Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pant Yr Onnen Lakeside Touring

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Bala > Pant Yr Onnen Lakeside Touring Reviews

Pant Yr Onnen Lakeside Touring
Pant Yr Onnen Lakeside Campsite
Llangower
Bala
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL23 7BT
Tel: 07946374173
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           25/03/2022 to 09/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 30 Reviews
                9/10 from 30 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Fiona5 1 review from this member

 Another lovely stay at this beautiful camp site.

Very clean and quiet.

Lovely welcome, beautiful walks and of course the lake.

Thank you for a lovely stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: PonteJohn 7 reviews from this member

 Great lakeside site. We’re pitched right on the lakeside where you can light a fire on the pebble beach. Lovely welcoming staff.

Good clean shower block, but only 2 showers each for men and women, which could be a problem if site full.

Sold wood for fires on honesty basis £4 per bag. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Lots of tents / families enjoying water sports- all good fun no problem. Perfect if you want to launch much your own canoe etc.

Narrow road approaching site- ONLY APPROACH THE SITE FROM THE BALA END. 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Eastru 1 review from this member

 Nice site by lake & river and background hills.

Large level pitches, handy shop.

Facilities clean.

Some road noise but was good location as stopover. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Shazpa 1 review from this member

 Camped right on the lake, very special stunning views and very friendly and organised camp site,

my husband and I were thrilled and will definitely be back ASAP.

Loving being able to sit with our fire pit by the lake of a night. Superb, Thank you 😁😁. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Njbeecroft 9 reviews from this member

 What a fabulous site. The lakeside location is perfect and the kids loved the evening campfires. Really helpful staff, they couldn’t do enough for us. We cycled into Bala each day to go paddle boarding and do some shopping, easy 30 minute or quick 15 minute cycle. Nice open pitches with good distance between pitches. If I could give 11 out of 10 for location, I would! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: BeachDog 28 reviews from this member

 Situated on the shore of Bala Lake, ideal for launching small boats, canoes, SUP's. Access is via a narrow stone bridge so worth checking if you have a large campervan. It was busy when we stayed but we were given a pitch without EHU on the waters edge (EHU available away from the waters edge) which was ideal as the weather was calm and we could launch SUP's directly from the camper. Fires are allowed on the beach. Facilities are good, clean and there is a small shop on site. Friendly, helpful team. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leshem 17 reviews from this member

 Amazing site!

Location fantastic, big site just on the lake shore, so lots of place and quiet time. Had a pitch near the beach so we could enjoy a camp fire on the lake shore. Have been after heavy rains, yet the fields where well drained and dry.

The team was extremely friendly and helpful, even gave us their own charcoals when we forgot our own.

Facilities extremely clean and very well maintained but might be a bit far from some of the pitches. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MYOBFGS 4 reviews from this member

 We have been here 2yrs running with friends (a rarity for us as we are VERY picky about campsites and their available facilities). The owners and staff are fantastic and never mind helping when needed (during a long stay when one has to 'shuffle' to save the grass from dying they pitch in to help). We book and pay for 3 pitches for 2 big tents with full awnings and a 4 berth caravan but they are so large we only ever use one and a half placing our 2 tents and one caravan in a group but still within safe fire limits. Leaves plenty of room for badminton/tennis nets and other children's games so we do not miss a playpark at all. Showers are 50p each and require several presses of the button but even washing and rinsing my quite long hair I never ran out of time.

One can purchase the fresh eggs from the chickens frequently seen running around the tents - we made the mistake of leaving our waste bins (one for recyclable stuff, the other for non recyclable including food) outside and found them well pecked the next morning! Fresh milk too.

The lake is amazing and we love the fact it is a mere few feet to launch our canoes from the shore (we tried a site on the opposite side 3 yrs ago but it was a bit of a distance carrying canoes to a launch area). All the dogs (including our two) had fab fun in the lake following their thrown balls, the kids too.

Drawbacks:

(1) For a long stay another washing machine would be useful(although we used it later in the evening then paid the owners the £3 charge the next morning)

(2) drying facilities are not good, often wet suits/towels etc are left hanging well after they are dry but in any case one could not dry a 'load' in there due to lack of a dryer nor proper 'lines'. I spoke to the lady owner about a dryer but she is very environmentally conscious and did not feel she could justify one so I understand her point of view

We will no doubt be back again sometime during next year! 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 620 reviews from this member

 This site is perfectly situation right on the side of Lake Bala, there is a small shoreline / beach running along the lake where you can pitch, or the main pitches are further back on grass.

The shoreline pitches do not have electric hookups, probably 50% of the grass pitches have electric. If its important to you worth ringing and checking whats available (the website states they will do their best if you book specifics but can't guarantee).

Loos and showers are very clean and modern. Shower costs 50p for 8 minutes, its a push button shower and every time it stops and you push the button it takes another 20 seconds or so to re-start. Water is hot and good pressure and showers were very clean.

Wardens super friendly and helpful, always around to ask questions etc. No bookings taken at site, you need to email or telephone.

There is a motorhome drive over grey water drain, for some reason a car was parked on the area all weekend so it wasn't possible to use it. There is a water tap at the entrance to fill with a hose and chem disp. Is also at the entrance along with recycling area.

The website says they have wifi at reception, we asked on arrival and were told there isn't any wifi on site at all.

Bala is a beautiful area, plenty to see and do. The small town has several cafes, hotels and some good local shops. If you are going visit Aran Hufen La - ice cream shop opposite the garage. Its the best homemade ice cream we have every tasted.

The site is about 3 miles form the town but there is a great narrow gauge railway that run into town every hour or so.

We really love the location of the site, the wardens are great but there are a few niggly things that if sorted that would really make it worth £21 per night and a top destination. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The rigbys 6 reviews from this member

 A small site next to Bala lake. The toilets and wash area were very clean. We stayed in a tent with no hook up this time, the owners let you charge your phone and freeze your ice blocks for a small donation to the air ambulance. My sons loved the chickens wandering around and the walk along the foreshore. There is no play area but there is a tyre rigged up as a swing. We visited Barmouth and recommend the little train to Bala. 


Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pant Yr Onnen Lakeside Touring child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pant Yr Onnen Lakeside Touring?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Pant Yr Onnen Lakeside Touring dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bala      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4639 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement