Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stretton Lakes Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Rutland > Oakham > Stretton Lakes Touring Park > Reviews

Stretton Lakes Touring Park
Stretton Lakes
Stretton
Oakham
Rutland   (Browse area)
LE15 7QS
Tel: 01780 410507
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 26
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 16 Reviews
                9/10 from 16 Reviews

Photos (30)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2024 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: GMC1958 50 reviews from this member

 OMG, Wow !

We were blown away on arrival, the location is wonderfully peaceful, the site is immaculately clean & well designed.

Pitches are well spaced and the views are amazing.

The toilet/shower facilities are the best that I have used in 17 years.

Rachel & Rowland should take all the appreciations that come their way.

This site is perfect. Will be visiting again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2024 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Hamers 1 review from this member

 Very peaceful quiet campsite

I think itís quite new as it is open

Beautiful showers and toilets all in one large room heated floor

Half a mile to nearest pub although you need boots or wellies at this time of the year

It's a good base for visiting Stamford or Rutland also great for fishing 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Anchor 1 review from this member

 Being newbies caravaning (2nd trip since buying our first caravan in October) trying out a wintery stay was the perfect test of our determination to enjoy our stay at Stretton Lakes.

Sure, they threw at us 200mph winds, 8ft floods, even a lazy cockerel eventually waking us at 8.30 but they failed to ruin our enjoyment of the peaceful surroundings and blissful views of the Rutland countryside.

Better luck next time, but you didn't put us off visiting again! So thank you Stretton Lakes.

Your warm welcome invites many more visits in the future (with hopefully slighter winds and less rain). 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sharon 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed on the CL site. Wonderful location, so peaceful and quiet.

Very well kept site.

As we were in the CL site we didnít have use of the facilities but everything looked immaculate.

Lovely area for visiting Rutland Water.

Great pub nearby.

Would definitely come back again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lee + Caroline 17 reviews from this member

 We stayed on the 5* touring park site (not the CL). It was excellent - well maintained and very clean. It was wonderful to have spacious shower rooms instead of a toilet/shower block, and they were spotlessly clean (and no spiders or cobwebs).

We understand that the site only opened in June so it will take a while for the new trees and bushes to mature around the pitches and lakes. The site is very peaceful, with mature trees and bushes around the perimeter.

Pitches are large hardstandings with their own electric, water and waste water drain. You might require a long hose and waste water pipe if you wish to connect direct (ours were too short so we had to use our aquaroll and waste water tank). Toilet disposal is at the end of site, well away from pitches.

We visited several places of interest locally:

* Barnsdale Garden - 38 small gardens within one site, which were lovely (although probably better earlier in the summer), and had a delicious light lunch in the garden.

* Rutland Water - boat trip on the Rutland Belle and spotted an osprey! Will try the bird watching area next time we visit.

* stroll around Stamford

* Great hall at Oakham castle - not open every day so best to check if you want to go inside.

* Gates garden centre at Cold Overton, near Oakham - has a well stocked farm shop and some other stores on site, e. G. Lakeland. Lovely cafe (nice scones!) and a separate restaurant (which we didnít try)

* Greetham valley golf club - has a large bar and terrace with good views over the course if you just want a drink or bar snack.

* NT Belton House

* we didnít try any of the local pubs on this occasion. Most seem to be closed on Mondays.

We will definitely return to Stretton Lakes. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Maurice123 2 reviews from this member

 Touring site campers appeared to prefer walking round CL, especially to 'exercise' dogs, this upset our dogs & caused them to bark. They also preferred to fish the CL lakes instead of their private lakes which seems a bit unfair.

The CL site alone, (without "commercial" visitors), was nice and quiet, with friendly CC Members only campers, which is why we all use CLs.

Other than the invasions of privacy, it was great. 


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Davidw 1 review from this member

 Lovely site, good local pubs, excellent showers and toilets.

Probably need to fit keypad code system on shower block to only allow eligible visitors to enter. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Spring 3 reviews from this member

 Excellent site. Spacious pitches right by the fishing lake. Only observation to make is the lack of clear signage.

There is only one entrance sign which is hidden slightly and can only be seen from Stretton Village direction.

Footpaths are very unclear as to which way to walk if wishing to walk to the village.

No Footpath signs. Had to go to the Farmhouse to pay as no one came round to check if all was well. Apart from that, a very pleasant stay. 8/10 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Parlourbarn 28 reviews from this member

 Lovely site

Arrived for the first time and really enjoyed it. Five vans on CL one side of the main lake, and vans on the other side in the ďrally siteĒ, all grass pitches. No pitches are marked out but there is plenty of space, the CL pitches are fully serviced. Can walk over the field to Stretton, 20 minutes, where there is a lovely pub which serves excellent food.

The signage for the entrance is literally at the entrance, no prior warning so slow down after Stretton, when you do turn in, the first few yards are quite rough but the rest of the road in is fine. We never saw the owners so you go to the farmhouse to pay.

Family of ducks kept us entertained along with watching the fisherman catch large fish. At the moment two new fishing lakes and 25 additional all-weather pitches are being excavated, so there is some noise, but when they stop, it is a lovely quiet site.

Lovely site, we will definitely be back especially when they can open all year with their new pitches. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wooltman 22 reviews from this member

 Just got back from our second visit this year to this site, loved every minute.

We have not fished since our teenage years, as we were coming to the lakes we thought it a good idea to buy some kit. The fishing is included in your pitch fee, so make the most of it.

Easy access with lovely views of the lakes.

Handy for the lovely small county town of Oakham, plus the Rutland water. Stamford and Grantham are just a short trip up the A1.

Would we go again, yes we going again in a few weeks time.

Roll on. 


Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Stretton Lakes Touring Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stretton Lakes Touring Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Stretton Lakes Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Oakham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Rutland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2455 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement