Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Lickisto Blackhouse Camping And Yurts

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Harris > Lickisto Blackhouse Camping And Yurts Reviews

Lickisto Blackhouse Camping And Yurts
1 Lickisto
Isle Of Harris
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS3 3EL
Tel: 01859 530359  or  07968951314
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 35 Reviews
                9/10 from 35 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Astral weeks 10 reviews from this member

After our previous nights disaster (see my review of Traigh Na Beirigh ) it was fairly important that any site we next went to was sheltered. We had a look at a couple of unsuitable other ones and then arrived at Lickisto. It was windy and raining and there was Grieg shovelling stones at the car park and very pleased to see us (even though he didn't know we were coming). He took us down to the site and showed us a couple of pitches. We chose one which which was sheltered by willows on a slight slope. He then showed us around the rest of the site.

Our emplacement was sheltered which meant there is was no wind to blow away the midges even in the rain, so once we had got our (new) tent up we retired to the communal Blackhouse. There we met our fellow campers and glampers, or in our case dampers.

There were people from the tents, the yurts and the camper vans. Some people had driven, some had come by bike or bus, others had walked. The blackhouse has a microwave and a small grill/oven but most people were using their own camping stoves.

There is a fridge/freezer which was useful for producing ice for our 6 o'clock martinis. There is a log burning stove and settees and a long table. Also there is an en suite loo and shower.

In fact it was all so sociable, dry, warm and midge free we only used the tent for sleeping.

The actual site is on a slope with lots of semi secluded pitches. It leads down to the sea where I had been promised seals and otters but nobody had told the seals and otters.

If I was to ever go back to the Isles of Harris this is where I would stay. I have already recommended it to a couple whom I met walking in South Uist.

There is not a lot to do in Harris especially if it is raining. Our highlight was a drive out to Hushinish and climbing the hill where with a bit of squinting you can just make out St Kilda. No otters or seals though.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dlgb 10 reviews from this member

Location - on winding road on east South Harris - for motorhome / campervan basically overnight stopover on level gravel area for 3 units. Steep drive access.

Sheltered from all but NE.

Facilities quirky - in two separate adapted stone 'black houses'. Access on gravel paths on hillside garden. Shower cubicle in drafty room (no external door in this building), basically ok, no extra charge.

Proprietor 'laid back', lives on site, pitch prebooked but not very clear instructions in confined area.

Kitchen in adapted stone blackhouse with large sitting area but dark and dingy, (looked great for the campers).

Priced at £20 per night good value include EHU

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hynes1 13 reviews from this member

What a find. Stunning campsite on terraces

Overlooking a loch or in a nook somewhere. Loved it. And the bonus of a evening in the black house round the fire was even better. Owner John couldn’t be more helpful

It’s all very rustic and I would definitely recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Loopy 48 reviews from this member

Lickisto is a lovely small site, with room for a few camper vans in the hardstanding at the top of the site. Most of the tent pitches are aimed at small 2-4 man tents hidden amongst the reeds and trees. Midges are abundant in the calm evenings but are easy to escape in the blackhouse. We met people from all over, Germany, Canada, Spain, during our time sat around the log burner. Two shower rooms offer plenty of space and there is no time limit on the showers. An extra shower/toilet is in the blackhouse. Fishing rods are also free to use but you may have to fight the local otters for the fish.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: AliB1 7 reviews from this member

To get to this campsite you have to drive through some spectacular scenery on a very winding road. There are pitches for only three vans with electric hook-ups and some lovely private areas for tents. This is a really nice site if you are really fit and have good mobility because all the facilities are a long way down a hill from the pitches and it is quite a climb loaded with washing up etc. Having said that the facilities were very good, especially the ones housed in the 'Blackhouse'. The owners have done an excellent job of renovating the 'Blackhouse' and it provides showers, washing up and dining facilities along with a sitting area in front of a log-burning stove. The location is lovely and has access to views of the sea and if you are lucky you may see the local otters. The site is well landscaped with lots of interesting plants and trees. The owner, John offered to get shopping from the supermarket 40 miles away, which was very kind. All in all a great place to stay if you can manage the climbs.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Maja44 1 review from this member

I had a wonderful stay at the campsite. I booked for 2 nights and returned for another because it was so great! The owners are very friendly and supply fresh baked bread daily and sometimes even free range eggs from their hens. The 3 blackhouses are fantastic and the main one is a great escape from the midges during the evening. Apart from a lovely bathroom it had a great wee kitchen area (no cooking facilities) and some great sofas and eating areas. 3 lights provided enough light and it was great to have electricity to charge my camera. The owners also provided wood and kindling for the fire and a fishing rod!

The spaces for the tents were great and felt really private in the large garden. I will certainly be back!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Amber46 10 reviews from this member

Wow! We loved it. Didn't mind taking stuff to pitch in wheelbarrows. Even though some parts are quite steep it all made the experience more unique. Our spot right by the cove was stunning and we loved watching the many seals basking and swimming for our entertainment. The cosy black house would have been brilliant if the weather had been really bad. We were quite lucky. Showers were great and the fresh bread in the mornings was delicious. The nearest town, tarbert, was lovely with a couple of shops and pubs. Everyone we met who had anything to do with the site was friendly and helpful. We will definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Motorhomeliz 4 reviews from this member

We booked to stay for 2 nights in our motor home after seeing great reviews, but we found that it was not good for motorhomes. There's a gravel area for 3 vans, we were told exactly where to park, even to move along a few feet when the owner came back. This meant we were not level and were about a metre from the van on each side of us. We could clearly hear the children in the next van all night. During the night our fridge went off, we're not sure if that was because of the slope or if the electric hookup went off during the night.

The site was completely boggy underfoot, wellies definitely required. I could see why it's had good reviews from campers as there are lots of nicely secluded spots for tents, however the paths around were like a marsh. We were shown a path down to the water where the owner told us we could make a fire or fish, when we went down we found a couple of broken metal & plastic chairs, a broken boat, some broken glass and a lifebuoy and wooden stool hanging from a tree for children to swing on overhanging the water. I was not happy for my children to play there.

The black house communal building was quite dark and miserable, the door of the toilet/ shower in there did not lock. There is no toilet waste disposal area, we were told to put it down a toilet in another very dark blackhouse with no light or facility to wash the canister out or even wash hands.

We paid for 2 nights when we arrived but didn't go back for the second. Very disappointed.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andyone 2 reviews from this member

Visited but didn't stay. We needed a flat pitch for a 5 by 4 tent. Unfortunately it had been very wet to the point of water logged. This pitches looked slightly sloped and wouldn't have been big enough for the guys on our tent. There was nobody there except a trailer tent and the whole place had rather the after winter feel, needing a little TLC. The yurts looked as though they would be lovely, but access to the camping could be a longish walk for our slightly heavy kit, though barrows were provided. Neither John or Harvery were there and we were helpfully shown round by another chap. The facilities looked fair but the first impression was that it had seen better days. Lots of rather wonderful chickens around and views likely on a good day.

The pitches were private in all sorts of nooks and cranny on the hillside. But beware with younger children - it would be easy to lose sight of them. This site would be more suitable for older kids.

It is now well signed from the main road and from the golden road. There are eating places fairly nearby, but check the opening times. We thought the price was rather high for what was on offer.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Elmo the motorhome 26 reviews from this member

Regret that we only stayed for 1 night. Wish it could have been more.

I avoid clichés 'like the plague' but this site is 'quirky' and 'off the wall'. It is also unstructured, unconventional and brilliant.

Nothing is too much trouble for the owner. Go where you like, do what you want. Enjoy yourself as much as possible. Relax.

Only 3 hard standing areas for motorhomes so we were nice and quiet.

Sadly we missed seeing the playful seals in the Loch close by. Now that would have made a great visit even better.

Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Isle Of Harris      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5826 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019