Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Llyn Rhys Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Denbighshire > Wrexham > Llyn Rhys Campsite Reviews

Llyn Rhys Campsite
Llyn Rhys Farm
Bryneglwys Road
Llandegla
Wrexham
Denbighshire   (Browse area)
LL11 3AF
Tel: 01978 790627  or  0777 644 9494
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30+
Open: 01/03 To 30/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 61 Reviews
                9/10 from 61 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  61 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Colliepops 1 review from this member

 A clean, tidy and well organised and carefully run site by experienced, pleasant owners.

Showers and toilets keep clean and tidy.

We noted a number of returning campers which speaks volumes of how well thought of the site must be.

Close location to the Llandegla Forest Facilities which can be walked to from the site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Eddievan 5 reviews from this member

 Great site. Facilities were always immaculately clean. I never had to queue for any of the facilities even though the site was busy over the bank holiday weekend.

There are a number of fields to choose from, so plenty of space between tents. Others have mentioned the road, but we didn't find it of any concern dispite selecting a site on that side of the field.

The owner, Christine, was very friendly and helpful - taking a genuine interest in people. Great community village shop and cafe within walking distance. Mountain biking centre is 2 mile away - great for cycling & walking. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: GRJB 3 reviews from this member

 This is a great campsite. Located very close to the Llandegla Forest (which is brilliant for walking with the dog) and also Offa's Dyke Trail this was a great long weekend away over the hot late August Bank holiday.

Although the site was very busy, we never had to queue for the shower, even though there were only two of them.

Christine was very helpful on arrival and throughout our stay.

The pitches were mainly flat and there was loads of space between the other tents. Facilities were kept very clean at all times. Would recommend.

If you don't like road noise, then probably not for you - but it's not as bad as some reviews make out.

Really enjoyed the stay and we'll be returning. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thestupidone 1 review from this member

 I took my 8 year old daughter for her first camping trip the weekend after Easter, alongside her friend and her dad. And she can't wait to go camping again!

Telephone booking with Christine was easy and entertaining. The site is easy to find, in a beautiful area, and with good, clean facilities. There were maybe six or seven other tents/caravans/motorhomes, but I didn't notice any queueing, except when seven kids arrived simultaneously to brush their teeth.

The stream running alongside the camping field was a magnet for the girls, and they spent much of their time down there with sticks and wellies and a length of string with a loop at the end! Dads also are not averse to a game of poo-sticks, and can be distracted for ages when looking for fish. Christine gathered all the kids and took them for a tour of the lambing sheds. The braziers kept us warm in the evenings, and EHU sped up the coffee-making in the morning. There's a pub just up the road, and a ten minute stroll will take you to the community shop in the village which apparently does a cooked breakfast too.

The noise from the adjacent road *is* quite disruptive at night. It leads to the Horseshoe Pass, which is popular with bikers, and quite a few drivers seemed to race along it too. On the second night, though, we were woken by owls calling in the trees across the stream, and that was wonderful.

We visited the Ponderosa Cafe at Horseshoe Pass for lunch, Pontcysyllte Aqueduct for sheer terror and a canalboat trip, Horseshoe Falls weir near Llangollen, where the Llangollen canal begins, and the walking trails at the Llandegla mountain-biking centre. All great.

All in all a very good weekend. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JessieRushie 1 review from this member

 Came here in August with a small group of friends for a quiet weekend away. It is in a beautiful corner of the world, right next to some really great walking trails and pubs!

Pros:

Really well kept facilities, toilets, showers and washing up. All in excellent nick, well stocked and clean (with plenty of loo roll!), excepting one shower which had some gross litter in it (though, the showers were busy, so a negligent camper not owner).

The camping fields themselves, we were in the second one right at the back, were well trimmed and maintained, no litter and only a few scorch marks from firepits. There was plenty of flatspace for tents too.

10/10 for grass softness! Seems strange to note but we took our shoes off the entire time because it was so soft, which was lovely.

Christine is friendly and accommodating, and the firepits/wood were very affordable, as was the site! 7. 50 per night is more than reasonable and made our trip possible.

It felt fairly secluded but did have excellent phone signal, which is very useful.

Cons:

Most of these were not the fault of the owner, just things to note about the campsite.

Especially if you are the far end or side of the campsite, it is very exposed to the wind. We actually had a pole snap because of how windy it was and had to leave early. Make sure you pitch properly and move your tent if you need to!

This wind also made the firepit tricky as they are the open type (instead of solid metal, it was spaced out bars). This meant the fire was difficult to control and shed a lot of ash and embers. If it's windy, maybe bring your own pit/a good windbreaker!

Also, there is road noise. We were warned about the cockerel across the road but didn't hear it at all, though I did notice the constant hum of the road next to the site. It isn't very loud but it is annoying.

All in all, a sweet site which is SO conveniently placed and priced! A few niggles in the location but that's what you get for being 20 mins from Wrexham and 300 yards from a pub!

On a side note, I'd 100% recommend the Llandegla national park around the corner, the walks are fantastic and easy to follow! 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Summersmum 27 reviews from this member

 Another lovely welcome from Christine and Louis to their great campsite. Clean toilet/shower facilities and no queues despite quite a few mid week campers. Plenty of space for everyone and quiet at night. Easy access from all directions.

Enjoyed a walk with the dog along Offa's Dyke from the campsite into Llandegla forest to the Visitor centre for lunch - took a couple of hours. Superb for mountain bikers of all abilities.

Local pub not open for food on Mon/Tues but it did great food last time we were there and is dog friendly.

Looking forward to our next visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Serbynx 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 1 night and was extremely pleased, we'd been working in Manchester so it was a beautiful nights sleep.

The owner Christine was so attentive and delt with things very well. A group of teenagers where been very noisy after 10pm and was soon told to keep it down. To our relief.

We had A chimanier & wood at 8 which was lovely.

All the facilities where clean and well kept.

We accidentally left our peg tents which Christine help with 'thankfully'

All in all I will Definitely be going back!

Xxx (S&G Wiffen) 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Abev 1 review from this member

 We have just spent a wonderful 4 nights at this site. What a lovely campsite. Fantastic views. Lots of space. Good facilities.

Christine is the most friendly welcoming owner we have ever met and she goes out of her way to meet all the campers.

We will definitely be back soon. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MikeFitch 1 review from this member

 Stayed here twice now. Both times the camp-site was excellent and exactly what I needed. Booked here to ride at OPA LLandegla with #MTBmeetup. Good clean facilities, well maintained pitches, plenty of space, very friendly and always willing to help. Will definitely be back! Thanks again! 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Keithmajor 14 reviews from this member

 Spent a wet but enjoyable weekend at this site with my adult son. Facilities clean plus the owners friendly and helpful. Site had plenty of room for young children to play. Local pub recommended - good choice of beers plus pool table and darts. The campsite is a good base for walking or a short drive to explore the area. Would definitely stay here again if in the area. 


Previous     61 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Llyn Rhys Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Llyn Rhys Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Llyn Rhys Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wrexham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Denbighshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3292 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020