Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping De L Ile Cherlieu

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Champagne Ardenne > Arcis Sur Aube > Camping De L Ile Cherlieu Reviews

Camping De L Ile Cherlieu
Route De Chalons N77
Arcis Sur Aube
Champagne Ardenne   (Browse area)
10700
Tel: +33 3 25 37 98 79


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 80
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
                8/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cather 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite in a beautiful setting. Set on a island in the river connected by a bridge. Owner very helpful and jolly.

Try the st hubert Hotel for a lovely meal. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Djgrumpy 4 reviews from this member

 Pleasantly surprised as reviews elsewhere underwhelming.

Luckily Troyes municipal is closed this year otherwise we would have missed this quaint campsite.

Easy to find, owner delightful and facilities fine for our overnight stop.

So good booked for return journey. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Swapeman 13 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to L'Ile Cherlieu; a lovely site on the Aube with friendly and welcoming wardens. While were were there the site was nowhere near full and the fact that there are only three toilets for 80 pitches was never an issue.

However I would think that there might be difficulties in the high season. The only other slight niggle was that it was almost impossible to wash dishes at night as one has to keep going outside to switch on the light every two minutes.

That said we would return. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tenohfive 4 reviews from this member

 Spent 4 nights here in mid-July during the French school holidays. Arrived with no booking and there didn't appear to be any crowding issues during our stay, there were always plenty of empty pitches.

The site itself is very pleasant - it's very well shaded by trees, the pitch sizes are generous and nowhere in the top half of the sight (the bottom part appeared out of use) was far to the amenities block. EHU within easy reach with both UK and continental connection points. It's a very nice environment.

Arcis sur Aube itself has all the shops you'd need but seems a little run down. It's not the sort of place you'd visit but supermarkets, banks, pharmacy etc were all within walking distance of the site. And I struggled to find much to do locally without heading to Troyes or the Foret de Orient areas.

The staff were helpful and friendly and made a point of finding a shaded pitch for us. The amenities block is basic (pull chain showers are a new one on me) and were generally clean.

There were no issues with noise on the site, it seemed to attract a lot of one-night-only visitors rather than families. Very peaceful in that sense.

There were two slight negatives for me:

1. Mosquitoes. The site is next to a river - at the beginning of the stay they were an issue after 7pm, but due to the weather they were out in force all day later in the stay. Not specifically a campsite related problem and the staff did warn us on our arrival, but worth being aware of (I was eaten alive by them. )

2. Road noise. It's not terrible but the campsite is close to a crossroads that seems to get a lot of HGV traffic. It's a quiet site so the passing traffic is especially noticeable.

Overall a good stopover site, don't think I'd go back for any sort of extended stay though. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Eggsandbacon 7 reviews from this member

 Overnight stay. Charming site entirely occupying a small island on the River Aube. Welcoming entrance bedecked in flowers, reception friendly - English spoken and my useless French understood! Easy access over a bridge.

Town centre with shops / restaurants etc ten minute walk. Supermarket on main road in / out of town. Wash block spotless, good showers. Used as a stopover on way south from Belgium. Really easy to get to from A26 / E17 motorway.

Flat pitches amongst trees. Reception had a little outdoor snack bar and beers. We arrived about 3. 00 pm and site was empty.

Site filled up quickly after 4. 00pm. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Longtimecaravaner 27 reviews from this member

 Really lovely site so well maintained and in an idyllic position on an island in the middle of a river.

230 Miles from Calais and only a couple of miles from the peage it made a convenient stopover on the way south but I could have happily stayed there for some time.

The facilities were very clean and the pitches varied in size but there were some larger ones. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MamaD 1 review from this member

 We stopped overnight here on our way to Calais. The site is very convenient to the Autoroute A5 situated in Arcis, by the river.

The site is small and peaceful with lovely well maintained pitches surrounded by flowers.

The sanitary facilities are clean and in one block. Close to local shops, restaurants, banks boulangerie Owner helpful and speaks English.

Good for visiting city of Troyes nearby. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BrianBW 11 reviews from this member

 Agree with all the reviewers about this site. Regarding the breakin of the Motorhome, this must be a 1st as we have overnight stopped there for many years with no problems.

French squat toilets are now permanently locked out of use. This makes the 2 UK toilets busy in the mornings. Very hot water for showers and dish washing always available.

Motorhome facilities are at the end of the toilet block where grey water drainage is in the roadway. Water, with extended piping is on the wall opposite. Toilet cassette drainage is in one of the French squat toilets now used for this purpose.

While the camp site facilities are similar to a French Municipal, the overnight price is not, in May 2013 we were charged 21Euros for two people and electric! 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Andreafm44 2 reviews from this member

 We have just visited this site as the one we normally stay at was shut.

When arriving it looks a lovely well kept site on a small island with a park backing onto it.

Overnight whilst sleeping we were broken into by robbers. They cut the blinds off and jammed the lock. Then cut the rubber rim around the motorhome door window. Then gained entry to steel my purse with euro's and bankcards and pounds from my husbands wallet. They also stole my 7' smartphone that I had just purchased to keep in touch with family at home.

This was in the middle of the night and there were no notices on the reception to say who to ring in an emergency. We tried the camping book number and luckily this was the owners mobile number.

He came straight away and called the police for us. He translated and drove us to the police station the next day.

He was very helpful to us but we felt the security of the site was not good. There was no lighting at all and so was pitch black at night. The fence surrounding the campsite was just wire and not very high which meant it could be climbed over or under very easily. Also the gates at the front were locked but also very low and so easily climbed over.

The owner said he had cameras at the front but not around the site itself. I did look for cameras but personally couldn't see them so cannot confirm this. Either way they were not helpful.

My concerns are that others may also fall foul of this and considering the owner doesn't accept C. Cards under 90 euro's it would be obvious to any prospective burglar that people could well have cash on board.

Needless to say we did not pay for the night's camping and moved elsewhere.

It is a busy and useful site as just off the sutoroute so people use it as a night halt on route. This I think is what the robbers were aware of as it seemed organised to me.

Please beware of this as I would hate someone else to experience this. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wilsosd 13 reviews from this member

 A cracking short stop/ overnight site, if you are travelling south or north. We had not booked a site on our outward leg chancing on a selection of 4 as potential overnighters. After the journey to Dover and an early morning crossing we decided that 200 to 250 miles was our limit on the French side of the Channel and therefore picked Ile Cherlieu as our stop.

A quick phone call en route and we were in. We were told turn up, ride around the site and pick your pitch, with an assortment of sizes and shapes this was made easier for us by arriving just before the 4pm rush.

The site manager a surprisingly humorous Dutch chap by the name of Ton greeted us just after our arrival (word of caution they do not accept bank cards for fees of less than 90 euros) so if you are overnighting take cash.

The facilities are basic but functional, showers and toilets are clean if a little dated. No other facilities on site as such but they do tend to cater for the short stoppers, good range of shops and a couple of decent supermarkets in Arcis itself most of which are within easy walking distance. Worth a visit is Troyes a short 20 minute drive away. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping De L Ile Cherlieu child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping De L Ile Cherlieu?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Camping De L Ile Cherlieu dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Arcis Sur Aube      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Champagne Ardenne

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1523 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December