Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Les Druides

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Brittany > Carnac Cedex > Camping Les Druides Reviews

Camping Les Druides
55 Chemin De Beaumer
Carnac Cedex
Brittany   (Browse area)
56343
Tel: 0033 02 97 52 08 18
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 110
Open: 01/04/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 14 Reviews
                9/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Big Brian 56 35 reviews from this member

 What a belting site, yes it's strange peeing in the outside urinals, ( same in some French bus stations ! )

Strange coming out of the wc straight into the daylight, the showers are in the middle, the wc, s on the outside of the ablution block.

The staff speak excellent English, the site has a nice small pool, footpath down to super u, stroll to town, what's not to like ?

Go again ?

Deffo 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lecomteuk 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site before it was fully open for the season, well marked plots nice pool and modern, clean toilet and shower block. The beach is only a short walk and Super you and town centre with a good range of restaurants within 20 mins walk. Lovely quiet site. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peg bag 1 review from this member

 We have just come back from a 9 night stay at the site and we can't fault the cleanliness of the site at all. The staff were helpful when required. The only down side was night was noise from a group of young campers. We were provided with a pitch adjacent to the parents in a site caravan without even asking, something I thought was great customer service.

The walk to the local Super you is short and the store was well stocked. The walk into Carnac village takes about 10 minutes along the coast, several restaurants and an ice cream shop with 160 flavours is well worth the walk.

A lovely clean site worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suzie sue 4 reviews from this member

 We chose this campsite based on the glowing reviews. We have just returned from 9 nights with 2 primary aged kids. There are many positive things to recommend this site, but there are some negative points that mean we would not return.

Positives - it is mostly a quiet family campsite near the beach, supermarket and town of Carnac, has 1. 2m child-friendly pool, and 3 playgrounds including a bouncy castle, with good bread and croissants from reception.

Negatives - our last 2 nights were wrecked by a group of teenage lads with a party tent who were allowed to pitch next to us - the reception staff accepted this booking (I wouldn't have expected this on a campsite of families, parents with small children and grandparents) and did nothing to get them to quieten down.

Also the long list of rules of behaviour at the pool are not enforced by staff either - so when the lads came to the pool and played roughly with a football, practically drowning little children with arm-bands, there was no staff support.

The reception staff sometimes mess up the bread order, not writing it down correctly or forgetting to take the correct money and then looking for you later for payment.

You need to arrive with a large amount of extra cash for deposits - 20 euros for gate tag, 5 euros per ice block, 2 euros per swimming pool wrist band.

And a final niggle - they don't provide toilet paper, with no reference made to this on the website, and no on-site shop - when we arrived we had to survive with a box of tissues until we went to the shops the next day.

In all, we had a good time until the lads arrived. This place is lovely and quiet most of the time because the campers want it to be, but if they don't then you are on your own! The staff don't care! 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: T5OnTour 22 reviews from this member

 Again a rather random pick from our ACSI book and a great find. A warm welcome from the owner, although we arrived when reception had just closed for the evening.

Very clean, and the swimming pool was being deep cleaned just before it was opening for the main season.

Ladies and gents were sharing facilities, but it was so quiet that you rarely saw anyone else.

Only a few minutes walk from a well stocked supermarket, which was a real bonus.

The lady at reception gave us a map which outlined some local bike rides, so we set off on the longest one without much hope, only to find it included loads of off road riding, which is what we really like. Got muddy though, as it had been raining before we arrived. Includes a tour of the famous standing stones, and we did a coffee stop at an Indian restaurant (you'll see!).

Very relaxing and quiet site - a bit strange really as you drove in from what a appears to be a residential area, but the campsite itself is surrounded by fields. (Complete with tractors ploughing in the early morning!) 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Arpaterson 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for ten nights in July with our two primary school aged children.

The campsite is in a lovely location, on the edge of Carnac but just fifteen minutes walk to the beaches and a ten minute walk to a Super you supermarket.

The site itself was reasonably busy but not overly crowded. The campsite facilities are more limited compared to some sites we have stayed at. There is no shop on site although, as you can pre-order bread and croissant and with a Super you so close there is no need for a shop on site. The pool was clean and well maintained and was great for our children. It does not have any slides etc so older children looking for a more adventurous time at the pool may be bored. There are children’s play areas and a game room although we did not really use these. The toilet blocks, showers and dishwashing areas were all kept nice and clean throughout our stay despite being busy at certain times.

All in all this a lovely site in a good location. We would definitely consider staying here again. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jackarthur 6 reviews from this member

 Spent about ten days at this site, end of July early August. This site has the very best showers, washing facility and toilets I have ever come across in 10yrs camping. They were absolutely spotless. We have two kids 10 and 6 and they loved it here, great pool that was both safe and again exceptionally well kept. We hired bikes locally at a great price as they could cycle around the site without problems. They have a bouncy castle and an all weather baseball pitch and a separate play area for little tots. Book your fresh bread or croissants at the office and collect them in the morning warm. We had one of the 'luxury pitches' which was great as it had electricity and a water tap right beside the tent, so no water carrying issues or arguments! Great all around site, quite flat with no crowding, very close to the fabulous beach, an easy walk where you can get to find your own cockels!

Carnac has a good supermarket and a fab outdoor market on Wednesday, if your a fish lover its the land of your dreams! The only negative for us was the price of eating out, very very expensive. The price of the wine in the supermarket did bring some balance though. I would definitely go again, but not from Calais, far to much of a drive. The next time we will go Portsmouth-St Malo. Not many Brits on the site, mainly French with some Dutch. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rachsimo76 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a weeks stay at this site and can not recommend staying here enough. From the minute we arrived it was nothing but a great experience for us. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful (as were all staff throughout our stay) and we were allowed to walk around the campsite upon arrival to see the 3 available pitches and make our own choice where we wanted to pitch. The spot we picked had ample space and was hedged to give us some privacy (although there were other pitches that didn't have hedges and therefore were more open)

The pool was not overly large but was more than adequate for us and our 2 young children (3 & 6). It was very well kept and clean with enough sun loungers and it didn't get over-crowded. All of the toilet & shower blocks were extremely clean and well-maintained as were the cleaning facilities. We didn't use the games room as we had such beautiful weather but it looked well equipped. There was a nice small playground which again we didn't really use as we were mostly at the beach or in the pool.

We took our bikes and cycled down to various beaches, lots of nice golden sandy beaches to choose from and if you do have bikes, you can find some more secluded and sheltered spots. There isn't a shop on site (my only negative comment was that the site could benefit from a cold drinks & Ice-cream dispenser machine) but the local Super you is only a short drive or cycle away and has everything you need. You can order fresh bread and croissants to be delivered to reception every morning which was handy but a bit more expensive than buying from Super you (although I should add that the bread delivered to the site tasted better).

With it being a smaller site and there not being any evening entertainment, it was quite ideal for us with our 2 young children as it was nice and quiet at night. We met lots of nice families and couples throughout our stay many of whom had stayed before or were there through recommendation

It is a little bit on the pricey side but in our opinion, worth every penny. We have never been ones for booking to stay at the same place twice but we are already discussing a trip next year which will encorporate a stay at this excellent campsite. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RichardAllen 1 review from this member

 Just returned from 6 days at Les Druide, our choice based in part, on the excellent reviews on this site. Not much to add other than everything is absolutely first class for a quiet site with a great pool with play areas and bouncy castle suitable for families. There were quite a few children, but even so the site remained very quiet. The owners and staff could not have been more helpful in English or French.

So overall it's just as good for 2012 as reviews of previous years. Our Dutch neighbours were on their second visit and we will definitely return.  


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camp chaos 26 reviews from this member

 A lovely site!

The site is very clean and quiet (a positive). The reception staff were friendly and gave us good info on Carnac. Les Druides is really well located - about 5 mins walk to a beach & the local & well-stocked Super U, 15 mins walk into Carnac ville using an idyllic path through the countryside & the same to Carnac plage.

The toilets were clean & had lots of useful plug sockets. Be warned, the lights in the toilet block are switched off at 10. 45ish each night - we lost several toiletry items by leaving them in the dark!

The pool is simple but lovely & relaxing and there's a handy games room.

There's a real mixture of nationalities on the site & everyone is friendly.

My top tips:

Le Pressoir creperie in Menec village near the alignments. It's easily walkable from the site & is in a perfect location. There are a mish mash of old tables outside on the grass on sunny days and the crepes and cider are just lovely. Mmm

Ty Gwelig restaurant in Carnac ville just behind the church. Again walkable & again lovely food altho this time go for the various moules dishes with the local cider. Mmm!

The morning market in Carnac ville on Thursdays & Sundays. It's really vibrant & fun.

The shops around the Avenue Des Druides at the back of Carnac plage. There's a wide & massive selection which kept my teenagers occupied for ages just browsing around. There's a fun ice cream stall called L'Igloo that stocks an amazing selection of flavours including curry and potato!

A bbq in the evening sun on the mini island at the Men Dhu beach just minutes from the camp site. You can walk out on a sandy causeway at low tide, I'm not really sure if bbqs are actually allowed but we had ours hidden from view & it's so quiet that no-one noticed. 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Les Druides child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Les Druides have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Les Druides dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Carnac Cedex      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Brittany

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3427 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement