Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping De Tournus

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Burgundy > Tournus > Camping De Tournus > Reviews

Camping De Tournus
14 Rue Des Canes
Tournus
Burgundy   (Browse area)
71700
Tel: +33 3 85 51 16 58
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 9 Reviews
                7/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Blueexpo97 24 reviews from this member

 Well after a good number of years it looks like our love of this site has come to an end.

The place just goes further downhill year after year.

The oldest toilet block is a disgrace, it still has a squat toilet in the ladies and gents, they have painted over old tiles and the paint is peeling off, and the smell at the hand basins would make you gag.

The new owners(managers?) can barely acknowledge you and they know who we are as we have distinctive dogs, but we're lucky if we get a grunt out of them now. French only spoken, no attempt at anything else.

We remember when this was a municipal and they were always turning people away, now you have the pick of pitches as it's never anywhere near full. This could be down to the cost, we are now practically 40 a night and it's just not worth it. There also used to be seasonals when it was a municipal, not anymore, the cost probably frightened them away.

They even have a sign up at reception that says if the grass is wet and you make a mess getting off it you will be held liable, nice.

Also the potholes round the roadways are shocking, again no investment to fix them.

So our business will be going elsewhere as there's plenty in the area. 


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Franbee 214 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a night on our way back north, it was almost empty when we arrived but filled up by the end of the afternoon, a popular site.

We found the site well cared for, clean sanitaries, hot water, recycling bins near the gates.

Cycled into town along the river, there are a surprising number of shops on the main street. There's a MH aire and car park on the riverside just before the town centre, we parked there in the morning as we left the site so we could walk in and visit the shops. 


Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Himwotdus 21 reviews from this member

 Arrived early March on way home from a lovely time in Spain. This site's best feature is walking distance to the lovely town of Tournus. It's also very close to the A6 motorway.

When we arrived on the Wednesday the toilets/showers had been cleaned however by Saturday they hadn't been touched since.

The site's biggest fault is the lack of heating in the showers. It was very cold in early March so we were unable to use the showers. There was no hot water in the dish washing area. The wifi which is slow but does work is free.

This site does not warrant the 20 Euros ACSI charge. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Blueexpo97 24 reviews from this member

 With this site, you can't get better for an overnight stop in transit up or down the A6. It's just minutes from the junction and very easily accessible on the outskirts of town. When we arrived the site had been severely flooded and the River Saone had claimed a lot of the pitches so we were very glad that we had booked. We had a good spacious pitch on a hard standing with a grassy area to the side. When not in flood, most of the pitches are grass and quite flat. The manager of the site was very friendly and was not phased by the constant stream of people trying to get space at the site. By early evening, he had managed to maneoveur people into all available areas even allowing some to pitch adjacent to the restaurant terrace to make sure that they had somehwere to stay. Very impressive. The site itself is well maintained, with basic and clean toilet facilities and a small restaurant bar serving pizzas and sausage and frites. You can buy local wine at reasonable prices in there too. The Carrefour supermarket with cheap petrol is about 5-10 minutes drive from the site and we also passed a Lidl next to a McDonalds on the way from the motorway junction. In summary Camping De Tournus has everything you need very close to hand with friendly efficient service. Although its not the prettiest site we have used, we would also consider using it for more than one night to explore the area too. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Franbee 214 reviews from this member

 An update on my review of 3 years ago.

The site is much the same, also very popular, it fills up quickly every afternoon.

About half of the pitches are hard standing, separated by grassy areas.

The sanitary block nearest the entrance is better equipped and has more hot water than the other, but they are both very clean.

The site gives ACSI discount. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Franbee 214 reviews from this member

 Reviewers - mature couple with campervan and bikes.

We came to the town because there is a cycle museum here, and decided to stay at the campsite too.

I can't add a great deal to the other reviews, it is a pleasant site with flat grassy pitches and some shady trees.

We were made very welcome by the Warden, who is on duty from early until late. He gave us a map of the town and highlighted the places of interest.

There is a snack bar where they cook pizzas, chips etc, very good and not expensive.

Two toilet blocks, kept nice and clean. Washing up outside under cover with plenty of hot water.

Not a cheap site, for the facilities available. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: OliverDay 24 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site and ideal as a stop over or for a short stay. It is close to junction 27 of the A6.

We had booked for one night as we were using the site as a stop over on the way further south. It was wise to book as it is very popular and there was a long queue of campers who were waiting to see if there was any space. It is important you let the site know if you are going to arrive after 6pm because this is when they release 'booked' pitches that haven't been taken. We only noticed this when we got to the site as we arrived at 5:45 with minutes to spare! If there is a queue when you get there you should be able to drive to the front if you have booked.

Once we had got to the front of the queue the receptionist was very efficient and helpful. The reception area has a bar which also serves meals. Wifi is available in the bar area. There are two shower blocks on the site and these were kept very clean. The pitches are a good size and all are level. We found the site to be quiet. I consider myself a light sleeper and was not disturbed by the train noise which I would describe as a light rumble from goods trains rather than the sudden woosh of a high speed train.

We walked into Tournus from the site which is just over 1km away. There was not much open on the Sunday night but we did find a restaurant that served good food.

There is a Carefour market a short distance from the site which also has a fuel station, ideal for filling up before getting back on the A6 autoroute or before exploring the area. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Motorhometrips 22 reviews from this member

 This site is a very popular overnighter for those heading south, particularly with the Dutch, as it offers easy access from the A6. The result is that early in the morning the site empties, we were there in mid July and there was plenty of room.

It is a very pleasant open site with a mix of grass and hardstandings, with shade if you require it.

It is only a 200metre walk from the Saone but though you can not see the river from the site, you do see some of the bigger river traffic, which is a bit bizarre. It is a very pleasant river walk to the town, which is delightful and the Abbey is impressive.

The town has everything that you want, including a very adequate supermarket. I thought it was a shame that many overnighters, in their rush to the south, did not venture from the campsite to explore the town, they do not know what they are missing.

You can cycle northwards along the river, towards Chalon, though a lot of this is grasstrack. Southwards you can cycle towards Macon on a designated voie verte which is in the process of being upgraded. There are a number of designated walks from the town.

The campsite is very relaxed, pay for one night and stay as long as you like, we stayed for 3 nights. Reception was superb. The sanitary facilities were fine, one newer block and there are plans to put more showers in and heat the block, together with a sauna & jacuzzi.

There is a bar area with TV & free Wi Fi available. There is a dedicated motorhome service point. There is a swimming pool next door. As the previous review, you do pick up some train noise. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dusty wheels 1 review from this member

 We used this site on our way home this year.The site is easy to find from autoroute and is signposted before you reach main town, access is easy for any unit. The french receptionist spoke very good english and although the facilities are basic they were very clean.The site is well laid out and overlooks the river,approx 200yds.

There is a nice walk along the river bank into Tournus, approx 15 minutes.

The town although not large has enough cafes bars and shops etc for any of your needs.

The only down side is distant train noise if you are a very light sleeper. 



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Camping De Tournus child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping De Tournus?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping De Tournus dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tournus      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Burgundy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


44271 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Play our
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win an amazing 12V and 240V 21.5" Full HD Smart WiFi TV with Satellite Decoder worth £399 provided by outdoor superstore Towsure!

Play Here


Advertisement