Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Le Coin Tranquille

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Rhone-Alpes > Les Abrets > Le Coin Tranquille Reviews

Le Coin Tranquille
6 Chemin Des Vignes
Les Abrets
Rhone-Alpes   (Browse area)
38490
Tel: 00 33 4 76 32 13 48
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 192
Open: 01/04/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 9 Reviews
                9/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Craighew 2 reviews from this member

 This site is one of the best campsites we've visited. From the moment we arrived until the morning of our departure we were made to feel very welcome. The Managers and staff were superb, nothing was too much trouble.

We stayed 21 nights and were quite apprehensive that the site would not live up to our (high) expectations. Well, it exceeded those expectations in grand style.

We had asked in advance for a quiet perimeter pitch with mountain views (foothills of the Alps) and upon arrival we were offered several such pitches to choose from.

We opted for pitch 135 which placed our large twin axle caravan under some decent size trees offering great shade for our awning. (we enjoyed 19 out of 21 days unbroken hot sunshine.

The on site facilities were fabulous: the sanitary blocks were cleaned at least 3 times each day with the first being before dawn. ! The on-site restaurant (and bar) served a good variety of well-priced food which was evident by the number of locals who ate there alongside the visiting campers.

There was a themed meal each Wednesday which at 27 Euros per head seemed a little expensive until you factored in that all wine for the night, with the hosts continually re-filling the carafes, was included.

The swimming pools were spotless, very well presented and a pleasure to use with an abundance of sun loungers available.

We travelled with Stanley, our Jack Russell dog and he was made to feel welcome around the site and in the restaurant.

The site is well located with a good road network and easy access to local lakes (spectacular in colour and cleanliness) villages and mountains. Mt Blanc and Geneva are an hours drive and we found a small vineyard that offered tasting sessions only 15 minutes away.

All manner of shops can be found locally in Les Abrets.

A variety of fresh breads were available to order on site.

Simply stunning, thanks for having us. ! 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Kangaroo 7 reviews from this member

 Pros:

Good size of pitch - some are massive.

Mostly spotless toilets & great showers if you pick the right one

Amazing area with beautiful walks, countryside, waterfalls, lakes

Nature: on pitch! - rabbits, voles, birds, lizards, caterpillars

Cons (read more below if sensitive to noise):

Large hedges may lead to less socialising - if you like that.

Not as quiet as typical of other sites over last 30 years

If you book through Camping & Caravan Club do not expect same rules

Certainly not quiet after 10:30pm (some nights nearly 1am)

Pitch was amazing. We had a trailer tent + awning and still space to park about three cars in front! Some pitches have big trees if you like shade. Some pitches furthest away from reception are smaller with less space and thinner hedges between so more overlooked.

Toilet block & showers

Seemed to be cleaned all the time. Spotless. No signs saying women's/man's so seemed to be unisex. Although we're urinals in one. When we were there, frequently children in toilet block unsupervised so toilet seats & floor wet. One day children flying toy helicopter!

Showers - pick right one & amazing. Even control temperature yourself. Pick wrong one can feel like needles of water.

Strange potent smell of vinegar around 10pm every night? Pool chemicals?

Breathtaking Scenery if you want to drive to it. Explore

Gorges, waterfalls, castles, ruins. Lakes, caves. Some of it was quite adventurous. The lakes mostly had beaches that you had to pay for. You can paddle in the shallow river at Cirque de Meme.

Cycling, hikes, various levels from flat to extremely difficult (red/black) & some walks Scrabble up scree and so steep wires & chains used to climb.

Grenoble was surprisingly quiet for a city and we felt safe walking around it. We went up the Bubble car and walked down from The Bastille which made it more interesting.

Not typical Camping & Caravan club - not quite after 10. 30pm. People were noisy leaving restaurant & driving away slamming car doors. No gates so open for people to drive in late at night. Open Car park next to restaurant.

Restaurant:

Magret de canard 17

Lovely duck, though for the price it would be better if salad was bigger & sauce included in price (2 Euros extra)

Green salad - small amount of green leaves with dressing. Thought there would be at least onions to give flavour.

Chips big & chunky slightly overcooked.

SENSITIVE TO NOISE:NOT TRANQUILLE ?

I have camped for 40 years & never had these issues ever anywhere

Even if you were the other side of the site you would hear the music

DO NOT pitch by Reception (probably hear the noise further too).

Hum of refridgeration unit at the shop could be heard to kick in & out early and late at night.

Recycling of glass at Midnight

Rubbish Lorry 5. 30am

Car driving round car park 3am

Shop delivery 7am clanking & slamming of doors

This is NOT what I would call 'Coin Tranquille'

Swimming pool supposed to close 9pm but often still open until 10 & could be noisy with people shouting. No lifeguard. Large groups of Netherlands children/teenagers took over shouting, bombing & pushing each other in (not appropriately supervised).

Every Wed evening

Campsite meal & entertainment until midnight. Extremely loud Live music. People took 45 minutes to leave so noise of laughter, shouting, cars until nearly 1am. Locals come to the campsite to socialise leading to lots of slamming of doors & cars leaving car park.

Thursday evening foam bouncy castle with loud pop music until 8pm. Turned down volume but continued until 9pm

Saturday - group of people met at campsite restaurant all day & evening. Left at 11. 30 saying very noisy goodbye, car doors slamming & cars driving at 11. 30

5. 30pm Afternoon/early evening kids entertainment - normally included loud children's music & blaabing on microphone (Lenny the Fox mascot 'mini let's go') Music Man 'Piano, piano'

Other evenings

8-10. 15pm children's pool disco

9-11. 45 Night Horror walk (screaming children) 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Speedy1256 3 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site the views from the campsite are wonderful and the toilets are spotless and cleaned regularly.

The restaurant has great food and the kids entertainment was also very good overall impressed with this site.

Would go back when over that way again. Free WiFi close to reception/free bouncy castle etc.

Good size shop for all your normal needs and a nice bar area which is over looking the pool area. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SGThomas 114 reviews from this member

 If approaching from the A43, continue down D1075 to the town centre and then out towards Chambery on the D1006. Once beyond the Les Abrets boundary there is a left turn which is marked for the campsite. Take this road to the site.

Other routes to the campsite, D142e and the various other lanes, are very narrow, ditched and windy.

The campsite is just brilliant. There is a small group of committed people who are reception/shop/restaurant/admin who seem unable to stop smiling and being helpful.

The pitches are flat or slightly sloping and delineated by mature hedging -and a variety of large shady trees. In size they range from large to blimey that's big. Hook ups are on 4 or 6 socket pillars, so it is advisable to have an extension lead in case.

The sanitaires are continually being cleaned and there are toilets and showers galore. Toilet paper is provided.

A warning: the hot water is very, very hot and the showers are very powerful.

There is a very modern pool area near the restaurant, which is large and posh. ( coach loads of people come just for lunch)

Wi fi is free and is available around the restaurant and on a very shady terrace with comfy armchairs and sofas.

Immediately around the campsite, the cycling is hilly ( for wrinklies) but at St Genix sur Guiers (about12km away ) there is the ViaRhona cycle way.

Shopping is best done at Le Pont de Beauvoisin where there are Intermarche, LeClerc, Lidl and a HyperU. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Robin55 4 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site, clean, well run and flowers everywhere. We were allocated a pitch and it was large, flat, with hedges around it and near enough to the showers etc. We didn't have an electric adaptor which was a problem.

A word with the excellent reception staff sorted that out, they offered to move us to a then empty part of the site which had European standard electricity or borrow an adaptor and stay where we were.

We were happy to borrow as we liked the ambience of the French, Dutch, Irish and Australian families around us. The restaurant is not cheap and the service is fairly slow, but the food is wonderful and the staff are so friendly and happy you are there. We ate twice in the restaurant.

The pool area is very nice, we tended to go late afternoon when most of the children had left as we like it quieter. The toilet and washblock is never closed and the main one is constantly being cleaned. The shop sells a fair range, and you have to order your bread the night before.

There are three or four supermarkets in the town, but it is a drive, not a walk. The reception staff gave us maps with local walks, and were happy to provide information on places to visit.

There is a lot to do in the area if you like lakes, cycling, walking. You get free wifi on the terrace. We liked it so much we stayed longer than planned! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bridie 105 reviews from this member

 Arrived in heavy rain so didn't use the pool which looked fine. Had a large pitch, which we chose ourselves, almost completely enclosed by hedges.

Welcoming staff at reception, in fact they'd won an Alan Rogers award for just that!Couldn't see any of the views as heavy rain and mist obscured the mountains!

The loos etc were clean. Didn't use the bar. Orders for bread taken for the next day. Only stayed 1 night due to bad weather but would certainly return.

Heard good reports of the site from other campers at other sites. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jandjstott 29 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for 5 nights and it is very nice. Shower blocks are very good and clean. The pitch we had was large and could have done with a bit more shade.

There are some well shaded pitches we just didn't look hard enough. Some pitches farthest away from the shower blocks have fabulous views over the mountains and worth the extra walk.

Restaurant is very good but not cheap and it is used a lot by locals and for parties etc. The lake the previous reviewer mentioned is not far away and well worth a visit.

Les Abrets is a small town but nice. Good supermarket there. Camping cheque site in Low season. Staff friendly and helpful. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dargy 34 reviews from this member

 Ideal for a short or long stay, Le Coin Tranquile is just that - quiet and tranquil at the end of a short but twisty little road just outside Les Abrets.

The pitches are generous with hook-ups (French 2 pin so you will need a converter), immaculate facilities and a really nice swimming pool. There is also a small shop with basics where you can order bread and croissants for the following morning.

The staff are very helpful and speak good English and the restaurant is good enough for the locals to eat at. The views are lovely and you are not far from some stunning alpine drives or towns.

Camping Cheques are accepted and although we only stayed one night en route to Italy, it would be a site worth returning to. It is also convenient for the Frejus Tunnel. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 304 reviews from this member

 This is a very nice 'Kawan Village' site, and accepts Camping Cheques in low season. Easy to find, turn left in the town centre (if coming from the north), and it's a left turn about a mile and a half along the road, well signed. If you are looking out for the level crossing as mentioned in the Camping Cheque book, you won't find it on the main road, it's on the small road leading to the site. This road is longer than you might expect, quite winding, but perfectly ok. The site is quite surprisingly rural, with good views over to the mountains.

Friendly and helpful reception, well defined hedged pitches which are plenty big enough for a large van and car. We found a hypermaket a few miles away near Aoste, but I think there are more on the road to Lyons, and more again going out of town to the south.

Apart from the Rhone, which is large even here, you can drive over to Lac de Bourget which is a lovely trip. It's a very good site for a night or two. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Le Coin Tranquille child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Le Coin Tranquille have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Le Coin Tranquille?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Le Coin Tranquille dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Les Abrets      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Rhone-Alpes

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3968 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement