Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cheesewring Farm Caravan And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Cornwall (East) > Liskeard > Cheesewring Farm Caravan And Campsite > Reviews

Cheesewring Farm Caravan And Campsite
Minions
Liskeard
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL145LJ
Tel: 01579 362200  or  07836 294296
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 vans 10 tents
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 25 Reviews
                9/10 from 25 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: EstherP 26 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site. Lovely remote location, stunning views and very quiet, just what we like. (A bit of a drive to the coast but nice to stay in a new area and the moor is very beautiful. )

Easy to get to and from the site using the road that comes up from Minions - other routes are very narrow and windy so don't use your satnav. The drive up to the farm is steep but well surfaced.

The site itself is peaceful and the pitches are well laid out and quite far apart. We had a premium pitch with EHU which was level and very nice.

The bathroom facilities are good, with nice hot showers. These were always kept clean while we were there and there was a mop/broom provided for keeping the floor dry/sweeping up grass clippings.

The washing up area is inside a shed and there is a kettle to use to provide hot water. There was also a microwave. A washing machine is also available with an honesty box which we found very helpful as we were staying two weeks.

Minions village is very close and has a well stocked village shop and tearoom plus another tearoom which were both very good.

Nearby walks from the door are the Cheesewring rock formations, Hurlers Neolithic stone circles, and a couple of different quarries and old railway lines. Great place for walking.

The owner did his rounds checking on the site and everyone morning and night and was very friendly and helpful.

We definitely hope to stay again in the future. 


Date of Visit: March 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ianmilne 2 reviews from this member

 Very secluded, quiet site located just below the Cheesewring and with a great view across the moor to Sharp Tor.

Easy walk along old tramway in to Minions village and the Hurlers standing stones.

Simple facilities all clean and well kept. EHU for five hard standing pitches.

Recommended 


Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Debora 1 review from this member

 Absolutely lovely site, so much so have already rebooked,

Very remote but still lots to do,

Lots of space, facilities clean

All in all worth a visit 5 * 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Bertwoody 5 reviews from this member

 I booked for one night, but ended up staying for two, as I enjoyed the site so much. Well tended pitches, good facilities and fab views.

Dog walking field is great and the views from this and the site are fab. I camped in my small converted van. I had a tent pitch which was well arranged. My dog stayed for free.

The hosts even provide a homemade cream tea, brought to the pitch. Brilliant canít recommend enough 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: AncientBowman 1 review from this member

 Rang John to enquire, he rang back within minutes. Very helpful as we are fairly new to all this. He took our booking and was there to greet us. We had a electric hook-up right by the van.

The view is to die for. Straight out on to Bodmin and Sharp Tor, then views across the Tamar valley to Dartmoor, breath taking. The facilities are exactly as I would expect, very clean and well maintained. John is one of a kind, old school. His standard of service is fantastic and he has great knowledge of the area.

We will definitely return it only being an hour drive from where we are on the Lizard in Cornwall. Oh and the cream tea was waiting for us when we returned from a walk arround Stowes Hill and the Cheesewring. Cream on top the Cornish way.

10/10 from us. Although the wood Pidgeon could be a bit quieter. LOL 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Gracebailey89 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a 2 night stay at Cheesewring farm campsite, which is a certified caravan and camp club site.

On arrival we were greeted by Lyn, who showed us to our pitch and gave us helpful information about the local area. Once we had pitched the tent she returned with scones and jam for us all which was a lovely surprise.

Apart from the EHU tent pitches, and the camper van pitches the site is on a slope, and you may need several chocks for a caravan. The access is also on a narrow road, and the final bend is steep, so you may need to take this into consideration if you are bringing a caravan.

The facilities consisted of 3 bathrooms a family, male and a female room, with toilet, sink and shower in each. The family bathroom also had a baby bath. These were clean apart from grass cuttings that stuck to shoes and the bin wasnít emptied daily, but this wasnít an issue and didnít affect us. There were also 2 port-a-loos which I am guessing are for when site gets busy, but we didnít need to use these on our stay.

The site had a fab little cabin, which had a sink, kettle, microwave, washing machine, fridge and freezer. There was also a socket free for charging etc, and bbq/fire pits for hire. There was lots of useful information about the site and the local area.

The site itself was nicely laid out and had the most amazing view. Despite being high up on the hillside the site was fairly sheltered thanks to the trees and bushes behind us and the tall evergreens at the front of the site. There are many walks from the site, and lots of local history with the ruins of the copper mines not far away.

Thank you very much Lyn and John for a great weekend, we hope to book another stay soon 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Mid Life Crisis 19 reviews from this member

 Easily one of the best sites we have ever visited. Great hosts, lovely outlook and nice facilities. Our grandchildren loved being able to up close with the animals. The location is superb for getting onto this, often overlooked, part of Bodmin Moor.

The roads heading to the site can be a little bit tight but nothing too bad. It's worth having a quick check on Google Streetview before visiting just to get familiar.

Cheesewring is certainly a site we will return to. 


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: VWBus 83 reviews from this member

 Absolutely loved this campsite. Arrived to a friendly welcome and the promised cream tea - delicious homemade scones, jam and cream - result!

The location is amazing if you are into walking, high up on Bodmin Moor with fantastic views in all directions. Pathways leading directly from the camping field up into the hills and moors. Cheesewring rock formation is directly above the site, it's a long steep climb but once you are up there it's fab. The moors surrounding here are littered with amazing relics of our mining past, as well as much older relics, stone circles, standing stones etc. You can walk for miles soaking up the views and the grandeur of the place, and indeed I did.

There is also a disused ancient railway leading alongside the site which leads you into the village where you'll find a pub, tearoom and shop. It's about a 20 minute walk each way. The shop has a cafe too, although in early March opening hours were very limited. Check with the site owner before you go down there if unsure.

Facilities were great, everything you could ask for. Two lovely huge wetrooms for the gents and ladies, containing walk in shower, loo, sink etc. There were also a couple of portaloos, but I didn't even look in them, as I was the only person on site! There's a shed containing washing up sink, kettle, fridge, washing machine and info leaflets. There's a playground for the kids. Free wifi too on the pitches, although I found my 4G connection was blisteringly fast so didn;t use it.

I stayed two nights in early March, one person, one dog with EHU, and I paid £16 a night. Good hardstanding, with grass pitches available too.

Would definitely recommend, and will definitely be back! 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Weymouth 7 reviews from this member

 Our favourite small campsite. Lovely people running a small campsite with spectacular views east towards Dartmoor. The area is blessed with some very good circular walks and there are plenty of attractions in the area. The pub in Minions is a 20 minute level walk away along the disused mining rail track.

The site has 5 van/caravan hardstandings and plenty of grass on a gentle slope. Plenty of electricity points dotted around but only one tap at the moment. There are windbreak trees along the top and bottom of the site which add interest. The facilities are sufficient for off peak but might get stretched during summer school holidays. 3 loos (1 male, 1 female and 1 family/disabled) as well as 2 Portaloos. There is a washing up and cooking hut with a kettle for hot water, washing machine and a microwave. And tourist guides.

There are duck and chicken eggs to buy and a very welcome cream tea on arrival. What's not to like? 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gooner1 17 reviews from this member

 Just spent an excellent night at this campsite directly below the Cheesewring Tor (and high above the plains down below as far as Dartmoor).

Such a friendly owner. And such a peaceful campsite. There is also a utility room/kitchen on the site. 


Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cheesewring Farm Caravan And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cheesewring Farm Caravan And Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Cheesewring Farm Caravan And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Liskeard      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


43376 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement