Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ballinacourty House Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > Europe > S Ireland > Co Tipperary > Ballinacourty House Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Ballinacourty House Caravan And Camping Park
Ballinacourty
Glen Of Aherlow
Co Tipperary
S Ireland   (Browse area)

Tel: 00353 62 56559
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/04/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 8 Reviews
                9/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Greenp 19 reviews from this member

 Probably the most charming campsite we have visited. Set in beautiful scenery within walled garden. Sound and well run facilities. Very thoughtfully put together. No charge for wifi, tennis courts, evening room etc.

Really appreciated no extra charges which mount up on most campsites for showers or awnings etc.

Great for walkers. 1. 5 hours from Cork.

Helpful staff/ management. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Ewen c 14 reviews from this member

 We go to this site about twice a year. It is our choice for opening our camping season at May Day.

The site is in the grounds of a former country house destroyed in the civil war. The former stable complex houses showers, toilets, reception, washing up and a small games room. There is also a campers kitchen with fridge. The fridge fills up on busy weekends. Showers are free and hot.

It is a laid back family run site which is slowly being improved. The tennis court and crazy golf are up and running again. The walled garden looks almost ready. Pitches aren't marked out but it all works out. There are no statics and the pitches are fairly level. More than one tent per pitch is allowed. No charge for a small pup tent.

The nearest village has a pub and shop. Reception has a small shop but for big shops, you'd have to drive to Tipperary. If you don't fancy cooking, there is an excellent restaurant on site. Booking is essential.

We don't have many gripes. Any we have are outside the site's control. The wind can come rushing down the Glen. It sounds like a train coming and then it hits. As the site allows gazebos, this has led to some unfortunate flying objects. Midges are also about but that is normal. The Glen is a mecca for walkers and cyclists. If your teens aren't in to this, then there is little for them to do. However there are lots of places to visit within a short drive.

So, for us, this is a dream site but it won't be to everyone's taste. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Andy55moto 4 reviews from this member

 Campsites in Ireland tend to oversell themselves and be a bit disappointing yet expensive. This site bucks that trend. Its well run, by really nice people and its very good value for money.

The site is in a very quiet area in the Galtee mountains and a pretty valley with lots of walking and biking trails on the doorstep. There is a basic camp shop with all the necessities and another village shop and pub about a mile away. Tipperary is not far away for supermarkets (Tesco and Dunnes).

The site is well organised and well run. In very wet weather, the ground can get very muddy and cut up, but there is hard standing for though this could do with widening and refurbishing in places. There are things for kids to do, from table football, table tennis and TV room for free, and tennis courts, mini-golf and animal park that you have to pay to use.

Showers are clean and free, but some showers suffer from a complete lack of hot water if usage is high or people are washing up at the same time. So beware. The showers can then be completely cold to be careful which cubicles you choose! There is a camp kitchen which is really useful and washing up facilities, all of which are part of the cost.

This is a good site and we would go back. We also know which showers to use! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Humbird 4 reviews from this member

 Very nice camp site, small, very safe, excellent clean facilities and the welcome was warm and genuine. The views were excellent, and the campsite was very laid back and simply very pleasant.

So much to see and do in the area. I would recommend this campsite to anybody and will definitely return again, and again.

We had pizza take-out from the restaurant on site and it was superb. The restaurant itself looked very tempting and we'll eat there next time. I was very impressed with the kitchen facilities available - a full kitchen with cooker, pots/pans, etc.

I'll definitely return for a weekend off-season and not have to lug all my kitchen gear with me.

The only niggle I had about the place (and so easily remedied by the owners) is that there was no hairdryer available in the toilets - you could request the loan of one from Reception Desk. However the Reception Desk was closed a lot of the time, so if, for example, after 5pm you wanted to wash you hair. You had to wait until the next morning to get hold of the hair dryer! Not ideal. Other campsites have hair dryers attached to the wall by a simple screw fixture, and its effective.

I hope this campsite does this also to get around this simple issue. Otherwise very pleasant campsite! 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Monty bongo 1 review from this member

 Stayed for 3 nights here - superb location looking across to the Galtee Mountains.

Excellent toilet/shower facilities (unlimited hot water), campers kitchen OK (just duck when the swallows fly in to nest).

Excellent restaurant on site (need to book, much local use).

10-minute walk to village with traditional bar (Moroneys), many walks locally from 2k to 15k (maps from reception).

Staff all very friendly and welcoming. Would highly recommend this site & area, although we were there in low season with fine weather (maybe this affects my comments!). 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marksbury 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 1 night as a stop-off on our way to Kerry and would happily return and stay for longer.

Although the site is unexceptional it is small, quiet, well maintained and, being sited in a former walled garden of the estate, has a genuine rustic charm.

There is a small play area for children, a small petting-farm adjacent Although very small and home-spun it is a lovely facility and the kids thoroughly enjoyed learning more about the animals; we were walked around by the 'farmer' who was really friendly.

We also ate in the adjacent farmhouse restaurant; also very good indeed and clearly very popular with the locals - but again very quiet and discrete.

The toilet facilities were more than adequate and clean. We didn't use the campers kitchen or little TV lounge. The reception also sells a few essentials.

It had the feel of a rustic french farmhouse site - really charming. And quiet, blissfully quiet! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Soupie01 2 reviews from this member

 I stayed here for 2 nights with my wife and 2 children aged 1 and 4.

It cost 25 euro per night and the showers were free as was the use of the campers kitchen and a small tv room.

On arrival we received a friendly welcome and I was given an outline of where everything was on the site and a map showing where to pitch. There was plenty of room to pitch the tent, we had a nice spot about 30 yards from the kitchen/toilet block area and some good views across the Galtee mountains.

The toilets and showers were generally clean although the soap dispensers were empty in the womens toilets. There was a small campers kitchen which was adequate and a separate wash up area that had 3 sinks, only problem was that this room was open to the elements and some birds had taken advantage of this and nested in the room which left a lot of bird droppings on the floor and the sinks.

We were given a set of park rules when we arrived too, they stated that there was no noise after 11pm, All children were to be on their own pitch by 10 pm and that there was to be no children in the playground area after 9pm. Well, there were children in the park until close to 12am on the first night. The second night it was raining and was much quieter, until the rain stopped and there was one group of people in a caravan that thought it would be a good idea to have a meal at around 11 pm, outside with their tv blasting away, which continued loudly until around 1am. What is the point in having rules if no one enforces them.

This is a nice little park in a beautiful area and if the owners took a little more care and there was bit more supervision on site, it could be a truly great site. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Janhom 3 reviews from this member

 We had a pleasant 4 night stay at this site with great views of the Galty Mountains. We had a friendly welcome from the owners and they offered tourist information about walks and other activities to do in the area.

The toilets and showers were modern, clean and free. Washers and driers were available, and a campers kitchen which looked newly built and well equipped. There is a restaurant on site, and the menu looked lovely; we didn't eat there, only because we had lots of food in the caravan to eat up before we went home!

Tennis court and table tennis, but you can only borrow bats etc when reception is open, and it closes quite early, so you have to be organised if you want to play in the evening.

We stayed in this area to climb Mount Galty and were very disappointed and a bit cross, to discover that dogs were not allowed on the hills, so a member of our party had to stay behind.

We enjoyed our stay and would return to the site again if in the area. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ballinacourty House Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ballinacourty House Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Ballinacourty House Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




All Sites in S Ireland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5256 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement