Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Des Noires Mottes

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Sangatte > Camping Des Noires Mottes > Reviews

Camping Des Noires Mottes
Rue Pierre Depuy
Sangatte
Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais   (Browse area)
62231
Tel: +33 3 21 82 04 75
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 155
Open: 01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 9 Reviews
                8/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Franbee 186 reviews from this member

 An update since our last visit here 4 years ago.

We chose to stay again because we didn't want to drive too far from the Tunnel after arriving. This site has an earlier start to the late summer ACSI season than many, it was the last week of August.

We were allocated a pitch, I asked for one near the sanitary block, so were given one not too far away.

Not much else has changed, it was fairly quiet when we were there.

The seaside promenade is complete now, we cycled along it in both directions. And the village has created an attractive beach access area with local displays, toilets and a snack bar.

I still wouldn't like to spend a holiday here, but for the odd night it's clean and comfortable. 


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sallysensibleshoes 6 reviews from this member

 Very convenient location for Eurotunnel. Friendly welcome on arrival, and the owner gave us a big pitch which was perfect and easy to drive in and out of.

The site was very quiet and the setting very pleasant, with open fields adjacent and the beach very close.

The shower block closest was closed, so we used the main block. It didnít open until 08. 00 which wasnít a problem for us but might be for some.

Toilets and basins available 24/7 but not the showers. Facilities very clean and modern inside but look rather institutional outside.

Finding the site was quite easy but be careful turning in as thereís a fork with two little narrow roads and we didnít see that we had to take the rhs fork until weíd overshot it.

Overall an excellent option for a stopover as long as your crossing isnít too early. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Franbee 186 reviews from this member

 Reviewers - mature couple with campervan and bikes.

Someone mentioned a 'new' campsite at Sangatte, and as we were interested in finding somewhere to stay before and after the Tunnel, we decided to try it.

The sat nav took us on a rather strange route and left us in a field, however by following the instructions in the ACSI book we found it ok. It is situated in the centre of Sangatte behind the Mairie, and across the road from the seaside.

When we arrived, we realised that the campsite wasn't new at all, maybe it had been refurbished, and it is new to the ACSI discount scheme. The site is quite large, flat, and plenty of grass on the pitches. There is a barrier for which you need a code, also a code for the outer gate if you are out on foot later. We were booked in quickly and allocated a pitch, and shown on a map how to find it. There are lots of chalets on the site, with an area for tourers. A bit tricky to find the pitch numbers at first.

Our pitch was a bit of a walk from the sanitary block, only 1 was open when we were there. There are separate sex facilities, a washing up room and laundry. They were cleaned last thing at night, and then all rooms were locked promptly at 9. 00pm except the toilets, which had 1 hand basin.

We walked across to the seaside, but access is currently restricted as they are building a new promenade and sea defences. The beach looked nice, good view of the Channel shipping.

Because of the proximity to the sea, it was quite windy on the campsite with little shelter, and we found it rather uninviting. That plus a campers dog wandering around against the written rules did rather put us off. There is a visitors car park outside the gates but if you arrived late you would have no access to the facilities. Also the gates are not unlocked until 7. 00am, so no chance of an earlier getaway.

So all in all, although the site was perfectly ok, we didn't really take to it, and probably wouldn't stay again. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lounye 9 reviews from this member

 A quick update from our last review. As previously promised, we stayed at this site again this year and it is still the best (for us) in the area.

We had our dogs but this time our daughter and granddaughter were with us and they also had a lovely time with our granddaughter exploring the site and playing with the other children.

There are some really good sites in the Calais area, take a look down Bleriot plage for another site right in the dunes but for us Sangatte is just great.

Again the shower block is just fine, the water taps are near the pitches and the French families who use the site are always really nice.

Thanks again to Des Noir Motte the owners are great and we look forward to being back next year. Ps don't forget to do some shopping locally, we use Auchan a lot but there are plenty of other stores to try as well as the shopping outlet near the tunnel.

If you are hungry there are lots of 'fast food' outlets but we use F'lunch in Auchan, it's really nice. Bon. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lounye 9 reviews from this member

 We really like this campsite and use it every year on our trips to and from Italy. It's very handy for the channel port and ten minutes from the tunnel, close enough to Calais for some shopping but far enough out for some peace and quiet. Sangatte is a lovely town, the people are friendly, it's clean, safe and well looked after.

We enjoy walking our two dogs through the town to the beach. Campsite has some nice pitches, plenty of room and well maintained. Never too far to the water taps and the toilet and shower blocks are clean and regularly checked.

Good access roads around the site, safe play areas for kids, not noisy for grown ups recovering from a long drive. The owners are a lovely couple who are friendly and happy to help.

Mostly French families on the site but some Dutch and German as well. Nice mix of tourers, statics and tents and not crowded. Tried other sites in the area, all pretty good but for the relaxing stay we are looking for this one is definitely the best for us.

Highly recommend it, Will one day find the time to spend more than a few days there, our Labradors love running around the beach while we sit and watch the ferries. Not expensive (check prices) for what you get. Will be back there next year. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andyparker 2 reviews from this member

 Ideal overnight stop before returning home either by ferry or tunnel. 10 mins tunnel 15 mins ferry.

Toilets and showers basic really need to be upgraded but adequate.

Pleasant lady in reception speaks a few languages. Very helpful.

Used for last 9 years always on return home for 1 night.

NEVER had any issues with this campsite. Lots of statics, people have always been friendly, we have always enjoyed returning.

Will use again next year. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Motorcamper 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed on this site for one night before catching the tunnel the next day, very handy for that, but thought the site was very expensive at Ä19. 40 with hook up. Very basic large site with good size pitches plenty of room. Small shop just around the corner, and the beach is just across the road with a prom to walk a long. Didn't notice any playground, but lots of statics on site. The toilet block was a bit old, separate not unisex which is good for France. Plenty of hot water in the sinks for washing the pots but only luke warm in the shower and toilets couldn't have a shave or shower to cold. Would we stay again no. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Judi S 20 reviews from this member

 We use the site as an overnighter on the way back home via the Tunnel. It is so convenient, only about 10 mins drive from the tunnel entrance. Cost if I remember correctly was about 18 Euros for pitch 2 adults and electricity. The owner speaks a little English.

There isn't a shop on site however there is a small corner shop just outside the gates. The bread van comes round in the mornings and on a Friday and Saturday evening the Pizza van comes calling. There are a couple of restaurants along the main road to have your last lot of Moules before departing !

Have stayed there in early July and also early July and October last year. There were always spaces available although height of season I'm not sure. No swimming pool but you are only a 3 min walk from the sandy beach. Play area available for children and of course the usual boules rinks!

Facilities clean and tidy, beginning to look a little sad around the edges but loads of hot water in both the showers and the wash up area.

This is a regular stop for us and will continue to be so. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JULIED444 61 reviews from this member

 Very handy site for catching the ferry back home. Just across the road from the site is the beach and nearby restaurants for great mussels and chips!

On site facilities are basic, toilet block old but clean. No other facilities - though a van selling chips and pizza is around in the evening.

Very French site, with lots of permanent touring caravans parked but still plenty of pitches for tourers available with electricity.

Security good - has a barrier which you need a pin code for to get into the site. Owner speaks English.

Not a site to have your holiday at but a good site for one or two night to stock up at the supermarkets before going home. Is only a short drive to the ports. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Des Noires Mottes child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Des Noires Mottes?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Camping Des Noires Mottes dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sangatte      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3852 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement