Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping Des Cerisiers

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Brittany > Guillac > Camping Des Cerisiers Reviews

Camping Des Cerisiers
Josselin
Brancillet
Guillac
Brittany   (Browse area)
56800
Tel: 00 33 (0)297 75 61 24
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 33
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 8 Reviews
                8/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Piscator 3 reviews from this member

We very much enjoyed our visit to Camping des Cerisiers. The site is wonderfully quiet and we were pitched next to the 'bubble', which is like a walk in balloon with a transparent dome. This seemed to attract a different couple every night so maybe we are just old fashioned or perhaps we are missing something in our old tent.

Anyway we enjoyed the fishing on the canal, the cycle hire to and from the site into Josselin.

There was a scout group down in the next field but they were fine; it was good to have a glass of 'pression' served in the bar by Nathalie at night. We will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CarrieF 11 reviews from this member

We stayed at Camping des Cerisiers in August, having chosen it for its central location in the Morbihan department and proximity to Josselin. Most of the sites around the Golfe du Morbihan seemed to be large, holiday park type places, but we were looking for somewhere smaller and quieter.

Arriving late afternoon we were given a very friendly welcome from Nathalie, who now runs the site with her family, and who said we could pitch anywhere we liked.

Pitches for tents, caravans and motorhomes were of varying sizes. The one we eventually chose was slightly narrower at the front than at the back which made it a bit tricky to manoeuvre our car alongside our reasonably sized tent, but the alternative was one directly opposite the main bathroom block which I didn’t fancy. There would likely have been more choice a bit earlier in the day but, as has been previously mentioned, the site is very popular with cyclists stopping off along the Nantes to Brest canal who tend to arrive late afternoon.

The site has a number of pre-erected, fully equipped tents, caravans and mobile homes that can be rented, as well as some more unusual accommodation including tipis, western-type covered wagons, a yurt and an extremely individual ‘bubble room’, basically a spherical bedroom with a transparent top for romance under the stars which seemed very popular (even at €120 a night!)

There is a little bar offering drinks and snacks. A cabin marked ‘Epicerie’ has just a view basics available (we were grateful for a small jar of coffee when we ran out). Breakfast can be ordered up til 8pm and collected from the office each morning. There is a small laundry cabin with a washing machine, tumble dryer etc. A token for the dryer was €2 and this was appreciated when we inadvertently left our towels outside in the rain!

The main thing that lets the site down is the toilet/shower facilities. For a start they are communal which I dislike but that’s a personal thing. The block in the middle of the site has four cubicles, two with toilet, hand basin and shower, one with toilet, hand basin and a baby change area, and the fourth just has a hand basin. There are a couple of urinals in a separate part. The dishwashing sinks are on the outside of this block. Attached to the main house is another small block with one shower/basin/toilet room, another shower and another toilet. As earlier reviewers have said, the block attached to the main house is a bit better, but to say that they all need updating, or at least refreshing, is a bit of an understatement. The water pressure in the central block is rather erratic at busy times; I was left in the shower one day with my face lathered up and no water to wash it off for a good few minutes!

There were scout groups camping on the lower part of the site when we were there and this clearly stretched the facilities to their limit as a previous reviewer commented. Just about tolerable is the best description I can come up with. We stayed a week but did go and look at another site with a view to moving there. In the end we just didn’t want the hassle of packing everything up and pitching again.

Josselin is a lovely town to wander around. The chateau reaches down to the canal and the central square opposite the church in the upper part of town has a number of restaurants, creperies etc. We ate twice at Le Bistro which had a very reasonable 3 course formule available in the evenings and good friendly service.

There are a couple of large supermarkets on the other side of Josselin where we did most of our shopping. We visited a number of places both coast and country. Rochefort-en-Terre, one of the Plus Beaux Villages de France, was full of picture postcard streets. Malestroit was a nice little town with a pretty centre. The Lac Au Duc near Ploermel has a lovely hydrangea walk, an easy path that made for a very pleasant afternoon stroll.

The campsite has a lot of potential and the owners are clearly lovely, hardworking people who want to develop their business, particularly in the direction of the glamping type accommodation from what we saw. My only issue is that this is presently at odds with the somewhat ‘rustic’ bathroom facilities which should be their first priority. If they can resolve this they could have a little gem on their hands.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: G_and_T 2 reviews from this member

This is a lovely campsite for those wanting some peace and quiet in the countryside.

A 20 minute walk from Josselin, along the canal, bike hire and kayaking available as you get to the town and a lovely medieval town to wander around, with some lovely cafes and restaurants.

The campsite is very popular with cyclists and walkers, usually those who are following the Nantes-Brest canal route. Many people passed through, throughout our 8 night stay here, giving the site a lovely atmosphere and constantly changing character.

The ground is quite firm in the summer so worth taking some strong pegs but there's plenty of choice for where to pitch, with some nice shaded areas if you prefer. The woods at the rear of the site are nice for a short stroll and the owners are currently developing a clearing there for some extra pond features.

The toilets are kept very clean and have separate 'suites' within them, meaning you effectively have a bathroom to yourself, with toilet, shower and sink. The block attached to the house is the nicer of the two but both are cleaned regularly.

One tip for those not used to camping in France - take your own loo roll!

The owners are lovely English people, who are happy to help out with anything and who will also cook burgers and chips in the evening to order or bring a breakfast to your tent, if you order the night before.

We had a great stay here, often preferring the peace and quiet of cooking by our tent, by the forest, rather than eating in town. However, the restaurants we did try in Josselin were lovely and the main square has a great atmosphere throughout the day. We were lucky enough to see an outdoor concert outside the town hall whilst we were there too, which was lovely.

Another tip - if you're going to walk home from town in the evening, be warned that there are no street lights! Either take a very good torch or take the car and drive back. We found out the hard (and scary!) way.

The coast is only an hour's drive away and there are also nice lakes nearby, with plenty of watersports activities to take part in.

We would definitely return if we were to go to this area again.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chris+Joy 3 reviews from this member

This is a very quiet and peaceful site, with very few children around and ideal for a chill out caravan week. I did not use the toilet block as the caravan does have its own facilities, the loo emptying point is around the back of the toilet block and campers could do with some guidance to find it.

The canal and lock is down the hill about 1Km away and if cycling there is a bit of a hill to get back to the site, having said that the towpath by the canal is well worth the trip and an easy cycle ride to the town of Josselin some two kms away. My trip to the area included the celebrations of Bastille day in Josselin where they party from early evening to several bands in various areas in the town. The evening culminates in a very good firework display over the river with the castle in the foreground.

There is a Carrefour supermarket on the far side of Josselin but the main shopping area is at Ploermel 15kms away.

There isn't a pool or children's play area on site, but this makes it a great place for a pleasant and quiet week.

Dick and Paula are very amiable people and welcomed me to the site on arrival, unfortunately the Wifi was not operational during my visit as the telephone engineers do not seem to put this as a priority, but Dick did offer me use of his own personal internet connection if I had urgent e. Mails to send.

I managed to get good TV reception on the small satellite dish that I have attached to the caravan, this I found to be a plus when the rain is persistent.

If Marius gets to read this review, your website does not seem to be accessible, please contact me through UKCampsite website for the photos I took of you.

Apart from the persistent rain that plagued Brittany for the fortnight I was there, my stay at Camping des Cerisiers was very pleasant and I would not hesitate to recommend the site to anyone looking for a quiet and peaceful stay.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Billhelen21 2 reviews from this member

Excellent value for money site, if you have bicycles highly recommend riding into Josselin and then along the river, beautiful scenery along the river as well as through the country farmlands.

The owners were extremely helpful and went out of their way to assist with any requests. We had run out of gas and they identified a store that stocked what we needed (Most stores have different gas & gas fittings).

Insider tip use the shower facilities next to the house rather than the main shower block they are much nicer. That being said all facilities were of a good standard and were cleaned regularly.

We would definitely stay there again.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Courtier 2 reviews from this member

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful stay at this campsite. There was a selection of pitches and we were able to get a fantastic one with shade and trees/hedges around it for privacy. The toilet and shower facilities were well-kept and very clean. The owners were away when we stayed but their parents were on site and they were helpful and friendly. They made us feel right at home and gave excellent advice on where to eat out in Josselin.

Josselin itself is a beautiful old town, with cobbled streets and fairytale wooden-framed houses, and is one of the loveliest places we visited whilst in France. In the town you can visit the top of the Church tower to get some spectacular views of the town below and, of course, the castle. We visited the castle too and enjoyed the tour of some of the selected rooms as well as exploring the grounds. There are plenty of places to eat, as well as wonderful boulangeries and a handy Super U. We also found a delightful English secondhand bookshop and stocked up on novels whilst there.

We would love to return to Josselin in future and if/when we do we will certainly stay at this campsite again.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pebblesmagenta 2 reviews from this member

Apart from about 6 static residential homes and 5 very old dilapidated caravans (these were let on a day to day basis to local workers), the place was deserted. We were greeted by the owner who was helpful and said we could pitch anywhere. As we didn't have a back up site to go to we decided to stay for one night at least.

The shower/toilet block was not a pleasant experience. You had to walk beside an open mens urinal to get to the showers which were unisex and the decide which shower/toilet was the least dirty. There was nowhere for emptying the chemical toilet and the fresh water pipe was a lot to be desired.

Apparently they cater mainly for cyclists who cycle the Brest to Nantes canal and we were the first caravanners he had seen for quite a while.

As it happened we eventually stayed for five nights. My visits to the showers were only made when needed (and then with my partner in tow).

Why did we stay you may ask - Well it was the perfect situation for us and Josselin is stunning. As we like peace and quite we couldn't have asked for more, and we didn't fancy the hassle of packing up and finding another site. The canal is a wonderful place to stroll along in the evenings. Josselin takes about 20 - 30 mins to get to but who's in a hurry, unless its to get to a bar and watch the world go by. Their market is on a Saturday and is well worth a visit.

This was our fist trip to France with the caravan and it hasn't put us off at all, but we have learnt a lot - firstly, have a back up site to go to.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bill butcher 1 review from this member

We thoroughly enjoyed our ten-day stay at this site, although for the first few days a group of teenage scouts stretched the toilet facilities to their limit but after that things calmed down (thankfully)!

The site is generally quiet, with pitches for tents being moderately flat with some shade and the sites location, just outside Josselin, is ideal for exploring this very pretty area. A definite plus is the amount of wildlife (we saw a huge range from swallowtail butterflies through to buzzards whilst sitting outside our tent) and the woodland walk provides an interesting afternoon's diversion.

Josselin is a half-hour's walk from the site and is packed with interest as well as useful shops and a variety of restaurants.

All the people we talked to on the site were enjoying themselves and spoke very highly of the owners - we'd certainly recommend the site ourselves.


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Guillac      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Brittany

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2874 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020