Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Caravanning Camping Du Chateau

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Site Reviews

Caravanning Camping Du Chateau
21 Rue Nouvelle
Condette
Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais   (Browse area)
62360
Tel: 33 (0)3 21 87 59 59
    Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 14 Reviews
                9/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Redhead67 5 reviews from this member

An excellent campsite. I emailed the owner via their website and received a very polite and fast response.

Positives -

1)very clean shower and toilet blocks

2)good mix of statics and touring pitches meant the facilities not overloaded

3)excellent location - 35 mins from Calais but a truly French village with boulangerie, pharmacie and a small Carrefour

4) on the edge of a state owned forest so lots of good off lead walking for our gundog who needs exercise

5) everyone friendly on the site and a generally quiet atmosphere

Negatives -

1) only two toilets and showers per gender so always busy (there did seem to be some more showers /toilets by the motorhome service point so might be more)

2) no soap to wash your hands in the loos - a very French thing it seems

3) touring pitches all by the road which was a little noisy but not the worse we have experienced

4) no actual dog exercise area on the site so had to cross the road and use the village green for his first thing in the morning wee which had no fencing and a fairly busy road - this will only matter to dog owners !

I would use this site again there is lots to explore within an hour's drive and it is a 10 min drive to Hardelot beach which is a vast sandy beach. Owners friendly and efficient.

If you have small children there is a lovely play area and the owner put on activities such as using a Segway etc. There are also free go karts and bikes to use for the children which was a lovely touch.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Catarinabod 37 reviews from this member

Unlike other reviews, we didn't find this site easily. Maybe our directions brought us off at the wrong junction (27)? Anyway, if you follow the camping signs in the village you will get there. Arrived just after 5pm and needed to be away 7. 30 ish the following day so a quick stop. Sun shining on arrival and the site looked lovely - quite natural, with lots of different planting. Some pitches off the access road were quite formal sizes while others were in nooks and crannies around the gardens. We had a choice of 3 but took the first one. Efficient check-in with good information provided in French with a little English. Lovely clean facilities and good hot showers. Great play area for children and free use of go-carts. Monsieur and Madame take a keen interest in their site and look after it very well. If you have an early departure, make sure Henri is aware as the gates are padlocked overnight until 8am. A couple of cats on the site which freaked our dog out a bit! Lovely nature walk nearby to the lake (no dogs in the nature reserve) but there was a dog-friendly walk to the left of the nature reserve which looked nice. Didn't have time to walk to the chateau which was a shame. Village green in front of the site. Small TV/games room where apparently there is free wifi. 30 for 1 night - 2 adults, 1 child, 1 dog, no EHU. Would have liked a little longer at this lovely site and location. 35 mins from the Eurotunnel.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Impressive19 3 reviews from this member

Booked this site for a stopover on the way back to Calais. Site is easy to find and is well signposted from a long way out. As other reviews have commented you have to take care pulling into the entrance as it is quite narrow. We approached with the entrance on the right which made things easier. Booking in was easy and the staff very friendly and helpful. It was low season so pitch with hook up was only 22 euros. The site was still quite busy but we were offered a number of pitches. Some would be very difficult to access without a mover. Once parked up it took a while to find the electric hook up, if you do stop at this site you may need a very long cable! I had to use both of mine and you have to thread through other pitches. I did notice that you could go for fully serviced if you had the inclination. Pitches vary but are small but mostly secluded with plenty shade.

Locally a very well stocked Carefour and butcher and baker all within walking distance. We took the dogs for a walk on the nearby beach which is a real gem, miles of white sand. Dogs are not permitted on the promenade which you have to cross to access the beach. Overall a very pleasant location, well looked after site with spotless modern facilities.

The only downside was the road noise but many sites have that as a result of their location and was not a major issue for a stopover site. We may possibly go back for a longer stay as the coastline and local area are very nice.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jon P 4 reviews from this member

We stayed at Camping Du Chateau on the way home from La Rochelle, and chose it for its close proximity to the port of Calais. The campsite was well signposted from the motorway. Having had the opportunity to have a quick look at Google streetview prior to setting off, we had a good idea where it was and access etc. As we came into the village of Condette the campsite was on the right hand side behind a row of tall trees. Our caravan is approx 8 metres long with twin axles, so we made sure that the campsite were aware, so they could give us a large enough pitch, but also we have been advised that some campsites in France can be funny about accepting twin axle 'vans as they have had problems with travellers. Due to traffic problems around Rouen, we arrived fairly late on Saturday (around 5pm) but the day before we had advised Henri by email that this was likely, so there was no problem. Upon arrival at the site, I had to pull left across the road to get a good swing to turn right into the gateway, which was fairly narrow. Then to get the car and caravan clear of the gateway / entrance we had to continue along the driveway around 50 feet. Henri checked us in efficiently, and explained slowly / patiently in a mixture of French and English the site rules and gave us a map of the surrounding area. He gave us a list of the free pitches and suggested we had a look around ourselves to see which one we wanted. To be honest, as it was chucking it down with rain, we jumped back into the car and slowly made our way round the campsite until we came to a free pitch which I was confident that I could reverse onto with minimal hassle. There we stayed. There is a Carrefour 'express' type shop in the village, but we were slightly too late for it, and also needed fuel, so went to another Carrefour around 2 kms away, where we stocked up. The village of Condette has plenty of facilities to offer, including a post office, various shops (including Carrefour and boulangerie) sports facilities, bar / restaurant etc. The beach is a short drive / bike ride away, and there is a nature reserve and walk around the lake, which was really enjoyable. The chateau is also a short walk away (although we didn't get the time to visit) with a programme of events to entertain. The facilities were spotlessly clean, but one toilet block had closed (we assume as it was the end of the season) and the water wasn't really hot - although only a minor niggle. Push button operated showers. There is a great indoor games room / communal seating area etc and free wifi for 45 minutes (pay by card thereafter) along with a great outdoor play area for kids (suitable for ages 3 - 8 years old) and the best bit was the free use of go-carts around the campsite which could be used by any age group. There were also 3 outdoor gym machines - I think cycling, rowing and a weight machine (lifting your own bodyweight). At a rough estimate I would say that 50% of the site is given over to static caravans, but this doesn't detract from the site at all. The pitches all feel quite private, and some (perhaps more suitable for tents/ small campervans) are almost completely hidden behind hedges and accessible by 'secret' passages.

The only downside for us was the cost. Although its not extortionate, we paid 78. 40 for two adults and two children for two nights, including eletrical hookup. We arrived at about 5pm Saturday and departed at around 10 am Monday morning. Having said that, the facilities and surrounding area are very nice, and we had a very enjoyable stay. It made a nice break to our journey fairly close to Calais, and from there we were able to make it home comfortably in one go.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: ClaireMike21 40 reviews from this member

Our first trip to France in a motorhome heading from the Tunnel on to the Loire. We picked this site as it was within a nice easy distance of the tunnel.

We had no reservation and the site was quite busy, she walked us round showing what was left available and we decided on a pitch. Just as you drive in from the reception is your water to fill your van before you go off to pitch with a hosepipe already attached.

We were only here one night before moving on but walked out for a meal at a small bar given to us on a map.

Just to add there looked to be a brand new aire just built right opposite. It had a large roof area with loads of taps and I looked in the loos and they were all tiled. Nobody on it but it looked lovely, would have probably stopped there rather than the campsite if I had know more about aires.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Loulih 4 reviews from this member

This is the third time I've stayed at this site. It's a brilliant stop over when heading south / back to the ferry. The owners are very welcoming and although monsieur doesn't speak too much english he is patient with holiday french (even on the phone!) and madame speaks pretty good english. The toilet/shower blocks are always immaculate and really up to date. There is a good play area for the kids and the pedal cars previously mentioned went down a treat with my 8 year old this time. They also had donkey rides for the kids one evening during our stay. They have washing up and washing facilities and they have facilities for mobile homes. If you need electric I would recommend a LONG cable. My other half had been saying how ours was extreme and he was thinking about shortening it but there was no slack on it once we'd connected it to the nearest point! The site is well set out with a good amount of privacy and a good mix of nationalities on site. Less then 5 minutes walk is the carrefour and bakery. On a Sunday morning there is a small market selling local produce (best strawberries and raspberries I've had all year!) on the green across the road and they also have markets mid week.

The beach at Hardelot is 5 mins drive and is lovely, miles of sand. And although busy if you wander up away from the crowds it is always quieter.

This is a lovely site if somewhat expensive. (32 euros a night for 2 adults, child and electricity)but they are always busy and provide really clean facilities and we were willing to pay it because we know it is such a good little site.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Flykim 4 reviews from this member

What a lovely little site. The welcome from the owners was fabulous, taking time to tell us all about the area and the site even though we were only staying 2 nights. The pitches are large and private. The shower/toilet block must be the cleanest in France! Spacious showers and hot water. The village of Condette has all basic needs and if you like beaches there are plenty within a short drive. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Captgeoff 22 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 4 nights on a channel popover as we live handy for the ferries. The couple who run the site couldn't be more helpful, they are thier to help at all hours it seemed.

The pitches are all individual with hedges and flowers. Toilet blocks are pristinely clean although while we were there block 1 had no hot water through a technical hitch, this left only 2 showers per sex, if you timed it right it was ok but ther were queues in the hours 0900 ti 1030.

There is a lovely walk around a lake nearby (no dogs as it's a nature reserve). Hardelot and it's shops and beach are 20 minutes on a bicycle and easy riding to boot.

The village has a small Carrefoure and boulangerie, and butchers within 5 minutes walk of the site. The Hotel Metropole is worthy a visit, Madame is English and the food is good.

All in all we would go again.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CaravanKev 1 review from this member

I Visited this site twice for one night when I arrived in France and when we were going back home. It makes a great stop over for the Calais crossing but having stayed there I would stay much longer next time. The couple who run the site are truely wonderful and nothing seems a bother to them. The fact that I was only staying one night made no difference to them. We were welcomed and shown all the facilities that the site and surrounding area had to offer. Our pitch was spacious and sheltered. What I really liked about this site was the pitches did not form a uniform row by row style which gave the site a really nice feel. From what I could see all pitches were separated by hedges or bushes. The toilets were spotless and the site was very well kept with flowers and trees blooming when we were there. The kids had a playpark which was great. The site also has little pedal go-karts for you to use round the park. I really liked this site and will be returning in the near future for a longer stay so we can explore the area

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Spikey87 7 reviews from this member

After reading the reviews we decided to stay here for 4 nights on our return from touring France.

The welcome we got was really warm and we were also sat down in reception and talked through the site amenities and places to see in the area.

The toilet/shower blocks are spotless and cleaned on a regular basis and the pitches are spacious and give you amount of privacy.

The local riding centre was staging a high standard of show jumping and we spent a pleasant afternoon sat watching it and all for free.

Condette and Hardelot are two pretty French villages and are worth walking round to look at the different properties, etc. The shops in Condette can cater for all your needs, but there is also a larger Carrefour and Intermache within a 10 minute drive from the site.

The beach at Hardelot is very clean, with life guards patrolling it and would be excellent for families with young children to spend a day at. There are also shops selling beach mats, kites, balls, etc and other shops to cater for the tourists needs.

Although I did like this site, I felt it was a little expensive for what it offered, but feel families with small children would get more from it by using the play area, games room and free go-karts. Saying that, we spent four relaxing days here and what price is that?

Would I return? Yes, but only for a few nights.

Would I recommend it to others? Yes, but only as a stopover site for catching the ferries or to people with small children who do want to travel far into France.

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2835 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019