Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hook Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > West Sussex > Site Reviews

Hook Farm Campsite
Hook Lane
West Hoathly
West Sussex   (Browse area)
RH19 4PT
Tel: 07966 205461
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 6
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 8 Reviews
                8/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Katie healey12345 1 review from this member

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time over the bank holiday weekend. The campsite was clean and peaceful with a rustic charm (it was so nice to unplug for a couple of days). Although it was fully booked you didn't feel like you were on top of one another. The facilities were clean and there were enough of them that you were only ever a short hop from wherever you chose to pitch your tent. For dinner, rather than braving my boyfriend's BBQ-ing skills we walked down the lane to the Fox. The food was delicious and very reasonably priced. The campsite host Sam was very welcoming (and a bit of a dish to boot!) he made sure we had enough fire lighters and logs for our campfire. All in all it was a lovely weekend all round, I would highly recommend staying at Hook Farm for anyone looking for a peaceful break in the sunny Sussex countryside.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jimbo100 1 review from this member

Amazing site with loads of room to pitch, and very pretty surroundings with lots of wildlife. Owners were welcoming and helpful, they advised us of some great local walks. Very peaceful and no loud groups which was a relief.

Facilities were basic but clean, with portaloos, compost loos and water points. But the ability to have an open campfire wherever you pitch makes up for this, and you can get firewood from the owners which saves bringing it.

The site is slightly sloping in places so would recommend any campervans stick to the top fields. There is also a no-music policy.

Overall we had an amazing stay and would definitely come back.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Happy campers40 1 review from this member

We stayed at the campsite last weekend. Its in the heart of beautiful countryside with amenities in walking distance from a couple of good pubs with good food, a well stocked shop down the hill, and beautiful walks. Its near East Grinstead, Forest Row that have some great eateries including a curry house and Portuguese restaurant (you might need to book as very popular). Hartfield the land of Pooh bear with again good country pubs and walks. The site is very large giving you a feeling of space and privacy. Its rustic and charming. Lots of toilets dotted around the site with toilet paper!

The farmer is very warm and hospitable aiming to please. My son aged 6 had a tractor ride which was of course the highlight of the trip. We are hoping to go again very soon in view of having a party. We stayed on a Saturday night and were amazed all was quiet by 11ish to midnight. It had a lovely atmosphere with people from all walks of life.

Would definitely recommend! Thank you!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Plumserve 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a weekend. The location is great if you want privacy, it is well spaced out with different little secluded areas separated by trees. Loos are dotted around depending where they are needed. Great for dogs. The local village has a couple of good pubs, the Cat has great food, there is a costcutter for provisions. Lovely countryside. The site will suit large groups who can pitch together, or couples like us, who can pitch up, away from the noise.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sunnyweathercampers 2 reviews from this member

As previous reviewers note, the campsite accepts large groups. That may be great if you're a large group but we are a family with a young child and spent most of our two night stay listening to a large group having a party - until the sun came up on Sunday morning. Other than that we thought it a lovely site. Facilities basic but portaloos were clean and sufficient and the site allows individual campfires which we love. Unfortunately the noise ruined what should have been a peaceful couple of nights in the countryside

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Charlierabbit 3 reviews from this member

We went to Hook Farm for 2 nights this weekend. The party included eight families (17 children/13 adults). We chose this site because they accept large groups.

We were allocated our own area which was near woods for the children to play in, a portaloo and not far from the water tap. The facilities are basic but the site is very rural and has amazing views.

The ground is not particularly level with quite a few thistles and nettles but this did not unduly bother us. The owners/managers were great (James & Will) very friendly and relaxed.

The highlight was having a campfire each night - the kids loved it. There was some noise from other campers but you need to accept that if you make some noise.

We did not really adventure anywhere else accept to the local Costcutter for provisions.

Probably is a bit expensive for the lack of facilities but in a strange way the lack of these make it more of an experience.

The only thing that was a pain was the removal of waste. We did feel this could/should be accommodated.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Poshcamper48 9 reviews from this member

We stayed at Hook Farm for a weekend with about 12 dads and 22 kids and had a great time. Facilities are very basic - portaloos, a tap and some fireplaces spread around. It is 3 or 4 open fields surrounded by woods. Much of it is on a hill but there is plenty of space to choose from.

Local pub (The Cat Inn)is 10 minutes walk away, quite upmarket with good beer and food. The staff retained a sense of humour when we arrived en masse!

The owner of the site is friendly and relaxed, sells firewood and moves portaloos to suit where people have decided to camp.

Overall a site for back to basics campers who want camp fires but not much else. 10 per night for adults and 5 for kids. You have to take your rubbish home. Overall it was great - we will come back.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kaypea74 5 reviews from this member

Very spacious but basic site. There are three enormous camping fields to choose from and we were allowed to pitch wherever we liked. We were a large group and had a whole field to ourselves which was lovely.

The surrounding woods and countryside are beautiful and the owner is friendly and helpful. You can have a campfire and the owner comes around with wood for sale in the evening.

Downsides are the very minimal facilities - one portaloo per field and one water tap for the whole site, no sinks or showers. Also there are thistles and cowpats throughout the site so not a good place for running around barefoot!

It is also quite hilly, though there are large flat areas available. There is a pub nearby but as the site is so large it is a bit of a trek.

Overall, great space in a nice area but 10pp per night is a bit expensive considering the lack of facilities.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2424 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019