Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Oathill Farm Holiday And Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Clapton > Oathill Farm Holiday And Touring Park Reviews

Oathill Farm Holiday And Touring Park
Oathill
Clapton
Dorset   (Browse area)
TA18 8PZ
Tel: 01460 30234
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 28
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 49 Reviews
                9/10 from 49 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mclouis3 3 reviews from this member

 Met with a smiley face, showed to a pitch with a view, pond with fish and ducks,

Nice clean, tidy site, good walks and seeing emus.

Can tell they are proud of the site. Will be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Karen5 1 review from this member

 Lovely quiet site, we had a lovely view by the lake.

Super clean facilities. Warm welcome.

Sad that tearoom and restaurant were closed but we would definitely go back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Amanda 1 review from this member

 (Family group of 12). Fantastic, friendly small site. Very welcoming owners who greeted us, offered advice re:pubs/walks & also came to say goodbye, a nice friendly appreciated touch. Sheltered site surrounded by trees.

Well kept, quiet & pretty site with plenty of camping space, including hard standing lodges. Good condition toilet/shower block - showers were wet room style easy flat access & clean. Plenty of Covid safe wipes etc provided.

Easy walk across public footpaths to a lovely pub ‘The Royal Oak’ highly recommend - the food was fantastic.

Great weekend. Site £27 a night. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Johutc 1 review from this member

 Spotlessly clean and very peaceful. Lovely site cannot wait to come back and stay again.

It was very quiet which we liked but it would be nice to see others enjoying this lovely site too -

Big pitches and everything we needed for a perfect break - except nice weather 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bricklayer 22 reviews from this member

 Easter 2018 was a washout, we were due to stay near glastonbury some 25 miles away but the site called us up just before our stay and said they were waterlogged. So Oathill to the rescue!

We literally called up on good Friday and said can you take us ? caravan is packed and we are ready to go ?

We spent a lovely week here on a great hardstanding pitch, - it rained for 5 days solid, but the site coped and the site owners could not be more helpful,

The hardstand pitches were generous and level, the site facilities are spotless, with laundry facilities too, there is a great family cubicle in the toilets too, which is a bonus with two small ones. A really well kept loo block.

Very quiet site and there is a little tea room/ cafe too up at the main house, along with a little 'shop area' and an honesty box for a tin of beans or pint of milk, .

The site also has 3 log cabins for rent which looked clean and tidy, great if you want to go away with ' non campers'

Great location for exploring the fossil coast, charmouth beach is about a 15 mile drive, - chard and crewkerne are about 5 miles away both with shops and supermarket.

We visited the fleet air museum and clarks village which are a short 20 minute drive away.

Great site, peaceful stay. Would happily go back 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Exessexmum 10 reviews from this member

 Pros:

Scrupulously clean toilets and showers with plentiful hot water, lots of hooks for clothes and so on and roomy for changing and so on. Only two ladies loos and showers, same in gents, and a large walk in family bathroom with shower, sink and loo, but we didn't need to queue at all.

Les was very helpful and eager to please, came and showed us to our pitch and was around for queries and help.

Pitch was large and spacious, with easy access to power point.

Grass was well draining around pitch despite torrential rain one day, access to camping field itself got a little boggy, so parked off the field for a day at Les' request and then dried out.

Nice little area for dog walking and small farm area, with a couple of goats, rabbits, a cow.

Quiet area without road noise, nearest shops and chippie etc about 10 minutes drive.

Honesty shop with pretty much all essentials including eggs, bacon, bread, milk, to camping items, gas bottles, toiletries. Obviously not supermarket prices but ideal for milk and stuff.

Disliked:

Wifi was only available in and around the farmhouse and was slow. This was made clear on check in, but not prior to booking and was a minor inconvenience especially for our teens.

Location a little isolated perhaps, need to drive anywhere, and Lyme etc a good half hour. This was our error though.

Site had overbooked and we had two large families in two large tents crammed onto one pitch next to ours, meaning that there was perhaps more noise than otherwise would have been.

Marked high for facilities and child friendliness, however please note this is a 'make your own fun' site, there is no play area, or anything for children other than what you bring, and kids were having to play on the camping field between tents. Facilities that were there are excellent, but limited in number.

Marked down slightly for customer service because although Les was fabulous, the lady owner less so. We asked Les if it was possible to do some washing one evening even though it was out of hours, and he told us to pop to reception for a token and that despite it being closed it would be fine. Went over and the lady told us she was closed and said we 'needed to organise ourselves better so as not to bother her out of hours'. She was quite rude and it was a little offputting. Hopefully it was just an off day for her. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Babstreefern 27 reviews from this member

 What an absolutely brilliant caravan site. Only small, but brilliant. Everywhere was spick and span, the general site and the toilets. The staff were also very friendly and always had time to have a natter with you. The tent area is on the opposite side of the farm from the caravans. The farmhouse is a B&B, so if you want friends/family to visit, they can stay there or they can hire a lodge - there's 3 of them. You can also order breakfast if you wish. Cereal, fruit juice and cooked breakfast with tea or coffee for just £7. 50. Watch out though if you have an awning. You will need a drill to drill pilot holes (I kid you not). The ground is very, very hard - have only ever come across one other campsite in all our 30+ years of camping that had hard standing and that was in Germany. You may need to use a lump hammer rather than a normal tent peg hammer. The nearest town is Crewekerne where there's a Waitrose and Lidl. Tescos with petrol is in Chard. Please note, there is no facilities for kids to play. They can go into the field for ball games, but there's no play area. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cbrpilot 14 reviews from this member

 We finally got the chance to return to one of our favourite little campsites, this site is a family run business and it shows. Everyone involved in running the site is so friendly and approachable and were never too busy to give you the time of day.

We spent ten days at Oathill and enjoyed every minute as we hit the weather window perfectly with sunny weather, though chilly breezes meant warmer clothing.

On site we enjoyed a lovely home cooked Sunday roast dinner with a choice of meats and five vegetables together with sauces, followed by some lovely desserts. Oathill also do farmhouse breakfasts (order previous evening) and there is also a beautiful garden to sit in whilst enjoying an Oathill Afternoon Tea complete with home make cakes etc. Several evenings we spent sat by the large pond with a few drinks and a bag of fish pellets to feed the friendly Mirror and Common Carp. I had taken my fishing tackle but when the Carp cruise up to suck on your dipped finger it really detracts from the fishing as being sport. None the less they were lovely moments studying the fish in their natural environment. Also on site were a few farm animals which would take grass from the hand, our favourites were the chickens of which a few would let you stroke them.

Our days out were spent revisiting West Bay (Broadchurch), Lyme Regis, Beer, Seaton (well worth a ride on the trams for some lovely scenery) as well as a host of other really nice places.

Amenities on site were always kept clean, tidy and we'll stocked and if you needed anything Les, Sammy or Carol would do their best to help you out.

But what really made our stay was to catch up with the one and only Tony the family 'Elder' and statesman of Oathill. We loved listening to his anecdotes of days gone by, just a lovely lovely man. In fact we warned the family that if Tony went missing on our day of departure they could bet on us having kidnapped him.

We can't wait for our next visit to Oathill, we will be back ! 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jemima12 2 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic gem of a site. The owners are a pleasure, friendly, helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The site is family owned and is in a beautiful location. There is a fairly priced shop for necessities and gifts and a wonderful tearoom that does the best cream tea in the area. I have heard some great reviews about their Sunday lunch although I haven't had it myself. We were on a season pitch and have seen the site during school holidays, mid week term time, in good weather and bad. The site is well drained and copes well with even a large downpour. The toilet and shower facilities are kept spotless at all times and even when the site is busy copes well. There is a lovely large stocked pond to have a wander around after dinner in the evening. Also rabbits, goats and a cow for the kids to fuss. The site is a couple of miles from Crewkerne which has a Budgens, Waitrose and Lidl so handy for stocking up when needed. I can't recommend this site highly enough. We have visited many many sites over the years as a tent camper and caravanner and this is by far the best I have stayed at. If you like quiet, relaxation and an inland base from which to explore Dorset, South Somerset and East Devon then I recommend you try this site. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mjlincs 26 reviews from this member

 We chose Oathill at short notice and Sammy was really friendly and welcoming on the phone, it boded very well for our 8 night stay. When we arrived Sammy was on hand to greet us and explained the layout and Les showed us to our hard standing pitch in the camping field at the back of the farmhouse. We had water connection but they were not yet ready with grey water disposal which was fine. The view from the pitch was lovely with resident goats, cow and ducks who were quite interested in us. The showers were 5 star according to my wife, they are large with lots of hooks and plentiful hot water, the only comment was she might have liked a small stool or something. Sadly we didn't get chance to try the cream teas in lucy Tearoom on site, we will save that for next time. The area is really beautiful with lots of countryside that worth touring through. Lyme Regis and the Cobb are worth a days visit themselves but just up the coast is West Bay the location of Broadchurch and the other way is Sidmouth a really attractive seaside town. In Crewkerne you are overwhelmed with supermarkets Waitrose, Lidl and the Coop are all in the same area. In all the site is a great central base for lots of Dorset attractions and close to South Devon with Exeter only 30ish miles away. Les and Sammy are excellent and attentive hosts and they run a very smart well cared for site that we can highly recommend. 


Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Oathill Farm Holiday And Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Oathill Farm Holiday And Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Clapton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2545 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement