Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Thirlspot Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Thirlspot Farm Reviews

Thirlspot Farm
Thirlmere
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 4TN
Tel: 01768 772551
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 15/03/2020 to 10/11/2020
           15/03/2021 to 10/11/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 14 Reviews
                8/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Hannahelden 1 review from this member

 The farmer was very friendly and inviting. Lovely view when staying on the campsite and situated between two villages which are easy to get to.

Facilities were nice and I would definitely stay here again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Hamlet21 4 reviews from this member

 The site has 6 motorhome pitches each with EHU. The pitches are on grass and although a little uneven easily levelled with ramps. The 6 pitches are just inside the gate entrance with a water tap and a drive over drain for grey water. There does not appear to be any chemical waste disposal. Other camping including capability for motorhomes who do not require EHU.

Showere are basic, with only 2 in each of the male and female toilets. The water is hot and delivered by the push button system and in addition there are 3 washbasins in both toilets.

Cold water washing up is outside the block while hot water is available inside the entrance to the male showers.

There is no TV or internet facility although the Kings Head adjacent to the site has wi-fi available.

Road noise from the main Windermere to Keswick Road was never an issue.

The site is ideally placed for those who want to abandon the motorhome and use the bus services that are available with bus stops outside the gate going directly to Keswick or Kendal and on too Lancaster. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Whippetlover22 6 reviews from this member

 Booked this site initially for a week, but only stayed 2 nights, as the forecast was not fab, and this site is right on top of a busy road. I say site, but really its a farm, with 3 small strips of grass, where you can pitch your tent.

There are toilets and showers, very basic, but at least the water was hot. No plug points or fridge/freezers, , tap is not on grassed area, and outdoor tap and sink for pot washing near toilets.

The grass was pretty boggy on one side, but we were left to it after paying 46 for 3 adults, 1 dog 1 car and 2 small tents for 2 nights. As I said this is a farm, sheep and a llama in the field-currently shearing the sheep. Poor sheep dogs kept outside in a concrete pen-.

Farm is at foot of a lovely big hill, views are great. Stream running right alongside, which during the night sounded very loud. Good spot for backpackers. Road noise very loud.

Wouldnt go back again, prefer a quieter location with a few nicer facilities. Halfway between grasmere and keswick 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BrianSheff 1 review from this member

 You are surrounded by mountains, lakes and forestry.

YOU ARE IN THE COUNTRYSIDE!

You are immediately attacked by how immense nature actually is.

And there's a pub next door. Bit expensive, that. 6 for 2 cokes.

But hey. Who wants to go in there when you can cook beans?

There is also a lake within 5 mins walk.

Then there is Keswick 5 miles away. Lovely village full of hikers and farmers. We saw sheep being herded. There's stuff to do and stands selling roasted nuts etc. Even a bit of nightlife and some local food.

The site has toilets and showers but you won't want to undress because in april it is bloody cold. Airbed and 300+ G/SM sleeping bag WITH HOOD needed.

The site owners left us to it. They weren't fussy at all. They keep sheep and have a helicopter.

You are on a main road which is pretty much deserted. Enjoy yourselves and dress warm.

20 for 3 nights. Cheapest holiday ever and beats holidays abroad.

Didn't see many cows. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Proff72 1 review from this member

 The site owners are family friends who we've known for 40+ years. I first went with my parents and sister as children. We love the area and location, only 5 or so miles south of Keswick which is a lovely town with everything you need, groceries, shops, laundry etc.

The site itself is quite roomy with showers, toilets, water supply, washing facilities that all do the job. We find their prices are very good in comparison to others in the area.

The site is right at the base of Helvellyn which is the third highest peak in England and has some beautiful walks and the views when you get up there are really something else.

If you like to dine out there's the Kings Head Hotel a Free House right next to the site that does some reasonable meals and something to wash it down with for everyone's palette.

The main bus route stops right outside either going north towards Keswick or travelling south towards Ambleside. There are plenty of attractions whichever way you decide to go either walking, driving, cycling, motorbike or bus.

I hope this helps any future possible campers. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DeeD 10 reviews from this member

 Excellent non commercial site. Owner a little bit abrupt & not that helpful. No playground or clubhouse, which suited me because I was there for the tranquillity. If you need a drink or something to eat there is a pub right next door & the staff are friendly. It is a very small, quiet & peaceful campsite.

Excellent views. Reasonably kept toilets & showers. No charge for showers. Lovely hot water. However there were no hand driers in the toilets. Washing up area was not very clearly marked. At first I thought it was only a cold tap outside. But eventually found that the washing up area was in the gents toilet & shower area.

The outside tap was for drinking water. The main road from Keswick to Windermere is right outside the campsite, so there may be a bit of traffic noise, but it did go quiet at night. So no problems sleeping. The bus stop is right outside.

Therefore, handy if arriving by public transport or using public transport to go out for the day. There is a very good bus service to Keswick & Windermere. Also to grassmere.

Overall, I would say that the campsite is very well located & fairly basic. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: BrandonX 13 reviews from this member

 Our first time here but would definitely stay again, as we loved this site. We stayed over the Easter bank holiday but found Thirlmere to be nice and quiet compared to other Lake District sites, and bagged 11 Wainwright's from here.

The location is ideal as there is a great pub next to the site and is also on the bus route with regular buses to Keswick - Kendal. The facilities are quite basic but were always clean, and plenty of hot water; the showers are good too.

We didn't really notice the nearby main road in our campervan, so cannot fault this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Davismo 4 reviews from this member

 I thought I should add a review as the ones that go before are a bit contradictory. I visited the site this week and liked it.

Next to an A road, access is great, admittedly I was slightly insulated from road noise as I was in a campervan, but traffic was only noticeable during rush hour. Being near to Helvelyn, the surrounding scenery is spectacular. Access to Keswick is very good and there is a bus stop by the campsite gate (best check if you intend to use it).

The road would be a concern if I had very small children and I wanted them to be able to roam free as the entrance gate tends to be left open.

I found the site owners very pleasant and helpful. When asking if the hot water is on, the owner came to check with me saying that he would put the boiler on if need be.

The facilities are not pristine and yes, depending on how fussy you are the cleanliness may not be acceptable, but I found that the floors, shower trays, WCs and sinks were clean. Urinals & shower curtains were not - fine as a walking base, but not if you expect luxury. Hot water was free, but the showers have the push buttons that we all know and love (check out shower friend).

The pitches are fairly level, but I did find a patch that got water-logged when the inevitable rain happened.

I wouldn't recommend the neighbouring hotel for food (though the beer is good) I had a duck dish which was charged at a reasonable restaurant price. When it eventually came, the duck was overdone and it came with a salad that was way over seasoned. My wife said her food was also way too salty - not good. They do a menu of bar food that may be better.

In summary, I would recommend this as a no frills base camp if you're not worried about a tranquil location and are prepared to either cook your dinner, or travel elsewhere for it.

Hope that's useful :o) 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cuprox 2 reviews from this member

 I just spent 4 nights here with a group as a base for exploring Helvellyn and other peaks. We had a great time and really enjoyed the site.

The proprietor was surly on arrival but in fairness all our bookings were organised and we were given a separate small field to ourselves. The other campers were quiet despite large numbers of Duke of Edinburgh Award scheme students transiting through.

Overall we had an excellent stay. The only drawback is the men's toilet/shower block which is disgustingly filthy. It was not cleaned at all while we were there. A large rubbish bin inside the toilet area remained unemptied for our whole stay.

Traffic noise is a nuisance but bearable. The Kings Head next door is convenient - but nothing special. Its a chain Hotel. Access to the mountains is perfect.

If you try to do a circular walk via the permissive footpath through the forestry - it is closed! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Markpye 5 reviews from this member

 The tariff is clearly displayed and I paid 8 for the night. (6 for me plus 2 for my campervan)

This is a lovely site in a glorious setting.

It is perfectly situated for exploration of the Helvellyn range with Sticks Pass and the splendid path up Helvellyn Gill being easily accessible from the site.

Facilities are basic but clean and functional with plenty of hot water available.

There is a also a pub next door.

Negatives

- inevitable traffic noise from the adjacent A591. This tails off after 11pm and I didn't find it a problem.

- there is a sign in the toilet block warning that 'anybody failing to vacate a pitch by noon will be charged for an extra night'. I can understand the problem but felt the wording could have been friendlier and surely there is room for flexibility by prior arrangement at quiet times.

Overall an excellent and most convenient site which I wouldn't hesitate to use again. 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Thirlspot Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Thirlspot Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Thirlspot Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1817 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December