firms do that now using machines and also by hand. There is also a little compost heap box next to The Ark for fruit and veg leftovers.

As regards to the shower/toilet blocks, the bottom line is - they could do with new ones - however considering the majority of guests are in static caravans the number of people who use them probably doesn't make it economical to do so. Basically, they are in a barn type building with an exposed roof area with skylights so it does look a bit cobwebby and the concrete floor is painted green but the paint is peeling off in quite large areas which gives a bad impression, but when you look at the actual sinks and toilet bowls/seats they were absolutely spotless when I was there. You'll want your flip flops on in the shower as like I say the floor isn't too cracking but I certainly wouldn't let the shower block put me off going back again, and I am really fussy when it comes to loos. There was plenty of soap and loo rolls and the water in the shower was piping hot.

Lovely site, will definitely be going back. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jasper15 10 reviews from this member

 We stopped here on our way north. We arrived on site and was asked did we have a motor mover, its a large van, no we don't, then how good is he at reversing, we were put into a space that was for a static van complete with patio and garden.

The site was well kept, with ducks, geese swans and rabbits, you have to watch where you put your feet.

The toilet block on the other hand was not clean or well kept, in fact the showers were in a really bad state, after looking in I decided not to use the them, the gents were no better according to my husband, who was in there while the block was being cleaned just before 7am. (well the floor was mopped).

The village has a lot to offer with Pubs Restaurants, Chippy and a Co-Op.

Good place to stop off Belton, shame about the site, not a place we will be going back to 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Buddyrescue 11 reviews from this member

 When we arrived at the site we were left in a little confusion as the owners were away and the girl running the site wasn't too sure where we were to site our tourer.

When we got settled were more than pleased, as we were given a hard standing for our tourer, with plenty of space. The site itself is very tidy and well cared for, although it is mainly static caravans with only a few spaces for tourers.

The toilets are basic though clean. I had a bit of trouble getting the temperature just right on the shower, and as it was quite cool when we were there, getting dressed / undressed was to say the least 'a chilly experience!'as the toilet block is not heated.

We are keen to re-cycle and were a little disappointed the all rubbish was in one bin, though not sure if that's down to Northumbria council or the site, where we live plastic, cardboard tins and glass all separated at disposal.

Around the site there are ducks, geese, rabbits plenty of little animals which I'm sure children would love.

Belford village is a peaceful little hamlet with supermarket, chip shop and pub if you require.

Around the area, there is plenty to do with some amazing scenery, though if you want action packed entertainment then this is not the place for you!

We would certainly return to Bluebell farm as we enjoyed our stay. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Hilary Rose 8 reviews from this member

 As other reviews have mentioned this is a lovely quiet site teaming with animals, just fine for us.

We were given a massive static van pitch for our stay, complete with small garden just fab. We were made very welcome by our hosts. The lady who keeps everything up to spec. On the

Loo/shower/laundry room areas is a mind of useful info on how too, where too, and what too, she also works her socks off to keep on top of things for us visitors. 2 female showers, plenty of loos and the same in gents I am told. Dish wash sink within ladies or gents toilet/loo blocks all covered areas

. Local buses run the coast route if you fancy a change, or if you ask for David in the Bluebell he runs a Taxi service. We found this particular pub/hotel/restaurant really friendly, good food, beer and company although there are two more in the village one sporting an Indian restaurant in the evening we are told.

Loads to see and do and we fell on fantastic weather, would not hesitate to return. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Philreckless 3 reviews from this member

 We are used to 'middle of nowhere' camping so it was strange to go to a site in the middle of the village. Once inside you don't notice this, and the few tents felt a little enclosed in amongst the many static caravans which thankfully seemed little used. My kids, 6 and 4, absolutely loved the ducks, geese, other birds and rabbits. There was little else to do on the site for them but they played on the 2 swinging tyres and had races around the little road within the site on their bikes. We had so much to do in the area we just used the campsite for eating and sleeping. We got used to the convenience of the co-op, the fish and chip shop and the fantastic curry restaurant at the back of The Salmon, all within a minute or two walk. There was no problem with bird droppings, the toilets were fine, always clean and the shower was easy to use. We will maybe try a campsite within walking distance of a beach next time, but we were satisfied with this site which was appropriate for younger kids. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Juls76 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a fantastic camping break here, in total we were a party of 10 ( three tents) and were really pleased with the site.

The staff were all fantastic and always on hand.

The birds, rabbits and ducks were all around us but never caused us any problems.

The toilets and showers are dated but were always clean.

Small supermarket and great chippy located at the entrance to the site as well as pubs, play areas and farm shop within easy walking distance.

Loads to do within 10 mile radius including Lindisfarne, Alnwick Castle and Gradens, wonderful beaches ( we visited Beadnell and Bamburgh ).  


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hayl2010 1 review from this member

 Just been here for our first family camping trip and really enjoyed ourselves. Its a pretty informal camping area amongst the caravan park, but you don't get the feeling of being crowded or overlooked. There were a few other tents during our stay, but still plenty of space for the kids to play without getting in peoples way. There is also a small swing/climbing frame set to keep them busy. The animals that wander around the place are very cute, and the children seem to love them. Toilets and showers were always clean and all staff friendly when you saw them. Belford itself is a lovely little village, but apart from a couple of pubs there isnt really anything to do (which is exactly what we wanted), but other local attractions are easily accessible by car. The chip shop at the entrance does lovely fish and chips, and there is a co-op opposite which although basic does come in useful. Its a lovely little place and we will definitely pop back another time. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rsp2 3 reviews from this member

 I stayed at this site Easter weekend with my 4 year grandson and we had a great time. James loved all birds rabbits ect. This is a small site but I never felt overlooked. The owner was always on hand if you needed him. The static and tourer owners were very friendly and helpful. The facilities are basic but were always clean. I can not comment on showers as I used the ones at the sports centre in berwick after visiting the swimming baths every day. The park is small but there is a nice one in belford. Just outside the site is a Coop, fish shop, pubs ect. Will I return to this site YES. 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Blue Bell Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Blue Bell Farm ?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Blue Bell Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Belford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7162 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements