Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Gate Lodge Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Kent > Tenterden > The Gate Lodge Certificated Site > Reviews

The Gate Lodge Certificated Site
Ingleden Park
Swain Road
St Michaels
Tenterden
Kent   (Browse area)
TN30 6SL
Tel: 01580 765447
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 vans plus tents
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 24 Reviews
                9/10 from 24 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Gerry2 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, clean basic washrooms, well kept pitches. Nice wooded area.

This site is featured in the camping series with Paul Merton and his wife it is the first episode.

Great Chinese that deliver to the site, two pubs within walking distance and historic Tenterden is a short drive away with its restaurants, pubs and supermarkets and if that's too much then there is a 24hour garage at the end of Swains Road.

Keep an eye out for the little black cat who likes a stroke or two while he is doing his rounds. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Janks 5 reviews from this member

 We loved having our own 'private' camping area in the woods with no other tents within view - something we didn't expect in the south of England during the school holidays! (The site is adults only).

The shower block is fairly small with a total of 2 showers and 3 toilets but we didn't find them busy at all so they were more than adequate, and very clean and nice to use.

It was great to have sockets and a mirror in there.

Richard the owner was a very nice guy and kindly gave us a lift in his car to pick something up when our car was in the garage - thanks very much! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Easygoer 7 reviews from this member

 Richard, the owner/manager, is an intelligent and very helpful man who has created an idiosyncratic and well thought out site. He has marked out walks through the woods and has provided a bin of fish food so that you can feed the well stocked pond.

The facilities are clean, basic and efficient, but maybe not large enough for when the site is fully occupied. It is set in open countryside with lovely views and plenty of walking opportunities.

We had no problems, for example, in walking across fields and through woods - at night - to and from the fine town of Tenterden.

We would definitely stay there again. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Tony Burton 48 reviews from this member

 There are superb views over the surrounding countryside. The pitches are surrounded by woodland and there is a short dog walk through the adjacent copse. There are wild camping pitches set amongst the trees. The bluebells amongst the trees provided a wonderful carpet in the middle of April.

We also enjoyed feeding the fish in the lake and watching a nuthatch fetching food for its young. Itís a very attractive site.

The toilets and showers are somewhat dated but were kept immaculately clean.

I think the unusually warm early spring had resulted in the grass growing somewhat faster than the owner was able to keep it cut. This is not a modern pristine manicured site. Itís just natural and peaceful. £18:00 per night for two in a caravan with EHU. I think kids would love this site but I'm afraid it's adults only. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jandan 20 reviews from this member

 Nothing to be heard here but the sound of birds and sheep. Quiet, small, peaceful and very informal - and charmingly basic with home made signs everywhere. There are two shower rooms in the converted stables, one for gents, one for ladies - and a spare loo for anyone to use.

The grass is rough (apart from on one or two pitches) and the hardstanding is very patchy with grass growing through it, but it does the job.

St Michaels has a handful of shops, two or three takeaways and a pub and Tenterden has a wealth of places to eat, drink, sightsee and shop.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Coatham1965 1 review from this member

 This was our first camping experience for a long time so were a little apprehensive. We decided to experience the wild camping in the woods and were not disappointed. Quite, relaxing site.

Toilets and showers were clean and adequate. Good cycling in the around, reasonably flat! Visited the White Lion in Tenterden for a meal, good food, reasonably priced. Looking forward to visiting again soon. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Quietlife 3 reviews from this member

 Love this site. One of the best we've visited. It is adult only but does accept dogs. Quite informal but lovely and quiet. Great showers with plenty of space and plenty of hot water (but you do have to remember to put the immersion heater on half an hour before to be sure of the hot water although we often forgot but still had hot water). Kept clean and tidy.

The walk on the campsite through the wood is beautiful and was lovely and cool for the dogs in the hot weather. Huge mirror carp in the pond with a bin full of food to feed them-loved watching them.

Nice walk into Tenterden through the fields and Tenterden is worth visiting-Pretty, great shops, lovely places to eat and has a steam railway-you can get a platform ticket or ride the steam train to Bodian castle (National Trust). We went on the train with two dogs and had a great day out. Bodian castle is definitely worth a visit too. We had a lovely lunch at Busy Bees in Tenterden - they even brought out dog biscuits for the doggies.

There is a choice for tents between a few field pitches with EHU or a few 'wild' pitches in the woods. No wifi and not a great phone signal-advantage or disadvantage depending on you!

The village just down the road has several takeaways (2 chipshops, 1 chinese, might have been an Indian takeaway but I can;t remember for sure). The shop there has a good range of things and a nice deli with pies, cakes, etc.

Lots of National Trust properties in easy driving distance and many other great places nearby to visit. Some good public footpaths from close to the campsite but many not well signposted so if you have land ranger map, take it.

All in all can highly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Littlemo777 1 review from this member

 Lovely camp site beautiful woodland walks fun feeding the Carp, we would definitely recommend this site and we will return again.

Richard was very friendly and welcoming. Lovely little site tucked away in the beautiful Kent countryside and only a short distance to Tenterden. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chris5mph 54 reviews from this member

 A charming site with woodland and pasture pitches close to Tenterden, the Weald and Romney Marsh. The natural attractions have not been ruthlessly manicured, as on some sites, and the site is delightful because of this.

The signs could do with a lick of paint, the track and hard standings are beginning to disappear under grass and could do with some attention and the toilet block is showing signs of age, but we will return.

Cannot comment on customer service as we did not see the owners in the whole five days of our stay, but with a good few years experience on campsites we found all we needed, so this was not a problem. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fredknell 1 review from this member

 I have visited this lovely friendly site several times over the years and can always rely on a warm welcome from Richard & Penny. Both myself and my wife love the peacefulness of an adult only site.

It has good clean facilities and level hard standings for caravans. A separate field is available for tents and wild camping in the woods for those who prefer that. Richard always does everything he can to make your stay enjoyable and I cant rate this small cosy site too highly. 


Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Gate Lodge Certificated Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Gate Lodge Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Gate Lodge Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tenterden      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5211 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement