Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Llanllwyda Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Tywyn > Llanllwyda Caravan Site > Reviews

Llanllwyda Caravan Site
Llanfihangel Y Pennant
Tywyn
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL36 9TW
Tel: 01654 782276
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 8 Reviews
                8/10 from 8 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hughes47 1 review from this member

 Quiet campsite well off the beaten track. Plenty of nearby walking including Cadir Idriss.

The hardy can bathe in the river running through the site. Welcoming and helpful host.

Clean facilities. Flat pitches. Showers cost 50p. Fridges, kettle, microwave all free.

Tywyn with its shops and beaches is about 15 minutes drive away.

All in all a great little site. Thoroughly recommended. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Tony Burgess 10 reviews from this member

 Largely echoing previous reviews, but with a correction and one or two other things.

A stunning location in the Dysynni valley! A lovely proprietor; the three approach routes all on very narrow lanes; toilet block and dishwash facilities very clean.

Tywyn has two supermarkets : Co-op and the one we used Spar which seemed very well stocked.

Abergynolwyn is in a *neighbouring* valley, and has a 'need to book ahead' restaurant which was highly recommended but which we didn't use.

Neither we or our daughter had phone signals - we're on '3' and I think she is on Vodaphone.

About a dozen private caravans looked on site for the whole season. With the site busy - additional vans and those using tents - we could imagine some pressure on the limited shower and toilet facility.

A gem of a site in most beautiful countryside, and maybe in a valley not used for RAF low-flying (very low!) training. Highly recommended! 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mikro 25 reviews from this member

 Great place for walking, Bird Rock, Cader Idris and others from the camp site. Castell y Bere also worth a visit

Site is flat with a river running by. Facilities OK for the price 15 Inc hook up. Like many sites nowadays lots of caravans remaining on site. It was very quiet when we were there. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tc1962 17 reviews from this member

 Approach - This is a working farm and is in the middle of the valley so understandably the roads leading to the farm are narrow country lanes, it's imperative you ring the site and ask for directions off Mrs Williams - do not follow a sat nav. There isn't a website to get directions off either. Once in the farm the access to the site is fine.

Staff on arrival - Mrs Williams is one of the nicest most helpful site owners we have ever met.

Pitch - this is a large fairly flat field, we were actually very lucky and were able to connect our water pipe directly to the tap, the pitch was great little bit of a walk to the toilets, but such a pleasant walk it didn't matter.

Facilities - showers and sinks which need 50p - we didn't use them but they were very clean. There is a kettle and a washing machine in the washing up area. There are the usual elsan waste points and electric hook-ups.

Local area - there isn't anything within walking distance, bit you wouldn't expect there to be. Nearest supermarket is about 6 miles away and a local village shop I think about 4 miles, we didn't use so not sure what is stocks but I guess milk and bread! Lots of fantastic walks including Cadair Idris, but a reader would know that as that is why you would be thinking about going to this area!.

Summary - This is a lovely caravan and camping site, spectacular views. Camp fires are allowed, its a very relaxed working farm site. Everyone was very friendly on the site. The approach is not for the feint hearted, but if you use this sort of site often then it won't be a problem. We did have a phone signal and we also found 118 channels on our tv (not satellite) so no issues there. We would recommend this site, we would ideally want to keep it to ourself, but that's not fair on you or the site owners !  


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fern smith 3 reviews from this member

 Our walking group camped here as part of a long distance walking trail for the second year running. It's in a stunning location, with a view towards Cader Idris in the distance and a wonderful view of the imposing Bird Rock. We swam in the river here and also had a fire. Mrs Williams who runs the site is so helpful and friendly. Dogs are welcome though we didn't have our own. Very child friendly too. Amenities are basic but absolutely adequate. This is a very special place and makes a great base for the long walk to Cader Idris. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RoaminChris 4 reviews from this member

 Having recently spent a few sunny days at this lovely campsite in the Dysynni Valley I would recommend it to anyone who wants to go somewhere quiet and peaceful to relax, unwind and enjoy the beautiful scenery that surrounds it. For the energetic there are good walks from the site, the valley bottom being broad and flat, and for the even more energetic the hills are within easy reach. Llanllwyda is a working farm but the animals were away on the hillsides when I visited.

This is a no frills site with basic facilities and it is kept clean and well looked after by the friendly owner. There`s no noisy clubhouse here and no noisy traffic rushing by, just the sounds of the birds, animals, the stream and the river that flows around the edge of the field. At night you might hear the sound of owls hooting or even a fox barking as they try to attract their mate.

I couldn`t get a mobile `phone signal here but radio reception was o. K. And some people had satellite T. V.

Tywyn is about 5 miles away on the coast where there are shops and a supermarket where you can buy provisions. The nearest village is Abergynolwyn a few miles up the valley where the Tal y llyn railway runs through on it`s way to Tywyn. This is a site I hope to return to again and again. Roamin`Chris. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shotrock 21 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for a week over the Easter holidays. The site is reached through some lanes and is located in a wonderful lowland valley with the Dysynni river flowing through the site. Around are some wonderful mountains such as Birds Rock and the Cadair Idris range. The nearest shop is a couple of miles away in Bryncrug and larger shops in Tywyn.

There is an excellent pub called the railway in Abergonolyn. There is plenty of things to do in the area such as walking, beaches, trains, etc.

The owner of the site is very welcoming and charming. I loved the site and even though basic I will be visiting again. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campercarl 3 reviews from this member

 We visited for August Bank Holiday and stayed 3 nights.

It is situated in the bottom of a beautiful surrounded by hills and is overlooked by the impressive Bird Rock

2 streams runs through the site as well as a river.

The pricing was very reasonable at 12 per tent per night (no electric) in our 5 man tent.

The toilet block has a separate male and female facilities comprising 2 toilets and a shower in each as well as two additional showers.

All hot water is chargeable (20p for handwashing /dishwashing) and showers are 50p. Can't vouch for quality of shower experience as we didn't use them.

There is an enclosed kitchen area that has two washing up sinks, 2 kettles (free to use) as these use 13a sockets, which means that charging of mobiles is possible, and a tall upright freezer which was fairly full (of caravanners frozen chips /lollies /fish fingers etc. ) but you could probably squeeze some ice blocks in. We used the kettles to provide free hot water for washing up with (not many others seem to have worked this out)

The toilets were kept clean (despite a fair amount of mud and rain when we were there), and also refreshed with soap and loo roll.

The only problem we had (guess because it was a busy Bank Holiday) was that by about 10:00 on each of the 3 days we were there the toilet block ran out of water for about an hour or so (as the farm is tank fed from the top of a mountain, and their 1000 gal tank is only so big and couldn't keep up with the demand).

Once people understood, most people were pretty good natured about it and the water did come back on by about 11:00 ( as demand dropped and the tank started to refill), also the owner was on hand very apologetically flushing the toilets with a bucket from the adjacent stream.

The campsite is arranged around mainly static towable caravans and has electric and pitches for tents and is very flat, in addition there is a very large adjacent field equidistant from the toilets that was also available for tents which had a very slight slope in places (and despite peak Bank Holiday was only about 40% full).

As in many welsh campsites the soil is rather thin so make sure you bring good strong tent pegs and a decent mallet (as we could only push our pegs in a couple of inches before hitting shale, but after some wiggling to find the gaps between the stones and some moderate hammering they all went in fine), we had standard pegs so no need for rock pegs.

Campfires were allowed, as many pitches had evidence of fires.

Despite the pitches not being marked it wasn't a free for all the owner seemed to want to show us the options of where specifically we could put our tent (which was mainly on top of previous pitches)

No real facilities or shops close by (nearest probably 3 miles away), but campsite very peaceful down a single lane road, so bring what food you need with you. The owner does sell fresh eggs at 1. 25 for 6.

No play area for the kids, but plenty of open space to run around and kick a ball and also lots of stones to skim on the river and countryside to enjoy.

Campsite very quiet at night, no issues with noise at all as is miles from any civilisation.

Owner very friendly 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Llanllwyda Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Llanllwyda Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Llanllwyda Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tywyn      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2620 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement