Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Thornton Farm Camping And Touring

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Thornton In Craven > Thornton Farm Camping And Touring > Reviews

Thornton Farm Camping And Touring
Thornton Hall Farm Country Park
Thornton In Craven
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD23 3TJ
Tel: 01282 841148
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 CCC plus tents
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 13 Reviews
                7/10 from 13 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Louise F 1 review from this member

 Much smaller than we thought, although we had free choice of the pitches. Nice space for BBQs or campfires and a picnic table at each pitch. Toilets were spotless.

However the campsite is positioned between the overflow carpark for the kids farm and the main building, with the pathway for those parking only feet from the front of the tents. Therefore we were being gawped at constantly by day visitors for the Halloween event. No privacy at all! From 10am to 5pm there was no let up in families traipsing past.

Maybe switch the pitches and the car park? 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Michel 1 review from this member

 Newish campsite and close to regular bus service.

Friendly staff, Clean toilers and showers, and somewhere to wash your dishes too.

Level grass pitches.

Ideal location for walking Peninne way. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: JBate1104 3 reviews from this member

 Beautiful views and lovely tidy grounds.

Toilet and shower facilities whilst small are very good and very clean.

Staff were exceptionally helpful and I would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Sarahc 1 review from this member

 Unfortunately our camping experience didn’t meet our expectations.

We arrived late evening with plenty of camping pitches available To choose from, set up the tent and had our bbq, unfortunately we had very noisy neighbours but we just got on with it and settled down to sleep for the night only to be woken by screaming At 2am in the morning This continued for about 2 hours.

We got up at 6.30 and had the usual bacon sandwich and went off to do our fishing but due to the noise and lack of sleep decided to abandon the second night at Thornton hall which was disappointing as it was a treat for my sons birthday

Wouldn’t camp here again no warden to monitor late noise. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tubby2 64 reviews from this member

 This is only really suitable for hikers ( PW) or self contained units There are no showers and no kitchen basin. There is water and toilets with plenty hot water for strip wash though.

This is part of a Children's farm. Staff really friendly and helpful. The small camp ground is flat and very well kept

Hiking tents ok

Toilets are open all time

The map on campsite UK slightly off. Head for Childrens Farm Thornton Hall Farm. Reception is with farm tickets

Staff say as limited facilities do not want to disappoint families. ( no showers at time writing )Cafe on site when kids farm open Lots of rug rats during day 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Silverparamedic 5 reviews from this member

 Flat field with a slight downhill slope through the gate. Well drained site with waste disposal and hook up. Water close to the pitches.

Very handy for walking into Skipton but there is also a bus stop right outside the site.

The postcode goes to a caravan permanent site on The Avenue, but as you turn towards the Avenue, (don't go into their site) you need to turn immediate right up a gravel track for a short distance into the field. The sign will then be visible.

Very helpful, trusting owner who I had to ring to come and collect my payment. Thank you! 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TheChappers 2 reviews from this member

 We camped as part of a group of 4 families in 2 tents a camper van and caravan. The site is in a lovely location with access to a number of attractions. We were looking for a site close to Brimham Rocks and easy for us all to get to as we were travelling from different locations. The fact that it had it's own farm park was a great back up if the weather was bad.

Our group had 6 children ranging in age from 3 to 9. When you arrive the first thing you notice is the great looking outdoor play area. The kids were desperate to have a go, unfortunately this is out of bounds when the farm park is closed, and is part of the paid attraction the rest of the time.

If you read the site rules there is no cycling allowed or ball games, in practice this was not enforced, however as the camping area is very small when it fills up there is no room to cycle or play ball unless you leave the field. They are then playing on the road leading into the attraction or in the car park, there is also farm traffic using this road.

I would suggest that this site may be good for young children but for those with older kids I spent most of my time keeping track of where they were, making sure they hadn't snuck onto the play area, or instead weren't climbing on the old farm equipment stored in the corner of the car park! And it wasn't just our kids.

The facilities are basic at this site, no hot water, no washing up facilities, no rubbish disposal, no showers. The toilets are only supposed to be open until 9pm, which for campers is a little odd.

In practice this wasn't the case although on the second night only the disabled toilet was left open - it was suggested by the owners that we really should use our friends facilities! Additionally we were told that we needed to accompany the kids to the toilet each time they went.

I think the owners perhaps need to think about who their target market is and stress this a little more on their website. I'm sure this site has great appeal to certain families, but where you have older more independent children who are up later and want to run around and play, the obvious play area was out of bounds and there was no safe space for them to use.

This site wasn't for us and we won't be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The jackson 4 1 review from this member

 Recently had a two night visit to thornton hall and it was fab! Beautiful surroundings, extremely clean and tidy, lovely friendly owners/staff.

The camping/caravanning field is only small but we like that getting to know your neighbours lark! the field is flat, stone free and short grass so easy for pitching.

The toilets are in the actual farm itself its only a few minutes walk, although on our second night the owners did deliver a portaloo to the field which was handy for those late at night visits! No showers but that is made clear when booking.

Lots to do in the area Skipton, Bolton Abbey close by. There is a pub a couple of minutes drive away and the tempest arms close by does fabulous food.

The actual farm on site is a great day out and adult campers get in free! Our kids loved it the animals, inside play areas, safari and caterpillar rides all good fun.

I would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Marpleweb 4 reviews from this member

 Just back from a 2 day visit to this site with a group of friends in our campervan, a caravan and two tents. Their web site gives the impression that this site is very child-friendly but sadly we didn't find that to be the case.

There is a great playground but it's part of the farm 'attraction' and the kids with us were chased off it every time they tried to use it. It's not clear from the web site or downloadable brochure that you can only use the play area if you've paid an extra £5 per child per day, and then only between the hours of 10am and 5pm. So families with children between ages 5 and 12 looking for a low cost weekend be warned.

We were also disappointed with the facilities for camping - we knew that there were no showers, so that's fine - but there were no washing up facilities, no rubbish/ recycle points, no hot water in any of the toilets and even though they are advertised as available between the hours of 7am and 9pm the staff complained when our group used them and suggested that all 14 of us should use the toilets in our camper or the caravan! Not sure how we would have coped with that as access to the waste disposal is restricted by location and they only want you to use it before 9. 30am and after 5pm.

When we grumbled about these issues to one of the staff we were told us that the site 'wasn't really suitable for tents'. We would certainly agree with this but they didn't tell us that when we booked up and paid in full.

Thankfully we had a good weekend despite this campsite and its lack of normal camping facilities and not because of it. We're glad that we didn't take our grandchildren on this particular trip and we certainly won't be going back. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Buzby01282 3 reviews from this member

 We recently took the kids to thornton hall farm for 2 nights its a beautiful place quiet and farm like. It cost £15. 00 a night £2. 00 electric - there was 8 of us in total, 4 kids under 6 and 4 adults

Site is small, only 8 hookups but plenty of space for awning and toys etc. We were lucky we were the only ones there as it was midweek break during school hols. There is a fresh water tap on the site and that's it.

There are 3 toilets in farm yard with sink, toilet and space for a quick wash there is also 3 porta loos in farm yard to so 6 toilets in all. The walk to the toilets is about 3/4 mins. The staff are very friendly indeed. The elsan point if you can call it that is a hole in the floor in the barn where all the cow poop goes, lol was an experience I can tell you that hahaha.

The farm is ace for the kids with caterpillar rides, safari ride through the fields and quad bike rides through the rough terrain of Thornton in Craven and mini quads round a track type thing.

There's lots of animals to feed. Feed costs £1. 50 a bag. The indoor play area is ace kids loved it, in fact we stayed in the park from 10am till closing only going back for lunch to caravan. The playpark is excellent, a great asset to the farm.

All in all a excellent 5 star farm for a short break we will be returning again. Oh and 1 last thing you have to take your rubbish home with you as no waste bins. :} 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Thornton Farm Camping And Touring child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Thornton Farm Camping And Touring dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Thornton In Craven      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


27648 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement