Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping De La Chenaie

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Laon > Camping De La Chenaie > Reviews

Camping De La Chenaie
Allee De La Chenaie
Laon
Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais   (Browse area)
02000
Tel: +33 3 23 20 25 56  or  +33 3 23 23 38 63
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 55
Open: 01/04/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 19 Reviews
                7/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Seag 2 reviews from this member

 We have used this site as an overnight stop on our journey into France. It is close to the motorway and very easy to access. It is a very pleasant site with large pitches and a good welcome.

Rather expensive if you donít use the pool. The real issue is the lack of even warm water in the washing up sinks and the toilets deserve more attention.

Weíve been staying here for 3 years and nothing has changed so may have to stay elsewhere in future. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 608 reviews from this member

 Laon is a lovely little city within cobbled streets and an impressive cathedral.

Thereís a range of good places to eat and drink and itís worth spending a bit of time wandering around the various historical sites. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Carole + Chris 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here towards the end of August for an overnight stop. Very pleasant and roomy pitches and clean toilet facilities. We didn't use the pool but looked very inviting. The site was very convenient for Laon, we didn't walk there though as I am unable to walk far. This site was apparently a Municipal until recently and the owners / managers seem to be working very hard to improve it. We didn't hear any gunfire and would certainly return. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Catarinabod 62 reviews from this member

 Chose this for 1 night stopover from Eurotunnel. Ä23 for 2 adults and a dog, no ehu. Pitches are spread through the trees and were quite dusty but it had been very dry. Dark at night. Good (steep) walk starting from path at back of site into town which is worth a look. We were there Sunday early evening and not much open but we did enjoy walking the old walled town and the Porte Ardon (which took some finding!). Single sex sanitaires but not the best. However, would definitely recommend for a stopover. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Croyde_or_bust 16 reviews from this member

 In previous years we have never pre booked this camp when going from or returning to the UK. However travelling south this year (2018) in early May we were fortunate to get a pitch, due to a huge Classic Car Show which attracts owners/visitors from all over Europe (well worth a visit).

Hence if considering La Chenaie you might want to consider this yearly event. Returning in late June was no problem at all.

Ideal stopover camp, though this year we stayed an extra night and visited the Old Town, walkable from site but uphill going and steep, but worth the visit.

Very friendly and helpful staff.

What you get is a large pitch, some shaded others not. Decent WCís and showers and a covered swimming pool, ideal after a long journey. Generally you get peace and quiet though sometimes a nearby shooting range creates a fair bit of noise, mainly in the late morning.

Large lake adjacent, not sure re fishing but saw locals there.

Well worth trying is the bread and pain aux raisins, which can be ordered on site, absolutely top notch. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dreamerbfc 3 reviews from this member

 Booked for 3 nights but left after 2 due to the general poor state of the site in general and the toilet block in particular. Toilet block was dirty and wasn't cleaned whilst we were there. No hot water at all for the first night. Buildings need substantial refurbishment in our view. We were happy to leave and won't be returning. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiftysomething 18 reviews from this member

 We've often wondered about Laon cathedral as we've driven past on the autoroute but this year, with the weather not so good as it normally is in September, we did a bit of sight seeing.

This campsite has a very new swimming pool and a bouncy castle in the shape of a giraffe and I can't help feeling that in the next year or so that it will expand considerably and why not? There's certainly room for it.

The walk into Laon was steeper than I was expecting but then there was that wonderful feeling of achievement when we got into the town. The cathedral is quite stunning inside and worth the overnight stop by itself. Croissants and baguettes were delivered to the site (or cooked on site, I don't suppose it matters) in the morning and we were on our way again.

The only downside to the campsite was parking under a large oak tree which was dropping acorns onto the top of the motorhome during the night. We didn't hear anything from a shooting range but the acorns were probably just as loud. Our own fault for parking under the oak tree, but just a warning to others! 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lucy and family 9 reviews from this member

 As previous reviewers have said, this site is a useful stopover being convenient for the autoroute. The walled city of Laon with its beautiful cathedral is also worth visiting and within very easy reach by car.

Despite being August when we visited, the site didn't feel crowded and we had plenty of choice for a pitch (we didn't need hook up).

Sanitary facilities were a bit dated but Ok. Some water points near us did not work and we were advised to fetch our drinking water from the sanitary blocks, but this worked OK for our short stop of 2 nights. Bread and limited grocers items available from reception; we didn't use bar or pool due to lack of time. Shooting range did not bother us at all.

Overall an average site - would use again as a stopover but probably not for a longer stay. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sumitra 25 reviews from this member

 A work in progress but very pleasant. They are upgrading the site so a bit rough round the edges but the work was not intrusive. Average sized pitches with hookups, clean and useable shower and toilet blocks and a small indoor pool. Reception will order bread.

There is a good very regular bus stop about 10 mins walk away into Laon, which is a lovely old town. The site is handy for the autoroute and would make a good overnight stop or short stop to see Laon. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Croyde_or_bust 16 reviews from this member

 We've used this place a couple of times en route home from Italy or Southern France. Perfectly good for a stopover, especially now that is has a pool, (indoor too).

Very easy to find, close but not too close to the motorway network. Peaceful with just a small amount of nearby traffic noise.

Very friendly staff, small bar, normal bakery products can be bought on order.

We will be stopping over with a view to visiting Laon itself this year. 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping De La Chenaie child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping De La Chenaie have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping De La Chenaie?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping De La Chenaie dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Laon      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3081 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement