Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Drumcarro Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews > Drumcarro Farm Certificated Site Reviews

Drumcarro Farm Certificated Site
Peat Inn
Strathkiness Road
St Andrews
Fife   (Browse area)
KY15 5TY
Tel: 01334 840502
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 15 Reviews
                8/10 from 15 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LesD 18 reviews from this member

Just what you would expect of a basic C&CC certified site. It has 5 hard standings with EHU and a grassed area opposite them for tents. The ground is gently sloping and being near the top of the hill it is a bit exposed but the views are good when the sun shines. Booking is advisable. Many people from Germany and the Netherlands came to the site, so if they have space I don't think not being a C&CC member is a problem.

There is a small wash block with 1 WC, wash hand basin and electric shower. 50p coin meter for electricity.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Daisy85 13 reviews from this member

Lovely wee site. Very peaceful with lovey views of the countryside. Owner is very friendly. Toilet and shower are clean. Near St Andrews and Cupar. This is a basic site but has everything you need. Hard standing pitches with electricity. All this for 12 pounds a night you can't really go wrong. Would definitely recommend this site to friends.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: CLAFRA 1 review from this member

We used this site on a recent trip to the Fife area. This is a small site with 5 pitches only. The views are outstanding and provide a very peaceful feel to the campsite. It is indeed only a small area consisting of a toilet, cold water tap and wash basin and an electric shower. To be honest these facilities are absolutely adequate and are in a good state of repair they are stocked with cleaning products so visitors can assist in keeping everything clean. The owners are very friendly and clearly knowledgeable about the area and gave sound advise regarding areas to visit and also about nearby places to dine. The price of £12 per night is in my opinion outstanding value considering you are about 4 miles from St Andrews. We believe this is the best value site in the area and we fully intend a return visit for an extended stay.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fox Hat 3 reviews from this member

I chose this little site because of it's location as a base for some stunning cycle rides. I want somewhere safe to pitch up for a while, a hot shower when I get back from a ride and a toilet block just the right distance from my tent, so Drumcarro is perfect.

The owners were very welcoming and with comment to the need for weedkiller in other reviews, it should be noted that it is a working organic farm and I like knowing that I'm not camping in reside of Roundup.

With it being such a small site, other campers are very respectful so it isn't the same noise lottery as others can be. The shower block is basic but it's functional and cleaned every day. On the odd occasion that it's not clean (usually because another resident of the campsite left it in a state) there are cleaning products so I gave it a quick wipe but it's a tiny campsite at £12 per night. What do you expect?

The Shetland pony is the cutest thing ever and as for the cobwebs, it's the countryside, it's where these things live!

I've just had an amazing 3 days cycling, exploring, beautiful sunsets and a lot of staring into space. Bliss!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hibby1950 1 review from this member

Hi I use this site on a regular basis, WHY well I remember years gone by where you could get into your little caravan and go to almost any site for a reasonable fee, but sadly these days are gone, this little CS site offers me all I want, it has good views of the country side, ok it has only one toilet and shower but with only 5 units on the site its ample, and it would remain clean if visitors to it cared to mop the floor after having a shower, mop and bucket sit outside door, anytime I have been on site the grass has always been cut, ok a very small amount of weeds on hard standing but owner is using weed killer to try and correct this, ten minutes takes you into town, and the fees are to me very reasonable, and the amps rating is excellent, I have been on bigger sites where you couldn't boil a kettle without blowing a fuse, overall a very good quite site if that's what your looking for.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: WOBBLE 22 reviews from this member

As the previous review states the toilet and shower are not the best, the hard standing is just about the width of the caravan and could do with a recover or some weed killer applied to them. The views around the site are good, as for getting supplies St Andrews is a short drive away with plenty of shops. This site could become a very good site with a little bit work

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mario snr 5 reviews from this member

A very quiet site with some wonderful views over the surrounding countryside very friendly owner who is more than happy to make your stay an enjoyable one. We had booked in for 11 nights but had to cut short our stay due to the grass area beneath our awning turning into a huge muddy bog with the mud oozing up through our interlocking flooring (it took us 5 hours to wash down and scrub with a broom) the way that the hardstanding pitches were set any rain that fell just collected at the edge of the pitches. We feel that the pitches need to be re done as they have become overgrown and are nothing like the pictures on the web site. We decided to use our own shower and bathroom as the one on site was very basic and not very clean if fact one lady stopping cleaned it herself one day, my wife refused to use it as to many bugs and spiders lived in it.

In a nutshell for the price of £12 p/n it is very cheap a lot of the people staying there are repeat customers but all state it is the price that keeps them coming back. Ideal for a couple of nights but any longer and the views lose there appeal

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

One night stop for us, we chose this site due to its closeness to St. Andrews - being less than 5 miles. The CS site is next to the farm and has glorious views over Fife. The hardstandings are gravel and the grass was well cut so even of a wet stay we found it easy to get on and off the pitch.

Toilet / shower is old but does its job - it could do with a freshen up. Water and ehu close to pitches, no motorhome disposal on site. The owner was really friendly and helpful and we felt really welcome. Plenty to do in the area - St. Andrews is lovely but the villages and beaches around Lower Largo and Anstruther are stunning.

It is a farm CS with basic facilities buit the price accurately reflects this. We would use again for sure - its peaceful and really close to the tourists spots so well worth the money.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Deifinbaker 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here in august weekend. Good views and nice pitch. Shower was clean for being outside. Toilet clean. The only thing was cob webs in the shower and toilet unit. Quite a build up. Could do with a brush down every few days. Staff were nice. I would be back. Good location. Close to st andrews. Well kept grounds. Great if you got kids as there are friendly horses in the field. Handy picnic table.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Vivien Saunders 4 reviews from this member

Found this site on UKCampsite.co.uk for my stay to go to St. Andrews. A really great site and would certainly be my choice next time I am in the area. Good access to toilet and shower and everything about the site was easy to use and clean and tidy. Very nice owners and helpful and friendly. I had two dogs with me. Very good facilities for them in next door fields and a real dog friendly area. Get a good map of where you are going. My confusion with the site is that there are three or four sites in the same area with similar names - so know which one you have chosen. Absolutely faultless. Easy access if you have a large van or are towing. The road is a minor road but obviously easily accessible for large farm machinery etc so no problems at all with that. Loved it and will be back.

Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Fife

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4506 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019