Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Campingplatz Muenster

Campsite Search > Europe > Germany > Munster > Campingplatz Muenster > Reviews

Campingplatz Muenster
Laerer Werseufer 7
48157 Munster
Munster
Germany   (Browse area)

Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 6 Reviews
                8/10 from 6 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Feelyjordan 17 reviews from this member

 We encountered a friendly efficient reception and modern clean facilities, but the showers cost extra.

This is a well managed site but some of the pitches are small and close together. We needed to manhandle our van on and off the pitch due to the tight access. I guess that if you have a motor mover that should not be a problem.

As others have said, the site is conveniently situated for a safe cycle ride into the city using largely off road paths or shared pavement space.

Overall a good stopover if visiting Munster, but rather expensive and with tightly packed pitches. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dickiebird 19 reviews from this member

 Other reviews have covered most of the facilities of this very welcoming campsite. It's situation is ideal for either cycling into Munster itself (20 mins maximum) or using the local bus service - bus stop outside about 200 yards from the site itself. You can buy special tickets, for either 4/8 or 10 journeys which saves a bit of money, but these must be purchased in the city itself, either from Bus Information centre or machines located at specific bus stops. The city is the most cycle-friendly city in Germany - where cyclists are given the right-of-way at crossings not controlled by traffic lights. We stayed at a time when the site was perhaps 3/4 full - we enjoyed it very much but would not like to be there in the height of the season. We ate at the restaurant twice, and enjoyed it both times. If you don't like pork, then it would be a problem. Toilet and shower blocks were excellent - the ones closest to reception are the newer of the two blocks - very trendy looking in colour and style, but the other block was very bright and spacious and of a very high standard. Facilities for children appeared to be good, with local swimming pool a stone's throw away. Would return. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Smart Family 90 reviews from this member

 I booked this site in advance for 3 nights in June, I chose my pitch online. On arrival the site entrance looks very nice and a good welcome at reception, with good spoken english. The pitch was very good and suited our needs for a short stay. If putting up an awning it may have been awkward for other car drivers. There was water/waste and electric hook up on the pitch. The reception had a very good shop and you could order your bread for the morning. We also hired bikes for the duration of our stay which was only 4 euros per day per bike, the bikes were okay but not the best. The toilet facilities particularly in the block near reception were probably the best I have seen and immaculate. The layout of the site was very nice with dividing hedges and a mixture of touring pitches and semi permanent homes. There was a small play area and table tennis on site. There was a large swimming leisure centre just outside the site which my children used for only 2 euros and they spent hours there. There was a bar/Restaurant on site which we did not use, but looked very nice. Munster city centre, which is beautiful, was only a 20 minute cycle away. There was also a bus stop at the site entrance. Nearest supermarket was Netto a 5 minute cycle or 15 minute walk. I would recommend this site and return if I was in the area. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: David C. 555 15 reviews from this member

 Good quality site on the east side of Munster ten minute bus ride or easy thirty minutes along dedicated cycle paths. Supermarket five minutes away.

Munster is a pretty university town and the cycling capital of Germany. Excellent cycling in area.

Two Clean Modern Toilet/Shower Blocks 50c for three minute shower.

Reasonably priced restaurant though typical rather uninspiring German Food.

Pitches are semi hardstanding with electric and water. Many statics and touring pitches limited, arrive early in season. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TickleMePink 7 reviews from this member

 We were visiting Campingplatz Munster because my husband and I used to live in Munster in the 1990s and it was over 20 years since we last visited the city.

After an easy 2½ hour trip from Rotterdam we parked our car and caravan in the arrival area but realised that we had arrived right in the middle of the lunch break and the reception was closed. We killed half an hour by walking around the site to find our pre-allocated pitch and had a look at the shower and toilet facilities then returned to reception to check in.

The welcome was OK, not particularly friendly but not frosty either. We were checked in within a couple of minutes and directed to our pitch (number 86). We had electric hook up, water tap and drainage on the pitch and whilst it was mainly grass, there was a little flagged patio area which was ideal for sunbathing and barbecuing. Of course, we had to face our caravan the opposite way on the pitch to the German ones to make sure our door was on the correct side. The electricity is charged at the end of your stay and cost us 14. 50 Euros for 6 nights.

We were the only English people on site at the time and towards the end of the week it got very busy because it was a German bank holiday. Our neighbours were friendly and came to our assistance when we had to push the caravan off the pitch when we left.

We ate in the site restaurant a couple of times which was fairly reasonably priced and the food nice enough but over salty for our tastes. The bar was only open when the restaurant was open which was from about 5pm until 9. 30pm while we were there. We also enjoyed the Chinese restaurant next door to the site.

There were two shower/wash blocks on the site, an older one in the middle of the site and a new one next to reception. The blocks had separate ladies and gents toilets and showers, a laundry room, Elsan emptying point, dog showering room and pot wash area. Shower tokens were available either from reception or from a vending machine in each block and cost 50c per token. In the new block the shower token gave you exactly 3 minutes of water which you could turn on and off whilst showering but in the old block you were sometimes lucky to get 1 minute of water. The blocks were both heated and bright and had piped music all day. Some of the cubicles contained just a washbasin, some just a shower and some had both. They were always very clean but particularly so at around lunchtime when the cleaning team had spruced them up.

The bus stops just outside the site on the main Wolbecker Strasse and the number 22 bus takes you into the centre of Munster. If you ask for Domplatz it takes you to where the shops are. It cost us 11 Euros for a day return family ticket. Next to the site was the outdoor swimming pool which was closed while we were there but it looked very nice with loungers and an ice cream kiosk.

Of course, as this is Germany, everywhere is absolutely spotless and immaculately kept. The cobbled centre of Munster itself is very upmarket with expensive shops selling all the designer names. The architecture is stunning and a walk through the tree lined avenues to the Aasee lake and park is well worthwhile. If you cycle then I would recommend taking bikes as the surrounding area is as flat as a pancake and it would probably only take about 15 minutes to cycle into Munster from the site.

I would recommend the site to anyone who just wants a base to use for travelling around the area. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The MacKs 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed 4 nights at this campsite on the outskirts of Munster, obviously very popular area for cyclists as site had lots of one night stays of folk on tours.

Nice site with 2 areas for tents, no set pitches and EHU on both. One drawback might be that cars are not allowed on to the site - wee carts are provided for moving equipment. We were lucky the night we arrived, that the lady at reception allowed us to take the car on as we have a big tent, but she than had to ask us to move as people had complained. If like us, you have a lot of equipment(we like our comfort), or it was wet, it could be a bit of a nightmare!

There are 2 shower/ washing blocks, warm and clean if a little outdated. Also adequate kitchen and laundry facilities. On site there is a pub / restaurant, which we didn’t use so I can’t comment on it, a small shop with the basics and fresh bread daily, also some nice wee gifts and loads of info on the area. There are children’s activities in the summer, evenings too, nice play areas, trampoline, volleyball court, table tennis & giant chess.

Just next door is a fantastic outdoor pool facility, with café, changing rooms, lockers and lovely grassy areas. It only costs €3 for adults and €1.50 for children and you can be there as long as you like.

Bus service runs from 200yds along road, directly into Munster which is a beautiful city.

We really enjoyed our time there, which was stopover rest having driven from near Innsbruck. Easily reached Dunkirk for afternoon ferry after a leisurely breakfast and pack up.

Very reasonably priced at €104 for 4 nights. 



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Campingplatz Muenster child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Campingplatz Muenster?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Campingplatz Muenster dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




All Sites in Germany

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2903 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement