Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Le Peyrelade

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Auvergne > Riviere Sur Tarn > Camping Le Peyrelade Reviews

Camping Le Peyrelade
Route Des Gorges Du Tarn
Riviere Sur Tarn
Auvergne   (Browse area)
12640
Tel: 0033 05 65 62 62 54
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 130
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 12 Reviews
                9/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campintent 18 reviews from this member

We stayed here for five nights. The site is set in a beautiful location on a tight bend of the river Tarn, giving lovely views of the steep cliffs on the opposite side of the river all along one side and the end of the campsite. The Tarn Gorge is on its doorstep and Millau is within easy reach. Although we didn’t use it, there was canoe hire available on-site. The site is immaculate, with all the facilities being of a very high standard and the two wash-blocks kept beautifully clean at all times. They appear to be brand new. The pitches are a generous size, all have electricity and all have some shade most of the time. We stayed in mid-July during French school holidays, but before British schools had broken up and with hindsight, we could have avoided the €19 booking fee, as there were plenty of pitches available. The food in the restaurant was of a good campsite standard, although slightly pricey (€12 for a salad).

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Whitwick Wanderer 7 reviews from this member

Stumbled across this gem on our way to the Pyrenees. Stayed 3 nights and could quite easily return for a longer stay. We were fortunate that the weather was brilliant for the time of year but this campsite has a lot going for it in any weather :

Setting - the Gorge du Tarn is extremely picturesque and the local Vultures fascinating.

Area - the Cevennes is full of interesting places to visit and a very special part of France.

Site - set beneath large cliffs alongside a quiet part of the river the pitches are large and shaded by trees.

Facilities - all the facilities ( restaurant, pool, showers and toilets ) warranted its 4* rating.

We had one very pleasant day driving in the Gorges to Mount Aigoul which has spectacular views, good way marked walks and an exhibition of the weather station for those with good french! However the highlight was a day spent canoeing (organised by the campsite) on the river. The river outside the campsite is reasonably calm and we enjoyed swimming in it. The 17k/4hr canoe trip contained sections of real white water and some spectacular scenery - not to be missed. Negatives - set in a valley the sun appears late and disappears early. We travelled with a dog but the site does not have a dedicated dog walking area. Being there at a quiet time we were able to get a riverside pitch but I guess a pitch in the middle of the site at a busy period could feel a little claustrophobic.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Camp kenneth 6 reviews from this member

We spent 2 weeks at this 4 * site, We flew into Toulouse and hired a car. Journey time approx 3 hours. The site is mainly used by French & Dutch families, but we did notice more English speaking people the second week.

We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others. We had a Louisiane chalet/mobile for accommodation which was reasonably comfortable. You can bring your own tent/motorhome etc or rent from the site. The staff are friendly and efficient and some speak English.

The pools are nice and also secure to prevent children wandering off, and the Tarn river, which runs beside the site, provides opportunities to canoe. You can hire them from reception, by the hour, or be transported by the site to Le Rozier, which is a 5 km stretch or Les Vignes which at 17 km is a far more demanding stretch of faster water. The idea being, you finish the session back at the site. We took the easier option, but still had a bit of trouble as the canoe tended to get stranded in rocks. Suffice to say, with children, it was a bit of a drama.

The restaurant/bar area is quite pleasant and the food is surprisingly good. I say that because we expected just fast food. However, they do specialities of the area to quite a high standard, so it's worth trying something different. I wouldn't say it was particularly cheap. Glass of coke E2. 80. Beer a little bit cheaper by the glass. Entertainment is frequent, although I won't comment on standards because I'm impossible to please in this respect. In this area, there's a children's play area, where you can pretty much keep an eye on them as you eat.

I would say you need a car to enjoy the wider area, particularly if the weather is changeable and you don't want to use the pool. Millau is a 15 min drive away, where you will find the nearest supermarkets. The restaurants there are closed after lunch until 7pm. There are various auberges along the way north towards Ste Enemie, which looked lovely, but we couldn't find a parking space. The drive through the Gorges is hard going in a manual car, but the scenery is spectacular. We also took a drive over the Millau Viaduct which has a toll charge of approx 10 euros.

Overall, the site is clean and well run. It's a beautiful part of France, and I believe only 1. 5 hours from the coast.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kaylabobs 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here for one night in our motorhome and would have stayed much longer had the weather been better.

We hadn't booked but reception were very helpful, particularly since we weren't sure how long we would be staying. The site was very busy but they squeezed on to a 'reserve' pitch which was perfectly adequate for our needs.

The site itself is easily accessed from the AutoRoute about 7-10 minutes away.

The facilities were spotless and the showers powerful and warm. Our toddler loved the baby bath. No seats on the toilets, but this is standard in France.

There was a nice play area and a really nice children's pool with slides/fountains etc which we made use of the first night of our arrival. The on-site store sold speedos at a very reasonable price much to my husband's dismay!

We didn't get to see much of the surroundings/use the café/do a canoe trip since it rained solidly for 12 hours from early evening till we got up the next morning it didn't look like it was going to stop raining any time soon so we packed up and left but plan to return again next year.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Djflexure 2 reviews from this member

Visited this site with three kids 11, 9 and 7. We had a riverside pitch. Good move! The others under the trees looked very cramped and close to each other. It was quite cool til about ten when the sun came over the gorge and warmed the tent up.

The site was very clean. Unisex toilets were clean as were and the showers. The facilities were closed for a good jet wash every afternoon so we planned to get a shower at sixish just when they had been washed!

Pool area was also very clean, washed down every morning. Opened at ten.

Small restaurant, ate there once, was fine. Reception was very helpful.

We did two canoe trips, one from the site and one from further up towards les vignes from another campsite. Both were worthwhile.

Kids enjoyed snorkeling down the river and looking at all the fish. Walked to the castle ruins and saw the vultures from there.

Had a couple of thunder storms. The tent floor had puddles. Felt a bit damp after that, so after having about 8 days there we had done every thing and wanted to move to the Med for some sun.

Big Grande Casino (supermarket) in Millau about 15mins away was good for shopping.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mamajeannie 16 reviews from this member

Mature middle aged reviewers

We loved this site; it is in a beautiful location, it is very well kept. The toilet facilities are excellent; one note of warning though they do shut them for cleaning at busy times in the afternoon and you then have to go the other block which is then overloaded due to double use.

The restaurant serves basic good quality food and the service was quite speedy, but the bar staff did not in general seem too friendly. There was entertainment several times a week.

The pool area was spotless, but the balneo area which was supposed to be adults only was always over run with children.

The site arranges canoe trips which are excellent and well worth doing.

We had a river front pitch which is well worth the extra few euros a night, wonderful views of mountains, vultures and stars.

I wouldn't recommend the House of Vultures, just get some good binoculars and go out of the campsite gates in the late afternoon and you should see just as many vultures landing and taking off the rocks.

Would definitely go back to this site.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: James and Sarah 2 reviews from this member

Our family loved this campsite, but it depends on what you are looking for? We were looking for beautiful location, clean facilities and not too big a site.

Peyrelade is beside the Tarn with it's own river beach, (the water was still and warm when we were there) The other side of the river is cliffs with Vultures and Buzzards riding the thermals above. The facilities were always spotless. We found the staff very helpful with suggestions of things to do, they all spoke good english. This was not a lively site but there a good restaurant and take away serving the typical campsite menu. There was evening entertainment around three times a week and an active kids club during the day, but really only for younger children.

Well worth a drive up the Gorge du Tarn road, but don't look down and don't go up in a motorhome! A good walk, is up to the Castle of the Peyrelade for the views and if you are lucky you will be looking down on the Buzzards below.

