Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Pant Yr Onnen Lakeside Touring

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Bala > Pant Yr Onnen Lakeside Touring Reviews

Pant Yr Onnen Lakeside Touring
Llangower
Bala
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL23 7BT
Tel: 01743 718283
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 50
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 26 Reviews
                9/10 from 26 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Njbeecroft 9 reviews from this member

What a fabulous site. The lakeside location is perfect and the kids loved the evening campfires. Really helpful staff, they couldn’t do enough for us. We cycled into Bala each day to go paddle boarding and do some shopping, easy 30 minute or quick 15 minute cycle. Nice open pitches with good distance between pitches. If I could give 11 out of 10 for location, I would!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: BeachDog 26 reviews from this member

Situated on the shore of Bala Lake, ideal for launching small boats, canoes, SUP's. Access is via a narrow stone bridge so worth checking if you have a large campervan. It was busy when we stayed but we were given a pitch without EHU on the waters edge (EHU available away from the waters edge) which was ideal as the weather was calm and we could launch SUP's directly from the camper. Fires are allowed on the beach. Facilities are good, clean and there is a small shop on site. Friendly, helpful team.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Leshem 13 reviews from this member

Amazing site!

Location fantastic, big site just on the lake shore, so lots of place and quiet time. Had a pitch near the beach so we could enjoy a camp fire on the lake shore. Have been after heavy rains, yet the fields where well drained and dry.

The team was extremely friendly and helpful, even gave us their own charcoals when we forgot our own.

Facilities extremely clean and very well maintained but might be a bit far from some of the pitches.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MYOBFGS 4 reviews from this member

We have been here 2yrs running with friends (a rarity for us as we are VERY picky about campsites and their available facilities). The owners and staff are fantastic and never mind helping when needed (during a long stay when one has to 'shuffle' to save the grass from dying they pitch in to help). We book and pay for 3 pitches for 2 big tents with full awnings and a 4 berth caravan but they are so large we only ever use one and a half placing our 2 tents and one caravan in a group but still within safe fire limits. Leaves plenty of room for badminton/tennis nets and other children's games so we do not miss a playpark at all. Showers are 50p each and require several presses of the button but even washing and rinsing my quite long hair I never ran out of time.

One can purchase the fresh eggs from the chickens frequently seen running around the tents - we made the mistake of leaving our waste bins (one for recyclable stuff, the other for non recyclable including food) outside and found them well pecked the next morning! Fresh milk too.

The lake is amazing and we love the fact it is a mere few feet to launch our canoes from the shore (we tried a site on the opposite side 3 yrs ago but it was a bit of a distance carrying canoes to a launch area). All the dogs (including our two) had fab fun in the lake following their thrown balls, the kids too.

Drawbacks:

(1) For a long stay another washing machine would be useful(although we used it later in the evening then paid the owners the £3 charge the next morning)

(2) drying facilities are not good, often wet suits/towels etc are left hanging well after they are dry but in any case one could not dry a 'load' in there due to lack of a dryer nor proper 'lines'. I spoke to the lady owner about a dryer but she is very environmentally conscious and did not feel she could justify one so I understand her point of view

We will no doubt be back again sometime during next year!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 584 reviews from this member

This site is perfectly situation right on the side of Lake Bala, there is a small shoreline / beach running along the lake where you can pitch, or the main pitches are further back on grass.

The shoreline pitches do not have electric hookups, probably 50% of the grass pitches have electric. If its important to you worth ringing and checking whats available (the website states they will do their best if you book specifics but can't guarantee).

Loos and showers are very clean and modern. Shower costs 50p for 8 minutes, its a push button shower and every time it stops and you push the button it takes another 20 seconds or so to re-start. Water is hot and good pressure and showers were very clean.

Wardens super friendly and helpful, always around to ask questions etc. No bookings taken at site, you need to email or telephone.

There is a motorhome drive over grey water drain, for some reason a car was parked on the area all weekend so it wasn't possible to use it. There is a water tap at the entrance to fill with a hose and chem disp. Is also at the entrance along with recycling area.

The website says they have wifi at reception, we asked on arrival and were told there isn't any wifi on site at all.

Bala is a beautiful area, plenty to see and do. The small town has several cafes, hotels and some good local shops. If you are going visit Aran Hufen La - ice cream shop opposite the garage. Its the best homemade ice cream we have every tasted.

The site is about 3 miles form the town but there is a great narrow gauge railway that run into town every hour or so.

We really love the location of the site, the wardens are great but there are a few niggly things that if sorted that would really make it worth £21 per night and a top destination.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The rigbys 6 reviews from this member

A small site next to Bala lake. The toilets and wash area were very clean. We stayed in a tent with no hook up this time, the owners let you charge your phone and freeze your ice blocks for a small donation to the air ambulance. My sons loved the chickens wandering around and the walk along the foreshore. There is no play area but there is a tyre rigged up as a swing. We visited Barmouth and recommend the little train to Bala.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 508 reviews from this member

Great campsite which has been recently updated and developed. Facilities are spotless and the owners don't overcrowd the site so there's lots of space. Some motorhome pitches are on the shore and give great views. Excellent location for canoeing straight from the site. Campfires allowed - always a bonus!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Yvonneandco 7 reviews from this member

We called in here for a night mid week, we had considered staying for two nights, but it wasn't for us, so we just stayed for the one.

Maybe the torrential rain, marred our view of the site. Next to the lake, which in good weather would have been lovely. You can have campfires on the shoreline, they'll sell you kindling.

Showers were 50p!

Narrow land and bridge on entry.

Not for us, but I can imagine that in the sunshine is could be lovely, if a tad pricey.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Harasiwel 4 reviews from this member

Booked a 4 night stay at Pant Yr Onnen Monday-Friday on the recommendation of a friend who had stayed here before. We had an XL tent non-hookup pitch so had some flexibility as to where to pitch. Site was full during our stay including a very large sailing club group. Have to say though it never really seemed crowded. Warden on site 24/7 and reception open during normal hours. Toilets are clean and the warden does a great job refilling toilet paper, soap etc throughout the day. Showers 50p a go. Able to buy milk and eggs on site. Nearest decent shopping is in Bala, about 10mins drive. Be aware if you are towing the approach road to the site is very narrow. We were fortunate with decent weather which made a huge difference, I would imagine the site would be completely different if weather was bad. Stunning lakeside location with access to the pebble beach for camp fires (wood and kindling can be bought for £3 a sack on site. ) We swam and kayaked in the lake and also took the children out on the rubber dinghy but would not suggest allowing children to play unsupervised in the lake as it gets very deep very quickly and can be very cold. Also the wind could be a factor if playing on inflatables. Dogs are kept on leads on site but there are areas beyond the site that they can be let off to run and swim in the water. Our 2 children (9 & 11) had a great time playing with others on park and often we would share a fire for a nightcap of marshmallows and hot chocolate! Would visit again and would recommend if you are looking for an easy going, clean site.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gerrygads 4 reviews from this member

Have just returned from a couple of nights here. What a lovely site right on the lake and amongst the stunning scenery. As it is early in the season it was not very busy but even so the manager couldn't have been more helpful.

We were there for a chill and that is what we got. The weather was wonderful although we did get a bit crispy.

The shower/toilet block was absolutely clean and fresh at all times, with ample supplies of toilet paper and hand soap.

At the end of the main field is the catamaran club and we observed children brought to the site for kayaking and they seemed to have loads of fun. Access to the beach is on site so was a lovely walk along the shore a few times daily. Would love to go back.

Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1060 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019