Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ardelve Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Kyle Of Lochalsh > Ardelve Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Ardelve Caravan And Camping Park
Ardelve
Dornie
Kyle Of Lochalsh
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV40 8DY
Tel: 01599 555231
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 27 Reviews
                9/10 from 27 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chris4 2 reviews from this member

 It is so difficult to find a site in high season so we made a note of this site. We arrived at 3, there were several vacancies but it filled up by 6.

Facilities extremely clean, you have to pay 50p for the shower but well worth it to get a nice hot shower.

Lovely location, we visited the castle, had a good meal in the local pub and were then well placed for moving on to Skye. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Matt-lucie 18 reviews from this member

 This is my 2nd review of this site. We have stayed here now a total of 3 times on 3 separate occasions. Quite honestly it is my favourite site.

Itís like wild camping really but with facilities. Very laid back with astonishing views!

Also the wee bakery 2 mins walk from the site is the icing on the cake pure bliss!

Love it here and would stay here every weekend if it didnít take 9 hours to drive :) 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Geolamb2974 4 reviews from this member

 This is a brilliant little site and I'm sorry I haven't submitted my review before now and apologise to the owners for my oversite.

I believe we were the last people to stay on site in 2019 and but for the covid outbreak would have been back.

The location is to die for with fantastic views to Eilean Donan castle and the mountains beyond as well as Skye in the distance.

A great place to base yourself for touring and highly recommended 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fi22 7 reviews from this member

 After reading the reviews we decided to try this campsite out and we were not disappointed. (I phoned to make sure you could just turn up as the last review was last year) and as others have said you do just turn up and take a pitch which all overlook loch alsh and also have a view of eilean donan castle, ( it's just over the bridge) The woman comes round in the evening to take your money, it's £15 a night for a tourer not sure if a tent would be the same or cheaper. The electric is now £2 coins and ours lasted 24hrs. The toilets and showers were spotless, there was also a cool box with biscuits etc to buy if you wanted them. Over the road is pizzajo which was worth going to, we also went to the baker next door and the bread was lovely if a little expensive, £3. 20 for a small loaf. The site is great for exploring the area i. E. Applecross, plockton, glen elg, the isle of skye etc. If we're back in the area we will definitely be back at this site. Also if you were doing the NC500 it would be worth doing a wee detour and staying here for a few nights. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Matt-lucie 18 reviews from this member

 Ok pretty much the weirdest site I have ever stayed on! Iíve visited a whole array of sites over the last 30 years. We visited Eilean Donan castle and didnít intend to stay I the area but we got soaking wet and freezing and really just wanted to settle somewhere. This site didnít appear on a google search but happened upon it by accident. There is no reception no name of the site (we didnít even know where we were) just a field with hard standings running round the outside and a note saying park up and someone will collect money later. We noted it had electric for a £1 but no idea who long you got for that. 10mins? A day? Who knew? We felt a little uneasy that someone would turn up later and ask for a unknown amount of money as it didnít say on the sign how much. Anyway as we were wet and tired we thought what the rock and settled down. Noticed straight away that the leccy only took old £1 and at this period of time we are in the process of swapping over and hardly any left. However I managed to find a couple and popped them in and hoped they would last. Later that night a lady arrived and asked for £14. 50 and asked if we needed any more £1s on old coins. I said Iíve put 2 in and she assured us that would last 24 hours. Bargain!

So after worrying this ended up being one of our favourite stop overs. Cheapest site on all our holiday with amazing views of the Loch. Near Eilean Donn castle. Super quiet and clean facilities.

Perfect really but to the owners do pop a little more info on sign on the entrance. Itís wouldbe nice to know the name of the site and how much it is per night as well some info on power.

Other than that lovely and simple little site. Oh their is a bakery right across the road. I highly recommend this! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 636 reviews from this member

 This is a great site, literally 10 minutes walk from Eilean Donan castle, far enough from the road there is no traffic noise and pitches overlooking the loch.

There is a mixture of gravel hardstanding and grass pitches. The hard-standing have ehu bollard, you pay with 2 x £1 coins for 24 hours. As other have said loos and showers very clean, old barn type buildings but don't let that put you off, the loos at the loch end have been tiled etc and are immaculate.

The owners come around in the evening and collect your money £14. 50 per night for 2 adults - we thought very reasonable around this area. We were surprised such a good site wasn't busier - possibly its because the sign says come in, find a pitch and we will be around later to collect your money but it doesn't say how much. Have to say we were slightly put off not knowing the price but luckily the owners were passing when we arrived.

If we had a feedback for the owners it would be show your price in big numbers on the gate!

If you are visiting Eilean Donan then really would recommend this site for at least a night, if not more. Pitch up and take the stroll back over the bridge and also a wander into Dornie village.

And as others have said, the bakery just a few yards from the site sells terrific bread and bakes, worth visiting to see the wooden shacks they also build. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caravan tourer 2 reviews from this member

 A wee gem of a site sitting on the lochside. If you like quiet this is the site for you. Good base for visiting the area, also over night stays before visiting Skye. Toilets and showers basic but clean. We will certainly return when we are in the area again. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: YorksCampingFamily 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a very happy stay at Ardelve. We camped for 3 nights. It's a very well kept little site with camping field and hard-standing and hook-ups lower down. Recently refurbed toilet and shower block was perfectly adequate and always very clean, despite some wet weather. 50p for a long shower. We just rolled up and pitched and the owners popped round in the evening to collect the £14 per night fees. There seemed to be a mix of through traffic heading for Skye and some longer stayers, like ourselves. A very quiet and scenic spot, very convenient for Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochcarron, Skye, but also hidden gems close by - the local mountains, roads, lochs and valleys are extremely quiet, but well worth exploring for some genuine peace and off-tourist-trail experiences. Eilean Donan Castle is a 5 minute walk away and is a tourist hot-spot with cafe, but also very nice to visit in the evening after it closes, when the light and the views are superb. The village of Dornie - 10 mins walk - has a small shop, a very lively, friendly pub serving food and the Dornie Hotel where we had 2 very good meals (the hotel maybe looks a little tired inside, but the menu is varied and food was unexpectedly excellent). Also worth a look are the campsite's static caravans - we finished our stay with 3 nights in one which was very clean, modern and well equipped. The site owners were friendly and helpful throughout. Don't miss the local fresh-baked bread shop too - amazing bread baked fresh on site, 2 mins from the camp site! 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nomadengland 13 reviews from this member

 Lovely little site overlooking Eilean Donan Castle and right beside Loch Alsh. Easy walk to castle and pretty village of Dornie. Owner collects fees each day. We didn't use facilities so can't comment on these but lovely quiet stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kez123 2 reviews from this member

 A great wee campsite, we were free to chose a spot that suited us. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Facilities were clean and well maintained. Showers cost 10p per 2 minutes. About a 1 minute walk to the local Spar. 


Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ardelve Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ardelve Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Ardelve Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kyle Of Lochalsh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3223 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement