Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Thornton Hall Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Thornton Hall Farm Certificated Site Reviews

Thornton Hall Farm Certificated Site
Thornton In Craven
Skipton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD23 3TJ
Tel: 01282 841148
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 CCC plus tents
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 10 Reviews
                7/10 from 10 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Sarahc 1 review from this member

 Unfortunately our camping experience didn’t meet our expectations.

We arrived late evening with plenty of camping pitches available To choose from, set up the tent and had our bbq, unfortunately we had very noisy neighbours but we just got on with it and settled down to sleep for the night only to be woken by screaming At 2am in the morning This continued for about 2 hours.

We got up at 6.30 and had the usual bacon sandwich and went off to do our fishing but due to the noise and lack of sleep decided to abandon the second night at Thornton hall which was disappointing as it was a treat for my sons birthday

Wouldn’t camp here again no warden to monitor late noise. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tubby2 35 reviews from this member

 This is only really suitable for hikers ( PW) or self contained units There are no showers and no kitchen basin. There is water and toilets with plenty hot water for strip wash though.

This is part of a Children's farm. Staff really friendly and helpful. The small camp ground is flat and very well kept

Hiking tents ok

Toilets are open all time

The map on campsite UK slightly off. Head for Childrens Farm Thornton Hall Farm. Reception is with farm tickets

Staff say as limited facilities do not want to disappoint families. ( no showers at time writing )Cafe on site when kids farm open Lots of rug rats during day 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Silverparamedic 5 reviews from this member

 Flat field with a slight downhill slope through the gate. Well drained site with waste disposal and hook up. Water close to the pitches.

Very handy for walking into Skipton but there is also a bus stop right outside the site.

The postcode goes to a caravan permanent site on The Avenue, but as you turn towards the Avenue, (don't go into their site) you need to turn immediate right up a gravel track for a short distance into the field. The sign will then be visible.

Very helpful, trusting owner who I had to ring to come and collect my payment. Thank you! 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TheChappers 2 reviews from this member

 We camped as part of a group of 4 families in 2 tents a camper van and caravan. The site is in a lovely location with access to a number of attractions. We were looking for a site close to Brimham Rocks and easy for us all to get to as we were travelling from different locations. The fact that it had it's own farm park was a great back up if the weather was bad.

Our group had 6 children ranging in age from 3 to 9. When you arrive the first thing you notice is the great looking outdoor play area. The kids were desperate to have a go, unfortunately this is out of bounds when the farm park is closed, and is part of the paid attraction the rest of the time.

If you read the site rules there is no cycling allowed or ball games, in practice this was not enforced, however as the camping area is very small when it fills up there is no room to cycle or play ball unless you leave the field. They are then playing on the road leading into the attraction or in the car park, there is also farm traffic using this road.

I would suggest that this site may be good for young children but for those with older kids I spent most of my time keeping track of where they were, making sure they hadn't snuck onto the play area, or instead weren't climbing on the old farm equipment stored in the corner of the car park! And it wasn't just our kids.

The facilities are basic at this site, no hot water, no washing up facilities, no rubbish disposal, no showers. The toilets are only supposed to be open until 9pm, which for campers is a little odd.

In practice this wasn't the case although on the second night only the disabled toilet was left open - it was suggested by the owners that we really should use our friends facilities! Additionally we were told that we needed to accompany the kids to the toilet each time they went.

I think the owners perhaps need to think about who their target market is and stress this a little more on their website. I'm sure this site has great appeal to certain families, but where you have older more independent children who are up later and want to run around and play, the obvious play area was out of bounds and there was no safe space for them to use.

This site wasn't for us and we won't be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The jackson 4 1 review from this member

 Recently had a two night visit to thornton hall and it was fab! Beautiful surroundings, extremely clean and tidy, lovely friendly owners/staff.

The camping/caravanning field is only small but we like that getting to know your neighbours lark! the field is flat, stone free and short grass so easy for pitching.

The toilets are in the actual farm itself its only a few minutes walk, although on our second night the owners did deliver a portaloo to the field which was handy for those late at night visits! No showers but that is made clear when booking.

Lots to do in the area Skipton, Bolton Abbey close by. There is a pub a couple of minutes drive away and the tempest arms close by does fabulous food.

The actual farm on site is a great day out and adult campers get in free! Our kids loved it the animals, inside play areas, safari and caterpillar rides all good fun.

I would definitely go back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Marpleweb 4 reviews from this member

 Just back from a 2 day visit to this site with a group of friends in our campervan, a caravan and two tents. Their web site gives the impression that this site is very child-friendly but sadly we didn't find that to be the case.

There is a great playground but it's part of the farm 'attraction' and the kids with us were chased off it every time they tried to use it. It's not clear from the web site or downloadable brochure that you can only use the play area if you've paid an extra £5 per child per day, and then only between the hours of 10am and 5pm. So families with children between ages 5 and 12 looking for a low cost weekend be warned.

We were also disappointed with the facilities for camping - we knew that there were no showers, so that's fine - but there were no washing up facilities, no rubbish/ recycle points, no hot water in any of the toilets and even though they are advertised as available between the hours of 7am and 9pm the staff complained when our group used them and suggested that all 14 of us should use the toilets in our camper or the caravan! Not sure how we would have coped with that as access to the waste disposal is restricted by location and they only want you to use it before 9. 30am and after 5pm.

When we grumbled about these issues to one of the staff we were told us that the site 'wasn't really suitable for tents'. We would certainly agree with this but they didn't tell us that when we booked up and paid in full.

Thankfully we had a good weekend despite this campsite and its lack of normal camping facilities and not because of it. We're glad that we didn't take our grandchildren on this particular trip and we certainly won't be going back. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Buzby01282 3 reviews from this member

 We recently took the kids to thornton hall farm for 2 nights its a beautiful place quiet and farm like. It cost £15. 00 a night £2. 00 electric - there was 8 of us in total, 4 kids under 6 and 4 adults

Site is small, only 8 hookups but plenty of space for awning and toys etc. We were lucky we were the only ones there as it was midweek break during school hols. There is a fresh water tap on the site and that's it.

There are 3 toilets in farm yard with sink, toilet and space for a quick wash there is also 3 porta loos in farm yard to so 6 toilets in all. The walk to the toilets is about 3/4 mins. The staff are very friendly indeed. The elsan point if you can call it that is a hole in the floor in the barn where all the cow poop goes, lol was an experience I can tell you that hahaha.

The farm is ace for the kids with caterpillar rides, safari ride through the fields and quad bike rides through the rough terrain of Thornton in Craven and mini quads round a track type thing.

There's lots of animals to feed. Feed costs £1. 50 a bag. The indoor play area is ace kids loved it, in fact we stayed in the park from 10am till closing only going back for lunch to caravan. The playpark is excellent, a great asset to the farm.

All in all a excellent 5 star farm for a short break we will be returning again. Oh and 1 last thing you have to take your rubbish home with you as no waste bins. :} 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fish111 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed with my daughter as a quick get-away for one night and found this place excellent. Not very big, 5 tent pitches in total, but we knew that beforehand anyway and pre-booked.

A very friendly welcome on arrival and all facilities on the farm were fully explained. Left to pitch tent where we wanted and once we had done this we ventured into the farm. Great facilities for kids, I'd say under ten years old is an ideal age for here.

My daughter had a go at feeding the lambs out of a bottle with a full explanation by the helpful and cheerful staff, a small track for quads was next on the agenda and an great little climbing type park which looked very new for the energetic kids to have a go on before the mini-safari around the farm which is a bit naff but enjoyable all the same and again the staff fully explained about the different types of sheep and the huge cows got a little too close for comfort, especially with them very long horns!

A quick play inside the indoor barn play area complete with slides and goats to feed which will even eat the paper bag if you get too close! Refreshments were had in the cafe and shop before it was time for my daughters ride on the caterpillar which is pulled by a member of staff on a quad bike.

After a full days enjoyment it was back to the tent to chill out and enjoy the lovely sunset over the local village. No bins on site so you have to take all rubbish home with you and the toilets are inside the park and are just portaloos and there are no basins or showers so this place is for one-nighters only unless you want to smell a bit!

Overall a great place to stay, great for kids, dog friendly, lots to do, great setting, beautiful scenery but the facilities are limited to non-existent. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Duckydawn 1 review from this member

 What a lovely location, great views and only 6 miles from the lovely town of Skipton. 5 miles from the smaller town of Colne in Lancs. A park farm where kids can pet and feed the animals, which are all very gentle. Some extra rides are available on top of the entry fee. A small 5 pitch site with hook up if wanted, we will definitely get that next time. The village has no pub but there is one about 2 miles away. Cold water available at the field entrance. The loos were spotless and open from 7am to 9pm. No showers at the moment,so this would be a nice addition in future. The cafe on site is great and spotless, they kindly put our cooler blocks in the freezer for us. Will definitely be going back and hope the collie pup has learned how to have a lie in.He was better than any cockerel! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Prosserand lodge 19 reviews from this member

 We first stumbled across this site as a stopover on route to Scotland. We liked it so much that, before we left, we booked in again for a long weekend only 4 weeks later!

The site is in a small field adjacent to Thornton Hall Country Farm, an attraction in its own right.

The farm is open to visitors and is good value, containing much for adults and children alike - border collie puppies, lambs and calves to pet, a shire horse,llamas, goats and much more! (Watch out for the gorgeous older large male goat - he will eat anything if you give him half a chance!)

The children's caterpillar ride and an all terrain tour are two further highlights (small charge for each).

Apart from all this there is a cafe on site and three toilets accessible from around 7 a.M. Until around 9 p.M.

No washing up facilities or showers, and at present visitors are asked to take any rubbish with them when they leave.

Plenty else to do and see locally e.G. Long walks by canal or hillside(the Pennine Way lies very close to the site). Skipton is accessible by bus, which stops near the entrance to the farm.

Overall a great site to which we will definitely return. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Thornton Hall Farm Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Thornton Hall Farm Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Skipton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3122 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement