Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Le Cenic Camping

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Brittany > Penestin Sur Mer > Le Cenic Camping Reviews

Le Cenic Camping
Penestin
Penestin Sur Mer
Brittany   (Browse area)
56760
Tel: 00 33 2 99 90 33 14
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 400
Open: 01/04/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 6 Reviews
                9/10 from 6 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Clf86ha 16 reviews from this member

 Surprisingly, this site is only a 3 star, the pool complex alone should add an extra star!

We absolutely loved this site, the pitches decent enough sized, the sanitary facilities good, the pool complex amazing! So much so, that you may want to visit during the week, as weekends are busy with french families holidaying here.

Numerous pot washing sinks and They even provide specific sinks to wash shellfish you've picked/caught yourself.

At the rear of the toilet block, there's also a proper tray dog shower to clean your dogs down after a day out.

The site has a lovely lake and is an easy walk into a lovely little town (the market is a must). There are some lovely beaches close by, where you can swim/snorkel. The area is lovely to explore around.

The only negative, is some larger/longer units may find some turns on the site awkward.

We loved this site and area so much, we've decided to return in 10 weeks time to stay longer 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DLM01 1 review from this member

 We had a really great holiday at Le Cenic this year. We stayed for 11 nights and would definitely consider returning. The campsite is a busy one with people coming and going all the time. The pool area is fantastic and our children - 18 and 11years loved this. Both the indoor and outdoor pools were heated, The toilet blocks were clean and showers hot! There were bouncy castles for younger children and a play area for them. The staff were friendly and helpful.

The only problem we had with the campsite was on arrival - the entrance is a little narrow and we got into a tight spot whilst trying to manoeuvre our (large) caravan through the entrance barrier. It was rather stressful and our caravan has a scratch to show for it:( We were extremely cautious on our way out and managed to negotiate the exit without a mishap!

The local area of Penestin is charming. There's a footpath into town from the camsite - a very pleasant walk indeed! Penestin was quiet when we visited at the end of August but there are lots of beaches and to discover and coastal paths to walk. We hired bikes locally in Penestin and cycled the area extensively. The markets on Sunday and Wednesday were a delight.

All in all a fantastic holiday - excellent value for money. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mercuria 5 reviews from this member

 A well-appointed site with good facilities. The pool and slides are fantastic but do get crowded. Kids will love the free bouncy castle and the games night (think 1950's bagatelle and other wooden games- great atmosphere). Even though we had torrential rain most of the holiday the pitch was pretty intact by the end of it.

Nice beaches in the area, Carrefour up the road from the site, markets Wednesday and Sunaday.

Couple of negative points though:

1) staff on reception were not that helpful, even though I'm fluent in French. They seem to be unable to answer simple questions about the area and indeed the facilities on the site.

2)electric hook up point- it's a bit of a hide ans seek game. They are not clearly marked and often are hiding behind bushes a few pitches down.

3) take really good insect repellent- there are lakes on site and there is a lot insects. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thomson Clan 5 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed ourselves so much here last year, that we came back again. We never normally do that - so it must be good!

The location and the campsite swimming pool are the main reasons why this is such a great campsite.

The lovely warm indoor swimming pool and slides are fantastic for children and adults of all ages. The outdoor pool feels lovely after a hot day on the beach.

Campsite facilities were once again excellent - clean toilets, clean showers, useful washing machines and dryers. You rarely had to queue. It is handy being able to buy large portions of french fries every night, and most evenings you could buy pizza, paella, crepes or waffles.

We could choose our own pitch, and we ended up on the same one as last year. Some pitches are quite far from the electric hook-ups, so either camp closer, or make sure you have a very long lead.

Penestin boasts approx 14 different beaches - these range from the big sandy beaches, to smaller coves with rock pools and lots of shells. Some beaches are even completely covered in white oyster shells - quite amazing.

Penestin itself is a lovely little town, with a few shops to explore. The area is mainly suited for families, and walkers and cyclists because it is so flat.

As last year, I went horse-riding. I enjoyed a great beach ride at Pointe du Bile beach. The horses were well behaved and responsive. The ride was split into two - those who want to walk, perhaps trot a little; those who wanted to canter. It was great riding in sea - the horses really enjoyed it. Just check the quality of the tack before you get on -last year, somebody's stirrup leather broke, this year somebody's reins broke and my girth strap was already broken in two places. Not much fun if it breaks when you're going quite fast.

Although we probably won't return next year (other plans already), I hope people read this review and want to try this campsite and location. It is a large campsite, but the staff are very friendly and helpful, and the other campers are friendly and considerate. Despite it being high season, we never felt overcrowded, nights were peaceful and we regularly slept in quite late! Large pitches, with well established hedging and lots of trees. Lovely lake area and some nice walks just outside the campsite. You can walk into Penistin in approx 15 mins - nice off road walk. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Janienich 11 reviews from this member

 Spent a lovely twelve nights at this site and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves with our 3 year old.

There were plenty of pitches to choose from and the owner likes to group nationalities together where possible which was quite a nice touch as you could find a little about the area from neighbouring campers.

The pitches are a good size, but many are sloping so make sure you have plenty of scope for adjusting your sleeping accomodation or 'van! Some of the roads are quite narrow and people had problems getting larger vans around the site.

And yes, trying to locate your electric point was very interesting!

The take-away vans that visit the site are great, paella, crepe, pizza. The food from the bar was awful, avoid it like the plague unless you like microwave burgers!

The pool as mentioned before was fantastic but did get very busy. There appeared to be some form of teenage camp when we were there and they could be a bit of a nuisance, especially as the lifeguards turned a blind eye to a lot of their antics so they could be a pain.

Although Penestin boasts are large coastal area, there is only one real beach and you have to be careful with the tides as it gets very small at high tide. It is about a fifteen minute cycle ride away or about five to ten minutes in the car and has a reasonably sized carpark where you can usually park.

All in all we had a lovely holiday and probably will return at some point. The pool complex is fantastic and the prices are very reasonable for the standard of campsite which was always very clean.

The campsite is a little off the beaten track for Penestin itself and none of the restaurants opened before 7pm so something worth bearing in mind if you have small children that won't stay up beyond then. Penestin has a small Carrefour and the usual boulangerie and boucherie along with a smattering of other shops.

Beware of the barrage at Arzal, if you see the signs flashing go via La Roche Bernard as it could take up to an hour for the boats to pass through! La Roche Bernard is well worth a visit as is Branfere zoological park which had a Go Ape style climbing area included in the price.

Guerande is an interesting walled town to visit as is the village of Rochefort en Terre. Lots to do in the area. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thomson Clan 5 reviews from this member

 This was a great campsite in a great part of France.

Although quite a large campsite, it never felt crowded and there were spare pitches. Pitches were large, with mature hedging and trees. We had a choice of pitches when we arrived. There were a few other British families, but it was predominantly a French site with some Dutch. Toilets and showers were clean and you didn't have to queue. There is a very small basic shop, bar, some indoor table tennis tables and other games. You could buy french fries every evening and each evening a different take-way service would appear and you could buy pizzas, crepes, etc. There was a traditional Breton Dance evening and pony rides for the children.

But best of all.An absolutely brilliant swimming pool area - outdoor pool with slide, a very warm indoor pool with 3 slides and jacuzzi and another slide which started indoors, went outdoors and came back in again. Although busy, you rarely had to queue for slides and there was space for everyone.Absolutely brilliant! A bit like a mini Centre Parcs swimming complex.

The local area is very French - with lots and lots of different beaches. A different beach for every day. Good for rockpooling, very sandy and lots of interesting shells.

For horse lovers there are 2 places you can book hacks from and I had two enjoyable rides along the beach.

We wholeheartedly recommend this site - my children still talk about the swimming pool! 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Le Cenic Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Le Cenic Camping have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Le Cenic Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Le Cenic Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penestin Sur Mer      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Brittany

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3136 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement