Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Model Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > North Walsham > Model Farm Certificated Site Reviews

Model Farm Certificated Site
Cross Road
Skeyton
North Walsham
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR10 5AN
Tel: 01692 405 887
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5 CCC Members Only
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 18 Reviews
                9/10 from 18 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Neil1969 1 review from this member

First visit to this C&CC CS site. We had a great week, the site is lovely and peaceful. The toilet and shower are kept immaculately clean and the pitches well mown. The owners are really friendly and helpful with great recommendations for local takeaways etc. Had great fun watching the guinea pigs and petting the ponies. Be sure to take some carrots for the little one, he'll be your friend for ever. It's a great base to explore North Norfolk with easy access to all the main coastal towns from Great Yarmouth to Cromer and up to Hunstanton. The fresh eggs available on site are delicious too. This is one of those rare finds where it all works and it's the little touches and attention to detail that raise this place above the rest.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lynm 83 reviews from this member

Another year another visit. Sadly only 4 nights this summer due to circumstances and it just wasn't enough. As ever we took our Norwegian Granddaughter, in fact she insisted we went here as she says it is her favourite campsite in the world! She's right too this is the perfect site. Small, clean, friendly and just situated in the best position to visit all the brilliant beaches and attractions Norfolk has to offer. Dave, the owner, is absolutely first class and makes you feel part of the family. There really is no where else we would go and having visited loads of sites all over I can tell you this is a big accolade. Trouble is if I make this review perfect we may not get a pitch as it will be full! It is a real gem. Once been you'll always return.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lynm 83 reviews from this member

Our annual summer stay with our granddaughter lived up to all our expectations. As I have said in reviews before this is an outstanding site. So much room, so homely and in a great position to visit all that Norfolk has to offer.

When we asked our granddaughter who has been coming here since she was 3, now 7 where do you want to go next year her reply said it all, 'Here of course, this is the best campsite in the world. It doesn't have a play park but I don't care I love it!'

We just love this site.

The owners are so friendly and this is a go to place for the summer. Missing it already and counting down to next year.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jenny5 1 review from this member

This is a lovely site with delightful owners. We stayed here for 2 weeks with our three sons (11, 8, 5) and they loved it. Highlights of the site are the very clean loo and shower, the space (the pitches are around the edge of a field), and it is so refreshing to go a certificated site that sticks to the maximum 5 units and doesn't fill up any available space with tents. Our boys loved the space and had the centre of the field to play cricket/football/tag with other children. There are two lovely horses (William and Tonto) who love their apple a day, free range guinea pigs, eggs for sale that make food miles a joke and apples to help yourself to. It is very quiet and you do need to use the car or bikes to get anywhere but it is in a great location for exploring the northern Broads and the beaches. We thoroughly enjoyed our morning on the Wildlife boat from Hickling Broad and Holkham Hall where we spent a couple of days exploring the beach, hall and hiring bicycles (beware the hall itself is only open on certain days). We ate at the Gunton Arms (recommended by owners and other campers) and it was extremely good food. Also good were the fish and chips from Three Cottages.

The owners are what you hope to find (but rarely do) in campsite owners. Really lovely people, who genuinely want you to have a good time. Helpful in places to go to and really interesting people. They also go above and beyond the call of duty (took my washing in when it was raining and we were out for the day - beat that service in a campsite! and supplying gaffer tape at 7am on the day of departure when our front locker decided to part company from the caravan!). We would recommend this site to all, a great place for young and old, families, couples, groups (if there is a group Dave puts them in a separate field which is a nice touch for other campers). However if you are looking for entertainment or playgrounds etc this is not the site for you.

We were there in mixed weather - it was a sheltered site and although heavy rain the site didn't become muddy or boggy. There was a slight slope but fine just levelling on the legs. Delicious blackberries just behind our van!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lynm 83 reviews from this member

Another week's stay at our favourite campsite. I know I say this every time but it really is the perfect place for us & our granddaughter.

The pitches are so spacious and flat with well cared for grass surface & EHU on each of the 6 pitches. The facilities are all free and beautifully kept with lashings of hot water & a fridge. It is a small site but there is plenty of playing space for the children.

Dave is the most welcoming owner and always does everything he can to make your stay a great one. This place is a 5 star experience.

I was really surprised to find that there was only us & a caravan unit on site all week. People you are missing out! The location is perfect for all the North Norfolk hotspots without the overcrowding that can happen in July & August on some sites there. I can highly recommend, the Poppy Line at Sherringham for a steam train trip, the Dinosaur park which is so much fun for children. Mundesley & Cromer are well worth a trip. Crab fishing off the pier at Cromer was top notch fun. We left a crabbing kit at Model Farm for anyone coming after us. North Walsham is the closest town & has a Sainsburys & a Waitrose. It has a newly opened Japanese Restaurant too which we sampled and loved. The Chubby Panda Chinese is very good as is the local Chippy. All three are in the same road with parking on the street.

Just by Waitrose there is Davenport's Magic Kingdom which has the history of magic exhibition and a live magic show. It is really amazing & not to be missed.

Our week went very quickly and our granddaughter has already decided we are going back again next summer and I can't wait to get back to this small but perfectly formed site!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lynm 83 reviews from this member

Just got home from a 4 night stay at what is our favourite family site! This was the 4th year we have been & we always feel like we are at a second home.

As ever Dave was a helpful & cheerful site owner. I love the way he & his wife Les treat you. Dave always makes sure he says goodbye too.

It is a small intimate site with a building containing the toilet, shower, washing up sink & a basin. There is never a problem with people waiting, it just works. It is kept spotless by the owners as is the site. The site is perfectly positioned for some of the prime parts of Norfolk. Sheringham (with the world's best fish & chip shop), Cromer & other seaside places just up the road. If you fancy something quiter then try Mundesly a great beach!

The nearest town is North Walsham with Sainsbury's & other shops for anything you need. Newly built this year on the outskirts is a Waitrose & one of the best things we've been to in a long time, Davenport's Magic Kingdom. It was an amazing experience of magic close up. An exhibition, history tour & best of all a show with good old school magic. This opened in May & we were there for nearly 3 hours thoroughly entertained. Don't miss it!

If you want peace, relaxation & caring owners this is the campsite for you.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hooperpadmore 1 review from this member

There really is only one word for this rural inland Norfolk campsite: “bootiful”.

We have never before stayed at such a peaceful site. There was no traffic noise, just the sights and sounds of the countryside. We saw buzzards in the nearby field, an owl flew overhead and we watched day- old pheasant chicks. Midway through our stay a local farmer set off his bird scarer, but after a short while we failed to notice this. Helicopters flew over but we never found these intrusive.

The campsite is down a single track, a couple of miles from North Walsham, where there are supermarkets, including a large new Waitrose. Aylsham is a little further afield, and has a large-ish Tesco. Cromer and Sheringham also have the usual shopping facilities.

The site is slightly sloping in places, but not so much that we had any trouble levelling our trailer tent. Pitches are huge, and the whole field is enclosed with hedges which provide some shelter from the wind. The grass was cut regularly during the 2 weeks we were there.

The owners were friendly but not intrusive, and provided detailed local information and advice. They are campers themselves, and clearly know what makes for a good campsite.

We knew beforehand that the facilities were all together in one “cabin” and that there is only 1 toilet, so we came prepared with our own toilet, though we never needed it. All the facilities were clean and well maintained, and there was plentiful hot water for the shower and washing up. There were lovely added extras like fresh flowers in “the cabin” and fresh eggs available. The fridge is also a great bonus.

There are many places of interest nearby, including a couple of steam railways, National trust properties, stunning gardens, the Norfolk Broads and numerous “quirky” museums. We had no trouble occupying ourselves for 2 weeks, without ever driving more than 20 miles from the site. Indeed several days we walked from the campsite (along the Weavers Way path) or cycled the narrow country lanes. We also made regular use of the trains from North Walsham Station (ample free parking) to visit Norwich, Cromer and Sheringham

We rarely return to the same area for our holidays, but if we ever wanted somewhere to stay in this part of Norfolk, this is the only campsite we would consider!

Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: M8YNA 7 reviews from this member

What a peach of a site, small, easy to find with a very clean toilet block. The block had everything you need, shower, toilet, washing up sink, fridge if you need one and with automatic lighting so once you make it to the building it's lovely and bright. We had a friendly greeting on arrival but I noticed the next day they had left a lovely welcome message on a whiteboard in case they were out. As February they suggested we hooked up in the yard to save getting bogged down in the field. But It all looked good had we wanted to.

This is just the kind of site we love. I would definitely recommend Model Farm for those that like the simple life with ' model' facilities.

Date of Visit: December 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Swynn 1 review from this member

Stayed at Model Farm at very short notice - as someone else has mentioned, it was a bit (in fact, very) boggy at the time due to the horrendous weather we had all suffered, but we were offered a space by the house on hardstanding, which was excellent. Cannot fault the site from what we saw although due to the freezing weather and the lateness of the season we didn't use the loo block - we find it an ideal location for visiting family in North Norfolk and for getting out to the coast.

It can be a bit tricky to find (we rang through and got guided in by virtue of the fact that our headlights could be seen from the farm) and the approach road is narrow, but as long as you don't treat it like a motorway, you'll be fine.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PeterPan997 17 reviews from this member

Model Farm is a quiet out in the country side small camp site. The owners are very friendly and helpful

Our pitch was of good size and flat, but the field is sloping. The road leading the the site was of single track and narrow, look out for the flag if your sat nav is playing up to locate the camp site.

The facilities 'mixed' were kept clean and tidy, shower very hot 'can not adjust temp' there is however one problem, the shower toilet and pot washing and fridge our all under one roof, you can be using one of the facilities and campers can walk in, this lead to at times to queuing for those campers that did not want to intrude.

Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5558 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019