Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ardelve Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Kyle Of Lochalsh > Ardelve Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Ardelve Caravan And Camping Park
Ardelve
Dornie
Kyle Of Lochalsh
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV40 8DY
Tel: 01599 555231
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 40
Open: Easter To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 24 Reviews
                9/10 from 24 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fi22 7 reviews from this member

After reading the reviews we decided to try this campsite out and we were not disappointed. (I phoned to make sure you could just turn up as the last review was last year) and as others have said you do just turn up and take a pitch which all overlook loch alsh and also have a view of eilean donan castle, ( it's just over the bridge) The woman comes round in the evening to take your money, it's £15 a night for a tourer not sure if a tent would be the same or cheaper. The electric is now £2 coins and ours lasted 24hrs. The toilets and showers were spotless, there was also a cool box with biscuits etc to buy if you wanted them. Over the road is pizzajo which was worth going to, we also went to the baker next door and the bread was lovely if a little expensive, £3. 20 for a small loaf. The site is great for exploring the area i. E. Applecross, plockton, glen elg, the isle of skye etc. If we're back in the area we will definitely be back at this site. Also if you were doing the NC500 it would be worth doing a wee detour and staying here for a few nights.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Matt-lucie 15 reviews from this member

Ok pretty much the weirdest site I have ever stayed on! Iíve visited a whole array of sites over the last 30 years. We visited Eilean Donan castle and didnít intend to stay I the area but we got soaking wet and freezing and really just wanted to settle somewhere. This site didnít appear on a google search but happened upon it by accident. There is no reception no name of the site (we didnít even know where we were) just a field with hard standings running round the outside and a note saying park up and someone will collect money later. We noted it had electric for a £1 but no idea who long you got for that. 10mins? A day? Who knew? We felt a little uneasy that someone would turn up later and ask for a unknown amount of money as it didnít say on the sign how much. Anyway as we were wet and tired we thought what the rock and settled down. Noticed straight away that the leccy only took old £1 and at this period of time we are in the process of swapping over and hardly any left. However I managed to find a couple and popped them in and hoped they would last. Later that night a lady arrived and asked for £14. 50 and asked if we needed any more £1s on old coins. I said Iíve put 2 in and she assured us that would last 24 hours. Bargain!

So after worrying this ended up being one of our favourite stop overs. Cheapest site on all our holiday with amazing views of the Loch. Near Eilean Donn castle. Super quiet and clean facilities.

Perfect really but to the owners do pop a little more info on sign on the entrance. Itís wouldbe nice to know the name of the site and how much it is per night as well some info on power.

Other than that lovely and simple little site. Oh their is a bakery right across the road. I highly recommend this!

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

This is a great site, literally 10 minutes walk from Eilean Donan castle, far enough from the road there is no traffic noise and pitches overlooking the loch.

There is a mixture of gravel hardstanding and grass pitches. The hard-standing have ehu bollard, you pay with 2 x £1 coins for 24 hours. As other have said loos and showers very clean, old barn type buildings but don't let that put you off, the loos at the loch end have been tiled etc and are immaculate.

The owners come around in the evening and collect your money £14. 50 per night for 2 adults - we thought very reasonable around this area. We were surprised such a good site wasn't busier - possibly its because the sign says come in, find a pitch and we will be around later to collect your money but it doesn't say how much. Have to say we were slightly put off not knowing the price but luckily the owners were passing when we arrived.

If we had a feedback for the owners it would be show your price in big numbers on the gate!

If you are visiting Eilean Donan then really would recommend this site for at least a night, if not more. Pitch up and take the stroll back over the bridge and also a wander into Dornie village.

And as others have said, the bakery just a few yards from the site sells terrific bread and bakes, worth visiting to see the wooden shacks they also build.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Caravan tourer 2 reviews from this member

A wee gem of a site sitting on the lochside. If you like quiet this is the site for you. Good base for visiting the area, also over night stays before visiting Skye. Toilets and showers basic but clean. We will certainly return when we are in the area again.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: YorksCampingFamily 1 review from this member

Just returned from a very happy stay at Ardelve. We camped for 3 nights. It's a very well kept little site with camping field and hard-standing and hook-ups lower down. Recently refurbed toilet and shower block was perfectly adequate and always very clean, despite some wet weather. 50p for a long shower. We just rolled up and pitched and the owners popped round in the evening to collect the £14 per night fees. There seemed to be a mix of through traffic heading for Skye and some longer stayers, like ourselves. A very quiet and scenic spot, very convenient for Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochcarron, Skye, but also hidden gems close by - the local mountains, roads, lochs and valleys are extremely quiet, but well worth exploring for some genuine peace and off-tourist-trail experiences. Eilean Donan Castle is a 5 minute walk away and is a tourist hot-spot with cafe, but also very nice to visit in the evening after it closes, when the light and the views are superb. The village of Dornie - 10 mins walk - has a small shop, a very lively, friendly pub serving food and the Dornie Hotel where we had 2 very good meals (the hotel maybe looks a little tired inside, but the menu is varied and food was unexpectedly excellent). Also worth a look are the campsite's static caravans - we finished our stay with 3 nights in one which was very clean, modern and well equipped. The site owners were friendly and helpful throughout. Don't miss the local fresh-baked bread shop too - amazing bread baked fresh on site, 2 mins from the camp site!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nomadengland 12 reviews from this member

Lovely little site overlooking Eilean Donan Castle and right beside Loch Alsh. Easy walk to castle and pretty village of Dornie. Owner collects fees each day. We didn't use facilities so can't comment on these but lovely quiet stay.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kez123 2 reviews from this member

A great wee campsite, we were free to chose a spot that suited us. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Facilities were clean and well maintained. Showers cost 10p per 2 minutes. About a 1 minute walk to the local Spar.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tony + Ann 6 reviews from this member

Echo earlier comments about the pictures not reflecting just how good this site is. The facilities are basic, but very clean. The location more than makes up for this with stunning views across the loch to Eilean Donan castle.

Manuela's Wee Bakery is a real bonus too - the produce is delicious and of really top quality.

Finally, we can highly recommend the Clachan in Dornie, just a pleasant walk away from the site. Good ale and food, a friendly welcome and some excellent whisky!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 2Adventurers 7 reviews from this member

The website photographs don't do the Ardelve Caravan and Camping Park justice! If you are someone who likes to have underfloor heating, power showers and flower tubs on site you won't get them here.

What you will get is a tidy, well maintained site that is located about a five minute drive from Eilean Donan Castle, with beautiful views across to Skye. A family of porpoise regularly trawl up and down the loch and sea otters can be seen anywhere along the edge - providing you are willing to wait patiently!

A short walk will take you into the village of Dornie where you can buy basic essentials. Within a ten minute drive there is a decent sized supermarket at Kyle of Lochalsh.

Just outside the gate and a minute walk along the road is Manuela's Wee Bakery which sells lovely artisan bread. Not cheap, but the bread and cakes are delicious. (and you are on holiday!)

Also on a Friday you can order freshly baked pizza to take away for just under £10 - loaded with topping it's enough for three or four helpings and scrumptious!

The facilities on site are basic but always cleaned regularly. There is no laundry as such but adequate sinks where you could wash out small articles. Most pitches have a bollard with its own water supply and a coin operated meter for electric hook up which costs £1 per day. Showers cost 50p. This gives you plenty time for a shower and some extra just to contemplate life! There are hooks on which to hang clothes but could probably do with something other than the coin meter for laying soap bag etc.

There is a drain for grey waste and the best chemical waste disposal unit I have ever seen on any site.

There is a large sign at the gate which obviously some people never read, which instructs anyone just to pitch up wherever is best for them and that the owner will collect fees in the evening. Maybe the lack of a proper reception unnerves some people, fearing extortionate fees for what the site appears to offer. However, it is very reasonably priced. We were there in high season and were charged £14 per night including awning. I have been on much more basic sites and been charged a lot more!

For us it is the perfect base if you want to pitch up and explore the area without having to break the bank, as it is within easy striking distance of Kyle of Lochalsh, Kyleakin, Plockton, Glen Elg Bay and the whole of the Island of Skye. There isn't anywhere else I'd rather be even when it's raining! Bring your fishing rod. You never know!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lelly1512 4 reviews from this member

Came across this campsite by accident and what a wee gem it turned out to be. Facilities are outdated, shower cubicles could be bigger but both toilet and shower cubicles cleaned every day. Very quiet site and the scenery is outstanding. We were a party of 7 adults, 2 children and a dog and although there is no children's play area, Eilean Donan Castle and village of Dornie was just a ten minute walk away and Skye/Kyle of Lochalsh a 20-30 minute drive away. We (2 adults) were charged £12 per night, showers were 50p and electricity hook-up £1 for 12 hours. If travelling up this side of Scotland again would definitely stay here especially with the view you get.

Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4902 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019