Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lickisto Blackhouse Camping And Yurts

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Harris > Lickisto Blackhouse Camping And Yurts Reviews

Lickisto Blackhouse Camping And Yurts
1 Lickisto
Isle Of Harris
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS3 3EL
Tel: 01859 530359  or  07968951314
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 40 Reviews
                9/10 from 40 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Helenc 1 review from this member

 As the weather was quite wet whilst there it was good to have the black house to use. This had a microwave, kettle, fridge freezer. Also large communal table and sofas.

We were in a 2-3 man tent. Our pitch was sheltered but under trees. The campsite is full of character and most suitable for small 1-2 person tents as they get the view.

It can accommodate a few campervans but they are in the parking area by the road.

As it is by the water and trees it is a bit prone to midgys.

There are limited toilet and shower facilities which was fine whilst we were there but may be an issue if busy. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Gcritc 1 review from this member

 A wonderful place to hear nothing but the wildlife.

Beautiful spot for us to pitch our tent. Quirky and well loved site with little touches around the place that made us smile.

Good facilities and the Blackhouse is so cosy.

Owner is great and we can't wait to be back! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Family France 2021 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here 1 night and to be honest I was a bit nervous before we arrived as some of the reviews for motorhome parking weren’t that great however, I found we shouldn’t have worried as our stay was great.

Greig, the site owner, is so welcoming and the facilities are great (even though they are not the most luxurious). The camping spots do look amazing. We saw one tent overlooking the water where they saw an otter. The Yurts look really cool as well.

Only think I would say is take plenty of midge repellent as due to the location in the trees there are a lot.

To get to the site the roads are very, very challenging with lots of sharp bends on single track road. Would not recommend driving it in bad conditions.

Would recommend if you like somewhere a little quirky. Would give Greig 10/10 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Iandfl 2 reviews from this member

 Very clean and quirky site. Very friendly and helpful owners.

A delight to stay there.

We thoroughly enjoyed our staying. Exceptional sunny weather helped! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jbryan 2 reviews from this member

 Only site available in East Harris.

Only space for a few Motorhomes.

Facilities open (toilets showers etc. )

Site could probably be a bit midgy when wind drops as lots of undergrowth.

Nice welcome from owners 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Astral weeks 10 reviews from this member

 After our previous nights disaster (see my review of Traigh Na Beirigh ) it was fairly important that any site we next went to was sheltered. We had a look at a couple of unsuitable other ones and then arrived at Lickisto. It was windy and raining and there was Grieg shovelling stones at the car park and very pleased to see us (even though he didn't know we were coming). He took us down to the site and showed us a couple of pitches. We chose one which which was sheltered by willows on a slight slope. He then showed us around the rest of the site.

Our emplacement was sheltered which meant there is was no wind to blow away the midges even in the rain, so once we had got our (new) tent up we retired to the communal Blackhouse. There we met our fellow campers and glampers, or in our case dampers.

There were people from the tents, the yurts and the camper vans. Some people had driven, some had come by bike or bus, others had walked. The blackhouse has a microwave and a small grill/oven but most people were using their own camping stoves.

There is a fridge/freezer which was useful for producing ice for our 6 o'clock martinis. There is a log burning stove and settees and a long table. Also there is an en suite loo and shower.

In fact it was all so sociable, dry, warm and midge free we only used the tent for sleeping.

The actual site is on a slope with lots of semi secluded pitches. It leads down to the sea where I had been promised seals and otters but nobody had told the seals and otters.

If I was to ever go back to the Isles of Harris this is where I would stay. I have already recommended it to a couple whom I met walking in South Uist.

There is not a lot to do in Harris especially if it is raining. Our highlight was a drive out to Hushinish and climbing the hill where with a bit of squinting you can just make out St Kilda. No otters or seals though. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dlgb 11 reviews from this member

 Location - on winding road on east South Harris - for motorhome / campervan basically overnight stopover on level gravel area for 3 units. Steep drive access.

Sheltered from all but NE.

Facilities quirky - in two separate adapted stone 'black houses'. Access on gravel paths on hillside garden. Shower cubicle in drafty room (no external door in this building), basically ok, no extra charge.

Proprietor 'laid back', lives on site, pitch prebooked but not very clear instructions in confined area.

Kitchen in adapted stone blackhouse with large sitting area but dark and dingy, (looked great for the campers).

Priced at £20 per night good value include EHU 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hynes1 14 reviews from this member

 What a find. Stunning campsite on terraces

Overlooking a loch or in a nook somewhere. Loved it. And the bonus of a evening in the black house round the fire was even better. Owner John couldn’t be more helpful

It’s all very rustic and I would definitely recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Loopy 51 reviews from this member

 Lickisto is a lovely small site, with room for a few camper vans in the hardstanding at the top of the site. Most of the tent pitches are aimed at small 2-4 man tents hidden amongst the reeds and trees. Midges are abundant in the calm evenings but are easy to escape in the blackhouse. We met people from all over, Germany, Canada, Spain, during our time sat around the log burner. Two shower rooms offer plenty of space and there is no time limit on the showers. An extra shower/toilet is in the blackhouse. Fishing rods are also free to use but you may have to fight the local otters for the fish. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: AliB1 7 reviews from this member

 To get to this campsite you have to drive through some spectacular scenery on a very winding road. There are pitches for only three vans with electric hook-ups and some lovely private areas for tents. This is a really nice site if you are really fit and have good mobility because all the facilities are a long way down a hill from the pitches and it is quite a climb loaded with washing up etc. Having said that the facilities were very good, especially the ones housed in the 'Blackhouse'. The owners have done an excellent job of renovating the 'Blackhouse' and it provides showers, washing up and dining facilities along with a sitting area in front of a log-burning stove. The location is lovely and has access to views of the sea and if you are lucky you may see the local otters. The site is well landscaped with lots of interesting plants and trees. The owner, John offered to get shopping from the supermarket 40 miles away, which was very kind. All in all a great place to stay if you can manage the climbs. 


Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lickisto Blackhouse Camping And Yurts child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Lickisto Blackhouse Camping And Yurts dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Harris      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1975 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement