Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Du Lac Des Varennes

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Marcon > Camping Du Lac Des Varennes Reviews

Camping Du Lac Des Varennes
Route De Port Gauthier
Marcon
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
72340
Tel: +33 02 43441372
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 15 Reviews
                8/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 10 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bernard1964 1 review from this member

When we arrived we didn't have a booking but the staff was very helpful and let us choose where we wanted to pitch, we stayed right opposite the lake which was beautiful and very peaceful, it's a very relaxing site, my husband did some fishing while we were there but didn't catch much although at this site you can get your fishing permit on site which was handy, we did pop over the bar on our first evening the food was O. K and staff didn't seem bothered if you ate there or not, So from then on we went out to local supermarket and cooked our own meals which was fine. There is a little village about 5 min walk but not open much and not a lot there. Overall it was a nice clean site and the reception staff was helpful as we needed to book our ferry crossing and they printed it all off for us, The staff speak a little English but we all seemed to muddle through the Language barrier. We would definitely return for a stopover.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BAT VAN 101 4 reviews from this member

Access: Easy to find. They had a barrier which was located some way from Reception which means you need to park up and walk in to collect a barrier key. They close at 6pm so do not allow for later arrivals (despite us phoning and saying we would be there and they said they would wait and sadly they didn't). Our first attempt at staying had to be aborted, however, we were determined and returned at a later date. The actual site was pretty and well maintained, clean and sanitary. The shop wasn't really much to write home about, they didn't have a stock of fresh milk but there was a supermarket in Chateau du Loir which was about a 10-15 minute drive. They do have a nice bar beside the lake that was lovely to sit at. Off site the local village was shut. Literally. We felt we were in the middle of nowhere really and for us personally, the site lacked charm. In the end we stayed just 2 nights. Going back to the barrier, being so far from Reception made getting out a nightmare as they took our key and we had to rely on them remembering us. Sadly they didn't, BUT a very nice couple let us out with their key.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jcp12 1 review from this member

First visit to this site and was very impressed. With two kids aged 11 and 9 (boys), the activities were endless. Kayaks, pedaloes, volleyball, swimming, fishing just to name some.

We stayed in a bungalow tent which was well placed and equipped. The site is well set out for privacy. The 'bar, sells crap but pricey food so we just BBQ'd as the weather was good? Music could be heard from the bar some nights but was not a problem at all.

The site is clean, well kept. Toilets and showers clean. Generally a beautiful tranquil site with something for everyone at fab prices. We will definitely be back next year with our own kayak and bikes as hire was expensive 8e for kayak for an hour. Really recommend this site for families.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: The High and Lo 24 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a week with two other families after a recommendation from one of them. We were pleased with their suggestion.

The site is 27 miles north of Tours and has a large lake as the main attraction, where much of the day can be spent. There is an office which will give friendly advice. The pitches are grass and the majority are a reasonable size. The toilet/shower blocks are modern and well maintained and there always seemed enough room for the large site. The lake extends outside the campsite and has a Base de Loisirs with another beach and waterslide. The site has a bar that had entertainment each night with bands and meal nights. This could be heard round most of the site in the evening, so it was best to go over and experience. But it did not go on too late, so not to worry, the site was mainly populated by families so no noisy late nights.

In the local area the site was within walking distance of Marcon a typical French village, a large supermarket is 15 minutes drive. The local area offered some sites such as the troglodyte village of Troo. A further drive is required for the many attractions of the Loire. The immediate vicinity of the campsite was more quite rural France.

This is a great place to stay and relax, the beach offers a great spot to chill out by the lake. The site facilities are a high standard and the pitches good sized. The best visitor attractions are a drive, but this is a great place to relax.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lanautique 3 reviews from this member

Having been offered a selection of pitches to chose from we found the perfect pitch, they are large enough to hold a family tent, a 3 man tent for two teenagers, an eating area and a relaxing area. The campsite has a bar which did have music nights but it had ended by 11-11. 30 pm and then the campsite was silent. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful talking fairly good English. The many toilet blocks were extremely clean (cleaned a least 3 times a day).

The lake was great to cool off in / swim in / play in and the beach never seemed that busy. The park next door offered pedalos, tennis courts, crazy golf and archery all at reasonable prices, or you could just walk around the whole lake.

