Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Drake House Certificated Location

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Clitheroe > Drake House Certificated Location Reviews

Drake House Certificated Location
Eaves Hall Lane
West Bradford
Clitheroe
Lancashire   (Browse area)
BB7 3JG
Tel: 01200 425494
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 CAMC Members Only
Open: 01/05/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 17 Reviews
                9/10 from 17 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Loticus 1 review from this member

 Loved it all, facilities basic but functional, the site is peaceful lovely and tidy.

Anne is not only a smashing lady she also does does a great job and the animals are a delight to watch on an evening with your glass of wine. Or five.

Looking forward to revisiting next year. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pamski 3 reviews from this member

 We love staying at this site

It's so peaceful and the views are to die for

If you like being in the countryside, like we do, this is the site for you and the owners are so welcoming. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pamski 3 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to drake house farm. We loved our first visit so just had to come back asap. Anne is so hospitable to all your needs and you will not get a more friendly down to earth lady.

The pitches are all fully serviced and each one has a fantastic view across the countryside. The pitches are well spaced out and really clean.

With the virus upon us anne has made sure that everything is clean and sterile including the toilet block etc.

If you want peace and quiet this is the place to be. There's also lots of lovely walks from the doorstep along long and winding lanes. There are 3 nice pubs within a mile or 2 in waddington. A quick drive or a half an hour walk as we did. Lovely food in all 3 pubs as we. I've eaten in all of them.

Drake house farm is our favourite cl site and we will be back many times in the future. Highly recommended 10/10 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alan-c1 8 reviews from this member

 I've just been reading the previous review and it's so comprehensive, accurate and concurring with our experience there's very little to add! The site is basic, as is the nature with any CL, so don't expect any shop, security gates or reception, but the 'extras' included are excellent. Fantastic tv and mobile signal, all pitches fully serviced and a free wi-if that actually works! The shower/toilet block is basic but adequate and the site owner Anne is a wonderfully engaging, friendly and interesting farmer/owner!

The neighbouring village of Waddington is pure picture postcard pretty, but entry via the other neighbouring of West Bradford is a bit nail bitingly tight for larger caravans. This however is even worse on the private approach road, which is not for the faint hearted of those towing!

Clitheroe itself is a pretty little town, but a bit run down in parts and desperately lacking in restaurants, so be warned if eating out is your thing! It does however have a wonderful converted mill, 'Holmes Mill' which has shops, bars and a restaurant; extremely impressive and well worth looking up.

Waddington has 3 pubs, nearer and a better bet in my opinion. Neither it must be said are really practical from a walking perspective, unless you're prepared for a bit of a hike on dangerous, footpath free roads.

To sum up though, value for money wise there's little to touch this site. It's very quiet, has terrific views (when the rain stops!) and spacious hard standing pitches. Additionally the EHU's were an impressive 16 amp, so all appliances can be used without the constant fear of them tripping the system.

Highly recommended then if you're prepared to brave the towing for those of us with caravans! 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Joolb 38 reviews from this member

 What a lovely peaceful little site. We had pitch 5 -in our view the best!

Each pitch has its own tap and drain but take very long drainage attachments for some pitches. Mobile signal strong-very efficient wifi-and free-a lesson for others sites perhaps-tv signal excellent. Views of pendle hill when it's not misty. Access could be difficult for very big outfits-just take it slowly and carefully. Especially over the bridge-follow Anns detailed instructions and you won't go wrong. Ann is very friendly -has a wealth of country experience and is always bustling about-I wish I had half her energy. Country walks from the site so if you want a site to just recharge your batteries away from hustle and bustle-this fits the bill.

Nearby waddington has 3 pubs and a cafe all seem ok with plenty of choice. Within walking distance, the local pub restaurant/ b&b shuts on Mondays and Tuesdays. Clitheroe is the nearest big town and has everything you could want in the way of amenities. The Emporium has very decent morning coffee and the chippy opposite has an amazing selection including spam fritters-didn't partake so can't comment on the quality or taste. The Majestic wine warehouse is worth a visit if only to speak to the charming young man who sold us the wine. Clitheroe Market typical of all country markets so if you need the odd screw or battery-this is the place to get it.

We visited Gisburn forest hub-nice walk to stocks reservoir and back followed by he obligatory coffee and cake overlooking the countryside.

The site has 1 toilet and 1 shower which is adequate or the number of pitches-I used the van shower whilst husband used the site's. No complaints from him so all good. If it wasn't for the access-I would be there again like a shot, but don't let that put you off-highly recommended by us. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Djwake 4 reviews from this member

 This is a nice little site with lovely views towards Pendle Hill, and the owners are welcoming and friendly. There were two sheep wandering around when we arrived, which was a little unnerving (especially for our dog) but they eventually wandered off.

The facilities were warm and clean, although we use our own shower so we didn't try that. We visited Waddington, which is delightful, Clitheroe (great market), Trough of Bowland (gorgeous)and Whalley.

We also walked along the Leeds/Liverpool canal and visited Sawley Abbey and Downham - all beautiful. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rossen 1 review from this member

 Our first stay at this campsite. The route is 'interesting' and it's a good idea to use the instructions on the Drakehouse Farm website.

However, the trip is very worthwhile as the site is beautiful. Pitch sizes (5) are generoua and each has a water tap and drain. The 16v electric hook ups are between two pitches.

The facilities are spotless. The main thing about this site is the peace and quiet which together with outstanding views make it perfect for a relaxing stay.

Will definitely visit again (and again). 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sunny22 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic quiet ADULT ONLY site with all the facilities including

WI-FI. We love it here, The farmer made hay in the field below the caravan site when we were there, with a tractor that was 50 years old it was just like going back in time. Wonderful.

There are nice villages around and lots of things to do. Clitheroe is a nice market town 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JKnott 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely friendly adults only site.

We were made very welcome by Ann.

The Wifi was excellent and very reasonably priced.

Each pitch had water and electric hook up.

Levelling blocks were needed on our pitch.

Toilet block was clean with a really good shower.

The message board which allowed guests to recommend eating places etc was a really nice idea and added to the friendly atmosphere.

One of the nicest sites we have stayed at.

Our little dog really enjoyed the holiday.

Excellent walking and nice dog friendly local pubs.

Peregrines and kestrals seen in the vicinity.

There is a long single track road up to the site so best to arrive and leave at the appropriate times to avoid meeting an on coming caravan! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hiltonken 1 review from this member

 We stayed at Drake House Farm for a few days upon getting our caravan delivered. The site is nice and quiet with all the necessary facilities, topped with a great owner Ann, she is a real character (bet you can't guess what her other job is)

The location is good with nice views and handy for Clitheroe where you can do all of your shopping. Waddington is only a 25 minute walk away with some great pubs serving wonderful cask ales and good food.

All in all a lovely site that we will be returning to time and again. Thanks Ann for running a lovely site and making us feel so welcome 


Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Drake House Certificated Location child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Drake House Certificated Location?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Drake House Certificated Location dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Clitheroe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3184 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement