Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping De L Ile Cherlieu

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Champagne Ardenne > Arcis Sur Aube > Camping De L Ile Cherlieu Reviews

Camping De L Ile Cherlieu
Route De Chalons N77
Arcis Sur Aube
Champagne Ardenne   (Browse area)
10700
Tel: +33 3 25 37 98 79


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 80
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 9 Reviews
                8/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool 1 mile   Outdoor Pool 1 mile 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Swapeman 13 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to L'Ile Cherlieu; a lovely site on the Aube with friendly and welcoming wardens. While were were there the site was nowhere near full and the fact that there are only three toilets for 80 pitches was never an issue. However I would think that there might be difficulties in the high season. The only other slight niggle was that it was almost impossible to wash dishes at night as one has to keep going outside to switch on the light every two minutes. That said we would return.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tenohfive 4 reviews from this member

Spent 4 nights here in mid-July during the French school holidays. Arrived with no booking and there didn't appear to be any crowding issues during our stay, there were always plenty of empty pitches.

The site itself is very pleasant - it's very well shaded by trees, the pitch sizes are generous and nowhere in the top half of the sight (the bottom part appeared out of use) was far to the amenities block. EHU within easy reach with both UK and continental connection points. It's a very nice environment.

Arcis sur Aube itself has all the shops you'd need but seems a little run down. It's not the sort of place you'd visit but supermarkets, banks, pharmacy etc were all within walking distance of the site. And I struggled to find much to do locally without heading to Troyes or the Foret de Orient areas.

The staff were helpful and friendly and made a point of finding a shaded pitch for us. The amenities block is basic (pull chain showers are a new one on me) and were generally clean.

There were no issues with noise on the site, it seemed to attract a lot of one-night-only visitors rather than families. Very peaceful in that sense.

There were two slight negatives for me:

1. Mosquitoes. The site is next to a river - at the beginning of the stay they were an issue after 7pm, but due to the weather they were out in force all day later in the stay. Not specifically a campsite related problem and the staff did warn us on our arrival, but worth being aware of (I was eaten alive by them. )

2. Road noise. It's not terrible but the campsite is close to a crossroads that seems to get a lot of HGV traffic. It's a quiet site so the passing traffic is especially noticeable.

Overall a good stopover site, don't think I'd go back for any sort of extended stay though.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Eggsandbacon 7 reviews from this member

Overnight stay. Charming site entirely occupying a small island on the River Aube. Welcoming entrance bedecked in flowers, reception friendly - English spoken and my useless French understood! Easy access over a bridge. Town centre with shops / restaurants etc ten minute walk. Supermarket on main road in / out of town. Wash block spotless, good showers. Used as a stopover on way south from Belgium. Really easy to get to from A26 / E17 motorway. Flat pitches amongst trees. Reception had a little outdoor snack bar and beers. We arrived about 3. 00 pm and site was empty. Site filled up quickly after 4. 00pm.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Longtimecaravaner 27 reviews from this member

Really lovely site so well maintained and in an idyllic position on an island in the middle of a river. 230 Miles from Calais and only a couple of miles from the peage it made a convenient stopover on the way south but I could have happily stayed there for some time. The facilities were very clean and the pitches varied in size but there were some larger ones.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MamaD 1 review from this member

We stopped overnight here on our way to Calais. The site is very convenient to the Autoroute A5 situated in Arcis, by the river. The site is small and peaceful with lovely well maintained pitches surrounded by flowers. The sanitary facilities are clean and in one block. Close to local shops, restaurants, banks boulangerie Owner helpful and speaks English. Good for visiting city of Troyes nearby.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BrianBW 11 reviews from this member

Agree with all the reviewers about this site. Regarding the breakin of the Motorhome, this must be a 1st as we have overnight stopped there for many years with no problems.

French squat toilets are now permanently locked out of use. This makes the 2 UK toilets busy in the mornings. Very hot water for showers and dish washing always available.

Motorhome facilities are at the end of the toilet block where grey water drainage is in the roadway. Water, with extended piping is on the wall opposite. Toilet cassette drainage is in one of the French squat toilets now used for this purpose.

While the camp site facilities are similar to a French Municipal, the overnight price is not, in May 2013 we were charged 21Euros for two people and electric!

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Andreafm44 2 reviews from this member

We have just visited this site as the one we normally stay at was shut.

When arriving it looks a lovely well kept site on a small island with a park backing onto it.

Overnight whilst sleeping we were broken into by robbers. They cut the blinds off and jammed the lock. Then cut the rubber rim around the motorhome door window. Then gained entry to steel my purse with euro's and bankcards and pounds from my husbands wallet. They also stole my 7' smartphone that I had just purchased to keep in touch with family at home.

This was in the middle of the night and there were no notices on the reception to say who to ring in an emergency. We tried the camping book number and luckily this was the owners mobile number.

He came straight away and called the police for us. He translated and drove us to the police station the next day.

He was very helpful to us but we felt the security of the site was not good. There was no lighting at all and so was pitch black at night. The fence surrounding the campsite was just wire and not very high which meant it could be climbed over or under very easily. Also the gates at the front were locked but also very low and so easily climbed over.

The owner said he had cameras at the front but not around the site itself. I did look for cameras but personally couldn't see them so cannot confirm this. Either way they were not helpful.

My concerns are that others may also fall foul of this and considering the owner doesn't accept C. Cards under 90 euro's it would be obvious to any prospective burglar that people could well have cash on board.

Needless to say we did not pay for the night's camping and moved elsewhere.

It is a busy and useful site as just off the sutoroute so people use it as a night halt on route. This I think is what the robbers were aware of as it seemed organised to me.

Please beware of this as I would hate someone else to experience this.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wilsosd 12 reviews from this member

A cracking short stop/ overnight site, if you are travelling south or north. We had not booked a site on our outward leg chancing on a selection of 4 as potential overnighters. After the journey to Dover and an early morning crossing we decided that 200 to 250 miles was our limit on the French side of the Channel and therefore picked Ile Cherlieu as our stop. A quick phone call en route and we were in. We were told turn up, ride around the site and pick your pitch, with an assortment of sizes and shapes this was made easier for us by arriving just before the 4pm rush. The site manager a surprisingly humorous Dutch chap by the name of Ton greeted us just after our arrival (word of caution they do not accept bank cards for fees of less than 90 euros) so if you are overnighting take cash.

The facilities are basic but functional, showers and toilets are clean if a little dated. No other facilities on site as such but they do tend to cater for the short stoppers, good range of shops and a couple of decent supermarkets in Arcis itself most of which are within easy walking distance. Worth a visit is Troyes a short 20 minute drive away.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chinster1957 32 reviews from this member

This 3-star 80 pitch campsite is ideal as an overnight stop on the way to/from the south, being around 230 miles from Calais and only a very short distance off the A26. It is easy to find. Leave the A26 at exit 21, follow the road into Arcis-sur-Aube and turn right at the town centre into Rue de Chalons. The campsite is up this road on the right. It is in a lovely position, on its own island in the middle of the Aube river. There are many flowers on site.

On arrival you will be allowed to drive around the campsite and choose your own pitch. The pitches on this site are generally smaller than average so larger units may have problems with some pitches. Electricity points are located all around the site.

The site has most of its facilities at the front of the site. The older style toilet block houses French style and UK style toilets without seats, showers, washing sinks, laundry and dish-washing facilities. These are kept very clean.

There is no shop or restaurant/take away on site although the site is situated within walking distance of the town where these facilities exist.

Wifi is available on around 80% of this site for those who require it.

There is an Intermarche hypermarket close to the site where you can refill the car if required.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Arcis Sur Aube      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Champagne Ardenne

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3765 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019