Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Llyn Rhys Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Denbighshire > Wrexham > Llyn Rhys Campsite Reviews

Llyn Rhys Campsite
Llyn Rhys Farm
Bryneglwys Road
Llandegla
Wrexham
Denbighshire   (Browse area)
LL11 3AF
Tel: 01978 790627  or  0777 644 9494
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30+
Open: 01/03 To 30/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 58 Reviews
                9/10 from 58 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thestupidone 1 review from this member

I took my 8 year old daughter for her first camping trip the weekend after Easter, alongside her friend and her dad. And she can't wait to go camping again!

Telephone booking with Christine was easy and entertaining. The site is easy to find, in a beautiful area, and with good, clean facilities. There were maybe six or seven other tents/caravans/motorhomes, but I didn't notice any queueing, except when seven kids arrived simultaneously to brush their teeth.

The stream running alongside the camping field was a magnet for the girls, and they spent much of their time down there with sticks and wellies and a length of string with a loop at the end! Dads also are not averse to a game of poo-sticks, and can be distracted for ages when looking for fish. Christine gathered all the kids and took them for a tour of the lambing sheds. The braziers kept us warm in the evenings, and EHU sped up the coffee-making in the morning. There's a pub just up the road, and a ten minute stroll will take you to the community shop in the village which apparently does a cooked breakfast too.

The noise from the adjacent road *is* quite disruptive at night. It leads to the Horseshoe Pass, which is popular with bikers, and quite a few drivers seemed to race along it too. On the second night, though, we were woken by owls calling in the trees across the stream, and that was wonderful.

We visited the Ponderosa Cafe at Horseshoe Pass for lunch, Pontcysyllte Aqueduct for sheer terror and a canalboat trip, Horseshoe Falls weir near Llangollen, where the Llangollen canal begins, and the walking trails at the Llandegla mountain-biking centre. All great.

All in all a very good weekend.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JessieRushie 1 review from this member

Came here in August with a small group of friends for a quiet weekend away. It is in a beautiful corner of the world, right next to some really great walking trails and pubs!

Pros:

Really well kept facilities, toilets, showers and washing up. All in excellent nick, well stocked and clean (with plenty of loo roll!), excepting one shower which had some gross litter in it (though, the showers were busy, so a negligent camper not owner).

The camping fields themselves, we were in the second one right at the back, were well trimmed and maintained, no litter and only a few scorch marks from firepits. There was plenty of flatspace for tents too.

10/10 for grass softness! Seems strange to note but we took our shoes off the entire time because it was so soft, which was lovely.

Christine is friendly and accommodating, and the firepits/wood were very affordable, as was the site! £7. 50 per night is more than reasonable and made our trip possible.

It felt fairly secluded but did have excellent phone signal, which is very useful.

Cons:

Most of these were not the fault of the owner, just things to note about the campsite.

Especially if you are the far end or side of the campsite, it is very exposed to the wind. We actually had a pole snap because of how windy it was and had to leave early. Make sure you pitch properly and move your tent if you need to!

This wind also made the firepit tricky as they are the open type (instead of solid metal, it was spaced out bars). This meant the fire was difficult to control and shed a lot of ash and embers. If it's windy, maybe bring your own pit/a good windbreaker!

Also, there is road noise. We were warned about the cockerel across the road but didn't hear it at all, though I did notice the constant hum of the road next to the site. It isn't very loud but it is annoying.

All in all, a sweet site which is SO conveniently placed and priced! A few niggles in the location but that's what you get for being 20 mins from Wrexham and 300 yards from a pub!

On a side note, I'd 100% recommend the Llandegla national park around the corner, the walks are fantastic and easy to follow!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Summersmum 27 reviews from this member

Another lovely welcome from Christine and Louis to their great campsite. Clean toilet/shower facilities and no queues despite quite a few mid week campers. Plenty of space for everyone and quiet at night. Easy access from all directions.

Enjoyed a walk with the dog along Offa's Dyke from the campsite into Llandegla forest to the Visitor centre for lunch - took a couple of hours. Superb for mountain bikers of all abilities.

Local pub not open for food on Mon/Tues but it did great food last time we were there and is dog friendly.

Looking forward to our next visit.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Serbynx 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 1 night and was extremely pleased, we'd been working in Manchester so it was a beautiful nights sleep.

The owner Christine was so attentive and delt with things very well. A group of teenagers where been very noisy after 10pm and was soon told to keep it down. To our relief.

We had A chimanier & wood at £8 which was lovely.

All the facilities where clean and well kept.

We accidentally left our peg tents which Christine help with 'thankfully'

All in all I will Definitely be going back!

Xxx (S&G Wiffen)

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Abev 1 review from this member

We have just spent a wonderful 4 nights at this site. What a lovely campsite. Fantastic views. Lots of space. Good facilities.

Christine is the most friendly welcoming owner we have ever met and she goes out of her way to meet all the campers.

We will definitely be back soon.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MikeFitch 1 review from this member

Stayed here twice now. Both times the camp-site was excellent and exactly what I needed. Booked here to ride at OPA LLandegla with #MTBmeetup. Good clean facilities, well maintained pitches, plenty of space, very friendly and always willing to help. Will definitely be back! Thanks again!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Keithmajor 14 reviews from this member

Spent a wet but enjoyable weekend at this site with my adult son. Facilities clean plus the owners friendly and helpful. Site had plenty of room for young children to play. Local pub recommended - good choice of beers plus pool table and darts. The campsite is a good base for walking or a short drive to explore the area. Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Taylorsontour 1 review from this member

Just back from a great stay at this site. Facilities kept spotlessly clean. Had a great time with the kids making s'mores on the brazier. Christine extremely helpful especially after our son broke his arm while mountain biking at the nearby centre. Road is a bit noisy but we soon adjusted to it. Secure bike lock up is very useful. Will definitely go back. Food at the nearby pub was good as was the take away we had from the nearby cafe. Out bouncy fog was welcome but we rid have her on a ground anchor as there are sheep around. Great location if you want to cycle or walk.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Davep 8 reviews from this member

Having organised a Clean Up at the near by Wedding Cave, our Camping Base for the weekend, picked it's self from the reviews.

Having spoken to Christine over the phone, about her being happy to accept a mixed group of Adults, Children and dogs, in Tents, Caravans and Folding Campers. And also being told that no deposit was required. I had to visit Wedding Cave before our visit, so popped in to pay for my pitch.

Christine took the time to show me around, and where we would be pitched. Christine decided to pitch the 3 bookings with EHU, in the same field as the rest of the group, and just have us, feed the EHU cables over the hedge.

I was booked in from the Thursday until the Monday, so used all the facilities.

The site is a Farm based one, so it is not a all singing, all dancing site. But one which provides, excellent facilities, all of a very high standard, and kept to a very high standard of cleanliness. Not one member of the Group, had any issues with any of the facilities.

Our visit coincided with Lambing season, so Christine very kindly took a number of the group, into the Lambing Sheds, were they got to see a Lamb who had just been born.

Christine goes out of her way, to not only make you feel welcome, and at home, but help out in any sort of way she can.

All the group would be extremely happy to stay on site, in the future. They could not praise Christine and the site high enough.

The 10/10 is well deserved, as the site went beyond all reasonable expectations.

Dave

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nikvonnie 1 review from this member

On arrival we were greeted by Christine very friendly and helpful. This was our second time at camping.

The site itself was spacious and well maintained cut lawns.

The toilet block was clean and fresh, so too was the shower block very modern and clean.

Yes there is a main road next to the site that can be a little noisy but towards the evening it does go quiet, dogs are also welcome but as a dog owner I would say to keep dogs on leads at all times not just for their own safety but for fellow campers.

There are plenty of walks stunning scenery overall an excellent campsite. We will definitely visit again.

Thank you Nicky and Yvonne Stolworthy.

Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Denbighshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5002 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019