Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping Le Paradis

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Poitou-Charentes > Terres De Haute Charente > Camping Le Paradis Reviews

Camping Le Paradis
2 Route De Mareuil
Mazieres
Terres De Haute Charente
Poitou-Charentes   (Browse area)
16270
Tel: 0033 05 45 84 92 06
Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 28
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 12 Reviews
                9/10 from 12 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alanandjanet 2 reviews from this member

We returned yet again to this tranquil and spotless site. As always Mike and Rosie were the best of hosts - there when you wanted them and invisible at other times. Nothing is too much trouble and considering past trying times, they have developed and run this bijou to perfection.

We have toured France for many years and used both good and not so good sites, but we feel confident when going to Le Paradis as the modern, spotless facilities are second to none, and the pitches and surrounding areas are perfectly maintained by Mike.

There is good shopping to be had 10 mins away at Roumazieres and Rosie carries a small stock of essentials. Both Freesat and Wi Fi are available and good storage is also on site.

There are several recreation lakes in the area with some Chateaux to explore. It is also excellent walking country and wildlife abounds, even on site.

As for the previous negative comments, we can only totally disagree with them, and suggest that you try this great site and judge for yourself - you will not be disappointed.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stevemarv 3 reviews from this member

Camping Le Paradis is very aptly named, we spent a wonderful 14 nights there at the beginning of July and now we have been spoilt for any other camp site. The owners are the perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. The facilities are superb, toilets exceptionally clean, showers with plenty of hot water.

We stayed on a service pitch which was without doubt our own little piece of heaven for 14 days, the only downside was that we had to leave.

The area is very pretty, lovely and peaceful with only the quiet mooing of the cows and the birdsong.

We are already planning next year's holiday back in Camping Le Paradis and the only thing left to do is to thank Mike and Rosie from the bottom of our hearts for such a wonderful time and wish them all the best for the future.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Red1archie 10 reviews from this member

Had intended to stay a few nights, instead just used it for a stop over, no reflection on the facilities, that are absolutely first class or the owners who are the most helpful we have ever come across, Rosie will find information for you and give you copies. Its just that if you have dogs the walking from the site is very limited. Great supermarket with motor home accessible fuel pumps at Roumazieres-Loubert. If you have a large unit a phone call prior to arrival will give the option of opening a gate just down from the entrance which is a little tight for large units.

Entrance gates are locked at the times stated and access may not be possible after that time, even if you're on foot. If wishing to leave early you need to notify owners the previous day.

The on suite units are locked at 10 pm and opened again at 8 am, although there are other toilets that can be accessed throughout the night. Not sure why security is so tight, but it does make you feel very safe.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Annadg 8 reviews from this member

Made to feel very welcome by the English owners - excellent facilities (lovely showers in an ensuite room with a loo, a chair and gorgeous hot water !) and everything sparkly clean.

Very (very) peaceful, just birdsong. And interesting bird life if you are into that sort of thing. A quiet time of year so not many people on site.

Be aware that this is really a site for older people, as there are few facilities for children. Ideal if you are looking for peace and quiet.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hughes447 1 review from this member

I could not use enough superlatives to describe this site. We have just returned from an eight night stay at this very quiet exceptionally clean and well run site, where the owners Rosie and Mike made us feel more than welcome. We stayed on one of the fully serviced hard standing pitches with it's own water, electric and waste water/disposal point which we found superb. If like us your looking for peace and quiet with abundant wildlife then we can highly recommend this site. If on the other hand your looking for a swimming pool, restaurant and your children to be entertained maybe this one isn't for you.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sigri 14 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a wonderful 11 night stay on this site. Pitches are very private and all have electric with water near by. Toilets are as previously described in other reviews, very home from home. Lots to do in area and for those who fancy a little further a field, we went to cognac which is well worth the trip. Cheap fuel at Leclerc in La Rochefoucauld. With regards the site not being children friendly, there are child seats provided in the toilets and even a special loo for younger ones (which I haven't seen on any previous sites), however as can be clearly seen on the website there isn't a pool, club house or in house entertainment. So parents and children need to be proactive and simply make their own entertainment joining the quiet ambience of the site if their parents so choose this sort of site. Rosie is very friendly but not intrusive, we unfortunately didn't get to meet Mike as he was back in hospital during our visit.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nanjan 3 reviews from this member

I was surprised, even shocked to read the previous two reviews as my husband and I have been coming to this site for nearly three years now and absolutely love it. Yes, it may not be as convenient as some other campsites to tourist attractions, but no more than a hour away at the most. But it makes up for it with its ambience, its peace and quiet, pristine condition and the friendliest of hosts. Excellent walks, birdwatching and routes for cycling are on the doorstep.

I understand that the owner is currently recovering from a life saving operation making the running of the site quite difficult for his wife, but I can assure you that everything is now back to normal.

Regarding reports of bad smells, I personally have never known it, but unfortunately in France this does seem to happen from time to time probably because of their sanitary system.

It would be impossible for me to comment on the attitude of the host as we have always found him to be most accommodating. Perhaps his illness may have contributed to their unfortunate experience.

Please do not be put off from visiting this wonderful campsite.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bazlam 15 reviews from this member

Just back from a 14 night stay. Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Rosie and Mike are fantastic hosts, they make you feel very welcome, and nothing is too much trouble for them. The facilities are brilliant, huge pitches and spotless toilets and fabulous showers. We can't recommend the site highly enough. Plenty to do in the area, a choice of several lakes, two of which have artificial beaches and swimming available. Lots of historical monuments within easy reach such as the village of Oradour which was destroyed by the SS after they shot and set light to over 600 men women and children. The village is left exactly as it was after the massacre. Very moving and well worth a visit to pay respects. There is also a large National Monument to the French Resistance which is very impressive. Further afield, the lovely village of Aubeterre sur Dronne which has a church carved out of the rock, very spectacular. A good area to explore, and very picturesque. We hope to return.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Starsearcher 7 reviews from this member

I have to agree with the last comments made regarding this site. On reaching our pitch the grass was about 9inches long and when I enquired to the manager if it could possibly be cut, I was given a terse remark ' what part do you want cut'.

The area does not have enough interest for a long stay. Toilets and showers were very clean. BBQ area was dirty and unusable.

Soil pipes on the pitches were very smelly at times.

Please note, overnight stops are not provided with any facilities, water, showers or toilets.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Johnks 10 reviews from this member

Whilst I would agree with some of the comments regarding the spotless toilets etc I would not agree regarding the welcome given to visitors (or customers as they referred to us). We were aware that Mike had been seriously ill and was in some difficulty, but the manner is which we some visitors were spoken to left a lot to be desired.

The site has more rules and regulations than any site we have ever been on and there are notices all over the place. We gather children are actively discouraged by the owners.

The 5 serviced pitches did have water and electric but there was a stench pipe on each one which smelled during warm weather. .

This site has fantastic potential.

There are only a couple of villages and a boating and bathing area reasonably near otherwise you have to travel some considerable distances to reach the other attractions mentioned in their brochure.

Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Terres De Haute Charente      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Poitou-Charentes

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2280 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

Amazing daily prizes and a grand Christmas Day Star Prize - Coming Soon!

Register for a Reminder