Only strange thing for the 21 century is they still have a speedo rule for the pool so we stayed in the river and I could not find any Speedo to buy locally!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Leighs 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from 2 weeks stay, with our family 18year and 13year old girls. Reception staff very friendly spoke various languages, upon arrival told what pitch we had, they said go and settle in and come back and pay later or tomorrow, no hurry ! We had a fantastic pitch (approx 150m2) over looking the river plenty of space for our twin axle caravan, a small tent and the car, we still had plenty of sitting area. 2 good sized toilet and shower blocks, never had to queue. The only down side some toilets didn't have seats and you had to take own loo roll (no soap which is usual in france)

Shop well stocked good bread croissants etc occasional uk paper, very pleasant friendly staff.

Pool area (new this year) was good not huge but plenty of places to sit, some loungers.

Beach area along river was lovely to sit, swim, fish, safe not fast flowing like ardeche, warmed up as week went on. Could sit and watch the vultures on the rocks!

Playground seemed ok, we didn't use it due to age of children, table tennis tables too.

Bar restaurant, this is the only thing we felt let the site down in our opinion. We had takeaways a few times frites pizza etc on one occasion waited 1 hour for frites. Also waited to be served at bar, had our last meal in the restaurant limited menu we had pizza and frites (again) no real problems but staff really not as friendly as other site staff.

There didn't seem much evening entertainment couple a times a week, ie band, clown, kareoke, one night we went there wasn't much seating. There was plenty of daytime activities organised, but we didn't do any.

We did canoeing from the site well worth doing.

Also did quad biking and Go-karting about 15 minutes away.

Walked to the castle approx 45 mins uphill, not for the weak hearted ! well worth the effort for the views.

The Tarn gorge is stunning a fantastic area, lots of winding roads and places to explore, still very french. Millau is a nice town lots of alleys with restaurants down them, but shops seem to close about 6/7 at night (unlike Ardeche), plenty of eating places though. There are 2 large supermarkets within 20 mins drive and a few smaller ones in millau.

We will return to the area we loved it, torn between The Tarn gorge and The Ardeche.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Anlorel 1 review from this member

Stayed here for 11 nights mid July. We had a large shady pitch which was very welcome in the very hot sunny days. Although the sun goes behind the rocks early morning and in the evening this was not a problem as we had had enough sun by then!

The site is well run with helpful staff with well stocked small shop. The toilets were cleaned 4 times a day, showers excellent. There was a full entertainment program with plenty of activities for children and a very popular children's play area. A daily program of events included visits to wine cellars, cherry 'orchards' fosil hunting etc as well ping pong, aquarobics, archery etc.

The site offers canoing and we did the long trip down the river Tarn which was most enjoyable. The area is very pretty and the river is great for swimming in. There aren't as many little villages to visit as in the Ardeche gorge. Millau is very nice and of course the bridge is a sight worth seeing from the different viewpoints signposted in the area. Castle Peyrelade a 45minute walk directly up hill from the campsite is well worth the effort and is good value especially if you go on a day when they have Medieval enactments.

The local village Rivierie sur Tarn was a bit disappointing as there was not a lot to see or do there. Le Rozier upstream was more attractive. The Tarn and Dourbie river banks are not as accessible as other rivers we have camped by eg the Ardeche. However the campsite beach was lovely.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LittleSole 5 reviews from this member

I'm reluctant to write a review for this site in case it encourages more of you to visit!

We stayed here for 3 weeks in June 2008 and returned again in June 2010 for another 2+ weeks: it was just as excellent.

We normally visit different areas in France each year but with dodgy weather and a our chosen campsite disappointing we decided to head for a campsite and area we knew we liked.

The pitches are all of a good size and separated by hedges and trees; some are very private, which suits us perfectly.

The trees are huge and provide a lot of shade from the very hot sun.

The site is alongside the river with a small shingle beach and canoes for hire.

The two toilet blocks are perfect; bright, light, and perfectly clean, with all the facilities needed.

The small restaurant and bar is good with a nice atmosphere.

There is a really nice swimming pool.

The owners and staff are friendly and helpful.

This site has a nice 'Joie de Vivre' without being too exuberant.

And it's in a splendid area for the Tarn Gorge and all it has to offer.

Really good.

Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Auvergne

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5919 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019