The supermarkets were quite close by, about 10 minuets in the car. We visited Le Mans for the day its well worth a visit. All in all we spent 11 nights here and we thought it was fab and will definitely return.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ruggerman 21 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a weeks wonderfully relaxing stay. We had a nice size pitch next to the Lake, as stated in previous reviews it is helpful to have two power cables to ensure an easy hook up. The setting is beautiful & very tranquil despite there being plenty of kids on the site. The facilities were cleaned 3 times a day and in very good condition with plentiful hot water. Be a little wary as the blocks are unisex! Fresh bread can be ordered daily for breakfast and there's a useful little shop for emergencies. There are some good routes for cycling but if you want to visit the vineyards or Caves check the opening times as they are not as frequent as you might expect! a visit to Charte du loir is worthwhile as is a meal at Hotel de Boeuf in Marcon which had a variety of menu prices but superb food. All in all a superb weeks holiday which seemed all too short and a definite site to visit again. The only very minor point which affects motorhomes more than other units is a lack of water points to fill from but we made do and will definitely be back. And if you are taking kids beware. They won't want to leave!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wally567 3 reviews from this member

I would heartily recommend this site if it was not for the loud evening music from the bar. This completely ruined our stay. We were pitched the other side of the lake from the bar (about 750km away) but it was as if it was next door. I asked them to turn the music down and they said they would but did not. This went on until 11:30 in the evening. I would not stay here again.

The pitch, the lake, the facilities were all great but the music from the bar was completely unacceptable.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TwoJs 9 reviews from this member

We loved this site. We had a peaceful pitch right next to the lake and had a family of ducks visit us every evening! The sanitary block was modern and large and during our stay always clean. There seemed to be 2 sides to the site, one more structured with clearly defined pitches and the other, which we opted for, less so. As previously stated however if you opt for this side you will need a long electric cable to hook up! The owner/manager spoke reasonable English and was very pleasant and friendly. We were only staying for 3 nights and were extremely sorry to leave. We will definitely go again if in the area.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sue+AndyK 2 reviews from this member

This site was superb! We swam constantly in the lake as it was boiling! The village is a short walk away and includes A Bakers, A Café/tabac, butchers, restaurant (a bit pricey), a creperie that was shut every time we visited it but the café faces the square and was nice to have an ice cold drink. Supermarkets are about 10 minute drive away including an Aldi. Great cheap restaurant in Vouvray Sur Loire. Toilets cleaned constantly, friendly staff, cheap wifi, bouncy castle and park for kids, dogs welcome, nice pitch, nice bar & good cheap evening meals such as hog roast and Moules/frites night. Boules courts and fantastic park. We will be going again. We highly recommend this site and met some wonderful people. The area is beautiful to walk or cycle and the park next door has a sailing club. We loved the whole place. Fresh croissants and gorgeous baguettes delivered warm in the morning. Just lovely!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hill2boys 2 reviews from this member

We were very late arriving at the campsite, although we did ring ahead to let them know we were going to be late. When we arrived at 22. 55! The manager came to let us in the gate and opened up reception. Even gave both my husband and me an ice cold (very welcome) beer! We were given a choice of pitches and as it was very dark we had the option to move it in the morning if required.

The pitches were of varying sizes and we managed to find one large enough to take our motorhome.

There were a couple of maintenance issues with the site which could be improved upon The grass on the pitches was quite long and overgrown. The toilet block closest to us was not only very old it wasn't kept very clean. On the positive there were plenty of showers which were very powerful. Also when choosing your pitch check the electric point is within reach. A few pitches needed a 50m lead!

The campsite and park had fantastic facilities to keep our boys (aged 9 and 11) entertained. The fishing was great, the lake was fab and warm to swim in. We took our kayak and used it several times on the campsite lake.

The public park which is adjoining the campsite is a fantastic facility with a larger beach and water slides which is free to campers.

The village of Marcon is literally 2 minutes on your bike and we would very highly recommend the creperie Fleur de Sel, in the village. Brilliant crepes and service. Only open Friday, Saturday and Sunday though!

All in all a great campsite with lots to do and close to a small village.

Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3239 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019