Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stretton Lakes Certificated Location

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Rutland > Oakham > Stretton Lakes Certificated Location Reviews

Stretton Lakes Certificated Location
Great North Road
Stretton
Oakham
Rutland   (Browse area)
LE15 7QS
Tel: 01780 410507
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 CAMC Members Only
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 9 Reviews
                8/10 from 9 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Spring 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent site. Spacious pitches right by the fishing lake. Only observation to make is the lack of clear signage.

There is only one entrance sign which is hidden slightly and can only be seen from Stretton Village direction.

Footpaths are very unclear as to which way to walk if wishing to walk to the village.

No Footpath signs. Had to go to the Farmhouse to pay as no one came round to check if all was well. Apart from that, a very pleasant stay. 8/10 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Parlourbarn 26 reviews from this member

 Lovely site

Arrived for the first time and really enjoyed it. Five vans on CL one side of the main lake, and vans on the other side in the “rally site”, all grass pitches. No pitches are marked out but there is plenty of space, the CL pitches are fully serviced. Can walk over the field to Stretton, 20 minutes, where there is a lovely pub which serves excellent food.

The signage for the entrance is literally at the entrance, no prior warning so slow down after Stretton, when you do turn in, the first few yards are quite rough but the rest of the road in is fine. We never saw the owners so you go to the farmhouse to pay.

Family of ducks kept us entertained along with watching the fisherman catch large fish. At the moment two new fishing lakes and 25 additional all-weather pitches are being excavated, so there is some noise, but when they stop, it is a lovely quiet site.

Lovely site, we will definitely be back especially when they can open all year with their new pitches. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wooltman 19 reviews from this member

 Just got back from our second visit this year to this site, loved every minute.

We have not fished since our teenage years, as we were coming to the lakes we thought it a good idea to buy some kit. The fishing is included in your pitch fee, so make the most of it.

Easy access with lovely views of the lakes.

Handy for the lovely small county town of Oakham, plus the Rutland water. Stamford and Grantham are just a short trip up the A1.

Would we go again, yes we going again in a few weeks time.

Roll on. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kmorto4 27 reviews from this member

 Just got back from this lovely little site

Lovely walks round the lakes and the farm land

Only fished the friday night as the rest of the week end the wind never gave up blowing

This site has a lot going for it the entrance road is not very good very bumpy but the site is well laid put

The down side could do with the pitchers marking out proper

As we had caravan just pull in and set up not in lines like any other site we have been on

Would we go back yes next year 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bev Max 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for two nights with our dogs and found the site to be very well maintained with good fishing lakes and fantastic walks from the site to take our dogs. The site is quiet and peaceful in a lovely area and the owner was very nice. It was easy to find, just off the A1 and we were lucky enough to have good weather, we will definitely be visiting again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: stevo1 19 reviews from this member

 Have been coming to this site for a number of years now, and have enjoyed the peace & quite. Not anymore. There are no properly marked pitches on the rally field, the CL isn't much better ! so people set up anywhere, anytime and at any angle. We had a caravan set up next to us which was no further that 8ft, what happened to the 6Mtr Rule ? Some dogs are not kept on leads, and mess not cleared up. Three Transit vans turned up accompanied by a girl of school age, she slept in their awning, & rode her bike up & down screaming & shouting. ! No sign of site owners, and no rules it appears. Had to go up to the Farmhouse & find the owner to pay (Ridiculous set up) !This is a CC site & is totally unacceptable! Be warned !. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RESTLESS 16 reviews from this member

 A lovely setting, calm and peaceful with views of fields, fishing pogs and log cabins.

Ideal for fishermen and women at £6 per day per rod.

Flat site, well maintained but could have done with the grass being a little shorter.

Electricity is available as well as toilet dump, grey waste and fresh water. No recycling available just general rubbish bins.

The area surrounding the fresh water tap became muddy and would benefit from some drainage or a slab under it.

Lots of lovely tracks and walks from the site, the site manager was very informative about these. We walked through Clipsham to the Yew Tree Avenue, a nice little attraction which I didn't know existed.

Good value for money, a very nice site 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stevo1 19 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent quite site, easily accessed from the A1 ! Our second visit, with excellent fishing in 4 lakes and a friendly smile from the owner. Site fees are very reasonable. Own san essential, with level grass pitches. Would recommend 'The Jackson Stops' ph/inn in Stretton for high quality food. Highly recommended. Will definitely Return one day. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Micky Winkle 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed one night at this site prior to a visit to Barnsdale Gardens. The site is easily accessible from the A1 and is quiet and rural. The pitches are in a grassy level field alongside a fishing lake and each has electric hookup. There is a shed marked 'toilet' but we didn't use it. We sat by the lake with a drink and enjoyed the evening sunshine. When we left in the morning there were quite a few fishermen around the lake but we hadn't heard a sound from them. We paid £8 for the night, and had to go looking for someone to pay! 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stretton Lakes Certificated Location child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stretton Lakes Certificated Location?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Stretton Lakes Certificated Location dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Oakham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Rutland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4146 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement