Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Butlins Skegness

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Ingoldmells > Butlins Skegness Reviews

Butlins Skegness
Chapel St Leonards Road
Ingoldmells
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
PE25 1NJ
Tel: 01754 762311
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 26 Reviews
                7/10 from 26 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ddeveritt 11 reviews from this member

 Please avoid this site. This has to be the worse by far site ive ever had the misfortune to stay on. On arrival was given a card at the gate and told to pitch between 1 and 20 this sounds good if they were numbered. The numbers were either faded or missing and could not be seen unless you walked the pitch. On quessing we pitched up on long grass uneven and waterlogged. First morning took three girls for a shower one baby to be met at the door by 2 inches of water with all sorts of debris floating in it. Took them back to mh and washed them in a bucket. Went to reception to complain was told it had already been reported that's it not another word. Next morning the same. Paid nearly 180. 00 hot two nights couldn't have a shower. This site isn't worth 10. 00 a night should be free. Absolute tip. Didn't see anyone from going on to comeimg out. Choose this site at your own peril. Complaint lodged at head office expect nothing. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Harry135 1 review from this member

 As previously describe the Butlins Touring Site is still as of our visit week commencing 09/06/2016 very basic.

The grass pitches are poorly mown, there is a small concrete path to give access towards side habitation door. The pitches are quite small although there is space for an awning. ( This was not a major issue since the site was no where near full. ) The elsan point, communal sink, showers and toilets were all usable but I would describe them as minimal by modern standards. ( I believe they would struggle to be adequate if the site was busy. )

In short this site in my opinion can only be recommended if you are requiring 24hrs access to the main Butlins theme park site. If you are then it's worthwhile to have easy access to the adjacent facilities and attractions. If not then compared with normal sites you may well be disappointed. We stayed four nights in order to be with family and grand daughters at a cost of 152. My site location and child friendliness score are based on the access to the main site not the Touring Park. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dylsam 15 reviews from this member

 Just spent 3nights at this site and only got 1complaint. There are 48pitches all these have to share 1toilet/shower block. 3 toilets and 3showers with4handbasins is not really enough when the site is full, and it was very nearly full while we were there, in fact it was full from Sat because we could not get in. The entertainment facilities were very good but for 75 per night they should be! 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: NottsP 4 reviews from this member

 Bit hard to fully judge this one - the site is fairly basic, but when including entry to Butlins, the price is pretty fair. We had planned to go to Butlins for a couple of nights, then go to another touring park for a few days, assuming there would be a big premium for Butlins. However, we paid 28 a night (term-time weeknight), which included elec hook up and awning - pluys entry for all four of us to Butlins (which would be 45 if we ewent as day visitors). When pricing up other sites, we would have been paying 23-25 a night anyway, so we just did five nights here - you get the passes if needed, but are close to both Ingoldmells and Skegness if you fancy a change of environment.

So, the good -

- big pitches - plenty of room

- loads of space for kids to play

- entry to Butlins for essential a few quid premium

- friendly site staff who wanted to help

But, the bad -

- Toilet & shower blocks a bit primitive. They were warm, and we never needed to queue, but they did get mucky - urinals had a leak etc. Nothing dramatic, but just needing some refreshing.

- Only one pot wash sink - we did have to queue for that

- Waste water facilities really need work

All in all, you'll go to sites with far worse facilities, and get packed in more. Some folk will think they should be getting more for their cash - if the 28 was just for the camping they'd be right, but the pass through is what you are paying for (this doies jump to 65 a night weekends and schools holidays - pricey, but still vast savings on doing the park in a static or apartments).

If was just reviewing on the site itself, it'd get a 6 out of 10, but seems churlish to do so. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cheryl.mark 91 reviews from this member

 This is my second review of this site as you will see we returned after an excellent holiday last year. How different this holiday was from last years?? The touring site was fine apart from the strong smell of drains that wafted into our awning everyday. Butlins itself was full to capacity and they weren't happy with being full of residential guests they opened their doors to day visitors for yet more money! The place was manic, queues everywhere we queued to go into the pool everyday and then couldn't find a changing room or locker! It was mental, I've never seen so many people in my life! Diversity were on Sunday at 3pm and 5 pm, people were queuing 3 hours before the shows! fair enough they didn't allow day visitors into these shows but it all really got on my nerves and was very stressful.

The holiday was going ok til Weds when my daughter started being poorly with a high temp, I tried to get her into a local GP and couldn't get in, she was so ill we stayed inside for 3 days and when we got home I took her to our emergency GP where she was diagnosed with a severe ear infection, I was also very ill with tonsilitus both bacterial infections which the GP asked me had we been abroad in pools! I cant say we picked these infections up from there but looking at the amount of people going in and most didn't bother to shower before they went into the pool probably because there were no showers free it was so busy! It was one of the worst holidays we have had in the UK and I've been to Butlins lots of times over the years. This experience has really put me off and the price we paid was very high considering we couldn't get into half the shows etc unless we wanted to stand up in a stuffy hot room. You can pay some rip off price to get fast track tickets into the shows/bars this is another way of extorting money out of us!

I would be very reluctant to return to a Butlins after the week we had and I certainly wouldn't go again in peak times. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cheryl.mark 91 reviews from this member

 This is the first time we have stayed here in our own caravan as we have always stayed on the opposite side in the apartments. We were pleasantly surprised with the amount of open space around us and fields. This side of the site is a lot quieter, there are 43 pitches in use, the rest are not being used, none of the pitches are near the main road so its lovely and quiet. The showers and toilet block are close to the pitches and they were clean and well maintained throughout our stay. The grass was constantly being mowed. The pitches are not all service but water points are close by.

We had a fab week at Butlins and were really impressed with the pool complex, the outside rapids were great and we loved the water slides, the water temperature was just right in all the pools, very clean and impressive pool, only negative is they close at 5pm and only have Mondays late opening til 9pm.

Butlins itself has loads going on, in fact we didn't fit it all in as there's so much to do, but, the weather was so nice we stayed outdoors most of the time. We didn't eat on site. The entertainment is the usual tribute acts, illusionists and we even saw a Panto which was very well done. We didn't want to leave we had such a good time and would take our own van again as we liked it on that side of the park.

We had a day out at Fantasy Island just down the road as the teenagers wanted the big roller coasters, reasonable prices at 22 for a wristband and 11 for younger kids, we spent the full day there and it was really good.

You can bike ride into Skegness from Butlins, go up to the beach from Butlins and cycle as far as the seaview pub then turn right and foillow the cycle path into Skegness, takes about 45 mins to get there and easy for young children with hardly any traffic to contend with.

All in all we had a fantastic week and will be returning again next year. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Greenhill 17 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for Spring Harvest in the Easter Holidays. There are only about 40 touring pitches yet a lot more space. We overlooked the space which meant loads of safe space for play football and ride bikes. Having read other reviews I think Butlins have refurbed the single toilet block, clean and nicely decorated. We tended to use our caravan or the pool showers for hair washing. My husband said the showers were too hot for our kids - the pool ones were lovely.

Butlins isn't our usual cup of tea and we only went because of the Spring Harvest event however Butlins have obviously invested heavily. It's obvious as you walk round the site to see how far they have got with the refurb, though there are still parts which is the Butlins I remember from years ago. The new water world is superb. Lots of good ball game courts on the caravan village side of the site. I have to say we were pleasantly surprised, Butlins have pulled their socks up since we last went 16yrs ago! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Stuart6867 11 reviews from this member

 We stopped here for 2 nights as a break whilst touring around. Site is basic as are the amenities which would be stretched if it was busy. Toilet block could do with refurbishment as definitely a forgotten part of the Butlins experience.

Pitches are decent in size although they seemed to group everyone together even though not many in use. It is a 10 min walk to the main site which is not bad.

Good value as pitch price includes family entrance to all the Butlins facilities but is not a site we would rush to return to 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mummynorfolk 3 reviews from this member

 We have stayed here lots of times in our own van and also stayed in Butlins accommodation. The touring site is on the opposite side of the road to Butlins main camp and you access it via the underpass. The activities included on site are great. Free swimming- new pool is fantastic- kids went in it everyday. There is free sports: tennis, football, volleyball, snooker to name a few, funfair rides, bob the builder rides, indoor multi level soft play area, free indoor tots town and a nursery (nursery is 3 per hour for ages 6m-5yrs), 2 outdoor play areas PLUS all shows are free (although prepare to queue 45+mins for venue to open to get a decent seat). There is direct beach access to a lively soft sand beach with deckchair hire and where you usually find an ice cream van and bouncy castles which you do have to pay for.

The touring site is large and pitches are spacious. The toilets and showers are not great but we usually use our caravan toilet and use the showers in Splash when we have been swimming. It is a little walk to the main activities on site but once there you probably wont go back to your caravan until late evening anyway! The campsite only accepts tourers NO tents.

The site is near to Fantasy Island rides and market and not too far from Skegness sea front although the traffic can be very heavy at peak times. There are buses and taxis available right outside Butlins main entrance. The site can be expensive if you go during school holidays and as a family of 5 we pay 67 per night during the summer but it does represent great value for all my kids get out of it. WE LOVE BUTLINS! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Barnabys 29 reviews from this member

 We stay here 3 times a year for the bank holidays and was told when I booked that it was fully booked on the Friday, which when I stay I have previously arrived Fri & left on Mon.

Upon arrival on the Sat it was clear that there was loads of empty pitches not impressed. After speaking to the very friendly warden he said no one had left and only 5 more vans were booked in for the Saturday so why they said it was fully booked is beyond me.

This year they have cut the available pitches to around 45 and removed the porta cabin that housed the other toilets & showers.

The brick toilet/shower block remains and I am pleased to see that they are much improved and slightly modernised internally having a heater on and warm showers.

I will return as although they have put the price up by a 10 this year it is still reasonable value 


Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Butlins Skegness child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Does Butlins Skegness have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Butlins Skegness?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Butlins Skegness dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ingoldmells      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5589 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement