Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodend Caravan & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Lairg > Woodend Caravan & Camping Site Reviews

Woodend Caravan & Camping Site
Achnairn
Sutherland
Lairg
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
IV27 4DN
Tel: 01549 402248
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 50
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 10 Reviews
                9/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   Wild Swimming 5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 10 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

Agree with previous reviews - a peaceful and tranquil site owned by a lovely lady who has been there since the 1960's.

It has to be said the facilities are old - probably since the site started. That said, they are clean, the showers take 10p for 5 minutes very hot shower and the sinks have limitless hot water.

There is a laundry room with washing machine and dryer and a camper kitchen.

It' 4 miles into Lairgs, not much there other than a cafe, a Spar and a hotel.

When we stayed the main camping field was a bit boggy after recent rain so we move down to the semi-hard standing by the loos.

Even though the site is old it is a gem, better customer service would be hard to find and for £14. 50 a night including electric not sure you could find a better priced site in the area.
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Westman1 2 reviews from this member

Total peace and quiet with an amazing view! This is a basic site but with all the facilities necessary for a "get-away-from-it-all-but-live-comfortably" stay.

It is a great place to just relax and enjoy the surroundings but is also an ideal centre for touring the North West tip of the Scottish mainland.

Although situated in a very rural spot it is less than 10 minutes drive to all the facilities in nearby Lairg including the Lairg Highland Hotel which serves wonderful food at excellent prices - real value for money.

And not forgetting the host at Woodend, Mrs Cathy Ross, who is an absolute star in every respect.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PeterBoek 2 reviews from this member

Mrs Ross welcomed us on this tranquil campsite with great views. It is a grass campsite with enough electric pitches, and it is never full so there is much much space, and beautiful views since it is located on a hill. This is very different from nearby campsites that have no view! Great cycler routes right from the campsite. Facilities basic but very correct. And for 14 pounds a night it is indeed a steal. Very relaxing, quiet place with good atmosphere

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tweedie G L 1 review from this member

We've been returning to Cathies site at Woodend for around 12yrs as we love the relaxed atmosphere, it's perfect for anyone with dogs, cyclists, walkers and fishermen as there's an abundance of choice for each hobby.

When you arrive at the house the owner Mrs Cathie Ross greets all visitors with a quite friendly highland welcome, if she's out you pick your own pitch and book in later. If your children are young, there is a play area at the top of the site on the hill, where you also get the best views.

All the usual facilities are available hookups, chemical toilet disposal point, toilets, showers, hair dryers. The laundry facilities which are located in a separate building. There is also a small library situated between the ladies & gents where you can borrow or swap books. Previous reviewers have said the facilities are not state of the art, but they are warm homely and spotlessly clean, and all for the princly fee of £12 per night incl. Elec. Awnings and extras like wind breaks and additional vehicles included.

We've been here in all seasons and there's always something to hold intrest, in Spring there's the lambing following on there are numerous birds, the house martins and swallows have become a firm favourite. It's a perfect central area to reach anywhere in the North, favourites include Ullapool, Lochinvar especially around Drumbeg, Durness and out towards the summer isles. Actually too numerous to mention. Word of warning though, if you prefer arcades, promenades and non stop nigh life sadly this site and area is not for you.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: ML60BAR 15 reviews from this member

If you want peace and quiet, apart from sounds of nature, you are in the right place! This is a site that has all you need without any bells and whistles. A perfectly adequate and clean facilities block, otherwise a large open space and pitch where you like. We were the only van there! Nothing in the way of shops/pubs in walking distance, but easy driving to Lairg and beautiful scenery all round.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ayrshireman 17 reviews from this member

I have been a fairly regular visitor to this site for the past ten years or so, after a break of several years. It's a quite basic campsite, but the facilities are all fine, with a decent toilet/shower block, laundry room, and a small ' camper's kitchen'/information point. The site itself is grass, sloping a bit in parts, but with great open views all round. And it's a great location; there are some super, longish, round trips on quiet roads for cyclists, decent walking with some fine hills such as Bens Hope and Loyal, Arkle and Foinaven not too far away, and I would imagine good fishing nearby. No store on site, but Lairg is ten minutes away. And there is always a fine Highland welcome from Mrs Ross. A lovely site for a relaxing break; must get back soon!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Kellerty 4 reviews from this member

A delightful and peaceful location with good facilities, an attentive host (reminded me of my grannie), a child play area (a good distance away from pitches for those who don't like kids, but close enough for mum and dad to see), decent walks if you have a dog. There are a lot of sheep in adjacent fields so keep them under control. First class laundry facilities (loved the spinner for 10p). Showers were 10p and HOT. A great stopover point, but perhaps not for a longer stay - unless you wanted a period of peace and tranquillity. Only negative was chemical disposal point. Felt a bit grotty, but it was functional.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Julie + Mark 11 reviews from this member

What a fantastic site. Arrived here to a very warm welcome from Mrs Ross, after having a week travelling around north of Scotland, by far the cheapest site. Like other reviews £12 a night motorhome, 2 adults with electric. ( what a bargain).

Lovely setting and great views. Site was nice and quiet when we were visiting and could have any pitch we wanted.

The facilities looked good and as other reviewer said laundry very well equipped. Really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone worth coming the 5 miles extra

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Apachemot 3 reviews from this member

Site well signposted from Lairg. Arrived in the midst of a thunder storm. Booked in at house opposite the site. Mrs. Ross, the owner is a charming lady, we had a good chat, then chose our own pitch. We chose hard standing, near the toilets

and laundry (which we didn't use but seemed well equipped) Toilets etc. Very clean and tidy. Showers cost 20p but worth it as water was really hot. Very quiet and peaceful site. At £12. 00 a night for motorhome, 2 adults, dog, awning, hook-up and a small car we tow behind it is excellent value for money. Same thing near Blair Atholl would have cost about £30. 00.

Loads of attractions within easy reach, Falls of shin, Smoo Cave and Dunrobin Castle well worth a look also Scourie, Lochinver, Brora Golspie, Durness Tongue and loads more. Woud certainly use this site again in the future.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Honeysucklebill 5 reviews from this member

Found Woodend through this website and arrived to find a comfortable site with hard standings. As we are fully appointed with our own facilities we didn't use any of the sites. However we would have had no problem with using the showers / toilets / washingup area. The laundry room was a boon, spinner 10p washer £3.00 dryer £1.00 (didn't use the dryer weather was fine) rotary washing line available.

The surrounding area very nice saw Hen Harriers near Rosehall. Can recommend Sutherland Sporting in Lairg, we would stay again at Woodend price was £12.00 / night 2 adults one dog.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Inverness-Shire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4495 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019