Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Craighead Caravan And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Peterhead > Craighead Caravan And Campsite Reviews

Craighead Caravan And Campsite
Cruden Bay
Peterhead
Aberdeenshire   (Browse area)
AB42 0PL
Tel: 01779 812251
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 32
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 9 Reviews
                7/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Beanzilla 1 review from this member

Out of season, the site was a little uncared for. Pitches were a bit scruffy with grass and weeds. Lighting slighty inadequate after dark. The roadways were grit which is taken into the toilet block by foot traffic making it crunch underfoot on the tiles and uncomfortable in bare feet at the shower. The site needs investment and tlc.

It was very quiet as there were few pitches occupied and the location gives good access to that corner of Scotland. The proprietor was pleasant and helpful.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LoopCdoo 1 review from this member

We have just spent two nights here as a family its so nice we are staying another.

The sight has a friendly feel busy but quiet with clean modern facilities.

The price per tent plus people means its a real gem with close access to a wonderful beach and shop.

This is somewhere I would gladly recommend.

Great venue clean tidy and friendly. With washing facilty laundry and a play area for the children

Date of Visit: December 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sycaddy83 2 reviews from this member

Arrived when it was dark and raining on the 1st of December. It didn't take long for presumably the owner, a friendly gentleman, to come down, book us in and assist us finding the best spot for our needs. Unfortunately with the rain, all the grounds were sodden and yes, we got a bit muddy. But since that first pitch, it's been sun ever since.

We paid £15 a night including a EHU (winter rates). The toilets are next to reception and both the mens and womens have a single shower cubicle though there is a large building block that I think are showers too but they were locked, probably because of the season. The women's toilet block had two toilet cubicles and a shower cubicle, all which were clean and warm. The shower had instructions hand written on a letter head next to the sink.

There is a small play park next to 'shower block'. There is also a cleaning area attached to the block for dishes etc when camping. The laundrette in situated between the mens and ladies toilets at reception. No idea on prices as we never used them.

The campsite is just on the outskirts of the picturesque village of Cruden Bay and literally a stone throw from the arterial route A90 between Peterhead (15mins), Ellon (15mins) and Aberdeen (40mins).

I've really loved my stay and I'm probably going to use it again on future visits to Aberdeenshire.

Would recommend to everyone and anyone.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Parahandy2014 1 review from this member

I'm thinking there are a diverse range of expectations here. The site fees, with electric showers and everything else is £16. The owner was friendly on arrival, toilets rustic but immaculate and totally functional. Owner offered us to park where we liked, the site was quiet and peaceful so would use again.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bennies 2 reviews from this member

We visited this site on spec after a few nights of wild camping and really enjoyed our one night stop over. We were warmly greeted and shown where we could pitch, think there was a dog barking when we were at reception but he was well away from us in the owners house. We opted for one of the grass pitches, there were several hard standing ones available. We used electric same as we have on other sites with no need for an additional card, we simply plugged in.

The site was very quiet but there were a few other camper vans and caravans on the site. We were able to set up our field kitchen and spent a pleasant evening barbecuing outside the van.

We didn't use the laundry facilities, the toilets were clean and there was no fee for the showers. The set up to run the ladies shower was a bit complicated but there were clear instructions on how to work it. We didn't have children with us, but there was a playground on site.

The nearby village has beautiful beaches and a lovely working harbour. We didn't use any of the shops or hotels as we had everything we needed.

We would visit this site again

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Laings5 7 reviews from this member

We camped for 2 weeks in July with our 4 children. The camp site was quiet, besides those who live on the site. The lady owner wasn't too friendly on arrival & we were greeted by a snarling dog.

Facilities are basic & a bit outdated. 20p to use showers for approx 20 mins and up to £3 for washing machine & £4 for tumble dryer. Small play area for kids with sand pit.

All pitches are hard standing and fairly level. Electric hook-up was via card which was kindly topped up for us. Chemical toilet disposal on site, pretty basic.

Cruden Bay and surrounding areas are lovely, Cruden has a small shop with the basics. The harbour & beach are wonderful and very clean. There is a little cafe at the harbour serving warm food and drinks.

There is a golf course, our companions played a round of golf and were thoroughly impressed with it - one of the best they had played. The town of Peterhead isn't too far away and have all the usual shops.

Campsites in Peterhead and Mintlaw definitely look a lot better (but they charge an extra £7 a day for chemical disposal, so a bit pricey) - and as the only campsite in the area you would think Craighead would do some improvements.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: RICHOLIVER1 2 reviews from this member

Very nice site, quiet

Stayed for 9 days. Very clean very cheap at £270 for the week

Shops very close to site.

Cruden bay is less then a mile away

Bus Stop.

In cruden bay a nice pub which serves over 100 different whiskeys, child friendly and shop, chemist, plus a Chinese take away which is very nice

Very friendly village

Good site for walkers

Close to the harbour

Golf course nearby as well

All in all a very good site

Would love to stay again

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona W 180 reviews from this member

The beach and the golf course at Cruden Bay are fantastic. This site is not, I do not recommend staying here. This is *not because it operates less as a campsite and more as temporary accommodation for single guys working locally - they leave the caravans very quietly early in the morning. We had planned to stay two nights but made it one because it was no pleasure staying here - a chilly welcome (the telephone manner prior to our arrival was unwelcoming, and yes, the barking alsation guard dog is still there); not within sight or safe walking of the Cruden Bay views shown on the front of their leaflet; the floors in both toilet blocks hadn't been swept or washed in ages so we weren't tempted to shower; exposed to winds from all directions; and noisy oil rig helicopters fly overhead from early hours. When I asked where the dog walk was (the CCC handbook has the 'dedicated dog walk' symbol), I was told to walk the dog on the verge of the road outside which wasn't acceptable but it was too late to find another site. One change since the earlier review: hardstands for motorhomes & new EHUs, but the owner activates the EHU with a card, so I assume you'd get no electric if you can't find the owner on arrival. And it's over priced: the same cost as far better sites within an hour's drive.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Capt Lightning 41 reviews from this member

Craighead is located about 1 mile from the rather picturesque village of Cruden Bay. In the days of the railway, it was a popular holiday destination, but it is much quieter now. It does however boast a links golf course (regarded as one of the top 100 in the world) and a lovely curving beach. Bram Stoker was a regular visitor and above the village is the remains of Slains castle - reputed to be his inspiration for Count Dracula's castle.

As for the camp site. I arrived having booked for two nights to find the reception deserted. I rang the bell and was greeted by a huge Alsatian dog which snarled and bared its teeth at me. The dog was chased off by the owner who could not understand my disquiet at the greeting I had received. It was obvious that my reservation had not been noted, but no problem - the site was very quiet.

Along the potholed site road to the unmarked touring pitches which were all on grass - but at least it was well tended and well drained. All pitches are pretty level and have electric hook-up.

There are two small toilet blocks, both of which were functional, but 'rough and ready'. The laundry facilities were a bit better, but birds roosted above the dishwashing area and left their droppings all over the sinks - not nice!

There is a small, fairly good children's' play area with climbing frame and sandpit.

Overall, the site was disappointing which is a pity given its location close to Cruden bay.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Aberdeenshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4235 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019