Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wild Slack Farm Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Whitby > Wild Slack Farm Caravan Site > Reviews

Wild Slack Farm Caravan Site
Lealholm
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO21 2AW
Tel: 01947 897420
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 CAMC Members Only
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 28 Reviews
                9/10 from 28 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Lattytatty 10 reviews from this member

 Access/Egress:

Following advice from a previous review, we took the second entrance to Lealholm (coming from Whitby direction). This was fine, thankfully we didn't pass any traffic coming in the opposite direction on the final stretch. Easy pull into the site to then wait for pitching information from the host.

Check in:

Martin was already down the field pitching someone else when we arrived. Listen to Martin, he's a wise man who knows his campsite. He will direct you into the best position for your van/the view/the slope of the land.

Toilets and showers:

Two separate toilets with a sink and two separate showers, token operated. We bought six tokens for 5. Plenty of hot water. The facilities were always clean during our stay.

A washing machine is also housed in the lower facilities building.

Just outside this there are two pot washing sinks (with hot water) and the household waste and recycling bins. The chemical waste was also in this area.

Pitch:

This is a CAMC cl site but, there are more pitches. I believe the cl site is in a walled area with private pitches in the larger lower field. We were in the main field. The land is sloping but, as mentioned previously, you will be given advice on the best way to pitch. The pitches are very generous. Our view was gorgeous.

There is a gate into the woods which we were able to walk our dog in off lead. This is the route we took to walk into Lealholm (through the wood, diagonally through the field, left when you get to the road).

Food and drink:

Martin has a great vending machine on site which is stocked with cuts of meat, bacon, burgers and sausages - all from his own livestock. I would really recommend using this, the lamb burgers we had were amazing (and we bought sausages home to have later!).

There is a village shop in Lealholm (cash only when we went) and The Board Inn which does food, but we never tried this.

To do in the area:

We got the train from Lealholm to Whitby one day, it's only a 15/20 minute walk to the station. Stay at the back of the train on the return journey - we found out the hard way that the doors in the front carriages don't open! We ended up walking back from Danby, thankfully the weather was kind and the views were beautiful - the teenagers were a bit whingy though!

The next day we did an 8 mile circular walk which took us through Glaisdale. We visited The Tea Garden for a refreshment stop. Really recommend this and follow it with a walk round the beautiful garden.

Overview:

Wonderful, tranquil site with very friendly and helpful owners. Martin will do all he can to make your stay a positive and memorable experience. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Alison 1 review from this member

 Absolutely amazing site !

Large pitches and nature on your doorstep whats not to like !

Lealholm is a beautiful village, there is a railway station to Whitby.

Martin and Aiden are great hosts ! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: P and M 12 reviews from this member

 All I can do is emphasise what a great place this is. Met by Martin and shown to pitch. Views are fabulous.
We spent seven nights here, a very quiet site although next to the road it never spoilt our visit. Toilet and shower facilities were spotless. Token for shower, last six minutes plenty of hot water.

Lovely walk to village. And ideally situated to visit all the coastal towns.

We will definitely come back here. For the many that will come here just a note about the approach road. If you are coming from the Whitby area do not take the first turn that is signposted Lealholm.

Go further up and take the second turn that appears opposite a house on right. Still tight with bends but not as bad. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: CharliesAngel083 1 review from this member

 Wow what a gem of a place, the scenery is beautiful,

The owner of the site is so friendly, and very keen to help, very laid back and chilled.

Facilities basic but clean.

Would definitely go back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Mick19 1 review from this member

 What beautiful views. I saw the owners son who was very helpful indeed.

I only had two nights there, so I will definitely visit again.

It's good value for money without a doubt, I was travelling alone so had no children with me, but I'm sure its child friendly. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Henryfox 12 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a nine day visit to this charming site. We were shown to our pitch & advised how to pitch to get the best view & were pleased to see how level the pitch was. The toilets & showers are very charming & so in keeping with the site. The showers cost 1 and last 6mins, we never had to wait to use the two toilets or showers.

The owners are very welcoming & friendly & full of historical stories of the area. The views from the site are fantastic & the sunsets are just amazing. There is very good phone & TV signal & the owners also provide a small collection of DVDs for you to watch. We thought this was a great idea & as was the tourist information leaflets.

The village pub is very friendly & serves fantastic food, but you do have to book in advance.

This is a perfect base for exploring the area. We walked every day & even though the weather wasn't kind we found the ground dried very quickly so never came home muddy. We found the footpaths were all well signposted. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Woodies3 4 reviews from this member

 A lovely site on a working farm on the North York Moors. We pitched in the lower field which was slightly sloping and quite muddy and wished that we had chosen the 'CL' area closer to the farm, which had hard standings and was more organised.

Shower and toilet facilities were good and clean. Friendly owners with eggs and meats for sale. Quite a steep approach into Lealholm with a caravan, but we didn't have any problems arriving or leaving.

There is a lovely woodland walk from the site. Would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Shuftie 2 reviews from this member

 A really lovely, quiet farm campsite. The owners were relaxed, warm & welcoming. The site is very clean and the farm is charming. The views are absolutely stunning and there was a friendly vibe with the other campers.

Access was good. The roads into Lealholm are steep in places (max 1 in 10) but typical of the North Yorks moors and our LWB Ducatto MH coped well. The toilet blocks are simple but typical of many farm sites. They are perfectly clean & look recently fitted out.

The location is great for walking and cycling if you have strong legs! The local villages have good shops. There is a lovely, safe stream for children to paddle in.

The postcode worked perfectly in our garmin satnav.

We really enjoyed out short visit and shall return. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Susanccochrane 14 reviews from this member

 We booked this as a last minute holiday and we were not disappointed! There are two pitching areas, one is the CL, but there is also a larger field for other caravans.

The site is sloping, and the caravans are pitched to give the best view across to Fryup Dale.

Facilities are basic, there are two toilets and two showers which are in converted farm buildings, which we thought fitted in with the landscape and were appropriate. If you want endless melamine this isn't for you, but the facilities were spotless. There is also an outside sink and a laundry room and an information hut.

The site appeared to be full but we didn't feel the facilities were over stretched.

The owners are around to see how everyone is getting on and and provided us with an information leaflet which was very helpful.

Great site for walking, and the village pub is only a mile away, which we found was in walking distance.

There is a shop in the village and a good Coop in nearby Castleton which is open until 10. Good O2 and EE reception.

All in all a very friendly site-book early! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: GarnetLiz 18 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our second visit to this site. I'd like to add a few things that I didn't know last time we went:

1. A fish and chip van visited the site on Tuesday night. Very reasonable prices too, I regret that we'd already eaten. (I don't know if this happens all year or just during summer holidays).

2. We did a lovely walk, take the train to Danby (thus avoiding the crowded Whitby-bound train in the morning) and follow the Esk Valley walk back, across the heather moors via Danby Beacon.

3. The Board Inn in Lealholm was fully booked for meals when we went (school summer holidays). Book before you leave home! (We went in at about 11 am hoping to book for that night).

4. If you have an awning/tent take rock pegs for the top field. 


Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wild Slack Farm Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wild Slack Farm Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Wild Slack Farm Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2986 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement