Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ashcombe Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Somerset > Glastonbury > Ashcombe Farm Campsite > Reviews

CLOSED: Ashcombe Farm Campsite
Steanbow
West Pennard
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 17 Reviews
                8/10 from 17 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: December 2023 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site is now permanently closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Mrwhippy1954 45 reviews from this member

 Stayed when I was going to the Pilton Party at the Glastonbury Festival site. It couldn't be any handier, only just over a mile away.

As per previous reviews stated the owners are really friendly. Yes, the campsite which they have recently took over needs modernisation which they know, but it is clean and tidy and relatively inexpensive.

Absolutely wonderful for dog owners with loads of footpaths just outside the site. Especially if you don't mind hills. You can use footpaths right through the festival site.

Being in the back field there was no traffic noise. 


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Reapug 1 review from this member

 Great little find, super friendly and helpful owners. The only campsite we have visited that have made our little dogs feel at home.

Lovely warm showers, clean toilets. Microwave and fridge freezer available to use.

A nice big secure dog walking field.

Will be visiting again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: HARRY BATTY 3 reviews from this member

 Nice site facilities very clean and well organised and tidy

Bus every 2 hrs mid week to Glastonbury flag it down in the road outside

Some road noise but not bad

Bring a torch as Campsite is not lit other than the toilet block

Very reasonable prices

Pub across the road from site but did not use it

Large field for dog walk 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kevin smith 21 3 reviews from this member

 We have returned to this site again

Lovely lady Carole

Very helpful

Showers and toilets open lovely walks for the dog

Went into stree on the bus picked up from outside the site 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kevin smith 21 3 reviews from this member

 Great time wonderful welcome from Carol. We have booked again in August for six days for another visit.

Bus stop to Street, zshepton Mallet, Glastonbury outside the entrance.

Lots of footpaths available for walking dogs. Everyone very helpful.

Peaceful and the owner was very nice

Toilet and showers opened 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Ratty 322 reviews from this member

 I was looking for somewhere near Glastonbury that offered hard standings, due to poor weather, and I needed a shower after the last site did not have any, so this site appeared in my search on here and I sent an enquiry.

The owner was quick to respond and let me know the prices and told me they had space. I confirmed and headed up.

The site is easy to find and is directly off the main road into Glastonbury. It is a fairly busy road, however the house and barns are blocking the road from the site which helps dampen the noise. I was in a campervan, so it did not affect me at all, but in a tent you may hear road noise.

Check in was quick and friendly and I duly paid my £13 for one night for a campervan, me and my dog with electric hookup. I f I had gone non hookup it would have been £8 for the night, what a bargain.

Pitches are either grass or hard standing, and I went for hard standing due to the weather and hooked up. Nice spacious pitch and perfect for what I needed, there was grass to the side if I had wanted to put up the awning, but decided against it as it was just one night.

Facilities are great and consist of chemical disposal, recycling, fresh water, two toilets and one shower in the mens, presume the same in the ladies, and two communal showers. All were very clean and secure and well lit at night. There was also a washing you sink and fridge / freezer for campers to use. They had some info leaflets on the area too.

Unfortunately the pub across the road, The Apple Tree Inn, has now closed their doors, as from early Jan 2020. Bit gutted as I fancied a pint and a bite to eat, but not to worry. The road is busy, but it is walkable and about 4 miles into Glastonbury.

Glastonbury is awesome and very chilled / hippy like with lots of quirky shops and of course the normal shops, supermarkets on offer.

The area in general has loads to see and do and I for one will be back when needed a base for the area. A great site, well done all. 


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Moose6x6 2 reviews from this member

 The site was tidy, toilet block and showers were also clean and the free showers were hot.

The dog walk field was great, as it was secure and fine to let the dogs run about in.

It was quiet that week and we were the only tourer for the week, with a few others for a night or two and a few longer term stayers.

The pub over the road was friendly and did great food. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Severina12 4 reviews from this member

 Think we were an afterthought!

We arrived to be shown to a grass spot with a power extension lead hanging over a fence and running from the home on the main site. We got no welcome information or told where facilities were. We had to work this out.

Facilities were very basic. There were a handful of proper hard standing pitches with electric and other numbered pitches, but not ours. Our location so near to the house, felt rather exposed as we endured tractors driving right past our pitch, cars turning almost under our awning and taxis being cleaned a few feet from us.

The first night our nearest neighbours decided to start a party with music at 1am, even though the site rules state no music after 11pm. The party went on for some time, so we had to ask them to stop the noise. They eventually went quiet. I reported this to the owner by phone, whilst we were on site and they were not interested, just saying there is a 11pm curfew and hung up on me.

The site is close to the Glastonbury festival site, but you have to walk along grass verges along a fast road to get there. At times it felt quite dangerous.

Our second night was better with the noisy neighbours leaving. The pub across the way had a function on which was audible until midnight. Our location on site was close to the busy main road, so there was traffic noise most of the time.

It was not the peaceful site we expected, the owners were not very helpful and we seemed to have paid the going rate on site for a pitch that wasnít actually a pitch. I think they had overbooked. I canít see us going back. It was pretty grim. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Crankbender 1 review from this member

 We had 5 nights at Ashcombe Farm from 14th -19th Sept 2016. Carol was very helpful and the pitches are all pan flat, generous and well groomed. The toilets and showers are clean but very basic.

Nice pub across the road from the site that does food.

Fantastic position for the Glastonbury festival

The site is quite close to the road that joins Glastonbury to Shepton Mallet and we found the noise from the road an issue if you like it nice and quiet.

Also, the next field has residential campers in tourers and we did have to ask Carol to ask them to reduce the music booming through the fence at night on one occasion.

All in all, a nice site but the road noise was an issue 


Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!


All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Great Caravan, Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 06/09 to 08/09

Held in Harrogate - a huge array of products on show. Industry leading manufacturers of holiday homes, caravans, motorhomes and tourers, with hundreds of different models on show. Win Two tickets and £500 to spend at the Show

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4497 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement