Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Craighead Caravan And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Peterhead > Craighead Caravan And Campsite > Reviews

Craighead Caravan And Campsite
Cruden Bay
Peterhead
Aberdeenshire   (Browse area)
AB42 0PL
Tel: 01779 812251
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 32
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 12 Reviews
                7/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Essexe 1 review from this member

 This is a Lido site which in itself is good.

However we were put on a pitch which was like a building site, we asked for a move which they duly allowed us to do.

However again, we retired to bed only to be kept awake untill 11. 45 by young (5 up) and teenage children running riot along with two adult women.

This is not a peaceful site.

They are carrying out extensive extension work to get more static vans on.

For these reasons I would NOT stay here again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Andyw7 1 review from this member

 Stayed for one night during a cycling trip down the east coast from wick to Newcastle.

Reception was a little frosty despite being prebooked. Cost reasonable but have paid less for better facilities.

Pitch okay but toilet block leaves a lot to be desired.

Shared males and female.

Toilets and showers In the same room. Very damp. There are separate facilities near reception which are better but could still do with a comprehensive make over 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Katepa 1 review from this member

 Just right! Lovely and quiet with loads of space and privacy.

Nice welcome and not verbally inundated with rules - ie walk with dog on lead and pick up after dog etc. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Beanzilla 1 review from this member

 Out of season, the site was a little uncared for. Pitches were a bit scruffy with grass and weeds. Lighting slighty inadequate after dark. The roadways were grit which is taken into the toilet block by foot traffic making it crunch underfoot on the tiles and uncomfortable in bare feet at the shower. The site needs investment and tlc.

It was very quiet as there were few pitches occupied and the location gives good access to that corner of Scotland. The proprietor was pleasant and helpful. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LoopCdoo 1 review from this member

 We have just spent two nights here as a family its so nice we are staying another.

The sight has a friendly feel busy but quiet with clean modern facilities.

The price per tent plus people means its a real gem with close access to a wonderful beach and shop.

This is somewhere I would gladly recommend.

Great venue clean tidy and friendly. With washing facilty laundry and a play area for the children 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: December 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Sycaddy83 2 reviews from this member

 Arrived when it was dark and raining on the 1st of December. It didn't take long for presumably the owner, a friendly gentleman, to come down, book us in and assist us finding the best spot for our needs. Unfortunately with the rain, all the grounds were sodden and yes, we got a bit muddy. But since that first pitch, it's been sun ever since.

We paid 15 a night including a EHU (winter rates). The toilets are next to reception and both the mens and womens have a single shower cubicle though there is a large building block that I think are showers too but they were locked, probably because of the season. The women's toilet block had two toilet cubicles and a shower cubicle, all which were clean and warm. The shower had instructions hand written on a letter head next to the sink.

There is a small play park next to 'shower block'. There is also a cleaning area attached to the block for dishes etc when camping. The laundrette in situated between the mens and ladies toilets at reception. No idea on prices as we never used them.

The campsite is just on the outskirts of the picturesque village of Cruden Bay and literally a stone throw from the arterial route A90 between Peterhead (15mins), Ellon (15mins) and Aberdeen (40mins).

I've really loved my stay and I'm probably going to use it again on future visits to Aberdeenshire.

Would recommend to everyone and anyone. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Parahandy2014 1 review from this member

 I'm thinking there are a diverse range of expectations here. The site fees, with electric showers and everything else is 16. The owner was friendly on arrival, toilets rustic but immaculate and totally functional. Owner offered us to park where we liked, the site was quiet and peaceful so would use again. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bennies 2 reviews from this member

 We visited this site on spec after a few nights of wild camping and really enjoyed our one night stop over. We were warmly greeted and shown where we could pitch, think there was a dog barking when we were at reception but he was well away from us in the owners house. We opted for one of the grass pitches, there were several hard standing ones available. We used electric same as we have on other sites with no need for an additional card, we simply plugged in.

The site was very quiet but there were a few other camper vans and caravans on the site. We were able to set up our field kitchen and spent a pleasant evening barbecuing outside the van.

We didn't use the laundry facilities, the toilets were clean and there was no fee for the showers. The set up to run the ladies shower was a bit complicated but there were clear instructions on how to work it. We didn't have children with us, but there was a playground on site.

The nearby village has beautiful beaches and a lovely working harbour. We didn't use any of the shops or hotels as we had everything we needed.

We would visit this site again 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Laings5 7 reviews from this member

 We camped for 2 weeks in July with our 4 children. The camp site was quiet, besides those who live on the site. The lady owner wasn't too friendly on arrival & we were greeted by a snarling dog.

Facilities are basic & a bit outdated. 20p to use showers for approx 20 mins and up to 3 for washing machine & 4 for tumble dryer. Small play area for kids with sand pit.

All pitches are hard standing and fairly level. Electric hook-up was via card which was kindly topped up for us. Chemical toilet disposal on site, pretty basic.

Cruden Bay and surrounding areas are lovely, Cruden has a small shop with the basics. The harbour & beach are wonderful and very clean. There is a little cafe at the harbour serving warm food and drinks.

There is a golf course, our companions played a round of golf and were thoroughly impressed with it - one of the best they had played. The town of Peterhead isn't too far away and have all the usual shops.

Campsites in Peterhead and Mintlaw definitely look a lot better (but they charge an extra 7 a day for chemical disposal, so a bit pricey) - and as the only campsite in the area you would think Craighead would do some improvements. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: RICHOLIVER1 2 reviews from this member

 Very nice site, quiet

Stayed for 9 days. Very clean very cheap at 270 for the week

Shops very close to site.

Cruden bay is less then a mile away

Bus Stop.

In cruden bay a nice pub which serves over 100 different whiskeys, child friendly and shop, chemist, plus a Chinese take away which is very nice

Very friendly village

Good site for walkers

Close to the harbour

Golf course nearby as well

All in all a very good site

Would love to stay again 


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Craighead Caravan And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Craighead Caravan And Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Craighead Caravan And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Peterhead      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Aberdeenshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


51190 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement