Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Oathill Farm Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Lyme Regis > Oathill Farm Touring Park Reviews

Oathill Farm Touring Park
Oathill
Clapton
Rd No B3165
Lyme Regis
Dorset   (Browse area)
TA18 8PZ
Tel: 01460 30234  or  +44146030234
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 28
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 45 Reviews
                9/10 from 45 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bricklayer 22 reviews from this member

Easter 2018 was a washout, we were due to stay near glastonbury some 25 miles away but the site called us up just before our stay and said they were waterlogged. So Oathill to the rescue!

We literally called up on good Friday and said can you take us ? caravan is packed and we are ready to go ?

We spent a lovely week here on a great hardstanding pitch, - it rained for 5 days solid, but the site coped and the site owners could not be more helpful,

The hardstand pitches were generous and level, the site facilities are spotless, with laundry facilities too, there is a great family cubicle in the toilets too, which is a bonus with two small ones. A really well kept loo block.

Very quiet site and there is a little tea room/ cafe too up at the main house, along with a little 'shop area' and an honesty box for a tin of beans or pint of milk, .

The site also has 3 log cabins for rent which looked clean and tidy, great if you want to go away with ' non campers'

Great location for exploring the fossil coast, charmouth beach is about a 15 mile drive, - chard and crewkerne are about 5 miles away both with shops and supermarket.

We visited the fleet air museum and clarks village which are a short 20 minute drive away.

Great site, peaceful stay. Would happily go back

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Exessexmum 10 reviews from this member

Pros:

Scrupulously clean toilets and showers with plentiful hot water, lots of hooks for clothes and so on and roomy for changing and so on. Only two ladies loos and showers, same in gents, and a large walk in family bathroom with shower, sink and loo, but we didn't need to queue at all.

Les was very helpful and eager to please, came and showed us to our pitch and was around for queries and help.

Pitch was large and spacious, with easy access to power point.

Grass was well draining around pitch despite torrential rain one day, access to camping field itself got a little boggy, so parked off the field for a day at Les' request and then dried out.

Nice little area for dog walking and small farm area, with a couple of goats, rabbits, a cow.

Quiet area without road noise, nearest shops and chippie etc about 10 minutes drive.

Honesty shop with pretty much all essentials including eggs, bacon, bread, milk, to camping items, gas bottles, toiletries. Obviously not supermarket prices but ideal for milk and stuff.

Disliked:

Wifi was only available in and around the farmhouse and was slow. This was made clear on check in, but not prior to booking and was a minor inconvenience especially for our teens.

Location a little isolated perhaps, need to drive anywhere, and Lyme etc a good half hour. This was our error though.

Site had overbooked and we had two large families in two large tents crammed onto one pitch next to ours, meaning that there was perhaps more noise than otherwise would have been.

Marked high for facilities and child friendliness, however please note this is a 'make your own fun' site, there is no play area, or anything for children other than what you bring, and kids were having to play on the camping field between tents. Facilities that were there are excellent, but limited in number.

Marked down slightly for customer service because although Les was fabulous, the lady owner less so. We asked Les if it was possible to do some washing one evening even though it was out of hours, and he told us to pop to reception for a token and that despite it being closed it would be fine. Went over and the lady told us she was closed and said we 'needed to organise ourselves better so as not to bother her out of hours'. She was quite rude and it was a little offputting. Hopefully it was just an off day for her.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Babstreefern 26 reviews from this member

What an absolutely brilliant caravan site. Only small, but brilliant. Everywhere was spick and span, the general site and the toilets. The staff were also very friendly and always had time to have a natter with you. The tent area is on the opposite side of the farm from the caravans. The farmhouse is a B&B, so if you want friends/family to visit, they can stay there or they can hire a lodge - there's 3 of them. You can also order breakfast if you wish. Cereal, fruit juice and cooked breakfast with tea or coffee for just £7. 50. Watch out though if you have an awning. You will need a drill to drill pilot holes (I kid you not). The ground is very, very hard - have only ever come across one other campsite in all our 30+ years of camping that had hard standing and that was in Germany. You may need to use a lump hammer rather than a normal tent peg hammer. The nearest town is Crewekerne where there's a Waitrose and Lidl. Tescos with petrol is in Chard. Please note, there is no facilities for kids to play. They can go into the field for ball games, but there's no play area.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cbrpilot 14 reviews from this member

We finally got the chance to return to one of our favourite little campsites, this site is a family run business and it shows. Everyone involved in running the site is so friendly and approachable and were never too busy to give you the time of day.

We spent ten days at Oathill and enjoyed every minute as we hit the weather window perfectly with sunny weather, though chilly breezes meant warmer clothing.

On site we enjoyed a lovely home cooked Sunday roast dinner with a choice of meats and five vegetables together with sauces, followed by some lovely desserts. Oathill also do farmhouse breakfasts (order previous evening) and there is also a beautiful garden to sit in whilst enjoying an Oathill Afternoon Tea complete with home make cakes etc. Several evenings we spent sat by the large pond with a few drinks and a bag of fish pellets to feed the friendly Mirror and Common Carp. I had taken my fishing tackle but when the Carp cruise up to suck on your dipped finger it really detracts from the fishing as being sport. None the less they were lovely moments studying the fish in their natural environment. Also on site were a few farm animals which would take grass from the hand, our favourites were the chickens of which a few would let you stroke them.

Our days out were spent revisiting West Bay (Broadchurch), Lyme Regis, Beer, Seaton (well worth a ride on the trams for some lovely scenery) as well as a host of other really nice places.

Amenities on site were always kept clean, tidy and we'll stocked and if you needed anything Les, Sammy or Carol would do their best to help you out.

But what really made our stay was to catch up with the one and only Tony the family 'Elder' and statesman of Oathill. We loved listening to his anecdotes of days gone by, just a lovely lovely man. In fact we warned the family that if Tony went missing on our day of departure they could bet on us having kidnapped him.

We can't wait for our next visit to Oathill, we will be back !

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jemima12 2 reviews from this member

What a fantastic gem of a site. The owners are a pleasure, friendly, helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The site is family owned and is in a beautiful location. There is a fairly priced shop for necessities and gifts and a wonderful tearoom that does the best cream tea in the area. I have heard some great reviews about their Sunday lunch although I haven't had it myself. We were on a season pitch and have seen the site during school holidays, mid week term time, in good weather and bad. The site is well drained and copes well with even a large downpour. The toilet and shower facilities are kept spotless at all times and even when the site is busy copes well. There is a lovely large stocked pond to have a wander around after dinner in the evening. Also rabbits, goats and a cow for the kids to fuss. The site is a couple of miles from Crewkerne which has a Budgens, Waitrose and Lidl so handy for stocking up when needed. I can't recommend this site highly enough. We have visited many many sites over the years as a tent camper and caravanner and this is by far the best I have stayed at. If you like quiet, relaxation and an inland base from which to explore Dorset, South Somerset and East Devon then I recommend you try this site.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mjlincs 26 reviews from this member

We chose Oathill at short notice and Sammy was really friendly and welcoming on the phone, it boded very well for our 8 night stay. When we arrived Sammy was on hand to greet us and explained the layout and Les showed us to our hard standing pitch in the camping field at the back of the farmhouse. We had water connection but they were not yet ready with grey water disposal which was fine. The view from the pitch was lovely with resident goats, cow and ducks who were quite interested in us. The showers were 5 star according to my wife, they are large with lots of hooks and plentiful hot water, the only comment was she might have liked a small stool or something. Sadly we didn't get chance to try the cream teas in lucy Tearoom on site, we will save that for next time. The area is really beautiful with lots of countryside that worth touring through. Lyme Regis and the Cobb are worth a days visit themselves but just up the coast is West Bay the location of Broadchurch and the other way is Sidmouth a really attractive seaside town. In Crewkerne you are overwhelmed with supermarkets Waitrose, Lidl and the Coop are all in the same area. In all the site is a great central base for lots of Dorset attractions and close to South Devon with Exeter only 30ish miles away. Les and Sammy are excellent and attentive hosts and they run a very smart well cared for site that we can highly recommend.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JennyJH 5 reviews from this member

We arrived during a storm, to the bewilderment of the lady at the campsite but she was welcoming and kind and even suggested that we stay in the farmhouse should the weather become unbearable. She and her husband helped us during the worst of it, to put up the tent, even loaning us some strong pegs. They didn't even mind when we used extra ropes to tie the tent to trees and to our car! The shower block was beautifully constructed and was the best we have ever seen on a campsite. The home-made cakes in the Tearoom were to die for and there was even wi-if in this area. The set-up is organised and the owners are extremely friendly. We loved the livestock in the nearby field - Daisy the cow, some goats, hens and ducks. Our visit was intended as a stop-over near to the South Coast and in particular to Beer, which was easy to access from here. All in all, a very enjoyable stay and we would thoroughly recommend Oathill Farm Campsite.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JoMo369 3 reviews from this member

This site is a joy. The toilet facilities were the best we have experienced - lovely and clean with proper towels with which to dry your hands.

The shop had all the basics, and a few luxuries, at very reasonable prices.

The food in the tearoom was tasty and plentiful and it was a nice touch to have service to outside tables.

The site is well maintained and the owners and staff were helpful and polite.

Would definitely return and recommend.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Petpip 1 review from this member

What can I say this was the perfect campsite for our family needs. On arrival we were met by the friendly polite staff who informed us of the site etiquette & local amenities as well as guiding us to an large pitch. The play area was in the center of the tent pitches which was big enough for the kids to play safely. The shower block was a short walk but they were clean, modern & plenty of hot water and were cleaned several times a day. There is a site shop & cafe that have all your requirements.

This is the perfect site for the camper who whats a quiet, clean site with friendly staff.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Uri Grabber 5 reviews from this member

What a fabulous site, it is a real gem. We arrived at the end of June without booking in advance. The people on site were fab, really nice and friendly, we camped on the top lawn, the site was level, pitches a good size. The showers were exceptionally clean, just a short walk to the pond where the fishing was really good. It was a pity we couldn't have stayed longer, we would definitely go back. Close to Lyme Regis, Golden Cap for fossil hunting.

Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5208 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019