Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Westmoor Farm Glamping And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Oxfordshire > Bampton > Westmoor Farm Glamping And Camping > Reviews

Westmoor Farm Glamping And Camping
Westmoor Farm
Buckland Road
Bampton
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX18 2AA
Tel: 07977 420595  or  01993 851364
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: Camping, Yurt, cabins, bell tents
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 32 Reviews
                8/10 from 32 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Alisonp85 7 reviews from this member

 We visited this site as two adult couples and 2 children under 5.

It was such a lovely campsite, easy to find, the kids loved the pay area.

Very flexible and easy going site owners with the option to bring what you like with you and also have the option of a free fire pit which we took full advantage of.

Itís a very eco friendly site and whilst I wasnít quite brave enough to try the showers, they looked clean and spacious.

Very well organised and would 100% consider returning 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Catti4 1 review from this member

 Stayed with my friend and our two young boys. Campsite was lovely with on site activities for the children to play. They enjoyed the play park and particularly the karts and had fund riding them.

Not too keen on the toilet facility and felt this was a very dated part of the campsite. We went during a really hot weekend and the smell was just awful and unpleasant. I think it could really do with an upgrade. It was also not very private with holes in the wooden frame so felt on show! So was very happy to get home and use a working toilet. But the washing up facility was very good.

I would stay here again if the they installed a proper toilet block. 


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Johno2 1 review from this member

 The site has eco friendly facilities that some may find unusual but they are very easy to use and we found them to be surprisingly pleasant.

The hot water ran our in the solar/eco shower but not really surprising given the cold grey and wet weather we experienced.

The children's play ground and pedal go carts would provide hours of fun for a family group with young children and the deer walking through the campsite were a lovely sight to watch.

We will return to the site at some point when we next need to stay in the area. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Lady della 1 review from this member

 What can I say. We loved every minute of our stay from start to finish

This campsite is a hidden gem in Oxfordshire we Throughly enjoy walks along the Thames footpath which is under a mile away and a 3 minute drive

Or 20min walk to the local pub/restaurant. 20min drive to the lovely historic market town witney. The new management was very welcoming and gave us various choices to pitch on.

Cant wait to go again 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: GreenBeans 1 review from this member

 Past it's best. We stayed in our tent with our 3 kids just for a night. The site doesn't seem to have been reviewed for a while, and to be honest we found it all a bit strange. Everything seemed run down.

No turkeys or chickens that we could see or hear, just 3 harmlessly inquisitive horses roaming around and leaving some piles of horse stuff behind. Plus a very nice friendly dog.

The website makes the yurts and cabins look nice but in reality they look like they have been abandoned many months ago, with bedding and groceries lying all around the place, broken pieces of furniture etc. Marie Celeste.

We are fine with compost toilets but maybe these need some maintenance, if it was busy (which it wasn't, just 2 other groups) these may have been a problem.

There is a good view out of the toilets so not for shy people. The fire pits are cut down barrels on legs, all rusted through with holes in. We had quite a lot of fun though, we had our tent in the trees and sat out on the narrow grass strip, if it ever got busy I can imagine things getting logistically tricky as the whole site is narrow with a strip of woods in the middle so access isn't good and this probably counts against it.

Not sure how busy it gets, we got earwigs out of the water tap when we filled our bottles.

The site seems to have been well set up in the past and probably could be again, but we nicknamed it Turkey Freak as it was all a bit spookily abandoned!

We had called ahead to book, and we were left to it which was fine, the owner popped across in the morning. A different and memorable camping experience. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Riccles 1 review from this member

 The owners were away but neighbour Dave was looking after things and he could not have been more helpful and kind. The site has an unusual location, partly among trees, but we ended up in the orchard near the house, a perfect little patch which we had to ourselves.

The facilities were a bit lacking - sawdust urinals were OK but the toilets were generally unappealing, with one cubicle bizarrely having large heart shaped holes cut into the door, limiting privacy. Carterton Leisure Centre beckoned when time came for a shower.

There also appears to be only one sink for all purposes for the whole site. Don't pitch by the pump house (the hut at the far end of the site) as there is a knocking sound when anyone runs water.

There were a number of families all having a great time on this quiet and safe site, but noise levels were fine come bedtime.

Overall a refreshing change from the big institutionalised sites, but it may be too rustic for some. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Oxnewt 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site that we will be coming back to!

I've just had a great weekend at Turkey Creek campsite. I organised a group of 5 families with under 5's, most of whom had never camped with their children before. I wanted somewhere free-and-easy that allowed fires where the kids could have a 'mini adventure' and the adults could take it easy - and we struck gold with this site.

The welcome was warm and relaxed and as this was a weekend in school time the site was quiet and I was shown to our allocated spot and told to pitch everyone wherever we like.

There is an open paddock available (good for larger groups) or you can pitch amongst the trees in a copse which we did and it's a lovely natural-feeling setting giving both shade and wind/rain protection for your tents.

We had brought a 14ft event shelter for communal shade/rain protection which was no issue, although note that the site do now make a charge for gazebos/shelters. As a group booking we were kindly given one complimentary bag of logs and a dozen fresh eggs - most welcome!

The logs available on site were reasonably priced and nice and dry, although they don't provide separate kindling. However, they do have a manual log splitter you can use to make your own which you'll be shown how to use if you need help.

We were also told we could use any dead wood we found on the floor which made the kids very happy tramping through the woods to find suitable sticks (in peak season I suspect that particular 'resource' would run out quite quickly, though!).

There are plenty of fire pits/barrels dotted around and each of them has a grill you can drop over if you want to use them for cooking. You can move them around to wherever suits you as long as you use the bricks provided to raise them off the ground - or use one of the ones on legs which were particularly useful with smaller children around.

The single shower was hot and roomy (children enjoyed the colour-change illuminated shower head!) and the composting loos and 'P Stations' were absolutely fine and the kids were fascinated by throwing the sawdust in. They didn't smell because they are well ventilated and were clean and pleasant to use.

Better than quite a few traditional plumbed in toilet blocks I've used at some other sites! There's only one washing up sink so there would be queues in peak season I'd imagine, but the hot water is provided by a direct boiler so it's available all the time.

There's no playground, but there is a small tyre swing and plenty of trees to climb. We brought a few outdoor games and so on but the kids just enjoyed roaming around and playing together in the dappled shade.

We stayed on site all the time, but there are attractions such as Cotswold Wildlife Park a short drive away. The local village has shops for anything you might need plus there is a selection of meat, eggs and milk available from the house.

There are a couple of poultry sheds in the woodland at one edge of the camping area but we didn't hear much noise from them at all. There is a slight smell as you get close, but it's not a big deal unless you're very sensitive - we saw a couple of tents had chosen to pitch right next to them so they hadn't found it a problem!

At night we found our few fellow campers to be like-minded so there was no raucous noise going on, just quiet campfire conversations with everyone done and dusted by midnight. As with all campsites the night noise levels are down to the other site users - and during our stay they were all fantastic, so thank you!

You can just hear a bit of tyre noise from any traffic on the road to Bampton as the site is set well back from it - and as it's not a main road what little there is tails off in the evenings anyway.

All of the first time campers in our group have said they had a fantastic time and have praised the site highly. We're probably the most experienced of the lot and I can say it's one of the nicest sites for a relaxed weekend with friends in school time I've found.

There's no electric hookup available, no hardstandings, no manicured and hedge-bordered pitches, no pool, bar or kids club - and it's all the better for it! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hamil 1 review from this member

 Just got back from a lovely 2 night stay. Lovely setting, we stayed in the paddock which people have commented about noise from the chickens but it really wasn't a problem. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The toilets were interesting!but didn't smell and we soon got used to them. Looking forward to going back next year. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hannahman 1 review from this member

 We stayed at Turkey Creek last weekend for a 40th birthday party and would highly recommend a visit. There were 25 of us and we all loved the site. Toilets are clean and eco-friendly, the surrounding area is beautiful and Bampton has everything you need - even 15 bags of ice from the local shop to keep the beer cold for the whole party!

The owners are really welcoming and friendly, as are their gorgeous dogs.

We are already thinking about our next booking - we didn't take the kids this time but we definitely will do next time. We are always looking for sites that welcome groups of friends and allow camp fires and Turkey Creek is the best we have found in recent years. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: B787800 4 reviews from this member

 I spent one night here in a large ridge tent amongst the trees, no set pitch, I was advised by another group to choose a space that suited. I found a nice site under the trees, which was very quiet most of the time, apart from a large family enjoying themselves in the early evening, but not a problem! Not over keen about leaving the car at the entrance to the field but that is the policy. The owners were very laid back and I had to search for them to pay for my pitch fees when I left on Sunday evening.

Their dogs are very friendly and do not pose a problem when wondering around the site, most pitches have a firepit close by, wood is available from the owners, when you see them wondering around.

The toilets were of the compost type and didn't smell at all, didn't use the shower but it looks clean. Hot water is available for dish washing adjacent to the shower.

Access to the site is by way of a very rough track, full of potholes which fill up with water after it rains, not very well signed, but easy to find if you follow the instructions on their website.

Nothing much in the local area that I could see but there are some shops in Bampton village, plus a good selection of big supermarkets and eateries in nearby Carterton. Just go past RAF Brize Norton, (ideal if you like Military Aircraft spotting) and you will find the town centre. Approx 20 minute drive from the site.

Ideal site if you want to get back to basics camping without any leisure facilities on site, I will definitely be back! 


Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Westmoor Farm Glamping And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Westmoor Farm Glamping And Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Westmoor Farm Glamping And Camping dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bampton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2346 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement